check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Downtown Brand New Bright Apartment

10 Reviews
Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights


Fortezza da Basso Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Excellent location for 2-4 people in the heart of the city.

40 square meters apartment, located in the heart of the city center (five minutes walking distance from the train station).

It is at the third floor and there are approx 40 steps to reach the apartment (no elevator). Air conditioning covers the entire unit.


A wooden loft, a living room, a kitchenette, one bathroom.

Suitable for up to 4 people (one more single bed available upon request).

Wooden loft: king size bed and a wardrobe.

Living room: queen size sofa bed, a large table with chairs, TV. Baby crib available on demand.

Kitchenette: fully equipped (with dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans, kitchen tools, bottle opener) plus fridge, gas plates, oven, microwave+grill oven, kettle, squeezer, toaster, coffee machine, moka.

Bathroom: shower, (a bidet is also in), washing machine, hairdryer, iron, iron board, drying rack.


Guests have access to the entire apartment - Utilities are included.

Free Wi-Fi. You will be welcome by a member of our staff who will expose you the rules of the apartment and how to “move inside of it”. A booklet with down town city map, places to visit, suggested restaurants and emergency numbers is at your disposal.

If you need to park your car ask the property manager.


Florence Daily Tourism Tax: by law € 2,50 per day per person must be paid CASH at check-in.

Check-in time (2.00 PM - 8.00 PM).

LATE check-in (8.00 PM - 12.00 AM) has an extra charge of Euro 30,00.

LATE check-in (after Midnight) has an extra charge of Euro 50,00.

Check-out before 10.00 AM.

Apartment energy certificate available (A.P.E.): class G - 104.894 kWh/m² year.

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Cosimo Curradi
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, italian
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 20, 2016

About Cosimo Curradi

I live in the same building, next to this apartment, and I manage it for the owner, my brother. I enjoy renting it to foreign tourists, knowing people from all over the world and welcome them in my beautiful city.

Cosimo Curradi purchased this apartment in 2012

Why Cosimo Curradi chose Florence

This apartment is a property of my family, we like the district. It is really comfortable for those people who are searching a good position and a good place to stay for visiting Florence.

Every touristic attraction is close to the apartment.


based on 10 traveler reviews

Downtown Brand New Bright Apartment
average rating of 4.3 based on 10 reviews

Great location

  • 5 of 5

Once we got used to the quirks like don't wash clothes or flush toilet if you are in the shower it all worked well. If you have mobility issues climbing 4 flights won't work or if you get up several times to pee in the night you might not like going up and down to do it. But kitchen is good. Bathroom size is good. Bed is comfortable. Location is excellent two blocks to central market and two blocks to grocery store. Close to Medici tombs and the Duomo. Close to train and bus station. Good communication with Cosimo before. Enjoyed our 6 nights there.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location!

  • 4 of 5

This apartment was great for location and size! Cosimo was great and very timely with responses. The only thing we didn't like was the air conditioner wasn't really that great for a big apartment, it didn't really cool off the lofted part with the bed. Other than that, it was great!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Comfortable and Convenient with all Ammenities

  • 5 of 5

We (family of 3) enjoyed our stay in Cosimo's loft apartment. It was clean, cozy, centrally located and offered all the desired amenities. We especially appreciated the clothes washer, soap and drying rack--quite useful after several days of traveling. Wifi was quite good too. The only suggestion would be to leave more toilet paper in the apartment for 3 guests. We appreciated Cosimo's dining recommendations and frequented locations he recommended.

Cosimo was responsive to our pre-travel inquiries and met us upon our arrival to show us the apartment. We would stay here again if our travels take us back to Florence.

His property was nicely maintained and the description on the site accurately described the apartment.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location, cosy apartment, very helpful.

  • 5 of 5

We were met by Giulio at the apartment and he was very helpful in explaining how to get the most out of our stay in Florence. The apartment is in a very central location so we could walk to all the things we wanted to see and it close to a grocery store. It's well equipped and very comfortable. We had a fantastic stay.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A disappointing experience

  • 1 of 5

While close to the station and the market, the suite was in a poor neighbourhood and very loud at all times (day and night), appalling wifi/internet signal (5 min to open an email), we lost water for a whole night and electricity in the stairwell for another night (pitch black climb up 2 floors).

Not ideal for the price.

The camera work for the suite also flattered the size of the suite and the loft was a lofty climb.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry if your experience was terrific. The water went down in all the city that night, in my apartment as well, because there was a big maintenance work in all the city water network. For the same reason the light in the stairs was turned off because of security, then I'm sorry if it wasn't turned on again for the next days but the main system had a problem because of the water pressure, you know that water and electricity don't like to stay together... The neighboroud is not poor, what did you expected after booking an apartment in San Lorenzo disctrict? I don't understand what you exavtly mean. this is the first time I receive such a negative review honelstly... You saw the pictures and the descriptions of the apartment, so I don't understand what was your problem with the size of the room. If you had informed me about the internet connection I would have done something. I'm sorry for this review, it destroy all the good I have received in the past two years, I hope you can come back here and seeing allt he improvments next season. I hope you can change your idea about this one star review... Thank you very much Cosimo
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great stay in Florence

  • 4 of 5

For a family of four, this apartment was well suited for our weekly stay, with a comfortable king-size bed, a queen-size sofa bed and an added single bed on request. It was clean, very much like the picture, and the AC was much wecomed in the hot weather. There were nice attentions such as basic spices, oil, and soap in the well-equiped kitchen we used quite a bit, and some washing soap pods for the washing machine. There was a nice selection of books on travel, arts, history... Amongst them, detailed and varied travel guides on Florence and the area we used for our daily activities and day trips. We found the location very good: a few streets away from Florence's Centrale Mercato for fresh local food and eats, a few blocks away from another general supermarket, a few streets away from the Academia (and the rest of the city's historical centre), and about a 10 minutes walk from the train station which made this an ideal base for day trips by train to Rome on a high speed train, and Sienna. In the 35 + C degree weather, making it tiring for long walks, we also tried the hop on hop off double-decker city sights bus tour which took us all around town to main attractions and the interesting nearby city of Fiesole and its roman anfiteatre. Our top family activity (of our whole one-month trip) was a cooking class organised by Florence Tours, which took us from the city centre to a winery in Chianti (20 minutes away) where we learned how to make our own pizza and gelato from scratch: great setting with a glass of wine watching the sunset over Florence in the distance while the pizzas cooked... We highly recommend it!

The only slight down-sides of the appartment were the limited amount of storage for clothes and the street could be noisy sometimes quite late at night (bring ear plugs and you'll be fine). Water pressure in the shower is tricky as many places in Italy. This appartment is on the second floor (with some 40 stairs or so to climb). The definite plus of this apartment is the outstanding manager, Cosimo Curradi, a true Florentine who obviously loves his city, who gave us such a warm welcome and made sure we felt at home and had everything we needed. He was always of quick assistance during the week, especially when we had an unfortunate medical querry and arrangements were made and a doctor came for a home call within an hour or so. One word: wow! A+ on customer service. Grazie mile Cosimo for making our stay a memorable one!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
Peretola Airport, Amerigo Vespucci (FLR)
Nearest Barpub
10 Metres
In front of the apartment
Nearest Ferry
120 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
5 Kilometres
Golf Ugolino
Nearest Train
0.3 Kilometres
Santa Maria Novella Train Station (SMN)
Nearest Motorway
10 Kilometres
A1 Milan-Rome
Nearest Restaurant
10 Metres
La Cucina del Garga
Nearest Ski
50 Kilometres
Abetone (PT)
Nearest Beach
100 Kilometres
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Fortezza da Basso Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
High Season
Mar 25 2016 - Nov 6 2016
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $11 per night, per additional guest
Low Season
Nov 7 2016 - Dec 7 2016
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $11 per night, per additional guest
High Season
Dec 8 2016 - Dec 11 2016
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $11 per night, per additional guest
Low Season
Dec 12 2016 - Dec 29 2016
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $11 per night, per additional guest
Happy New Year
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $33 per night, per additional guest
Low Season
Jan 4 2017 - Mar 5 2017
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $11 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $11 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $164

WARNING!!! Florence Daily Tourism Tax: by law € 2,50 per day per person must be paid CASH at check-in.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Fortezza da Basso Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 40 m²
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , bidet
  • iron, iron board, hair dreyer, washing machine, rack
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Loft - 1 king
    Living room - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , 1 sleep sofa /futon , baby crib must be required in advance
  • One king size bed is on the loft. One queen size sofa bed is in the sitting room. One baby crib can be provided on demand and will be added in the living room.
  • Television
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties