check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Gigi Hayes-Polk

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

🌴$50 END OF YEAR Sale. Temp prices, act soon 💖 HEART of Kona OCEAN FRON

39 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 10 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description

PRISTINE studio overlooking the Ocean. Beaches everywhere. Pool, Hot Tub, BBQ

$50/nt FALL WINTER SALE. Act now these rates will not last. Temporary reduction -- then prices go up so if you ever wanted to go to Hawai'i the time to book is now!

FREE IN ROOM PRIVATE WiFi .

IRONMAN? WATCH FROM THE CONDO LANAI. WALK TO START IN MINUTES! ( I have several IRONMAN UNITS)

Budget? OCEAN FRONT DOWNTOWN Romantic, Quaint, Tropical & Adventure.

~PRIVATELY OWNED in the heart of Downtown Kona. (Between Huggo's Restaurant & Bubba Gump's.) The Grounds are Beautiful Pristine & Tropical with Tiki Torches lit every night for added Hawaiiana Ambiance.

WALK to everything: Beach, Shopping, Dining, Church, Luau, Grocery, Farmer's Market for local fruit & veggies, etc. You really don't need a car.

(but arrange ahead for cab from airport. approx $40)

There is a shuttle that goes up and down town Ali'i Dr. as well.

FREE PRIVATE WiFi IN ROOM! Wireless & modem. This is an added bonus to our clients to make your stay easy!

Peaceful & Romantic...

CLEAN, NEAT & Charming. Newly Renovated & New Furniture.

~Little kitchenette with 18' x 30' small fridge for basic needs with many small appliances for at home cooking. ~Grounds have BBQ, Pool, Hot Tub.

~Queen bed very comfortable. Also a sofa pull out bed if you don't want to share bed.

~Linens & Bath Towels provided. Cool ocean breezes in this unit. A/C if need.

We love to listen to the ocean right outside. Having dinner on our private lanai watching the sunset into the ocean is a must do. Watch for the 'green flash!'

Once you come here you'll never want to go anywhere else.

Free Onsite Parking is limited first come basis. Security is strict & you need Parking Pass from Security.

24 Hour on-site Security and Cameras.

~On site Coin Washer/Dryers.

This Unit is on THIRD FLOOR. There is NO ELEVATOR. Great for security but pack your suitcase light! Forget something? No worries. Walmart & Ross, etc. close by.

THIS IS A NON-SMOKING UNIT AND SMOKE FREE COMPLEX. It is beyond my control & Security will fine for smoking on grounds or unit. NO PETS OF ANY KIND.

~~My unit is individually owned and operated as some are. Unfortunately some of the other units are not as nice as this unit & can give the Kona Islander a bad reputation. We take great pride in our unit to meet our needs & standards & the needs & standards of our guests.~~

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Gigi Hayes-Polk (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

About Gigi Hayes-Polk

We put our heart & soul into our Hawaii Unit. It was remodeled with Hawaiiana Design. We retired and moved to Hawaii for the winters. I came from Buffalo, NY & Cape Cod, MA. My husband from Northern CA. This is a golfers paradise (ask my husband... wink wink ;p) as well as a beach tropical dream. We split our time in Kona & Cape Cod. We rent it out when we are not here. Therefore you will find it CLEAN & NEAT with many small appliances for your needs. Although it is small and the kitchen smaller, it meets our needs. Having the Ocean waves right out the door is what makes it so special. Some of these units at The Islander are not up to par as is ours. We take pride in our unit and reputation. The grounds on the other hand are unbelievably gorgeous and tropical Hawaiiana and well kept. Banana trees onsite and occasionally in lobby you can get some local fruit from the trees! We do BBQ very often and meet people at the pool, hot tub area and it is so much fun. It is quiet and security is amazing. 10 CUBIC FRIDGE! fridge with freezer. (see pics)

FRIDGE ENVY!!

Gigi Hayes-Polk purchased this condo in 2011

Why Gigi Hayes-Polk chose Kona Coast

Kona is laid back. Not the busy hustle and bustle of the city. It has wonderful restaurants and beaches all over the place. It is hard to decide which one to go to.

IRONMAN??!!! WATCH FROM THE ROOM LANAI!!! WALK TO START IN MINUTES!!

What makes this condo unique

Being Downtown has it's advantages. You can walk to everything & work off all of the great food. Parking is limited so it's great to not even deal with a car. I have a moped for fun. You can rent them downtown too.

Visit Black, White & Green Sand beaches on Big Island Hawaii. Walk to a Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel.

Guestbook comments from the owner

WOW! WHAT A GREAT WEEK IN PARADISE! THANKS! WE WILL BE BACK!
Apr 2015
  • 1 of 42

Reviews

4.5
based on 39 traveler reviews

🌴$50 END OF YEAR Sale. Temp prices, act soon 💖 HEART of Kona OCEAN FRON
average rating of 4.4615383 based on 81 reviews
5

Cute little place with an ocean view!

  • 5 of 5

Easy check-in. This place is small but it's all you really need. The location is great! Right next to shopping, restaurants, and there is a nice ocean view from the balcony. I recommend.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location, great price, great amenities, amazing host!

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying here and being able to walk to dinner and drinks each night. There were beach chairs, umbrellas, and boogie boards for our use. Gigi was very responsive via text or vrbo messaging. The pool was nice, the grounds were lovely, and the studio was small, but comfortable. We really enjoyed our time here and can't wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo nui for your lovely review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay -- enough to come back and stay TWICE for another stay! We love this little location as well and try to make it of the highest of quality and comfort for Guests. We love being in the heart of town, but the only noise you hear is the ocean! We are glad our little "slice of heaven" will be a fond part of your great memories! Much Aloha, Gigi
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kailua-Kona, HI
4

Mahalo Nui Loa!

  • 4 of 5

If you're looking for a great value & location, look no further! This adorable studio is well maintained (probably one of the best studios at Kona Islander Inn) & boasts a stunning ocean view, thanks to its third floor location (which means a bit quieter as well). You'll love the lanai for morning coffee or evening tea and the kitchenette will serve you well if you don't need to prepare any big meals - there is a great farmers market within walking distance and lots of cafes & restaurants (my personal fav is Daylight Mind) all within steps of here.

The pool and jacuzzi were both out of order during my stay, while it was a let down, it wasn't a deal breaker. A huge bonus was having free wifi within the room, whereas many of the other units only offer free wifi down at the main lobby.

Gigi, the owner was also very responsive, helpful and was able to offer an early check in (and late check out!) which helped tremendously with regards to flight arrival and departure times.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I am glad that you enjoyed you are a vacation at our condo. I take great pride in our condo and I'm glad to see that you noticed. The reason I selected this condo word for the very reasons that you mentioned in your review. I take full responsibility to ensure my guests a lovely visit. I'm glad that you were able to describe what a wonderful visit you did have. Please come back again soon it was a pleasure doing business with you. And please pass it on! Much Aloha, Gigi
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutly The BEST Place we have ever Stayed in KONA

  • 5 of 5

We Have visited Kona for over 30 Years and Stayed at Many other Condo's in the Kona Area , This is with Out a Doubt our Favorite , Spotless Clean , A view to die for, and to be in the Center of town and feel as though you have the Ocean all to yourself , Its so nice to be able to walk and get anything you want only steps away, I recommend This Condo to every one I know,,,,We look forward to staying there AGAIN & AGAIN Earl & Karen Allen Corning Ca.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your raving review and your 5-star rating! I really do appreciate it as I try my best to make my Guests vacation the best ever! Since you were a repeat customer you enjoyed an extra day for free! Actually two! And I couldn't have been happier to give them to you. You were wonderful guests and great to work with. I was only too happy to accommodate you. I'm glad that you will be coming back again and pass it on! Much Aloha, Gigi UNIT 346
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

my snow bird vacation

  • 4 of 5

I just got back after spending 2 and 1/2 months in Kona.. The studio condo was clean and well maintained, great view,,owners are very helpful in making my stay comfy..the grounds and pool area are well maintained.. the kitchen is small but well equipped, with every appliance available,,I got good at cooking meals on one frying pan. The place is conveniently walking distance to everything in Kailua Village.. I definitely recommend staying here..

  • Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Dennis. You're a great Guest and so glad you decided to stay with us again for the second time! always a pleasure doing business with you. So glad you enjoyed it as much as we do. Hope to see you again in the future. Much Aloha, Gigi
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice and central

  • 4 of 5

Spent 3 weeks here over the Christmas period. Unit was very central with a view of the Ocean with lots of action along the street in front. Lots of stairs to climb as the unit is on the 3rd floor with no elevator. Close parking for your vehicle is at a premium.

There is a phone in the unit but it Is not connected. Posted information in the room is out of date as well as the online information about access and use of the phone.

Other than that it was a great stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Kevin and Lynn, I'm glad you seem to have enjoyed your stay. Your having stayed at The Kona Islander before the parking, no elevators and 3rd floor units should have been no surprise. I make it very clear in my rental information that the condo is on the 3rd floor because i don't want any Guest to encounter any surprises. When Guests rent on the 3rd floor it is usually for the expanding Ocean Views and privacy that this condo provides. As for the telephone I make it explicitly clear there is no telephone but as you explained to me you enjoyed Skype with the Free private Wi-Fi in the condo that we provide. Parking is limited but available all around the building and elsewhere close-by for Free and I include these locations in my information provided. During this High Holiday Season time I'm sure parking is somewhat more limited. Although you received the "Special Sale" rate of 1/4th of the usual rate during High Season for Oceanfront Downtown Deluxe unit perhaps I would recommend for your next visit looking into Uncle Billy's or King Kam down the street and possibly they could accommodate your needs somewhat better as they have more choices. Surrounding hotels and motels are double to quadruple the cost with less amenities and No views especially during High Holiday Season. It is my goal to go above and beyond to assure that all of my Guests are informed and happy. I'm proud to say it shows in all of my extensive positive reviews. I am glad to hear that aside from your discomforts that you had a great stay. Happy New Year! Mahalo, Gigi
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Kona Airport
Nearest Barpub
30 Metres
Everywhere
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
30 Metres
Everywhere
Nearest Beach
30 Metres
In front of building. Many everywhere.
Car: not necessary

Located in the Heart of Downtown Kona. Amazing Snorkeling with exotic fish. Many local Adventure Opportunities & Entertainment. Luau within walking distance. Grab some local flyers in the kiosk as you get off the plane!

At night from the lanai there are flood lights illuminating the waves... so neat!

This is the island with the Actively flowing Volcano! A wonder of the world.

Walk to everything! It's ALL here.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
IRONMAN 10/min flexible dates
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 12 2016
10 night minimum stay
$235
 
 
EARLY BIRD DEAL! Fall/Winter
Oct 13 2016 - Dec 18 2016
1 night minimum stay
$50
 
 
PEAK
Dec 19 2016 - Apr 1 2017
1 night minimum stay
$125
$800
$2,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$100
 

Additional information about rental rates

CLEANING $100 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 25.0%

EXTRA FEES:
~SECURITY DEPOSIT: VRBO "Property Damage Protection" Insurance plan is required $59.
~Processing/Handling $18 plus TAX/fees ~CLEANING FEE $100 (long term more)
~90 Day Cancellation Policy 85% return & $150 Processing Fee. ~Deposits Not refunded for Special Events & Holidays, Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years, Easter & Ironman. Booked rates Final. Int'l Card Surcharge Fee 3.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • STUDIO
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Located in the HEART of Downtown Kona. Many Advantages. So much to do and see! Check out the book 'Hawaii: Big Island Revealed' or nicknamed 'The Blue Book' Quiet time, Romance, Adventure, Night Life, It's all at your fingertips. Private in Room FREE WiFi & FREE PHONE to USA & CANADA!! (bring your own PC)

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties