Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Karen Morse

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Sleek Modern, Prime Cap Hill Location, PARKING Blocks To Capitol,Bikes

45 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalize payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Washington DC Apartment Rental Photos and Description

1 Bedroom English Garden Apt, (9 Ft Ceilings) Lots Of Light. Sleeps 2 To 4

Very sunny one bedroom Garden Apartment in one of Capitol Hill's oldest and most Historic homes. The house was built in 1876 and is registered in the National Historic Conservation Trust. Located on East Capitol Street facing the East side of the Capitol Building. Simply walk out of the apartment and get a terrific view of the Capitol Building.

One bedroom, one bath, beautifully furnished apartment, well appointed gourmet kitchen, granite countertops throughout, electric fireplace, italian tile floors throughout, washer/dryer, dishwasher, storage, internet wifi, cable, 2 flat screen tvs, 1 in the master bedroom 1 in the living room. The leather sofa folds out to a double bed.

The apartment has lovely modern furnishings, complete renovation february 2013, leather sofa, beautiful rugs, electric fire place with sheepskin rug. Local artist's works are tastefully displayed throughout. The living room space opens onto the kitchen which is designed for the person who loves to cook. The bathroom is off the kitchen and living room. The bedroom is in the back of the apartment and the entire apartment is filled with natural light though large windows. The queen bed has 500-thread-count egyptian cotton sheets, a large dresser with mirror, closet, flat screen tv with cable, nightstands with reading lamps and sisel rug. The bathroom features a relaxing rainshower faucet. The towels are extra thick.

It is an easy walk to the us capitol, senate office buildings, supreme court, library of congress and folgers shakespeare library. Close by are all the smithsonian museums on the mall including the national gallery of art, air and space museum, museum of natural history, national archives, american indian museum and more.

You can also walk to eastern market and national's stadium from the property. Restaurant row is close by and walkable on 8th street.

The property is closest to the eastern market metro stop and also convenient to union station and just a couple of metro stops away at gallery place for the 12 screen movie theatre, the shakespeare theater company performing at sidney harmon hall and the lansburgh theatre, verizon center with basketball and hockey.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Karen Morse (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.6
based on 45 traveler reviews

Sleek Modern, Prime Cap Hill Location, PARKING Blocks To Capitol,Bikes
average rating of 4.6222224 based on 45 reviews
4

Great location and Karen is a wonderful host

  • 4 of 5

We arrived late in the evening and we were very happy that Karen was there and got us into the apartment very quickly. Not that it's hard to get in, but it was helpful to have someone there.

The apartment was as described, except, and that's my fault, I thought it was more above ground than it was. It's definitely a basement and if you are a bit claustrophobic, you may not like that. This is the first time that my husband and I stayed in a basement apartment and we will most likely look for something above ground the next time we are in DC.

Having said that, the apartment was lovely, well maintained, very clean and comfortable. It is also in a great location and in walking distance to Eastern Market, the Capitol, etc. We only rented a car for a few days to go out of the City, we never felt that we needed one otherwise.

A nice touch are the Metro passes and a couple of bikes for your personal use. On this trip we mostly walked everywhere and used Lyft or Uber when needed.

Thank you Karen for your hospitality.

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your great review! I am so happy that you were happy with the apartment and the neighborhood. Just to clear up on issue! This is an English Garden apartment like much of the house on Capitol Hill. While you walk down a few steps down to the apartment and a few steps up to the main house it really isnt a basement apartment. I grew up in a house with a basement which was windowless and underground. Which is very different from this apartment. It has 4 large 4 foot by 3 foot windows that let in lots of light and a view of the garden. Hence the name! As you can see from my reviews no one else has classified this apartment this way! It is very bright with sunlight and cheerful!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Slightly Disappointing

  • 3 of 5

I have to say it was a cute little apartment. The pictures were very accurate in the listing. The location was great and made the tourist areas of DC very walkable. The kitchen was pretty well stocked with cookware and dishes. It was also stocked with cleaning supplies. The disappointing thing was that I had to use them right when I got there. I found soap scum on the bathroom faucet, tomato sauce on the stove top, splatter in the microwave, a dead fly on the kitchen window sill and a dead leaf on the living room window sill. I sent the owner an email with pictures shortly after my arrival. I cleaned before I even unpacked and found dirty clothes in the dresser in the bedroom (including dirty underwear, gross!) and 3 socks in the living room under the hassock and the end table. She did reply to my email. She apologized and offered to refresh the place if I was going out for the evening. I had no plans to go out and had already cleaned and unpacked by the time I saw the email. I checked in on Easter Sunday and stayed until the following Sunday, April 3rd. It is now 10 days after I got home. I expected the place to be clean. I also think good customer service on her part would have been to offer me a discount on my cleaning fee. I don't feel I should have to demand it.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am always a little confused about a renter who absolutely gushes about the apartment to me while they are here and then goes home and adds so much to a review. We did speak and you told me about the leaf in the window sill and you did send me a photo. I offered right then and there, like you mentioned to come right down and remedy any issues. You declined but thanked me for offering and told me how wonderful the apartment was. I told you then that if there was anything else, please let me know!! You never told me anything about the other issues "you found" and i am guessing that you would have alerted me about the other issues you mentioned while you were here?? You seemed so happy with the state of the apartment and the neighborhood when we spoke while you were here! I am on property and as you can see from my other 5 star reviews, i am always available. The apartment is cleaned by my crew and inspected by me personally. We are sticklers about cleanliness!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Location, Size, and Owner

  • 5 of 5

I stayed in this property for 9 weeks during an internship in DC and could not have asked for a better fit! This property is located in the heart of capitol hill and is so close to so many must do and see things in DC. Additionally, the apartment was the perfect size for my roommate and I during an extended stay. The kitchen was well stocked with supplies such as pots, pans, utensils, plates, ect. and was renovated. The bed in the bedroom was extremely comfortable and there was plenty of storage. Karen was extremely helpful. She offered to store our suitcases in order to make more room for us, one time we could not get the TV to turn on during the super bowl and she sent someone down within less than 30 minutes of emailing her about it, and she brought down any of our mail that was accidentally delivered to the main house. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it!

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lakeside, Ohio
5

Location, Location, Location!

  • 5 of 5

Beautifully appointed apartment in the heart of Capitol Hill. Everything we needed was in this neat as a pin apartment steps away from the bus and a couple blocks away from the metro. You will not need your car to access the sights of DC from this location. And when you come home from your day of sightseeing you'll be able to rest comfortably. Everything is there if you want to prepare a home cooked meal. If not it's an easy walk to great restaurants. Our host, Karen, was every easy to reach if we needed anything. All in all a great months vacation!

Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Location for a DC trip!

  • 5 of 5

The location of this property and use of the bikes made our trip very fun, memorable and successful. We had never been to the area before and I was nervous about riding the bikes everywhere. After the first 30 minutes on the bikes we felt very confident and comfortable. Our rental car was not used except for 2 nights when we drove downtown and to Alexandria for dinner. The apartment really did have everything. We made our way to the Eastern market where I found cream for my coffee in the mornings. We would leave at 9 am on the bikes and finish the day with dinner at the Barraks or near the Market. Oh we had fun. The bed was very comfy and we returned from this vacation very happy and well rested. A great place to stay and "see" DC. We felt very safe. Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us.

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Connecticut
5

Wonderful Place to Stay in DC

  • 5 of 5

This rental was part of an enjoyable autumn weekend in DC. Karen was great about replying to our e-mails before and after the trip. The apartment was clean, comfortable and met our needs. The location was excellent. We walked to the train station, monuments, and restaurants. It is close to Eastern Market which we totally enjoyed for breakfast. We look forward to staying here again if it works out.

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Reagan International Airport
Nearest Train
0.4 Miles
Union Station
Car: not necessary

It is an easy walk to the US Capitol, Senate Office buildings, Supreme Court, Library of Congress and Folgers Shakespeare Library. Close by are all the Smithsonian Museums on the Mall including the National Gallery of Art, Air and Space Museum, Museum of Natural History, National Archives, American Indian Museum and more.

A couple of metro stops away at Gallery Place are movies, the Shakespeare Theater Company performing at Sidney Harmon Hall and the Lansburgh Theatre, Verizon Center with basketball and hockey. H Street, Georgetown, 14th Street Corridor and Adams Morgan are all within easy access.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Eastern Market Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
SUMMER
May 1 2016 - Jun 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
4TH OF JULY
Jul 1 2016 - Jul 5 2016
3 night minimum stay
$235
 
 
SUMMER
Jul 7 2016 - Aug 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
Inaugural
Jan 16 2017 - Jan 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,675
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$150
$1,050
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $250
Cleaning Fee $80
Insurance $89 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.5%

**** Please be advised that rental rate for holiday weekends such as MLK Day, Inaugural, Presidents Day, Fourth of July etc. Rates for these weekends and holidays are $200 per night for this apartment.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Washington DC Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 420 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • ice skating

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote