check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Peter

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, french, polish

Luxury penthouse apartment with best views over Kotor Bay

9 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Muo Apartment Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms & sofa bed in living room, sleeps 6, ideal for families and couples

This beautiful penthouse apartment is in a brand new (first letting) luxury development that was completed in January 2009. It is located in an elevated position (second line to the sea) in the village of Muo, a 20 min walk to the UNESCO heritage town of Kotor.Located 50m from the sea, the apartment affords spectacular and uninterrupted views across the bay and Kotor old town. The development has a large swimming pool, terraced area, a BBQ space and numerous landscaped gardens.The apartment has 2 private balconies (1 off the master bedroom and 1 off the living room) with wonderful views of the bay. The spacious apartment is very modern with an open-plan living/dining area and high ceilings. The kitchen has a granite worktop and integrated appliances with everything that you may need including kettle, toaster, coffee maker etc. The dining area sits up to 6. There's a flat screen LCD TV, Satellite, DVD/CD, iPod dock and wireless internet. There's also private parking for residents only

Airport/ car hire Information: Airports: The nearest airport is Tivat, which is just 3km from the apartment. Montenegro Airlines fly to Tivat direct from Gatwick three times a week during off-peak season and every day during the summer months. You can also fly into Dubrovnik in Croatia. It's only a 70 km journey and the drive is very easy. There are many more airlines that fly into Dubrovnik (Easyjet, British Airways, Croatia Airways, ThomsonFly, FlyBe, etc) so you can find cheaper flights than the Tivat route (though in summer the roads may be busy). Car Hire: All the usual car hire companies (Hertz, Avis, Sixt etc) are available at Tivat & Dubrovnik. When booking at Dubrovnik please remember to check they are happy for the car to be taken over the border and ask them to give you a green card. You will need to show this at the Croatia - Montenegro border along with your passports.

Directions to Kotor-Muo: The drive from Dubrovnik: On leaving Dubrovnik airport turn left and keep driving over the Croatia - Montenegro border, straight through the town of Herceg Novi (all on the same road) until you see the sign for a car ferry, and a lane filtering off to the right. Take the car ferry (about 15 min and Euro 4), then turn left again and keep going. After driving through about 2 villages, you will arrive in Muo, which is clearly sign posted. We will give you more detail / landmarks etc upon booking. The Drive From Tivat: Turn right out of the airport, then turn first left (sign posted to Kotor via tunnel). You will get to a roundabout, then turn left and you will reach Muo in a couple of minutes.

Please note that the road up to the apartment from the main road has not been surfaced and can be a bit bumpy so please drive slowly.

Further details on apartment: There are two large bedrooms, the master with large double sized bed and views over the bay and access to a balcony, the second also with a double bed. The bathroom is modern and there is a large open plan living room / kitchen with high ceilings. The spacious kitchen includes a kettle, toaster, and there is also a dining room table that seats 4 comfortably and 6 if needed. The lounge enjoys views across the bay through the large double terrace doors, and has a sofa bed as well as seating for 6 and a flat screen LCD TV, DVD & iPod player. There's a large swimming pool, terrace and lawn area with plenty of space for children to play and a BBQ area, all for the exclusive use of residents. This is in addition to the private parking. As Montenegro is mountainous and the development is elevated it should be noted that there are stairs down from the car park to the building, and from the building to the waterfront that may be a challenge for those with pushchairs or mobility problems

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Peter (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, french, polish

About Peter

Hey folks!

Thanks for taking the time to check out our apartment. Me and my co-founder business partner, Jerome, bought this apartment off plan when we came here for a weekend to look for an investment and just fell in love with the spot and the incredible beauty of this place!

For those that are interested, we co-founded a travel social network called (Where Are You Now?). It's the largest in the world with over 22m members and you could say that we have a passion for travel! :) Feel free to check out our site and hope you like it!

Jerome lives in Cape Town and I live in London. In fact, my wife and I fell in love with the place so much, that we decided to get married here in 2011 and to say that it was magical, was an understatement. If you're curious, feel free to check out our wedding photos and videos of the surrounds, here: :)

Peter purchased this apartment in 2007

Why Peter chose Montenegro

As mentioned above, Jerome and I came out here for a weekend to see some other off plan plots and none of them had the view or location that we were looking for, but we knew we wanted to invest here as the place was nothing like what we had ever seen before. So we went into Kotor Old town and checked out all of the estate agents and was luckily enough to stumble on this one.

Our apartment was one of 3 penthouses reserved by the property developers for last as they knew they would sell. The remaining 15 were sold in the space of 6 weeks. In fact, we were tempted to buy all three but in the end, opted for one, and the best one at that, with unrivalled views compared to any other spot.

What makes this apartment unique

What made us fall in love was the view and location from the plot of land that we stood on, and we chose the top left penthouse facing the bay as we wanted uninterrupted views and we got just that! You will have to come and see for yourself but the property developers said themselves that we had the best view in the entire property and perhaps on the entire bay.

Reviews

4.7
based on 9 traveler reviews

Luxury penthouse apartment with best views over Kotor Bay
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 9 reviews
4

Apartment great in most respects and had a fantastic holiday

  • 4 of 5

Overall, we had a great 2 weeks at the Kotor View apartment. The views from the balconies are amazing and it was a great start to the day to lift the shutters, see the sun coming over the mountains across the water and check out the latest cruise ship to come in and drop anchor opposite. The apartment was fairly well equipped and catered comfortably for our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 school aged children), with the kids taking turns on the sofa bed in the living space. The apartments are about a 35 minute walk from Kotor and the walk is mostly along the narrow road which runs alongside the coast, so it's not a pleasant walk with cars passing close by. Definitely recommend getting a taxi - costs 3 euros and they're at your door less than 10 mins after calling. There is one small shop in Muo which is OK for bread, milk and some basics. There are two paths down to the waterfront which are OK to use in the day, but one at least is quite rocky and not a great option when it's dark.

The pool area is a lovely place to spend time; pool is big enough to actually swim in and always enough sun beds to go around. There were lots of families staying during our 2 weeks so the kids made many friends. One thing to be aware of is that the sun disappears behind the mountain to the rear at 4.30 to 5ish.

There were one or two niggles with the apartment. The barbecue on the balcony was dirty and starting to rust, so not the appealing feature called out in the photos. The ipod dock also is the old connector, so doesn't fit iPhone 5 or later. Also, there were no basics in the apartment when we arrived. Having stayed in a number of similar properties over the years, it's nice when there's at least some bread, washing up liquid and one or two staple items there when you arrive. We had to find & go to the small shop in Muo on the first night to pick these things up, which when you're tired and hungry with kids is not the best start. The best supermarket in the area, incidentally, is the IDEA at the roundabout as you enter Kotor. The other niggle was that the water went off on two afternoons, which wasn't the fault of the complex but nonetheless was not a great experience. Overall, feels like the apartment is in need of a little spruce up, but it was still a comfortable base for our 2 weeks. Communications from Peter were great throughout the pre-stay period as well, with lots of tips about the area and places to go, which was appreciated. Overall, thoroughly recommend!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your honest feedback. I will speak to our property agent to get the BBQ freshened up. It may have been left exposed to the rain or not cleaned from before, so will arrange for that to happen ASAP. Music player - we will upgrade to a bluetooth one - in the works. If there is anything else we can provide for that you think could have made yoru stay more comfortable or be helpful to future guests, please can you let me know? Many thanks again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great apartment and location

  • 5 of 5

Just back from a weeks holiday and was really impressed with this apartment - great location & well equipped for our needs. Couldn't fault it at all. Sun came onto the balcony first thing in the morning so was superb for alfresco breakfast and watching the cruise ships coming and going! We didn't have a car but walked every day into the old town (approx 30mins stroll) but taxis only €2.50 back. Kotor great centre from which can get links to other areas - went to Porto montenegro, Sveti Stefan, Perast, all quite easily. Good to come back to apartment that was away from hustle and bustle of the old town, when could get noisy at night. Pool was lovely to relax by but we also hired bikes to cycle around the bay, stopping at a few codes for a quick dip in the bay, which was stunning with beautiful clear waters

Would definitely recommend staying here if you want a quality apartment

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Family Holiday

  • 5 of 5

This was our 3rd stay at the Kotor View apartments, and i have to say that this is by far the best. Not only does the apartment have the best views of the bay, but it also boasts the best equipment. The location and facilities were just as described, the property was clean, and Peter (the owner) was reactive and available throughout the whole process.

Our friend's stayed in one of the other penthouses, and although it was also very good, they too agreed that we had the better place.

There are very good local restaurants where the whole family is welcomed, or there is Kotor Old Town only a 10 minute drive away (€3 taxi!). We all enjoyed hiring sea kayaks and visiting the bars and restaurants around the bay, and also took a day to drive to the summits of the surrounding mountains.

All in all, this property, and Kotor Bay, cannot be beaten.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Angleterre
5

Wonderful apartment and wonderful location.

  • 5 of 5

The view is spectacular and the balcony and the huge picture windows are perfect to appreciate it.

The apartment, as others have said, is very well equipped, decorated and furnished to a higher standard than you would expect in a rental apartment. It made our stay totally relaxing. We appreciated the kit in the kitchen so self-catering was a pleasure. And having good wifi and an ipod dock was a bonus. We decided not to hire a car, and so did the walk to Kotor almost daily. It took us about 30 minutes (faster than some reviewers, slower than others!). We enjoyed the walk and there was always something to see. If we had stocked up at the supermarket and didn’t fancy hauling the shopping home, taxis were very inexpensive. The Blue Line buses got us further afield.

Pete was very helpful, too. Thanks.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Best apartment in Muo

  • 5 of 5

We've stayed in a few of the apartments at Kotor View in Muo but this one is above and beyond the others. It's been decorated to a high standard with lovely little touches like candles, rugs, plants and lamps making it feel like a real home away from home. It's kitted and decked out with everything you'd expect including coffee machines, toaster, bottle openers and even a barbecue on the terrace so you're never short of anything you might need.

It's located on the top floor so you can maximise on the sunshine and the fact that it doesn't overlook the other block of apartments means you've got a lot more privacy than you would have otherwise. If an internet connection is important for you then this is your best bet too as it's definitely stronger than the others here which can be weak and intermittent.

Only complaint is the squeaky bed! Other than that, top place.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

For sure we will come back here!

  • 5 of 5

We spent here really nice one week (parents + kid) in Muo. The apartment is new, very comfortable, clean, full equipment (even). Good location when you expect peaceful. There is many stairs, but for us it was not disadvantage. Few minutes walk to the nearest shop (most necessary things) and small restaurant with very friendly stuff. There is no beach, but many places where you can lay down and swim in the sea. Swimming pool is fantastic for kinds. To the Kotor old town either you can make a 20 minutes walk, or you can take a taxi (2-4 euro). There is two supermarkets, many good restaurants, beach.

We will remember amazing breakfast on the balcony with the view of the Kotor Bay, old town in the night and very nice boat tour around the bay.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Kilometres
Tivat
Nearest Barpub
1000 Metres
In old town
Nearest Ferry
1000 Metres
Kotor Town
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Local Restaurant
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Beach
Car: recommended

Kotor is the hidden jewel of the Adriatic.Its UNESCO World Heritage Listed fortress and monasteries which are carved into the 1000M high fjords, light up the surrounds of this medieval town.Located 50km south of the Croatian border, 70km south of Dubrovnik airport and just 10 min from Tivat airport, it's romantic cobbled streets are like a maze of discovery with an authentic ambiance you wont find in Dubrovnik. It is free from traffic and can be both relaxed, peaceful and romantic as well as carnival like, buzzing and entertaining. There's a good mixture of cafes, restaurants, boutiques and antique shops; with plenty of bars & nightclubs to dance the night away to also. Muo is the perfect base, with the most stunning views over Kotor town and bay, whilst being only a 5 min drive or 15/20 min walk away. Its quiet tranquillity, uninterrupted views and close proximity to all the local attractions means you'll have the best of both worlds and awaken to paradise after a good night's sleep!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Muo Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Autumn (fall)
Sep 16 2016 - Nov 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
$104
$644
 
 
Winter (off peak)
Dec 1 2016 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$85
From
$98
Fri,Sat,Sun
$514
 
 
Spring
Apr 1 2017 - Jun 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
$104
$644
 
 
Summer
Jun 15 2017 - Sep 15 2017
7 night minimum stay
$774
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$130
$709
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $195

A 150GBP refundable deposit will be required. This will be refunded when you return the key and there is no damage to the apartment.

Tourist Tax:

Please note there is a tourist tax that must be paid to the local tax authorities. Our property manager will arrange this with you upon arrival. At last check, this was 5 Euros per person.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Muo Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (semi-detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 60 m²
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Fully tiled bathroom with WC, basin, shower, bathroom cabinet, decorative mirror, washing machine, shaver point and heater.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Double Bedroom - 1 queen
  • There are 2 bedrooms and one sofa bed in the main living room, sleeping a total of 6 people. Both bedrooms have large double beds, and each have 2 cabinets, a large wardrobe and large chest of drawers. The master bedroom has access to the second balcony, with views over the bay which you can see from the bed. The other double bedroom has a window for natural light also. Both bedrooms have individual remote controlled air-conditioning systems. and are decorated with pictures, lamps and flowers. Both bedrooms also have wooden floors and high ceilings.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • 10 garden chairs
  • 18 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties