check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Rex Holm

Member since: 2002
Speaks: english

Heavenly's Best All Season Rental

47 Reviews
Bedrooms 6
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Lake Tahoe South Shore House Rental Photos and Description

House, 6 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 16)

Tucked into the Heavenly Valley, just below the California Ski Lodge, you'll find our Ski and Sun Shangri-la. Your gonna love it and you've earned it!! For the big family, the wedding party, families sharing a super-time in the snow or on the lake, our house is the one you've been looking for.

Your large family or group will fit just fine in our six-bedroom home. No waiting for your turn in the shower, there's an over-sized hot water heater, that's ready when you are. Three and a half bathrooms means no waiting when you really can't wait. No waiting for your turn in the hot-tub either, it's super-sized too. Relax in the tub with your favorite beverage and let the snowflakes fall, as you take in the mountain view from our huge deck.

Ready to ski, our road takes you right into the Heavenly California Lodge Parking Lot, just one-quarter of a mile up the hill. Head to the beach this summer, just a half mile down the hill. Did I mention the location? Oh, yeah I did. Sample the great restaurants and the shopping in Heavenly Village. How about a show in the new Village Theater and then some pizza just across the street at Bob Dogs? It's really great. Or, how about the Grown-ups go Wine Tasting at the New Village Wine Shop and the kids can test their luck at the new arcade next door, or take a spin on the ICE-SKATIING RINK. Speaking of luck, you can check your's out; Harrah's, Harvey's, Caesar's and the Horizon all less than a mile from our front door.

Does it sound like I like South Lake Tahoe? I love it!! The house has it all with A 50' Vizio 2014 upstairs, a new Samsung Flat Screen in the downstairs den. Two additional TV's with VHS and DVD players, and WIFI so bring your laptops. How about a game of pool or ping-pong? You'll have to head for the downstair's den and game room. The kitchen has a full set of plates, glasses and silverware, and all the cooking utensils you'll need to create a feast for the family. Over 3,300 sq.ft. of comfort and convenience. Don't forget, YOU'VE EARNED IT!!

Keywords: 200 yds to Heavenly Parking Lot

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Rex Holm (Owner)
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english

About Rex Holm

City of South Lake Tahoe Rental Permit #784

Rex Holm purchased this house in 2004

Why Rex Holm chose Lake Tahoe South Shore

Best Location in Heavenly, this house can't be beat. Please check renters' comments.


based on 47 traveler reviews

Heavenly's Best All Season Rental
average rating of 4.617021 based on 47 reviews

No doubt that will rent again!!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful place you really feel like it's your home, very close to all the entertainment. Great for a big group there is plenty of space.

Thanks Rex for your attention we really enjoy our long week-end :-)

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed our home. Hurry back up the hill. Rex
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

"No large deposit, just $xx for damage ins. and $xx for cleaning. That's It!!" That is not true.

  • 2 of 5

So why then is there a VERY LARGE damage deposit required (MANY franklins) when the rental contract is received? The fine print isn't provided on this site. At least it was promptly refunded after the rental period. Like others have mentioned, after paying the full costs I received numerous emails stating there were remaining unpaid invoices. Something in that system needs to be fixed.

Please carefully read ALL of the previous reviews AND the owner's responses. His tone when responding to negative comments should be taken into consideration as it is indicative of how he might respond if you have any problems during your stay. I have been renting vacation homes for groups of various sizes since 1990. This is my first below good or excellent review so I am not in the habit of complaining. Future renters need to be well informed when selecting a vacation home.

We did not have a functioning HVAC blower nor power in two of the "six" bedrooms for four days during late February. The house was tolerable, but definitely not comfortable those days. Thankfully it was a very warm week as the wood stove still wasn't replaced. He refused to call an electrician on the weekend and he actually laughed at me on the phone when I requested a partial refund. Our comfort and safety didn't warrant weekend rates for an electrician.

It took two working days to replace a faulty circuit breaker. The owner actually asked if one of us would be staying home from skiing to let the repairman into the house. We had someone too ill to ski those days who stayed home but otherwise we would have all been out all day.

The house is in need of several basic repairs and updates. It's not terrible, just not what we expected in terms of cleanliness and quality.

The house is in a very convenient location and is spacious with a five decent sized bedrooms, three and a half baths, and an extra "room" with a futon so if you only need a place that is "just ok" then this home should suffice.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: All future renters should read this review. According to this tenant you have a lot to learn. Don't feel bad I have a lot to learn too. Lucky for us we have this person, with plenty of free time and lots of anger that needs to be expressed. After speaking to her many times on the phone, writing countless emails and speaking with her husband, at my request, I'm hoping this may come to an end soon. There is no MANDATORY 1500 deposit. Did this person make a mistake ? Can it be true?? Best to you and yours.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great House For Large Groups

  • 4 of 5

We ended up with a group of 15 people and we all fit comfortably in the house. The house was basically as it was described and it looks like the photos. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the downstairs area had its own large family room - especially since there isn't a photo of it. The large flat screen TV in the living room was also a welcomed bonus since the photo shows an older model TV. The house is in a fantastic location - only 3 blocks from Heavenly's California Lodge in one direction and only a few blocks from the lake in the other direction. We had two large vans to transport our crew, but some of us used the free shuttle that has a bus stop about 2 blocks from the house.

The house has great amenities like the free WiFi, more TV's than expected, a small refrigerator downstairs and an awesome hot tub. The house has a "homey", lived-in feel - which is exactly what we wanted. I wanted to give the place 5 stars, but a few broken items (the ice-maker, the fireplace and the pool table) reduced our rating to 4 stars. The owner left clear, written instructions for everything and we never needed to call him for anything during our stay.

My group really enjoyed this house and would definitely stay here again. This house is a great deal for the size, the accommodations, the location and the price.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words. Always fun when A group makes full use of our home and location to enjoy beautiful Lake Tahoe.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Would not recommend

  • 2 of 5

We have been taking ski trips out west for several years. First of all, the house is in a great location. However, the condition of the house is far below what our group is used to seeing for the price. Pictures were not representative of the actual condition. Fireplace and refrigerator water dispenser both had "do not use" signs on them, which from other reviews appear to have been there at least 4 months. When we arrived on a Saturday, two of the downstairs bedrooms had no electricity. The owner was unwilling to have the electrician come on the weekend, and the issue was finally resolved on Tuesday. (Also, one of the downstairs bedrooms is actually a mud room with a futon in it.) Air returns were covered with cobwebs and dust. And watch out for the cabinet near the stove; it sticks out farther than the counter underneath and several of our group banged our heads on it.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: WOW? I never spoke to the individual that wrote this review. I did speak to the individual who booked our home many times before and during the stay. One breaker went out, it was 6 pm Saturday night when I was made aware of the situation. This cut power to two of the bedrooms. Since it's the dead of winter, and the electricians in our little resort town will at least double, but more likely triple the price of the service call I tried some tried and true remedies for the circuit panel. Alas, none of my "tricks" worked, an adjective from the renter on the phone. So I explained the extra cash involved on a weekend evening and wanted to get someone out to the house Monday. My service man arrived Monday morning. He determined there was a bad breaker, he made an adjustment. He told me the power worked but a new breaker was needed. I had him pick up the new breaker and install it Tuesday. Job completed. This was not a full outage where anyone is in danger. It was two bedrooms, normally used with the lights off?? Oh my for me to get a man out Monday morning and not immediately Saturday night was a real mistake!! HOW DARE I?? If there was a serious issue I would of had a man out that night. Please read the comments, I'm not evil. No really read the comments from other renters. And the "watch out for the cabinet", the bedroom is really a Mud Room, and the vents on the floor had cobwebs, wow. Not a mud room inspected by the City of SLTand given full Bedroom Status. I think these comments were added because its doesn't look like much of a problem without these nasty statements. My renter representative began talking about a money rebate or credit Monday. I said go ahead and let me know what kind of credit is fair. She said 5% of total. This group paid $2600 for eight nights at the best location in Tahoe. So, $130 ok fair enough. Anyone who's rented a house below the Heavenly Lodge for 6 nights and paid anything near 2600, I'd like to see it. That's 425 a night! My home is a great deal. The first real snow fall in 5 years. Give me a break. Now after this review I should also pay the $130??? WOW again. Rex
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Space for Heavenly/South Lake Tahoe for Winter Trip

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a full week beginning of Feb for a ski trip. We had a group of 10 and this house was perfect. It was only 3 blocks from ski lift, so easy walk or quick drop off drive for group to ski. It was 5min from town & casino's for dinner and night time. The view from the deck/hot tub was great after day of snowboarding. Everyone had plenty of room in the house and didn't have to wait for bathrooms or places to relax. It had a great basement with game room to hang out and enjoy company in. Rex, the owner was great to work with. He was very accessible and easy to work with. He has signs all throughout house about the different amenities and appliances, so really leaves no questions. I would recommend utilizing this house for any trip to South Lake Tahoe if you have a little bigger group or family.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Robert, I hope future renters will take a minute and read what you had to say here. Rex
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pleasanton, CA

We had a blast - Great place for family reunion

  • 5 of 5

We rented it for Xmas week, what a fantastic location. 2 blocks from Heavenly Ski lifts. Easy location for drop off or even a walk if you are a fitness fanatic.

We had 4 families, kids ranged from 13-27. Plenty of choices for sleeping arrangements, plenty of room for everyone at dinner and room to sit and watch TV, play pool or hang out in the hot tub. Great access to downtown.

We will be back!! Owner was great to work with.

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
Hwy 50
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Nephele's, Riva Grille, Scusa's
Nearest Ski
0.1 Miles
Heavenly Valley, Calif. Base Lodge
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Ski Run Marina
Car: recommended

Ice Skating in new Heavenly Village, 1/2 mile above Ski Run Marina Beach.


Rates & Availability

Heavenly Valley House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer Time
Jun 2 2016 - Aug 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
Fall Rates
Sep 1 2016 - Nov 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
Winter Rates
Dec 1 2016 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 29 2016
7 night minimum stay
Flat fee
New Year's
Dec 31 2016 - Jan 6 2017
7 night minimum stay
Flat fee
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $0
Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning fee $150

Christmas Week $3000 and New Year's Week $3000. There is no pet fee!!

No large deposit, just $49 for damage ins. and $150 for cleaning. That's It!!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Lake Tahoe South Shore House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Queen size Beds (4), Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) 1 single rollaway, Bunk Beds (2) 4 BEDS, 1 DOUBLE AND 3 SINGLES
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Two fireplaces, Computer, Internet, No Smoking or Pets, There are 4 parking spots, 2 in the garage and 2 in the driveway

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties