check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Al or Sharon James

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Olde Charlottetown Century Home

20 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Queens Square House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedroom, 3 bathroom Luxury Home in Historic Downtown Charlottetown

With the latest modern comforts wrapped in the warmth of heritage, this century old Colonial Revival home has been restored to its original grandeur. Located in the heart of olde Charlottetown on a quiet residential treed street, it is one-half of a block from the harbour front with its beautiful boardwalk and stately park and only two blocks from Confederation Centre and Province House. This section of Charlottetown has walking streets nestled with stately old homes that tell a tale of bygone days. Only steps away are wonderful theatrical experiences; gallery beauty; and culinary delights. Charlottetown began and continues to be a city of diversity and culture.

Our 2000 square foot home has been totally restored during 2012 with a very conscious mission of maintaining the character of the Past but enhancing it to meet our modern life. The many rooms reflect history but nod to the future. The 3 bedrooms have 2 king and 1 queen bed; all bathrooms with latest design; sun filled kitchen with highest end appliances; garden room with latest entertainment devices; library with grand piano; and 5 fireplaces which reflect our desire to make the hearth the center of home for our family and for our traveling guests. The outside life of the house also is designed with historical pillared balconies and verandahs for quiet reflection and a good book while the backyard decks are ready for barbecuing and sunbathing.

Prince Edward Island is unique and this home embodies the same qualities. Our famous authoress, Lucy Maud Montgomery, pens it best in her poem 'Peace' when she ends this wonderful piece of literature with the words 'Why! I have come home!'

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Al or Sharon James (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Al or Sharon James

Hi Folks! We are Al and Sharon James. Sharon is from Prince Edward Island and Al is from Alberta. We met at the University of Manitoba-a long time ago. We have had varied careers in mental health, music education and tourism. We recently retired from operating a large family resort in Cavendish and are now enjoying being Nannie & Grampie to the little people in our lives. However, because we love PEI and have done tourism for 3 decades, we are making our Charlottetown winter home available to people who wish to experience a wonderful vacation in our beautiful city.

Al or Sharon James purchased this house in 2011

Why Al or Sharon James chose Charlottetown

PEI has many wonderful places to live but for us on the ocean or in Charlottetown would be the 'very best'. So, since we have a summer shore front cottage, we found this wonderful historic property to develop as a winter home where we can experience city life. We love the proximity to beautiful vistas, walks on the harbour front, theatre and dining which are all so readily available here in Charlottetown. Also, since PEI is an Island, it isn't very far to commute to the country and to the haunts of our north shore seaside.

What makes this house unique

Our newly restored home has many features for your vacation. It is modern but nostalgic; has been refurbished with what we know visitors need for physical comfort; has four star hotel amenities; has art and designer qualities; has warmth of family and hearth -all of which are needed to make a vacation rejuvenating and memorable. We wish the same 'spirit of place' for all of our guests that this house gives to us when we come through its doors.

Reviews

5
based on 20 traveler reviews

Olde Charlottetown Century Home
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
5

PEI Getaway 2016

  • 5 of 5

We are a group of five friends and former coworkers who have traveled together annually for many years. We have been to some beautiful places and this beautiful home rates up there with the best. #2 Grafton is a gracious home, totally remodeled with an eye to modern function while maintaining the grace of the original home. Everything we needed to enjoy ourselves in comfort and period beauty was at our fingertips. The location was perfect - close to the boardwalk and waterfront and within walking distance of downtown Charlottetown with its fabulous selection of restaurants. Nice, nice people, great food. What a great experience. We hated to leave this lovely spot. This is THE place to stay!

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so thankful that you gals celebrated your friendship and love of travel by coming to PEI and staying in our home. May you have many, many more years of seeing this beautiful world together! Al & Sharon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A house, Their home, Our privilege!

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful home of luxury, elegance, and a welcoming essence!

We spent our time marvelling at this classic home and all the work done to honour the time in which it was built. Then we came to realize it had every modern amenity a body could want. Al & Sharon also considered what guests would need for a weeks stay (spices, BBQ, beach towels, clothes line, and so many little things). Upon arrival we were greeted with the words "relax, enjoy, and call us if you need us." We truly wanted for nothing! Downtown is literally a 5 minute walk although you'd never know with its peacefulness. Our friends & island family came for visits and from here we walked Victoria park, the boardwalk and the streets of old Charlottetown...breathtaking at every turn!

Thank you Al & Sharon for sharing your work of art that is your home; we are truly honoured!

P&K

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, folks, for choosing to stay in our home. We are so pleased that your time in Charlottetown was one of family and good times. Come back again for you could become Islanders very quickly and we'd love to have you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Trois-Rivières (Québec)
5

The best place you'll find in Charlottetown

  • 5 of 5

It was our third trip to PEI and this has been the most appreciated. All communications between us and Alan/Sharon were clear and helpful before the stay. Once we got to the place, we've all five been very charmed by the beauty of the house. The neighborhood is quiet, and so well located if you don't want to use the car everytime you want to do something in Charlottetown. We've appreciated every day in that beautiful place. The owners are very nice and they are also very discreet and respectful. Thank you for that very nice week. We would recommend that place to everyone, it's worth it. Chapdelaine's Family from Trois-Rivières- Québec.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for having stayed in our home and we are so glad that you had a wonderful time in our city. Best wishes to all of you and we hope that you will be able to come again for a family vacation. Al & Sharon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful home

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time using VRBO and we could not have been happy. The owners were wonderful to work with, very responsive to all initial communication leading up to our arrival. The home is situated in an ideal location- walking distance to the center of the city or a walk along Victoria park. The home has been extensively updated and not lacking in any amenities. We traveled with our 10 month old daughter and were even provided with a pack and play/highchair for her which was a great relief not to have to add those to our luggage. We also brought along my parents, everyone fit comfortably in the home. We visit family every year and my husband is already asking me if we can book the same home again next year.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words and thank you for choosing to stay in our home. We are so glad that you all had a wonderful time on PEI celebrating with family and making happy memories for all!! Al & Sharon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect early 20th century home

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I and another couple stayed in this lovely home while we spent 10 days golfing at one of the best golf destination locations in the world! Al and Sharon's immaculately kept home was perfect for us with lots of room and comfy beds and wonderful cooking facilities (once we got used to turning on the burners on the stovetop, that is!) We wish that the weather had been a bit warmer so that we could have taken advantage of the various porches and decks that are super amenity features of the home. It was great to be able to walk to restaurants when we wanted a break from cooking. It is located fairly close to several fantastic golf courses. We would recommend it to anyone! (Sharon also makes a mean blueberry jam that she shared with us - Yummy!) Thanks Al and Sharon for being so personable and friendly!

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed our home, our city and our beautiful countryside. It was our pleasure to have you stay and thank you for giving us the chance to finish up your golf while the autumn colors were brilliant. Hopefully, PEI has entangled your heart so that one day, you will return. Very best regards. Al & Sharon
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful Home and Location

  • 5 of 5

Everything about this home is exquisite. It is well equipped for cooking and entertaining and nicely furnished for just relaxing in any one of the beautifully furnished rooms or on the outside porches. We loved the location in a lovely neighbourhood, close to the water and a 5-minute walk to downtown shops, dining and entertainment.The owners are readily available for any questions you could possibly have. Of all the homes we have booked through VRBO, this one definitely takes the prize.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you stay in our home while you enjoyed PEI. We hope you can come again. Al & Sharon
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Charlottetown Airport
Nearest Barpub
Sim's
Nearest Ferry
38 Miles
Wood Islands Northumberland Ferry
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Belvedere Golf and Country Club
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
TransCanada
Nearest Restaurant
Dundee Arms
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Tea Hill southshore/Brackley Beach northshore
Car: not necessary

Prince Edward Island is known as Canada's Holiday Island. It is the home of 1000 miles of coastline and beaches; the home of Anne of Green Gables; the home of Canada's largest Musical Theatre; the home of where Canada began as a nation and the home of 130,000 warm and friendly 'Islanders'. Charlottetown, because it is the capital city of this little province, has a wealth of entertainment and culinary delights. It is a very safe 'little' city with everything that a 'big' city has to offer

Photos

Rates & Availability

Queens Square House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,718
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 14.0%

Reservations flexible until initial bookings set precedence.
Check in after 3 p.m. Check out at 10:30 a.m.
Cancellation Policy: 1 month prior to reservation for refund of deposit.

Deposit of $500 required by e-transfer or PayPal at time of reservation booking. Will be held as damage deposit and refundable within one week of checkout. Cancellation required is one month 'per week 'of reservation. Full payment of reservations required by e-transfer one month prior to arrival date.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Queens Square House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , 1st floor Powder Room with sink & toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Master Bath ensuite-claw foot tub, walk- in shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , pedestal sink, luxury towels
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Luxury linens in all bedrooms
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • swimming
Notes:
Warm hospitality awaits you. Enjoy the anticipation that planning a vacation brings.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties