check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Giggle Fish Beachfront Cabin + Guest Boathouse (fully-fenced) + 2 Kayaks

51 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 4 nights


Hoodsport House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6

Crabbing is HOT right now directly in front of Giggle Fish!


* LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!!! 1.5 miles North of Hoodsport on the water.

* Best Private beach lot in Hoodsport (See Photos)

* King Beds 2, Queen Bed 1 (Sleeps 6 max + a happy & mellow pooch)

* Ideal for Couples, Families or a Romantic Getaway

* Fully Fenced Grass Yard ideal for children and pet security

* OYSTERS - delicious!

* Gorgeous Water Views from every room

* Kids LOVE love the outdoor fire pit roasting marsh mellows

* 2 min to Hoodsport IGA Grocery Store

* Wi Fi-enabled


Bill Gates has four vacation homes on Hood Canal (Google it!) but it's still a well-kept secret just 90 min. from Seattle (2 hrs. from Portland). Few places in the world offer such natural diversity with the OCEAN & MOUNTAINS - both in one location.

'Giggle Fish' is your Beach Cabin + Guest Boathouse located in Hoodsport, WA, on Hood Canal. It's so close to the water you can fish from the living room. This property is unique because it sits on a corner lot with a natural, unbuildable beach (200') between you and the neighbor. Privacy is hard to find here where homes normally sit side-by-side.


* Relax in the comfort of this 2-story home on 100' of waterfront built in 1999

* BEACH CABIN - 2 Bed & 1 Bath (1,000 sq. ft.)

* The cozy Boathouse has a Queen LOG BED, private deck (right over the water) and 3/4 bath, plus flat screen TV.

The Cabin has 2 bedrooms upstairs both with KING Beds and flat screen TV's. The cozy Boathouse has a Queen LOG BED, private deck (right over the water) and 3/4 bath. Awake to breathtaking water views - and watch SEALS and BIRDS - all from the comfort of your warm, cozy bed. This fully fenced yard has a child safety gate to the beach. The Boathouse is great for teens or if one couple desires privacy. No garage, park along Hwy 101 like the locals.


Down comforters and luxury bedding in every room, plus a KING "SLEEP NUMBER BED" in Master and modern, whimsical beach decor throughout. The main level includes an open kitchen with eating bar and stools, dining nook with seating for 4 and sectional couch, full bath, 40" HD LCD Cable TV, Blue-Ray DVD player, games, Wi-Fi, toys, books, crib/Packn'Play, inflatable toddler bed.


Wrap-around deck, with awesome, panoramic Hood Canal water views, which includes a covered gas BBQ area and comfortable seating galore - plush patio furniture and 2 outdoor dining areas. Relax on the double chaise lounge with sweeping water views. Awesome fire pit (w/benches that fold into a picnic table) ~ Make s'mores with your kids ~ YUM!!!, Bluetooth-enabled CD stereo and outdoor rock speakers. Beach towels, chairs, cooler, buckets, shovels/rakes provided for your day playing on the beach. 2 one-man Kayaks provided. Participating guests must sign and return our liability release form before arrival. Kayaking is an amazing way to experience Hood Canal, but do so at your own risk.


* Kayaking (2 Kayaks provided)

* SEALS, bald eagles, heron ~~ Good chance you'll see 'em!!!

* Fishing, crabbing, clamming, shrimping

* Championship GOLF (Salish Cliffs & Alderbrook)

* Hoodsport Winery (2 miles, tasting daily)

* Diving 'Sund Rock' & 'Octopus Hole'

* Secret 230' WATERFALL (directions provided)

* Located directly on 'Scenic Hwy 101' (one of America's most beautiful drives)

* Lake Cushman Boating

More Details
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Property Manager
Derek Doremus / VR 365
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2016
Call Manager

About Derek Doremus / VR 365

Newly Listed with VR365 Property Management which is run by our good friend, Derek, who is a true PRO at Customer Service.

Why Derek Doremus / VR 365 chose Hood Canal

After 2 years of searching the PNW for a special beach town, we finally chose Hoodsport! A Hoodsport address was key because it's the only real 'town' with full amenities along the entire 60 mile stretch of Hood Canal (aside from Belfair at the far end). This home is just 2 minutes from the Hoodsport IGA Grocery Store which is extremely convenient (especially for wine and dessert at night!) We love the quick drive from Seattle & Portland -- literally two roads - I-5 to Hwy 101 -- and not being at the mercy of a ferry.

The West side of Hood Canal is an 'Outdoor Lover's Paradise' with endless Ocean & Mountain activities. Hoodsport is a charming, waterfront town with Restaurants, Pub, Gift Shops, 2 Liquor Stores, Winery, Gas, Coffee Shop, Ice Cream Shop, Public Dock, Arts & Crafts, Dive Shop, Massage, Salmon Hatchery, Bank, Library, Outfitters Store (w/licensing), Olympic Park Visitor's Center, Kayak Rentals & Whiskey Distillery (opening soon).

What makes this house unique

Giggle Fish is a 'One of a Kind' vacation property. The rare privacy makes it one of the best beach lots in Hoodsport. It's also one of the few with a lawn for kids and playing Bocce (provided). It's a perfectly-balanced getaway because you can adventure -- or RELAX and do nothing at all -- both while surrounded by the peace and serenity of nature.

FOR HIKERS - just up the hill is the Olympic National Park 'Staircase' entrance and many popular day hikes surround the home (all levels).

FOR SCUBA DIVERS - you can literally SEE world-famous 'Sund Rock' dive spot from the deck (See Photo) voted one of the world's top Wall Dives by 'Scuba Diving Magazine' and 'Octopus Hole' is just 1.5 miles North - both known for GIANT OCTOPUS & wolf eels

'So close to the water it feels like you're on the boat, but with all the comforts of home.'

Guestbook comments from the manager

Oyster stew, Oysters baked with feta and smoked salmon, Oysters raw and with eggs for breakfast - the sparkling sun and the quiet water was great! We hope to come back in March with the kids...or not with kids... :-) Thank you!
Jan 2014
  • 1 of 28


based on 51 traveler reviews

Giggle Fish Beachfront Cabin + Guest Boathouse (fully-fenced) + 2 Kayaks
average rating of 4.490196 based on 79 reviews
Portland, OR

My perfect weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5

My perfect weekend at Giggle Fish is all I can think about!

This is the second time we’ve stayed in this home. The first time we stayed in the main house and this time we went with another couple and their 2 kids so we decided to take the boat house for our room.

We arrived Friday night & settled in for the weekend. This house has all the comforts of home with some lovely touches. Extra hooks for all our jackets, everything we could possibly need in the kitchen, great sheets and bedding, new TV’s with cable and I know this sounds silly, but full size appliances are important to me – so I appreciate the full-size refrigerator, stove & washer/dryer.

Saturday morning I had to unfortunately catch up on some work emails and I knew from our first visit there would be free wi-fi. So I took my coffee and laptop out to the deck and enjoyed the view of the water while I took care of work. If you have to work on your weekend – this is the best way! The deck has two sides – the front part is uncovered and offers some really nice furniture (couch, chairs, table, loungers) and if it starts to get misty (it did once for about 10 minutes) you can just move to the covered side and still enjoy the view!

So the men went golfing (there’s a course about 20 minutes away) and us ladies and kids stuck around the house and as soon as it hit low tide we scrambled down to the shore to pick a bucket of oysters for dinner. This is my favorite part of the weekend on the canal. We picked oysters, turned over rocks and explored the crabs and sea-life. Our friends children (ages 2 and 4) had a blast! After hanging out on the beach for a few hours we headed back in for lunch and naps! For dinner we roasted up the oysters we picked on the very nice, very big BBQ.

Ok – now I have to tell you about this boat house. Since our friends have the two kids and it made sense for them to have the two bedrooms in the main house – so we stayed in the boat house – and oh-my-gosh – we LOVED it! Big, comfy bed, large windows, bathroom with shower, deck on the front and about 30 steps from the main house. It was the most perfect hide-away I could have ever imagined.

Sunday we lingered as long as we could – not wanting to go home. We took the kayaks out on the water, picked a few more oysters, relaxed on the deck…. I think about our friends and getting to share the weekend with them at Giggle Fish and what wonderful memories we could I not share?

  • Submitted: May 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Giggling at Giggle Fish

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Great family get away. We totally enjoyed picking our own oysters on the beach. We are from Illinois, so this was our daily treat!

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Giggle Fish

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was somewhat unhappy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

It was not quite as nice as we thought and definitely not as clean. The dishes were not put back clean and there were simple things that should have been fixed, like a broken light bulb in a lamp and a burner that does not work.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rental 365, VR 365
Owner's Response: Suzie, thanks for sharing your thoughts and responding to our review. Our guest feedback is important to us. The interior of the home is completely updated with all new furniture and carpet so I’m not sure what you mean by not as quite nice? The photos you viewed online are 100% accurate to what you experienced upon your arrival. It’s also important to note this home does not have a dishwasher so unfortunately I believe the previous guests may have put a dish or two away that was not fully cleaned. We do our best to inspect all cupboards to help eliminate this from happening however it appears we missed some. My apologies and I have already spoken to my housekeeper. You are correct one of the four cook top burners did go out during your visit. Vacation Rental 365 – Derek
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent Location - Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We Loved this place right on the Hood Canal. Went Kayaking which 2 are provided and very easy back and forth up and down the Mountain to Lake Cushman. We chose this place because of its proximity to the turn off and you have cell and internet service here vs. being up by Lake Cushman where you have none (not to mention being able to put older kids out in the boat house if needed - YES!) Very clean place, relaxing and will return again another time. Thanks GiggleFish!!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved Giggle Fish

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We were a party of 6 adults- this home was perfect. An extremely well appointed kitchen. The furniture was very clean and comfortable (so much so that I emailed the manager to find out where they got the couch :)). We had fires most nights outside. Just missed seeing a mama have her baby seal on the dock next door and watched them take their first swim. The beds were very comfortable and the laundry on site was a plus. Suggestions would be more towels (1 per guest). There is no a/c but the weather was cool and sleeping delightful. The views were like nothing this Florida girl has seen.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA

Good property with very creepy management

  • 2 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very unhelpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We booked a 4 night family vacation at this property with 6 adults and 3 babies/toddlers. The first red flag that there was something wrong with the management came immediately after our arrival. Due to work obligations and other circumstances, the 6 adults arrived in 5 separate cars just after 4 pm on Saturday. Within 10 minutes, we received a phone call from someone associated with the property (Callie?) who stated the "housekeeper" had just happened to drive by and noticed that there were 5 cars in the parking area and they wanted to make sure we were not exceeding the 6 adult limit. We assured her that we were not. We thought the call was a bit strange, but didn't let it bother us too much. On the third day, we returned to the property after a day hike in the Olympics to find a suspicious and quite rude elderly "appraiser" who was taking pictures of the property through the fence. We found this to be very odd and after a terse conversation with him, he drove off. A few minutes later, we received an email from the management company offering a "friendly reminder" that they do not allow tents in the yard because it makes it seem that there are more than 6 people staying there. The email also asked us to reconfirm that we did not have more than 6 adults. We did have 2 small sun shades in the yard to protect the babies' skin during the hot days, but we did not have any tents and by that time were down to 5 adults due to an early departure and we replied to the email to that effect. However, the bigger question in our minds was how did the management know that there were sun shades in the yard? The property has a large fence separating it from the highway, so unless you are peeping through the fence you can really only see the yard from the neighbor's house and from the water. Is the property under constant surveillance? Who was the mysterious "appraiser" who didn't seem to know anything about local real estate? It all seemed very creepy t

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: 5 stars for Giggle Fish, but 2 for the grumpy Mason County Appraiser. Yep, that was indeed the County Assessor doing his job (which happens once every 6 years). No one fitting that description works at VR365. If he wouldn’t have worked that day, this review would be different. The housekeeper saw tents because the gate door was open when she drove by (as they returned from the Olympics). That’s why we emailed because we didn’t know if they were indeed tents. We manage 22 properties and have worked with hundreds of guests who’ve consistently given us an A+ rating in guest customer service. Our mission is to make everyone happy. I’ve apologized several times to Emily for the confusion. I’m happy they were able to enjoy the Olympics and sunny weather at beautiful Giggle Fish.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Hood Canal isn't realllllllly a canal, but a glacier-formed fjord which carved 60 miles along The Olympic Mountains. The mountains skyrocket 7,000 feet straight up from Hood Canal, creating a majestic, breathtaking backdrop. The clear waters provide world-class salmon fishing, crabbing, clamming and shrimping and miles of pristine shoreline for kayakers, divers, beachcombers, boaters and lovers of nature.


Rates & Availability


  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Hoodsport House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Waterfront
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 2 King beds, 1 Queen bed
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties