check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar


20 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
5 nights


Kihei House Rental Photos and Description

The Whole House, The whole property

This comfortable home is very private and peaceful, yet close to all of the action, serving as the ideal setting to rest and rejuvenate after a long day of exploring the island. (There are no other dwellings or rentals on this large property).

Located about 50 feet (15 second walk) to the white sand beach where the ocean is perfect for swimming, paddle boarding, snorkeling, and miles of sandy beach for walking, sunset, etc.

Some amenities of the house include: New electric Air Conditioning system (2014), the a/c runs 14 hours a day and works best when the doors and widows are closed. Large fenced private yard, with a barbecue area and shade canopy for outdoor dining. This house is very clean, and furnished with all bedding, towels, washer and dryer, fully equipped kitchen, beach chairs, toys, snorkels masks, etc. We are in the process of adding another full bathroom. Three bedrooms, 2 Cal King Heavenly beds, 2 twin beds, 1 queen fold-out bed.

Also, We have a 3 bedroom, 2.5 bath Oceanfront Beach House Vacation Rental, that is located on another large house lot, right next door! (VRBO#436251). Each house sleeps 6-8 people.

VRBO#436251 is Nanialii 1

VRBO#457842 is Nanialii 2

Small store, Shave Ice, and Farmer's Market Produce are within a short walk down the beach. Close to local bus transportation. This is the best priced private beach house in the area. (Maui County Vacation Rental permit #STKM2014/0003)

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

eddie melott
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 21, 2016
Call Owner

About eddie melott

I have lived on Maui for about 30 years. I have owned this property for about 15 years.

eddie melott purchased this house in 1999

Why eddie melott chose Maui

Legal Vacation Rental on Maui with County Permit. Unique private road.

What makes this house unique


Guestbook comments from the owner

We very much enjoyed this private house. We received fresh mangos,and lemons from from the trees on property. We also enjoyed floating the kayak on the ocean in front of the property! 5 stars

Sep 2015
  • 1 of 2


based on 20 traveler reviews

average rating of 3.95 based on 22 reviews

Perfect for a family

  • 5 of 5


This was a great location and great place, right across the street from the beach, a short drive to the stores but down a quiet dead end, all of which was great for us. The fenced in yard (w bbq) was perfect for our young kids (3 and 1) and the 3 rooms allowed everyone to have their own room. Ed the owner is just a few doors down, is there if you need him and really nice. We just loved it.


  • Submitted: May 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1

Great Getaway!

  • 4 of 5

The house is very cute. Small but comfortable enough for all six of us. Very close to the beach with beautiful sunsets. The only down side was that there was only one bathroom which proved challenging with 5 women in the home! But, there was an outside shower which was great for controlling the sand being tracked in the home.

The beds were comfy and the decor and amenities were perfect. The neighborhood was peaceful and inviting.

If I had any suggestions or constructive criticism, it would be better lighting in the living room and possibly replace the sofa, (little tired looking).

Other than that, we spent a lot of time in the back yard, I loved having a fire pit for s'mores after the beach, but we all crashed! The yard would be great for kids or animals, with lots of space to play.

I would visit again. We all had a great time.

Thank you Eddie! Aloha!!

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 2 of 5

If you're looking for a no frills no thrills some where to hang your hat and lay your head kind of place. Then this is it. But don't expect there to be Wi-fi as advertised, I have an idea what the step up is all about. Yes you can wash your cloths If need but you will have to pay 1.75 to dry them, was not happy that I had to pay in order to have enough towels for the week. Air only cooled the dinning room/ living room, lucky it cooled of some what at night. Yea and when you leave don't forget to load the dishwasher. Wait a minute, you are the dishwasher. Never could find that dishwasher. Not sure why I had to pay for cleaning because time we was doing everything on the list all he had to do was wash the sheets.

The Beds was the best part of the house, very comfortable and very nice sheet.

It really was not what I had expected. It took him over 24 hours to respond after we checked in, but only after I called him and he might of thought I was a new customer. After that he did not answer my calls until the wiring in the living room started C sparking and we was afraid the house might burn down. He offered to refund our money so we could go some where else. But who travels over 3500 miles and 16hrs to have to find another place to stay. So we made the best of it. Some decided to head back a day ealier then expected. It just really put a huge damper on my mom's 75 th Bitthday holiday.

I know that you was concerned about a bad review and that is why you offered the refund, but instead of fixing the issues you tried to blame us for the air, wi-fi and accused our children ( only adults over 50 was there) of stripping your wiring. I simply could not in good conscience let someone else walk into what we did.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This house is very "budget friendly" but, it was too expensive for you. The washing machine and clothesline are free. The listing never said there was a dishwasher in this house. I try to answer the phone when anyone calls. We sent a electrician over. He said there was nothing wrong with the wiring. The house now has it's own high speed wi-fi box. Also, the new additional full bathroom is almost complete. I politely asked you to "please find other accommodations if this wasn't suitable. We do not want anyone staying here that isn't happy, and we will return your money." You said "no, we will be fine"
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Decent Beach Bungalow

  • 2 of 5

The property was a bit older and under construction (in the process of adding on an additional bathroom). It was clean enough and had lots of towels for use. It was right across the street from the beach, about 50 steps.

Some positives:

(1) about 50 steps from the beach

(2) had one indoor bathroom (toilet, sink, and shower)

(3) outdoor shower by the garage

(4) easy parking

(5) BBQ grill worked

(6) did I mention close to the beach?

So, I would have given a higher review except that the descriptions of the property could have been a little more clear. Everything the owner listed was available at the property, but here were some of things that I wasn't ready for:

(1) the AC unit was set at 71 degrees and on a timer from 10:45 a.m. to 1:45 a.m.; only one AC unit (super old model) in the living room

*when I called Eddie to inquire about the remote control to the AC unit, Eddie told me there wasn't one and that it was set as is.I had called him at around 4 p.m. and informed him that it was pretty warm and his response was that when he was in the unit earlier in the day that it was temperature was cool. Eddie also said if I didn't like it, I could find additional accommodations.

(2) there were signs everywhere to keep doors closed so that the AC unit would keep the living room area cool

(3) trying to cook anything inside the property would turn the whole living area into a hotbox

*so we made good use of the BBQ grill outside whenever we wanted to cook something

(4) the snorkel sets (masks and fins) and other things listed for use for activities were super dirty and not useable; everything looked like it could have been tossed as garbage or left with that intention

(5) there were 6 of us living in there and it got pretty uncomfortable with the heat, inability to cook anything inside

With all of the above said, had Eddie been a little more upfront about the description of the place, I think I would have given it higher reviews. Overall, it was a decent beach bungalow where people could crash after hanging out on the beach or outdoors all day. The lack of a 2nd toilet and bathroom in a place for 6 people to share (supposed to sleep 8) was a bit of a drag. It could've been worse, though, right?

Hope this review helps. I know I will want to contact any future VRBO property owners and get specific descriptions in the future....

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Gerald, The summer months in Hawaii are very hot outside. Our current ductless electric a/c was brand new when it was installed in 2014, and cools the house pretty well most of the year. We are working on additional a/c. Also, the additional bathroom is almost complete. You just stated that: "everything the owner listed was available at the property"
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location

  • 2 of 5

I will start with the positives. Our beds were heavenly, so comfy and our house was directly across the street from the beach. On the other side, our house only had one bathroom, we had 5 people staying there and I would have never rented a house with only one bathroom. I had read on the reviews the AC worked great. We did not find this to be the case, the air conditioner was solar powered, so it did not get enough power until 1030 am and ran until 10 pm. The main room was cool, but the bedrooms were very warm day and night. I have no clue how the other house was on the property. I had to contact VRBO in order to get the address as well as information on the location of the keys the day before. Probably would not stay in this house again. My first experience with VRBO was not positive.

I attempted to contact the owner during our stay and did not receive a text/call back until the day we were leaving. I would not recommend this property as I feel I was misled with the number of bathrooms and the air conditioning.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The additional bathroom is almost complete!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Couldnt have asked for a more fabulous stay

  • 5 of 5

It was our first time on the Islands. I was very scared about finding a place for all 6 of us that was nice. This Rental more than met our expectations. The house was large enough for 6 of us so close to the beach. There was a HUGE yard for the kids to throw footballs and kick soccer balls. The girls loved the private area for them to sunbath and just relax at night. We barbequed almost every night. There was an ABC close for the little things we needed or just to give the kids someplace to walk at night. We did go on Off-Season so it was almost a private beach and was perfect for the morning stroll and evening sunsets. We would recommend this rental to anyone as I thought the price was very fair and was well worth it. Thank you so much Eddie for the great time.

  • Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Ferry
7 Miles
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Nearest Ski
1 Miles

This private beach house is a short walk (30 seconds) to Sugar Beach. You can hear the waves breaking, and feel the ocean breezes from this 3 bedroom, 1.5 bath house. This property is priced below other beach houses in the area. 3 bedrooms include: 2 king beds, 2 twin beds, and a fold out queen bed in the living room. Located on the sunny side of Maui, in Kihei. Very convenient location. Less than 30 minutes to Lahaina, Wailea, and of course the airport.

Don't book a vacation without a Maui County Permit! Our permit number is: #STKM-2014/0003


Rates & Availability

Kihei House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Winter/High Season
Dec 1 2016 - Mar 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

One time cleaning $250 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 13.42%

We also accept VISA,M/C, and Discover cards. Dates are not held until deposit is received.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Kihei House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , 1 full bathroom, tub & shower inside.
    Bathroom 2 - outdoor shower , also: In the process of adding additional full bathroom.
    Bathroom 3 - Currently in the process of adding additional full bathroom.
  • One full bathroom inside house and one enclosed hot and cold shower outside. In the process of adding additional full bathroom.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Fold-out couch in living room.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Cal King size Heavenly (ultra comfortable) bed!
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Cal King size (ultra comfortable) Heavenly bed
  • 3 bedrooms 2 Cal King beds, 2 twin beds, 1 queen fold-out-couch in living room.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
We replace linens frequently with new.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties