check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Fabio Pacheco K.

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, german, spanish, italian

Beachfront house in the heart of Playa Ballena National Park - Dominical Area

4 Reviews
Sleeps13
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Bahía Ballena House Rental Photos and Description

5 bedroom, 4 bathroom with Ocean Views, beachfront, pool

The Units:

There are 3 separate Units: The Main House, the Guest House and Caretakers’ House:

• The Main House: It has a large raised deck with a small swimming pool, 2 outside (but undercover) tables that can be used for any of the meals (these tables can be put together for larger groups). Inside there is general area with living room and dinning room on one side and a kitchen area with a long and high bar type table with stools. There is also a full bathroom and a food and supplies walk in closet. On the second floor there are 3 rooms. 2 of these rooms are a type of loft overlooking the downstairs area; they have 2 separate Queen Size beds (2.00x1.50m). Although we count these Queen Size beds for 1 person, a couple or 2 children can sleep in them. There is a master bedroom with a King Size bed (2.00x2.00m), a private full bathroom and a closet. In front of the master bedroom there is a balcony overlooking the ocean.

• The Guest House: The guest house has a room upstairs and one downstairs. The downstairs room has a small deck in front overlooking the ocean; the bedroom has King Size bed (2.00x2.00m), a Single Size bed (1.00x1.90m) and a full private bathroom. The room upstairs is a very large room with 2 balconies (one overlooking the ocean and the other one the pool) and a private full bathroom. It has 2 single size beds (1.00x1.90m), set together forming a King Size bed that can be separated. It also has 2 additional Single Size beds (1.00x1.90m).

Notes: You can select to use any room you want but once selected, please do not change rooms because the maintenance people would have to clean and wash after them also.

2. The House:

• Water: The water in the house comes from a natural spring and can be used as drinking water (we do so).

• Hot Water for the Shower or Sink: The Main House as well as the Guest House, have a gas heated hot water supply.

• Electricity: We now have electricity in the house.

• Music: We are in the process of adapting the AM/FM Radio /CD for an IPOD hook-up .

• Refrigerator: The house is equipped with a standard refrigerator and we have two large coolers that can be used to store all source of supplies in good condition. You can ask the caretaker for help to buy the ice. The nearest place is in Uvita/Bahia areas.

• Telephone: We have recently installed a telephone line (the number is 2786 5590).

• Cooking: All the cooking is done with gas. We have a large kitchen with 4 burners a grill.

• Garbage: For environmental reasons, we have 2 separate garbage deposits. One for Paper and Plastics and the other for Organic Matter. Glass and Metal cans will be handled separately also.

• Pool: The water in the pool comes also from the spring with a small continuous flow.

• Candles: Due to the flammable construction materials used in building the house we do not allow any candles in the rooms. You can use candles at the outdoor tables and areas where they can be supervised at all times.

• Torches: Out on the Deck we have torches that are lit at sundown. The caretaker will blow them off when they are retiring (For security purposes we do not want to leave them during the night without supervision).

3. Services: We have a couple that take care of the maintenance and cleaning of the house and can also cook for you. They have their own house (next to the main house) and generally come early in the morning (around 7:00AM) to clean the main house and prepare breakfast. They also will show up to help with lunch (around 12:00PM) and late afternoon (5:00PM) to light the outside torches and help with serving drinks and dinner preparation. If you need them at any other time, just call them.

• Cooking: The caretakers wife can cook for you (following your instructions) or you can use them to assist you. If you like to try some of our local food, they can prepare rice and beans and fresh hand made tortillas (you will have to remember to purchase the corn flower for tortillas and the rice and beans).

• The Grill: Anytime you want to use the outside Grill, you can ask the caretaker and he will look for the wood and prepare it for you.

• Cleaning: The caretakers will maintain the house and clean all the rooms and bathrooms.

• Linen and Towels: Both are included with the house. In regards to the towels, please use them in the House or Deck areas only (do not take them to the beach. If you are going to need towels for the beach, please bring your own.

• Rooms and Beds: After your breakfast, the caretakers will clean your rooms and make up your beds. If you want this done at other times you need to tell them.

• Washing: If you need anything to be washed, the caretakers will do it for a small gratuity.

• Drinks and beverages: The caretakers have a general idea how to prepare drinks and beverages but you have to show them how to prepare certain drinks. Depending on the season and availability, they can bring you coconut juice from nearby trees.

• Supplies: Bathroom soap and toiled paper are included with the house. You should bring whatever goods you are going to consume. In the San Jose area you can find a larger variety of goods but there are different areas close to the house where you can buy most of your needs.

• Additional help: If you need additional help, either of the caretakers can arrange it for you. The hourly rate should be close to $2.00.

• Tipping: This is strictly based on your opinion and how you were treated, but in general terms, our friends leave a tip of $15-20.00 per couple after spending a long weekend in our house. For a week or longer stay we suggest a larger amount per couple.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
Fabio Pacheco K. (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, german, spanish, italian

Reviews

4.3
based on 4 traveler reviews

Beachfront house in the heart of Playa Ballena National Park - Dominical Area
average rating of 4.25 based on 4 reviews
Eugene, Oregon
2

Water Issues

  • 2 of 5

A large group of us rented this place for use while we were working at Envision festival. Unfortunately it didn't work very well for us. The main issue was the water. Apart from the outdoor shower for rinsing, we could only take showers in the downstairs bathroom, which meant that at least 10 people had to share. Even then many times it came out as a trickle. Several of us paid to take showers at the festival because of this. Same goes for the sinks, most of the time only the kitchen sink worked, and then many times just a trickle. When we arrived the "pool" was 1/3 full and looked slimy. After about 5 days it was cleaned, but refilled to the same level, so we never used it even tho we wanted to. We were afraid to drink the water since it was so low. The reason given by the caretaker was that there has been a drought in the area. Understandable, but for the premium price we paid, there should have been a backup water tank. The kitchen was infested with ants, swarms of them all over the counters made it hard to prepare food. None of the doors lock, (not that is was really necessary) and many barely close as the hardware is all rusted. The sheets and towels were clean, but stained. Because there was no water to wash we had the same towels for the whole week. The bathrooms were never cleaned, the trash was emptied once I asked Francisco to do it. The fan was broken in the upstairs room of the second house and it got quite warm in there in the day.

This place just wasn't a good fit for our large group, as we needed a place we could come home to to clean up, prepare food and relax. There is no cell phone reception with any company. 5 of us were stung by wasps as we walked down the boardwalk to the beach. Never saw any kayaks. Please get a 4 wheel drive if you stay as the road is rough.

There are a few plusses... It was tranquil and the sound of the waves was nice, (except when construction next door woke us up at 6am for several days). The beach right out front was beautiful, but after the kids got stung, they refused to walk out there. We heard monkeys. The caretakers Francisco and Ana, and super sweet and helpful, and their dogs and really nice.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Natural Soul, Thank you for your message and feedback as we take our guest’s satisfaction into very high regard. We apologise for the incovnencies you've experienced however are looking into them with ownership right away and will get back to you with more details soon. We regret to have been informed of this at such a later hour however as we would have liked to do more during your actual stay. I will return your message again shortly...Cristina / Property Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Rustic Home

  • 5 of 5

This house exceeded our expectations. The whole house is open air making waking up to the ocean waves breaking on the shore and the sound of howler monkeys in the distance my favorite part of staying here. There are also a family of capuchin monkeys that live around the house that you most likely will see most mornings. There are two kayaks on premise which we took out before sunrise and watched the sun rise over the mountains behind the house about 300 yards out into the ocean. There is also a small stream next to the house that made for an awesome hike through the forest.

We did a lot of our own cooking most nights which was a blast, and the caretaker's graciously cleaned up after us every night. The caretaker's can even cook for you if you asked. They are two of the most accommodating and friendly people you will meet.

I was planning to propose to my girlfriend somewhere in Costa Rica and when we got there, the house was so beautiful that I decided to do it right on the premises during a beautiful sunset.

I highly recommend staying here if you love nature and the outdoors and are looking for somewhere beautiful to kick back.

I do advise though that you get really good directions before arriving because the place is a bit difficult to find, especially in the dark.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Escazú, San José, Costa Rica
5

Ballenato de Bahía

  • 5 of 5

We have rented this great property several times already in the past year as it is very quite and private. We love the architecture and the elegant sophistication coming from its simplicity. The property, its amenities and the fact of having the ocean right in front without crawd is amazing. It´s definetly our favorite vacation home in Costa Rica.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Heredia
5

Living in nature

  • 5 of 5

It was one of the best beach front houses that i ever been. The grounds are beautiful with great view, architecture and wonderful plants, trees and flowers all around, and only a few steps from the beach. You're really living in nature and among the many different animals in the environs. The atmosphere is calm and relaxing, we ate home-cooked and healthy food... Delicious!! We absoloutly loved the owners Aimee and Fabio was very hospitable.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Motorway
1 Kilometres
Ruta 34
Nearest Beach
20 Metres
Playa Ballena
Car: necessary

• The Beach: Ballena is the only national marine park in Costa Rica. To the south of our house the beach tends to have a wider sand area and to the north, climbing over the hill through a small path you gain access to a very nice beach called Playa de Arco with beautiful views and totally isolated.

• The small Islands in front of the beach (Ballena – in front and Tres Hermanas – to the left): There are many bird species that live on the island. If you go snorkeling (best during low tide) you can see the different fish and coral species that were a factor in selecting the site to be a national park.

• Isla del Caño: About a 1.5 hour boat ride will take you to small island with great fishing area and nice beaches.

• Delta: A few miles to the south of Ballena lies the largest delta in America on the Pacific side (about 50 Km wide). You can rent a boat and see the mangrove wildlife and can go as far as you want into the different channels and parts of it. Going south towards the delta, you pass along a beach called Playa Ventanas. This beach has natural windows/ holes in the rocks interesting to see. If you go by car, just go south on the road, pass Ventanas and the entrance towards Ojochal, about 1 km after the bridge you will be able to see the north side of the delta.

• Colonial/banana plantation houses in Palmar Sur: Airport area (front and particularly behind or back road).

• Pre-Columbian rock spheres: In Palmar Sur. You can see them in the park (in front of the airport) and further south (on the road to Sierpe).

• Corcovado National Park: To the south, at the Peninsula de Osa, you can find the Corcovado National Park. About 1.5 hours by boat. There are very nice beaches in that area and you could visit the park, have lunch in Bahía Drake (Drake’s Bay) or any of the small hotels in the area.

• Horseback Riding or Hiking: You can ride on the beach or go to the mountains at the back of the house. The caretakers can arrange for that and be your guide. You can also visit the waterfalls close to Uvita or the largest ones close to Tinamastes del Baru, between San Isidro and Dominical – there is a tour on horseback that you could schedule on the way from San Isidro to Dominical.

• Sightseeing: The caretakers can take you hiking in the mountains (you can shorten the time by driving part of the way) and there are different small roads that you can access by car with incredible views. If you visit the Dominical area, there are various small roads that go parallel to the coastal road but on the upper part of the mountains. This is a very nice drive to do on an afternoon before the sunset.

• Waterfalls: There are several waterfalls in the area that the caretakers can guide you to.

• Fishing, sailing, boating, kayaking, and water skiing: The caretakers can direct you to the right people in Bahía to contract for these services. You can also find these services in Dominical.

• Scuba Diving and Snorkeling: There is a nice shop in the Ventanas small strip mall (about 5 min. south of Ballena, behind the Gas Station). They rent equipment and give lessons also.

• Surfing: Dominical is a very nice surfing beach but be careful if you are a beginner. There are at least two surf shops in the village and you can inquire about their services. There are other beaches and particular spots between Dominical and Ballena; - one of them is Dominicalito and the beach south of it. Have in mind that most of the areas are better during high tide. Depending on the day and tides, you can do some surfing and have some fun just in front of the house (and better about 200m south of the house on our beach) but there are great places in the areas explained above.

• Ultra-Light Planes: In Uvita/Bahia you can schedule a ride on the Ultra-Light Planes. This will give you a good idea of the area from the air.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bahía Ballena House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Green Season
Jul 11 2016 - Nov 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
$115
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $45 per night, per additional guest
 
High Season
Dec 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$145
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$145
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

50% in advance to make reservation
50% to complete total payment upon arrival

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Bahía Ballena House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Main House Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
    Main House Bedroom 3 - 2 queen
    Main House Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Guest House Master Bedroom - 1 king , 2 twin/ single
    Guest House Bedroom 5 - 1 king , 1 twin/ single
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties