check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner / Property Manager

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Private House in Town / 3 Bedrooms, Rooftop Pool & Terrace

41 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Puerto Morelos House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)

Sunbathe with privacy on the rooftop terrace and cool down in the newly built pool with its treetop view of the mangrove jungle. Casa Perros Afortunados (House of the Lucky Dogs) is a newly refurbished 2,500 sf private vacation rental house in the quaint fishing village of Puerto Morelos, Q.R., Mexico just 25 minutes from the Cancun airport. A short stroll to the beach or a four minute walk to the restaurants and shops around the town square. The house has three bedrooms and three bathrooms. Two of the bedrooms are identical master suites on the second floor, each with high quality king-sized beds, full bathrooms, and large balconies. The fully-equipped kitchen is large with peninsula seating, and includes a five burner gas stove with griddle. The second floor also features a Media Room with a 47 inch LCD TV with Dish satellite service, DVD / VHS player, an VOIP telephone for free calls to the USA or Canada, and new comfortable lounge seating. The third bedroom, on the main floor, has one queen bed, large windows, a 42 inch plasma TV, and an adjacent full bath. A covered patio overlooks the rear garden and includes an outdoor ping pong table. Enjoy sunsets over the jungle from the pool or the new covered terrace rooftop lounge with Moroccan lighting and wet bar. Stairs up from the roof lead to a large new observation deck, with a stunning 360 degree view. Watch the waves break over the coral reef or the jungle birds over the mangroves. See the sun rise from the Caribbean sea or set into the jungle. Puerto Morelos offers an amazing array of activities: dive or snorkel along the pristine coral reef (a protected national park and part of the world's second largest coral reef), sport fishing in the Caribbean, massages, biking, golfing, beautiful underground cenotes with crystal clear water, or short drives to shopping and nightlife in Cancun or Playa del Carmen.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Owner / Property Manager (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Owner / Property Manager

My wife and I relocated to the Yucatan in 2010 from San Francisco, CA. We purchased a 200 year old Spanish colonial home in the historic central district of Merida. While out exploring the peninsula's Mayan ruins, cenotes, and beautiful Caribbean waters for snorkeling we came upon the wonderful and lovely seaside town of Puerto Morelos. We fell in love immediately and bought a 2nd home. After several months of updating and renovations we are ready to invite vacationers to come discover the beauty, tranquility, and adventure of an authentic Mexican experience in this charming fishing village.

Owner / Property Manager purchased this house in 2012

Why Owner / Property Manager chose Quintana Roo

When searching for our vacation home on the Mayan Riviera, we considered both what we wanted in the location, as well as what we did not want. Of course we needed walking access to the beautiful blue Caribbean water. We also wanted easy access to the Cancun Airport to make it an easy trip for visitors. We wanted an authentic Mexican experience, where you know you're in Mexico, and not surrounded by predictable glass and steel high-rise resorts that could be on a beach anywhere. We wanted a small location with the colorful and interesting experience of having locals as neighbors. Where we could easily walk to cool cafes, restaurants, diving and snorkeling, and local Mayan markets.

What makes this house unique

We found all that and more in Puerto Morelos. A seaside fishing village perched between a stunning reef-protected beach and mangrove jungle, both beautiful features that prevent excessive growth of the town. Yet it's just a 25 minute drive to the Cancun international airport. So with privacy as a main objective, we chose a recently built two story house a block and a half off the beach, and just two blocks to the shops and restaurants around the main square. Close enough to stroll easily to either, yet set just far enough away for privacy. Then to enhance the experience, we built up the top of the house, adding a rooftop observation deck with our own large terrace and pool for complete privacy and a 360 degree view that includes the ocean reef, the lighthouse, the coco palm treetops and the mangrove jungle. Inside, we have upgraded the decor, kitchen, WiFi, music systems, etc. to provide modern luxuries. We are proud of what we have accomplished. We love our time here and invite you to enjoy it as well.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had such an amazing time staying in Russ & Leanna's stunning Puerto Morelos home. Everything was perfect: clean, organized and beautifully decorated. In addition, Russ, Leanna & Lucio were very kind and helpful. Thank you both for everything - I hope to stay again one day!
May 2014
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.9
based on 41 traveler reviews

Private House in Town / 3 Bedrooms, Rooftop Pool & Terrace
average rating of 4.878049 based on 43 reviews
5

The property was perfect! We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • 5 of 5

The property was great. Lucio and his family were very helpful in getting us set up and maintaining the grounds throughout the week. We were very close to downtown so it was easy to walk everywhere. The rooms were air conditioned and the bathrooms were amazing. I can't say enough great things about Casa Perros. We will be back in the future to enjoy the place and the cool town of Puerto Morelos.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Baton Rouge
5

Perfect place

  • 5 of 5

This house is a beautiful, well-equipped and located a couple of blocks from the beach and a couple of blocks from the town square and malecon. We walked everywhere. A Walmart-like store is a 30-peso cab ride away. The neighbor and town are safe for tourists. We had no qualms about walking around even late at night.

The roof-top patio, with fully equipped wet bar, hammock, seating area and pool really made this the perfect place to hang out. (The late afternoon sun could get brutal.)

Hosts made our arrival and stay easy. Lucio the caretaker was at the house when we arrived to show us the place.

We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great girls getaway!!

  • 5 of 5

What a great find! This house is beautiful, conveniently located to the beach, shops, and restaurants, and is meticulously furnished and cared for. The kitchen is beautiful, well-stocked (with tea, popcorn, spices, any extra you might need to cook with) with plenty of mugs, silverware, cooking supplies etc. to feed a large group with ease. Appliances are all up to date and work great. They keep you stocked up with plenty of fresh bottled water as well. The living room has a beautiful, airy feel and is very comfortable and spacious, stocked with books and games. There is a private walled courtyard off the living room complete with ping pong table, laundry line, grill and seating. The three bedrooms are wonderful. The top two come with huge beds with private bathrooms and private beautiful balconies. All have AC that works well to keep you cool at night. There is a great communal area on the second floor off the bedrooms to watch TV or listen to music with a huge flat screen TV and speakers.

What really makes this house thought is the ROOF!! We had a blast up there. It is enormous - the whole area of the house - and comes with a gorgeous private swimming pool, a rooftop bar complete with mini fridge and sink, a hammock and a super comfy lounge area. You will feel like you are in your own private resort!! Absolutely beautiful and made our trip. We went for a girls getaway and had a great time lounging in the pool with our own homemade margaritas with limes we bought just down the street.

For those that are considering coming without renting a car - we did so with no problem. Walking distance to the beach and multiple small restaurants and shops. Come here and enjoy!

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Halifax, Nova Scotia
5

The best vacation ever !!

  • 5 of 5

This is an amazing house, centrally located, close to the beach and all of the bars and restaurants. The house itself is full of charm and lacks nothing. The kitchen is so well equiped you can cook anything you want. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the king sized beds are very comfortable. The showers are great with lots of hot water and excellent water pressure. The back and front courtyards are very well taken care of. The trees and flowers are really pretty. Lucio and his family are wonderful and will answer any question and are available whenever you might need them. The roof top patio/terrace is so delightful. It provides a great view of the town, the sea and the jungle. You can spend hours there reading or sunbathing or just relaxing in the pool. There is even a little bar area so you don't have to go downstairs to get a drink. The living and dining areas are very comfortable and have plenty of seats to sit in. The wifi is strong and consistent. The owner is great and responds quickly to any query you may have. This is truely a wonderful place to stay and we hope to return again and again !!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Super Great!!!

  • 5 of 5

Loved this house and the owners were great!!! Great location and awesome town! Would go back for sure!

  • Submitted: May 28, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this Villa for 11 nights and it was a fantastic experience. We loved the location (very close walking to beach, bars, restaurants and shops); the authentic Mexican decor, the spaciousness, the huge identical master suites with lots of storage, attached bathrooms and large decks, the well stocked and large kitchen, the back garden and most especially the rooftop deck with pool, bar and seating area (it was always cool and breezy there). It was wonderful taking a quick walk down to the seafood market and buying fresh whole red snapper, the biggest shrimp and stopping by the fruit and vegetable stand just down the street from the villa. It was easy to get around from here to travel to Cancun and a Playa del Carmen using the Ado buses,,,$5 Canadian to travel on an air conditioned comfortable bus with tv. The local buses, called collectivism stopped right in front of the house...you just wave,them down. Lucio, his wife and dad are sweet, helpful and hard working people. My experience with the owner was also a very pleasant experience. I can't say Enough about how I loved this trip! Muchas gracias Russ, Lucio and family! Cindy H.

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
22 Kilometres
Cancun International Airport
Nearest Barpub
150 Metres
Cheers
Nearest Ferry
36 Kilometres
Passanger Ferry Playa del Carmen to Cozumel
Nearest Golf
13.5 Kilometres
Mayan Resorts Golf Riviera Maya
Nearest Motorway
2.5 Kilometres
Mexico 307
Nearest Restaurant
150 Metres
John Gray's Kitchen
Nearest Beach
200 Metres
Puerto Morelos
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Puerto Morelos House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Dec 1 - Dec 24
Dec 1 2016 - Dec 24 2016
6 night minimum stay
$257
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $14 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas - New Years
Dec 25 2016 - Jan 1 2017
6 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
Jan 3 - Apr 24, 2017
Jan 2 2017 - Apr 23 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $14 per night, per additional guest
 
Dec 1 - Dec 24
Dec 1 2017 - Dec 24 2017
6 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $14 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas - New Years
Dec 25 2017 - Jan 1 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,800
 
 
Jan 2 - Mar 26, 2018
Jan 2 2018 - Mar 31 2018
5 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $14 per night, per additional guest
 
Easter Week
Apr 1 2018 - Apr 7 2018
5 night minimum stay
$285
$2,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $14 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$160
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $14 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59

Rates are based upon occupancy of four persons, ea. added guest is $14/night.
Washer/Dryer is an option available onsite in rear bodega building for additional $25/week. A Laundromat is located 200 meters away on same street.
Rates are subject to change prior to confirmation of reservation. Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and approved payment methods.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Puerto Morelos House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Fully tiled with walk-in shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Fully tiled with walk-in shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Fully tiled with walk-in shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Bedrooms 1 & 2 are equal Master Suites on 2nd floor, each with ensuite full bathrooms,ceiling fans, air conditioning, and large private balconies. Bedroom 3 is on ground floor, has 42 inch plasma TV, ceiling fan, air conditioning, and adjacent full bathroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers