check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

John Hitchcock

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

Dana Point Spanish Revival

28 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Dana Point House Rental Photos and Description

Step back in time in this charming one bedroom Spanish Revival home.

Step back in time in this charming one bedroom Spanish Revival. Situated on the third floor, this historical property boasts four cozy balconies. Enjoy beautiful ocean views during the day, and coastline city lights at night. It is located just blocks away from Dana Point Harbor and Doheny State Beach. Explore the area by foot or pedal around town on beach cruisers. Spend some lazy days on the sand or exploring tide pools by the Ocean Institute. Looking for more adventure? Book a whale watching tour, a fishing expedition, a day trip to Catalina, or rent watercraft all right in the Harbor. At nighttime enjoy the convenience of shopping and eating at one of the many restaurants right in Lantern Village. This property comfortably sleeps two and has all the conveniences of home! Dana Point Permit number 14-0220 DANA POINT TROLLY NOW RUNNING ALL SUMMER!!

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
John Hitchcock (Property Manager)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

We didn’t get a chance to leave comments about how great the property was last week. We really enjoyed the visit. My daughter and her husband loved it! They live in China in a small apartment, so getting the chance to stay in a charming house such as yours was a real treat. My wife and I were actually at the Ritz Carlton, so after my daily business we’d walk on over to the condo to relax with them for the evening before returning to the resort. If we ever need to again stay in the neighborhood, we now know who to call!
Aug 2015
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

4.6
based on 28 traveler reviews

Dana Point Spanish Revival
average rating of 4.571429 based on 32 reviews
4

Enjoyable from initial contact thru visit

  • 4 of 5

Great location central and within walking distance, to Dana Point and harbor. Very nice house setup for two people with complete kitchen, BBQ, tastefully decorated and good views with privacy.

  • Submitted: May 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Not what we expected

  • 3 of 5

We loved the history and beauty of this unit, but were disappointed at the same time. The balcony with the fountain and table and chairs was nice to sit and drink coffee in the mornings and a glass of wine in the evenings. It was rather warm weather during our stay and we were uncomfortable without any air conditioning. There was not much of a breeze, even with every screenless window open. If there had been some fans to move the air, we would have been more comfortable. This unit is in a residential neighborhood and you get a lot of traffic and people noise with the windows open. We were awakened several nights from loud motorcycles and vehicles as well as people talking loudly. The location was nice, however, for walking or biking to close by attractions in town. We enjoyed the beach chairs as well. After reading the owners expectations of his guests, we were surprised that there was not one coaster to be found to be used to set drinks on the furniture. The kitchen was small, but nice and pretty well equipped, except for the need for more large drinking glasses. We were disappointed that the huge TV in the bedroom was only good to play DVD's on, and did not get any TV stations. We could not get any of the CD players to work, after bringing several to listen to. The bed was very comfortable, but the sleeper sofa was not. It needs a new mattress. The lighting was very dim. Added lamps would help. We had plenty of towels and wash cloths, which was nice. While the beauty, history and location of this unit were a 5 star, and is what attracted us to it, the accommodations and comfort were far below our expectations.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were sorry to hear that your stay was anything less than exceptional. Although most of the time our climate does not necessitate A/C, from time to time we do get warmer than usual weather, and the unit can be warm. It does state on the listing that there is no air-conditioning due to the era of construction, and our goal to maintain the integrity of this historical home.There is one standing fan, but we will make a point to add another. We will also get some extra lamps in there. The CD changer has been fixed. Additional glasses have been purchased. We appreciate your feedback and again are very sorry that your stay did not meet expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The Great Weekend Escape

  • 5 of 5

We spent a great weekend in the condo. It is well kept and has a very unique ambiance. We really enjoyed the main patio and fireplace. I would definitely like to return for a future visit.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Thrilled

  • 5 of 5

Overdue review for our stay at this fantastic casa!! WE loved our stay at this unique and charming home. Walking up the tiled staircase, we knew that we had made the right choice. The unique character in this home was amazing! The terraces were an added bonus! Comfortable bed, great bathroom, lovely kitchen and room to lounge. One more added bonus were the bikes and beach chairs! John was great to work with and responded quickly! Will definitely stay again!! Thanks!

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Garden Grove, CA. USA
5

dug

  • 5 of 5

We loved the VRBO in Dana Point. It was everything John said it was. We especially liked the remote control fireplace - A neat feature. It is wonderfully decorated on the inside tons of special touch of character. Awesome! It was close to everything biking (which did down to the Harbor from the House) hiking, sight seeing. Excellent view from the main balconies. It was a splendid time in every way. We look forward to coming to again real soon. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place with historic intergity

  • 5 of 5

Great location for this fine old Spanish Revival with beautiful original tile and iron work. Great bed, balconies that let in cooling breezes during a warm week. Excellent kitchen with its own balcony. The front balcony, with binocs provided for viewing the distant ocean, had a wonderfully soothing fountain. The 20 steps to the front door might be a consideration for some, but overall, well worth the climb! John was very helpful and when I return to this area, I will definitely arrange to stay here again

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Romantic Classical Spanish Revival built by Hollywood land Developer Sidney Woodruff in 1929. Coastline views from three of the four decks. This legendary landmark is within walking distance to the Dana Point Harbor and downtown Dana Point with many restaurants, water sport rentals, boutiques and coffeehouses. We are a less than 5 minutes by car to Strands and Salt Creek beaches! Perfect for honeymooners, and the couple who needs a quick getaway.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Dana Point House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
May 1 - Aug 31
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,575
$6,750
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$175
Fri,Sat
$1,050
$4,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

50% to reserve, the remainder two weeks before stay.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Dana Point House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
*in order to preserve the integrity of the original structure in this historic home, we could not add central air conditioning. However, ocean breezes and coastal temperatures rarely necessitate air.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties