Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 2,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Huge house, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)

Colonial House is a beautiful, spacious, fully furnished house for rent, located in the Historic District of Cusco, Peru. Address, Av. Baja 237-A

Three bedroom, 2 1/2 bath. Sleeps six, plus, if required, one on a sleeper sofa, in front of the fire place, and one on an additional sleeper sofa in the main living room area. Two living rooms, Large wood burning fireplace, full kitchen, washer/dryer.

High quality finishes throughout.

Two blocks from the Central Market of San Pedro, seven blocks from the main square, Plaza de Armas. The house is recently refurbished, colonial style, easy access, free wifi, cable TV. Within 10 minutes of the principal tourist sites in Cusco.

Panoramic views from the second level.

Owners: Geoff and Maria del Carmen Rodriguez

Marita is from Cusco Peru, Geoff Is Irish, Canadian and American, we now live Florida.

Maria Del Carmen Rodriguez ( Marita) is has been a Tour Operator in Peru, for 15 years organizing tours to Machupicchu, Lima, Cusco, Sacred Valley, Trekking to Choquequirao, Ausangate, Lares, Salcantay, Manu Jungle, Iquitos, Nazca Lines, Puno, (Titicaca Lake), Mountain biking.

Upon request,we can provide itineraries and pricing for any area of Peru.

In the Amazon, Manu Biospheric Reserve is 6 hours by car from Cusco, we also have Ollanta Eco Lodge sleeps 13 in 5 rooms, large freestanding kitchen, gazebo dining room, 500 feet of river front, 5 minutes walk from the Pilcopata Village, You could visit a Native Matchiguenga community, within a two hour walk. An amazing experience in a unique natural paradise.

More Details

Property Manager
Maria Rodriguez Donoghue
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 16, 2017

About Maria Rodriguez Donoghue

Marita, was born in Cusco Peru, she also works in her Tour Operator Travel Agency to Peru.

Now she is leaving in Florida with her Family.

Maria Rodriguez Donoghue purchased this house in 2006

Why Maria Rodriguez Donoghue chose Cusco

Good Decision, great location!!

What makes this house unique


Guestbook comments from the manager

Colonial House. was spacious and very comfortable.

Location in the Historic District of Cusco was convenient, within easy walking distance of the large and eclectic San Pedro Central Market , the main square, Plaza de Armas and other tourist sites.

The manager, Benjamin, who lives next door, a math professor and professional musician , was friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable and the rooms nicely decorated. The kitchen was well equipped and the washer/dryer came in handy.

The large woodburning fireplace was a plus on cooler nights.

The available breakfast, including tamales Cusquenas, were tasty.

Maps and plenty of tourist info were provided.

Being in the Historic District, we quickly felt we were part of a vibrant community.

This was a great choice for us and we hope to return.


Feb 2013
  • 1 of 1


Centro Histórico House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Monument View
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , large walk-in shower, two sinks
  • soap, towels, toilet paper.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , both beds are twins
  • Good natural light, decorated with Peruvian arts and crafts, vaulted ceilings. Goose down comforters, high quality pillows with extras available.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • tennis
If you want to order additional loads of fire wood, please contact our assistant one day before needed. Cost is $10 or 30 soles. 25 pieces.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

average rating of 4.677419 based on 32 reviews

Location is great

  • 3 of 5

We found the overall property was a little on the dirty side, dirt on the floors, dusty, hole/rip in bed sheets. Door handle broken in one of the bedrooms which one night left us locked in until our friends opened from the outside.

The house was very cold, and the firewood left for us, which we paid for was wet. We asked for more firewood and it was not delivered.

Showers were hot, kitchen was adequate enough and the location was great. Fridge tempreture couldn't be adjusted and froze some of our stuff.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Ruth for your Review. Colonial house is always very clean, no one of our customers during 3 years made any complain, our assistant is very carefully, please read another reveiw, you probably unhuppy because you could not made a fire in the chimney, you probably has not experiencia doing any fire out of your house, Amalia give you the extra fire wood, and you never used, that is not our problem, our sheds always very clean, we have extra banquets, you dident used also. Thanks again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice location and lot of rooms

  • 4 of 5

We stayed for a week and enjoyed staying here. We were delayed our arrival but Amalia, the assistant, was waiting for us and welcomed us. The apartment was located near the center and good to walk everywhere. The house was clean and had one room with bathroom and others for sharing bathroom. We were in January and cold. The house does not have heater but has a large fire place in the second floor to keep the house warm but not the bedrooms.

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Excellent stay! Clean home, convenient location, safe neighborhood, hot showers

  • 5 of 5

We were very satisfied with this home. The communication with Geoff and his wife Maria before we arrived was very good. They went out of their way to answer our questions. Maria's sister greeted us at the home when we arrived and showed us how to use the home. The linens were all very clean, as was the home. It was a cozy place to spend five nights and we would definitely stay here again. The only downside for the house was that the internet was a bit spotty, especially when using high bandwidth things like video chat. The home is walking distance to a supermarket and bakery. It's also about 10 min from the Plaza de Armas downtown. Thank you so much for this great stay!

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco

Fantastic house, owner and location

  • 5 of 5

The house is great. Well decorated. Very homey. Location is perfect. Awesome market around the corner. The owner is kind and intelligent. She was a huge help in coordinating tours for me and my friend. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Spacious, quaint, and in a great location hosted by a very personably and communicative host!

  • 4 of 5

The property was as described - quaint, spacious, and in a super location. The open architecture on two floors was nice. Plenty of room for our family - from sleeping quarters, bathrooms, kitchen and seating areas. We visited in winter, so it was a bit cold at night - but we knew that going in and Marita had nice, warm blankets as well as a fireplace stocked with extra wood.

Marita was a great hostess. Excellent communication. Flexible when we needed it. Addressed any questions we had. Proactive with items. Overall, very responsive to our needs.

Location was excellent. Right around the corner from a modern supermarket as well as the local, gigantic indoor/outdoor market (a must see!). Within 4 easy block of them main tourist areas. Cusco is a great town, super nightlife, friendly people. A must see!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Michael and Family. It was my pleasure to have you and your nice family in Colonial House, I really enjoy sharing my house with families like you, well educated and carefully with many thinks at home, and I hope to see you in the future. Blessing Marita.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
South Boston, Massachusetts

Exceptional in Every Way

  • 5 of 5

Colonial House is a lovely and spacious apartment with an ideal location for exploring all that Cusco has to offer. Each room is very private and offers its own charm and personality.

Marita is an amazing hostess -- very warm, welcoming and full of interesting and helpful information. Marita truly makes Colonial House feel like a home away from home.

I highly recommend Colonial House -- you will not be disappointed.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Centro Histórico House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Apr 15 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
Hi Season
Dec 15 2017 - Jan 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 5.0%

Rates are for 6 guests . Up to two additional guests on a futon and a single bed at an additional $10 /p.p. /day.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send Email Send Email

You might like these similar properties