Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

SenecaSecrest - "Dundee" cabin - Romantic Getaway or Family Vacation on the Lake

Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

We have a 2 bedroom cottage, located on Seneca Lake, on the wine trail

Wake up to beautiful scenery and the serenity of lapping waves, at Seneca Secrets on Seneca Lake, in beautiful upstate New York, 35 minutes outside of Ithaca.

Seneca Secrets is located off of Rt 414, the main road that goes around Seneca Lake, 5 minutes from Watkins Glen. The property is situated on 10 forested acres that lead from the heart of the Seneca Lake Wine Trail, down to the water, where you can see the lake peaking through the trees, as you go down our driveway.

Step outside the cottage (we call this cottage the, "Dundee" and enjoy a picnic, overlooking the lake, a relaxing swim, or take a short drive and minutes away you will find that Seneca Secrets is surrounded by wineries, restaurants, waterfalls and the National Forest, great for biking & hiking.

Seneca Secrets includes a private beach area on the property, with kayak rentals available for your use. Here, you can leave your worries at home and enjoy a cozy cabin, in a secluded oasis and have a romantic getaway or a vacation with family and friends.

The cottage is completely furnished including dishes, silverware, coffee maker, pots and pans. We are well off the road and have plenty of parking and privacy.

Seneca Lake offers great swimming, boating, fishing, water sports, sun, and breathtaking sunsets. We are ideally located in the heart of New York State's Finger Lakes, just minutes away from the area's premier vineyards, restaurants and local towns such as Penn Yan, Geneva, or Watkins Glen.

Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway for two or a long weekend with family and friends, Seneca Secrets offer a tranquil setting after a day on the water or a quiet retreat after an all-day outing.

Please note we also offer on-site kayak rentals. Please either call us or visit us at our website, SenecaSecrets. Please note, we have a sloping gravel driveway and recommend all-wheel drive.

More Details

Stacey Parrish - Property Manager
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 14, 2018


Burdett Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Not suitable for children ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Dundee #2 Bedroom - 1 double
    Dundee #1 Bedroom - 1 queen
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • festivals
  • forests
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Property is great for families, but please note you will need to keep an eye on your little ones as the property overlooks the lake and there is no fencing.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
SenecaSecrest - "Dundee" cabin - Romantic Getaway or Family Vacation on the Lake
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 6 reviews

Cozy Cabin With Breathtaking Lake View, Hidden Gem

  • 5 of 5

Owners were super responsive and friendly, and provided all the extras to make you feel at home. We were able to rent kayaks onsite and launch them right off the beach and enjoy some of the most beautiful sunsets we had ever seen. Other nights we spent barbecuing, enjoying the fire pit with a nice glass of wine that we conveniently picked up that day on the wine trail. I look forward to spending future vacations with my family here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Mindy, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope we see you again this Fall! Take care. Amy and Marc Seneca Secrets
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Two weeks of Bliss

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in Montour Cabin for 2 weeks and were able to recharge and reboot while enjoying the beautiful views. Gorgeous sunsets, beautiful clean & clear lake (loved seeing small fish swim by my feet - bring your snorkels if you want to swim out a bit further!) and the cozy, well-equipped cabin were just fantastic. This cabin is just a few minutes to Watkins Glen to stock up on supplies and do laundry if needed. For us, all the amenities were right there at the cabin & we actually didn't go out much. We had 3 days of rain which created a beautiful waterfall near the cabin that went down to the lake, so even when it rains there is beauty all around. The owner and property manager are super responsive and the woman who cleans the cabins on the property was lovely. During our second weekend some people checked in to the cabin next to us and we ended up all sharing dinner together out on our picnic tables, using the grill and watching our dogs play with each other. Now we have a whole group of new friends and all of us are already making plans to come back. This is what vacation is all about. Should you arrive at night in the pitch dark like we did, your GPS may tell you that the cabin is on your right when there is nothing there. Keep driving down the lane and you will pass a log cabin on your left and then you will come to a parking area with a shed to your right. Bring a flashlight because you still won't see the cabin but look for a set of stairs that will take you to it. We are used to the Finger Lakes but for those who aren't you might think you've come to a dead end with no cabin. :-) Once you're in the cabin there are outside lights and a flood light for the parking area so you can turn those on as you unpack the car. The lane is very long with steep parts. If you are not accustomed to the area it can seem scary to drive down which is why they recommend 4-wheel drive but keep in mind that most of the locals don't have 4-wheel drive and don't have a problem. If you have a regular car like us just put it in low gear. I might not drive down in my Toyota after a snowstorm, but for spring/summer/fall - no problem! As I said earlier the lake is clear and beautiful. Before you come, buy a pair of water shoes because the Finger Lakes have small freshwater mussels that can be sharp and some of the rocks on the lake bed may be slippery with moss/plants. Many thanks to the owners for having us! Book this place and enjoy!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Paula, Hello Paula, So glad that you and your pups were able to spend some quality time on our property and that you found all that you needed in the cabin. To your point on the road, most of us locals do not need AWD or 4WD, but always recommend it to guests, as many are not familiar with steep gravel. We (and Peggy, our cleaner), loved having you as guests!! Take care and have a great summer. Amy & Marc
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great cabin on the lake.

  • 5 of 5

Rustic no frills cabin on finger lakes in the midst of wine trail. Only concern is it is several cabins on a shared property, so your neighbors can have either a positive or negative impact on your stay. We experienced both cases.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for review Richard, we are glad you enjoyed the cabin and it's location to the wine trail. As you noted, we do have 3 cabins across 10 acres and one of them is approx. 200ft from the other cabin (the 3rd cabin is an acre away). We make every effort to give each guest their privacy, but know occasionally you will see one another. Enjoy the rest of your summer. Amy & Marc
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice location and view - no frills cabin

  • 4 of 5

If you are booking this cabin for the lake views and the close proximity to the Seneca Wine Trail (right in the middle of it - couldn't get much better). The hosts are quick to respond which is nice, but unfortunately they could not help with our issue.

(Filthy Grill, only one burner worked, empty propane tank we needed to replace, zero cleaning tools, we were asked to buy tools and clean it ourselves.) This may not seem like a big deal to some but nobody wants to start their vacation cleaning someones dirty grill. Overall we really enjoyed our stay despite this hiccup - just wish the hosts would have had someone prepare the cabin properly and check the grill before we came to stay since it is noted in the listing - and expected. Wifi was good and lake area is nice too! Very relaxing.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Karen, We are glad you enjoyed our property, and its proximity to the Seneca Lake Wine trail. We appreciate your feedback as our goal is always to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay. To your concern, when we called you, we offered to send our HK person to look at the grill. Since that offer was not accepted, we alternatively suggested you could service the grill yourself, with the grill cleaner, at our other grill. Additionally, we let you know that the burners for the grill do work, but that you may have to light them yourself. Coming into off season we will certainly look at the grill and see if it needs to be replaced, which it sounds like, it may be time. Thank you again for your feedback. Thank you. Amy & Marc Seneca Secrets
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Quaint Cabin with a Great Location!

  • 5 of 5

We had the best weekend at the "Dundee" cabin last weekend! We went to celebrate my birthday along with my boyfriend and mom's birthday as well. The cabin was secluded (there are two other cabins on the property though) and pretty much right on the water. The view was amazing and we had the best weather. We watched the sunset almost every night which was beautiful. Excellent location for the Seneca Wine Trail - we took advantage of that! ... I wouldn't recommend the cabin for over 5 people because it is a "cabin" and rather tight. However, it worked for us since we spent most of the time hiking, down by the water, or at the wineries. I would also say that the driveway is real steep at parts and has some potholes so our four wheel drive definitely came in good use - not sure how a car without 4WD would do. Also, as a heads up the cleaning list at the end of the stay is quite long but to be expected. The Scarletta's were very responsive and helpful with the stay! Overall, great stay in a quaint cabin with a beautiful view and an excellent location! I hope to be back next year! Thank you!!

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Sarah, We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the "Dundee" cabin. We agree, that being a 2 bedroom, the cabin is set up for a maximum of 5 people and to that end, do not allow more than 5 to stay, as it makes for tight quarters and would impact the overall stay for all guests. Hope you had safe travels home and look forward to seeing you next year! Thank you. Amy & Marc
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 4 of 5

Loved the cabin, location, lake.

The place could really benefit from updating the beds, they were terrible.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Lynn, We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you letting us know that the beds were uncomfortable. They are only 3 years old, however we will definitely take a look and see what we can do to make future stays even more enjoyable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
The Two Goats - good beer and roast beef
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
The StoneCat
Car: necessary

Seneca Secrets is situated in the middle of the Fingerlake Wine Trail, is 5 minutes from the FL National Forest and is located on Seneca Lake.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Pet Fee $25
Refundable Damage Deposit $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.