check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Key West Hideaways

Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Mermaid Cove- ON DUVAL STREET! Sleeps 12

7 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

Uptwon/Upper Duval House Rental Photos and Description

4 units in a 3-building private complex

Located at the artsy 1200 block of world famous Duval Street, Mermaid Cove is the ideal affordable getaway for your Key West vacation. You are in the heart of historic Old Town Key West, where an eclectic mix of restaurants, art galleries, beaches, bars, museums and night life are within walking or biking distance. Out the front door is Banana Café, the perfect place to start your day with a delectable breakfast.

Mermaid Cove features four separate units (two cottages and two apartments), each with a private entrance and all decorated and furnished in charming tropical fashion. The units surround a central courtyard with outdoor patio furniture and a large gas BBQ grill. Mermaid Cove allows you to gather as a group, but also have privacy. With accommodations for up to 12 people, it is perfect for extended families, a bunch of friends or several couples.

Unit 1 is an upstairs unit with a king bed, full kitchen, bath with shower and living room with full sleeper sofa and a wall-unit air conditioner. The living room has a large flat-screen TV/DVD player and French doors that open onto a deck with table and chairs. It sleeps 4.

Unit 2 is downstairs with a queen bed, bath with shower, mini kitchen with under-the-counter fridge, microwave, toaster oven, coffee maker, blender, TV/DVD and a wall-unit air conditioner. Sleeps 2.

Unit 3 is free standing and has a king bed with French doors that open onto the central courtyard. The bath includes a shower. The kitchen has a mini-fridge, microwave, toaster oven, coffee maker, blender, TV/DVD and wall-unit air conditioner. Sleeps 2.

Unit 4 is at the rear of the courtyard and features natural cedar walls. At the entrance is a beautiful mosaic tiled 20-foot wall with a one-of-a-kind mural of a Key West beach scene with a Mermaid! This unit features a queen bed and two twin beds, kitchen with a mini-fridge, microwave, toaster oven, coffee maker, blender, flat screen TV/DVD, small sitting area/dining table and wall-unit air conditioner. The bath includes a shower. Sleeps 4.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • pets considered
Key West Hideaways (Property Manager)
Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

Mermaid Cove was perfect. We had a group of 9 for a bachelor party. The location was perfect and the setup was ideal. If you have a group and you are looking for a place that gives you the togetherness and also the ability to have your own little sleeping section, Mermaids Cove is it. I wouldn't hesitate to rent or stay at this place next time i go to Key West.
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.6
based on 7 traveler reviews

Mermaid Cove- ON DUVAL STREET! Sleeps 12
average rating of 4.571429 based on 8 reviews
4

Good times in Key West

  • 4 of 5

This space is in a great location on Duval St. with easy access to all that Key West has to offer. Go to the Rum Bar down the street and ask for Jill! We had a large group and it accommodated us nicely. The central courtyard was great for gathering as a group and entertaining as expected. Very easy check-in/out process as well.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice Location

  • 3 of 5

Nice location, walking distance to shops and southern most point. Each Cottage is unique in its own individual way. Was nice for family members. Upon arrival there was no clean sheets for the sleeper sofa, Management Company was called. They said would send someone over with sheets, never happened in four days. Units were what we call Key West Clean, tolerable but not really clean. Liked the location but not sure would return because response time (or lack of) of Management Company.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear guest, we are very sorry to hear that we failed to respond to your issue on a timely matter. Our cleaning staff is working very hard to make the units clean and fresh for our guests, but unfortunately sometimes they miss something. I hope this was not and issue that ruined your stay. We will work on trying to eliminate these kinds of issues in the future. Best regards, Key West Hideaways staff
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Location, Great House for Large Groups

  • 5 of 5

I traveled with a group of about 8 people. The place is extremely well laid out. There was plenty of room for all of us. The courtyard is a great place to hang out and enjoy the beautiful Key West weather. Its within walking distance to all of the sights and sounds that Duval Street has to offer.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to review Mermaid Cove. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for Us!

  • 5 of 5

Our group included 4 couples with a desire to be together in a common area but with private sleeping accommodations. This eclectic property provided all our needs. It's location on the quieter end of Duval Street was enjoyed by all. We rented bikes and found all of Duval Street accessible. Randy represented the Owner well and the in/out process was painless. The security deposit was returned to us in a timely manner. We recommend this property!

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to review Mermaid Cove. We are glad you had a great time in Key West and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The Perfect Bachelor Party Pad

  • 5 of 5

This place was perfect for a 13-person trip. The courtyard in the middle is a perfect atmosphere for cookouts and socializing. Right on Duval with easy access to the beaches, restaurants, and bars. Couldn't have been better. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Value for Key West

  • 5 of 5

If you want to experience Key West like the locals do, then Mermaid Cove is for you. Quaint hideaway in the midst of historic Key West close to shops and few restaurants Mermaid Cove is excellent for family get-away. Great value for the money. Taste old Florida like the natives do.

Tropical and island motif is decorated around the property. This is a private secluded, secure locale.

We had our family reunion here and we totally enjoyed the accommodations. Our grand kids were able to play in the courtyard and we enjoyed walking to the beach and downtown.

Mermaid Cove is the place my family and I will be renting here every year for our family reunions.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
South Beach
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Uptwon/Upper Duval House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jul 8 2016 - Oct 22 2016
3 night minimum stay
$695
 
 
Fantasy Fest
Oct 24 2016 - Oct 30 2016
5 night minimum stay
$945
 
 
Power Boat Races 2016
Nov 8 2016 - Nov 13 2016
5 night minimum stay
$845
 
 
Holiday 2016
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 1 2017
5 night minimum stay
$945
 
 
Peak 2017
Jan 2 2017 - Apr 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
$845
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$795
 

Additional information about rental rates

Vacation Rental Damage Protection $0
Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $250 + Tax
Processing $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.5%

Rates from $395 - $995
Minimum stay from 4 nights to 6 nights

Please call for exact rates and conditions

Deposit of approximately 50%, balance due 30 days prior to arrival. We accept all major credit cards.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Uptwon/Upper Duval House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Village
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • 4 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Unit 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sleeps 4
    Unit 2 - 1 queen , Sleeps 2
    Unit 3 - 1 king , Sleeps 2
    Unit 4 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , Sleeps 4
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • pets considered
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers