check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Karen Morse

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Sleek Modern, Prime Cap Hill Location, PARKING Blocks To Capitol,Bikes

49 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Washington DC Apartment Rental Photos and Description

1 Bedroom English Garden Apt, (9 Ft Ceilings) Lots Of Light. Sleeps 2 To 4

Very sunny one bedroom Garden Apartment in one of Capitol Hill's oldest and most Historic homes. The house was built in 1876 and is registered in the National Historic Conservation Trust. Located on East Capitol Street facing the East side of the Capitol Building. Simply walk out of the apartment and get a terrific view of the Capitol Building.

One bedroom, one bath, beautifully furnished apartment, well appointed gourmet kitchen, granite countertops throughout, electric fireplace, italian tile floors throughout, washer/dryer, dishwasher, storage, internet wifi, cable, 2 flat screen tvs, 1 in the master bedroom 1 in the living room. The leather sofa folds out to a double bed.

The apartment has lovely modern furnishings, complete renovation february 2013, leather sofa, beautiful rugs, electric fire place with sheepskin rug. Local artist's works are tastefully displayed throughout. The living room space opens onto the kitchen which is designed for the person who loves to cook. The bathroom is off the kitchen and living room. The bedroom is in the back of the apartment and the entire apartment is filled with natural light though large windows. The queen bed has 500-thread-count egyptian cotton sheets, a large dresser with mirror, closet, flat screen tv with cable, nightstands with reading lamps and sisel rug. The bathroom features a relaxing rainshower faucet. The towels are extra thick.

It is an easy walk to the us capitol, senate office buildings, supreme court, library of congress and folgers shakespeare library. Close by are all the smithsonian museums on the mall including the national gallery of art, air and space museum, museum of natural history, national archives, american indian museum and more.

You can also walk to eastern market and national's stadium from the property. Restaurant row is close by and walkable on 8th street.

The property is closest to the eastern market metro stop and also convenient to union station and just a couple of metro stops away at gallery place for the 12 screen movie theatre, the shakespeare theater company performing at sidney harmon hall and the lansburgh theatre, verizon center with basketball and hockey.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Karen Morse (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.7
based on 49 traveler reviews

Sleek Modern, Prime Cap Hill Location, PARKING Blocks To Capitol,Bikes
average rating of 4.6530614 based on 49 reviews
Valrico, Florida
5

Very Convenient Location!

  • 5 of 5

I am a single mother of two that stayed at this location 06/18-06/24/16. The location is wonderful and seems to be very safe. The home is located in a beautiful historic area. I had no concerns walking down to the Eastern Market area in the evening with my kids to grab a bite to eat. We were also able to walk to the Capitol but it is a bit of hike since the locations we wanted to visit are spread out it could make for a tiring day! It is doable but we ended up using Uber most of the time to take us down to the national mall area and walked plenty from destination to destination. Karen was very friendly and left wonderful suggestions on local places to eat, etc. The apartment itself is clean and stocked extremely well with everything one could possibly need during their stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awsome!

  • 5 of 5

We visited this downstairs, one bedroom from 6.12.16 to 6.16.16. I am a single father of a nine year old boy. I hadn't been to DC since I was in middle school, so the experience was very new to both my son and I. I was extremely hesitant flying in from Denver, Colorado and not renting a car. I am so glad we didn't rent a car. Karen supplies two bikes and one of them fit my nine year old son. She also supplied a lock too so we could easily lock our bikes together to a post or something similar on the National mall. This unit has all the amenities you will need. We cooked there which is an awesome way to save money. She also supplies all the basics. It was neat to pack a bag of chips or snacks that we bought because there are sandwich bags in the drawer. Nice air conditioning, always comfortable. We loved the location. Friendly neighborhood. We never felt scared, uneasy etc. Karen supplied two Metro cards which came in handy. We would walk south to the nearest Metro station at the Eastern Market. Maybe a seven to fifteen minute walk. Super close. From there, you can go anywhere. It stops relatively close to everything. My son wasn't tall enough to use DC's bike share program. If you can utilize that do. Across the street from Karen's is a bike share station. So instead of walking to the Metro, you walk across the street, check out a bike and ride to the metro. We really enjoyed using Karen's bikes and riding to the capitol every night. It's a few minute ride to the west. Riding around our nations capitol every night and then exploring the national mall after dark was the real deal. It's so majestic. So if you're hesitant on planning your trip; Don't be. DCA is at most a 22 minute taxi ride. From Denver, we enjoyed one person in front of us going through security and leaving from Reagan there was no one in line at security. Get your vacation on. Happy Traveling and tell Karen, Brodie says hi

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

This apartment is in a really great neighborhood on the Hill. Very close to everything! The space is well appointed and has modern furnishings. It looks exactly like the photos! The apartment was just as expected with lots of natural light with an open airy feel. Lots of extras in the kitchen and bath that make it easy to move in right away. We arrived late so the coffee in the apartment really helped the next morning. Eastern market is a short walk and try some of the many restaurants on 7th and 8th which are are a short stroll from the apartment! We really enjoyed our stay and we look forward to coming back soon! Karen was great with suggestions and recommendations!

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta Suburb
5

Memorial Weekend Holiday

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here over the Memorial holiday weekend. This was our first time visiting DC, so we spent the majority of our time visiting the Capital Mall grounds. We drove our car and brought our dog with us. It was great that parking was included. The first time parking in the lot was tight and tapped into our parking skills, but after the first time, it was quite easy after we got familiar with it. The neighborhood was very walkable and we took our dog to the Lincoln park every day to let him stretch his legs. The area is very family and dog-friendly. We walked to Eastern Market a couple times for the farmer's market on the weekend and for restaurants. Karen, the owner, has a great list of suggested restaurants to try in the area. We walked most of the time but took advantage of Uber a couple of times during the hot hours of the day and to get down to the Lincoln Memorial. The only time we used our car was to visit our friends who live Silver Spring.There are also bikes to borrow, which is pretty convenient. If you visit DC in the warm months, an umbrella is a lifesaver walking around on the hot pavement. We brought our own, but the rental has two extra-large umbrellas to borrow. This came handy when our friends joined us one day. A couple of our favorite places to eat were Matchbox and Rasika.

The rental had everything we needed and it was very clean. (Extra blankets, pillows, 2 toilet paper rolls, facial tissues, paper towel roll, shopping bags, basic spices, thick towels, hairdryer, iron and board) The neighborhood is a busy area, but we thought it was very quite inside and private. We couldn't hear the guest across the hall either until we were in the hallway. Our dog felt relaxed and at home. A few guidebooks are available to browse through and a small collection of fiction books. We used my hotspot for internet access. Although it got up into the high 80s/low 90s it felt cool and comfortable being a ground level apartment. We didn't even touch the air conditioner unit. The only minor issue was the outside entry light was burnt out to the ground level units. I carry a little flashlight on my keys, so it didn't really bother us. Overall, a great place to stay and I would rent this place again.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location and Karen is a wonderful host

  • 4 of 5

We arrived late in the evening and we were very happy that Karen was there and got us into the apartment very quickly. Not that it's hard to get in, but it was helpful to have someone there.

The apartment was as described, except, and that's my fault, I thought it was more above ground than it was. It's definitely a basement and if you are a bit claustrophobic, you may not like that. This is the first time that my husband and I stayed in a basement apartment and we will most likely look for something above ground the next time we are in DC.

Having said that, the apartment was lovely, well maintained, very clean and comfortable. It is also in a great location and in walking distance to Eastern Market, the Capitol, etc. We only rented a car for a few days to go out of the City, we never felt that we needed one otherwise.

A nice touch are the Metro passes and a couple of bikes for your personal use. On this trip we mostly walked everywhere and used Lyft or Uber when needed.

Thank you Karen for your hospitality.

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your great review! I am so happy that you were happy with the apartment and the neighborhood. Just to clear up on issue! This is an English Garden apartment like much of the house on Capitol Hill. While you walk down a few steps down to the apartment and a few steps up to the main house it really isnt a basement apartment. I grew up in a house with a basement which was windowless and underground. Which is very different from this apartment. It has 4 large 4 foot by 3 foot windows that let in lots of light and a view of the garden. Hence the name! As you can see from my reviews no one else has classified this apartment this way! It is very bright with sunlight and cheerful!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Slightly Disappointing

  • 3 of 5

I have to say it was a cute little apartment. The pictures were very accurate in the listing. The location was great and made the tourist areas of DC very walkable. The kitchen was pretty well stocked with cookware and dishes. It was also stocked with cleaning supplies. The disappointing thing was that I had to use them right when I got there. I found soap scum on the bathroom faucet, tomato sauce on the stove top, splatter in the microwave, a dead fly on the kitchen window sill and a dead leaf on the living room window sill. I sent the owner an email with pictures shortly after my arrival. I cleaned before I even unpacked and found dirty clothes in the dresser in the bedroom (including dirty underwear, gross!) and 3 socks in the living room under the hassock and the end table. She did reply to my email. She apologized and offered to refresh the place if I was going out for the evening. I had no plans to go out and had already cleaned and unpacked by the time I saw the email. I checked in on Easter Sunday and stayed until the following Sunday, April 3rd. It is now 10 days after I got home. I expected the place to be clean. I also think good customer service on her part would have been to offer me a discount on my cleaning fee. I don't feel I should have to demand it.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am always a little confused about a renter who absolutely gushes about the apartment to me while they are here and then goes home and adds so much to a review. We did speak and you told me about the leaf in the window sill and you did send me a photo. I offered right then and there, like you mentioned to come right down and remedy any issues. You declined but thanked me for offering and told me how wonderful the apartment was. I told you then that if there was anything else, please let me know!! You never told me anything about the other issues "you found" and i am guessing that you would have alerted me about the other issues you mentioned while you were here?? You seemed so happy with the state of the apartment and the neighborhood when we spoke while you were here! I am on property and as you can see from my other 5 star reviews, i am always available. The apartment is cleaned by my crew and inspected by me personally. We are sticklers about cleanliness!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Reagan International Airport
Nearest Train
0.4 Miles
Union Station
Car: not necessary

It is an easy walk to the US Capitol, Senate Office buildings, Supreme Court, Library of Congress and Folgers Shakespeare Library. Close by are all the Smithsonian Museums on the Mall including the National Gallery of Art, Air and Space Museum, Museum of Natural History, National Archives, American Indian Museum and more.

A couple of metro stops away at Gallery Place are movies, the Shakespeare Theater Company performing at Sidney Harmon Hall and the Lansburgh Theatre, Verizon Center with basketball and hockey. H Street, Georgetown, 14th Street Corridor and Adams Morgan are all within easy access.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Eastern Market Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
SUMMER
Jul 7 2016 - Jan 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$125
$755
 
 
Inaugural
Jan 16 2017 - Jan 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,675
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$125
$755
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $80
Pet Fee $250
Insurance $89 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.5%

**** Please be advised that rental rate for holiday weekends such as MLK Day, Inaugural, Presidents Day, Fourth of July etc. Rates for these weekends and holidays are $200 per night for this apartment.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Washington DC Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 420 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • ice skating

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties