Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Boone/Blowing Rock Log Cabin*WATERFALL*Fishing Creek*Hot Tub*Fire Pit*10ac*Trail

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)


Actual location is midway down Elk Creek Rd along Elk Creek. Map pin had to be changed to accommodate VRBO algorithm search

NO need for 4x4 in winter months.

Linens, firewood, paper products, detergents included!!!

Serenity Falls lives up to its name; SERENE setting with a natural spring WATERFALL along the back deck. Our guests favorite activity is sitting in the BRAND NEW HOT TUB lulled by the trickling of the illuminated WATERFALL.

Another is the BONFIRE PIT. Roasting marshmallows a after long hike to the tree swing on our private TRAILS. Or just staring up at the endless stars over the mountain ridge in one of the many ROCKING CHAIRS on the COVERED PORCH.

*INTERNET - HughesNet Satellite provider


* WATER FALL along back deck


* CREEK - Elk Creek stocked for fishing




* DVD 100's of movies/SATELLITE TV/PayPerView

* FIREWOOD provided for INDOOR fireplace

* LINENS -towels/sheets/ex blankets/pillows provided


* PAPER PRODUCTS - TP, paper towels, coffee filters





We truly thought of everything.

ELK CREEK (stocked) on the front of the 10 ACRES.

****NEVER WIRE MONEY TO ANYONE. As an owner I will NEVER ask you to WIRE money. VRBO will NEVER ask you to WIRE money. If you are asked to wire money IT IS A SCAM! *****

Master bedroom has an authentic LOG QUEEN BED and a FULL BATH with shower.

Upstairs bedroom has TWO FULL/DBL BEDS with FULL BATH with a tub and shower.

The loft upstairs is equipped with a FULL SIZE FUTON for extra sleeping. TV/VCR/VHS for kid movie viewing.

The kitchen table expands to accommodate more seating.

The covered porch features a picnic table, charcoal grill, rocking chairs.

The deck boasts a BRAND NEW HOT TUB large enough for everyone to enjoy.

Guest Bookings are all done ON-LINE. You will receive an ARRIVAL LETTER shorty before your stay containing DIRECTIONS, important packing information, and a personalized LOCK BOX combination. The combination will open BOTH the driveway gate and the front door.

More Details

Linda Lohman
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2017

About Linda Lohman

We are the Lohmans, Linda and Terry. We live in Cary, NC outside of Raleigh.

Linda is the Property Manager. We also use Serenity Falls and have it set up for our needs as well as our guests.

Linda Lohman purchased this cabin in 2000

Why Linda Lohman chose High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains

We originally bought Serenity Falls because we enjoyed coming to the mountains for Christmas Tree Pickin', Fall foliage , Skiing, Hiking. After several years we decide to share Serenity Falls with others. We rented in the area and knew we wanted to be different. That'w why we made Serenity Falls so homey and offer so many consumables. Who needs to pack all those little things?

What makes this cabin unique


LINENS ( sheets, full set of towels for EACH bathroom, extra blankets and pillows, dish towels)


PAPER PRODUCTS- toilet paper, paper towels




We graciously supply these items because prior to being owners we were renters. We found the most challenging part of renting was packing what SHOULD have been supplied....linens, toilet paper, dish soap,etc. We were on vacation not moving. :O

Amenities: 10 ACRES of privacy, View, Waterfall, Creek, Private hiking trails, Stone patio with Bonfire pit, Camping chairs, Horseshoes, Hot tub, Covered porch with rocking chairs, Fully stocked kitchen, INTERNET, DVD, VHS, Satellite TV, Video library, Games, books, Extra pillows and blankets, Serene relaxing atmosphere....

Guestbook comments from the owner

Serenity Falls is a beautiful escape! The uncluttered, efficient facility is just what someone needs for a peaceful vacation spot. We so enjoyed it, especially the waterfall, and will look forward to a return visit!
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 1


Boone Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master - toilet , shower
    Bathroom - Upstairs - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Upstairs Bedroom - 2 double , Two double/full beds and a full bath with tub
    Master Bedroomn -1st floor - 1 queen , Full bath with shower
    Loft area - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Kids favorite
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
We were renters first and didn't want our guest to pack everything including the kitchen sink. That's why we provide numerous amenities: LINENS (towels,sheets, extra blankets, extra pillows), coffee filters, salt/pepper, TP, paper towels, dish/dishwasher soap, firewood for INDOOR fireplace. At Serenity Falls you will feel like you're at home!


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(82 traveler reviews)

Boone/Blowing Rock Log Cabin*WATERFALL*Fishing Creek*Hot Tub*Fire Pit*10ac*Trail
average rating of 4.6829267 based on 83 reviews

Quiet and peaceful, with an awesome deck, fire pit, and jacuzzi.

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely loved it! Everything was perfect from beginning to end. The owner Linda, went above and beyond with any requests that I had. She was amazing to work with. The cabin came stocked with everything that we needed and was exactly as described. My family and I couldn't be happier. I especially liked having ready to use fire wood. I will certainly be back to this property, and highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Doug! We loved having you and your family. Please come back soon!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very Peaceful and Quiet

  • 5 of 5

This was just what the doctor ordered from the stress of everyday work life. Serenity Falls had everything to make you feel at home and help you relax. My son and I enjoyed the hike up the trails. The cool evening was perfect for a nice fire by the fireplace to warm things back up. The only thing I have negative to say is that our little trip wasn't long enough. I hated to leave and head back to work! :) Thank you so much for allowing us to stay!

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: THANK-YOU! Serenity Falls will be waiting for you when you need another recharge.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We had a terrific time at Serenity Falls! From the comfy couches, to the temperature perfect hot tub, to a great selection of fam friendly and grown-up movies, and we'll-equipped kitchen, it had everything we needed for a fun, restful getaway. We loved the walking trails and the swing (our kids called it the "big reward"!) and even managed to get in our first skiing and zip lining adventures. Thank you for sharing such a special place!

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Paige, Thanks you so much! So glad you kids were adventurous enough to find the prize at the end of the trail! Our girls loved it. That has been our favorite couch. From Big Lots if you can believe it.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

This place was great!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was nice and very clean. The location is perfect to enjoy the outdoors.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much George! Our new housekeeper Cindy will be glad to hear the compliment. Look forward to having you back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Garner, NC

Nice, private cabin… strange interaction with owners

  • 3 of 5

The Good -

Two friends and I rented this cabin for a MTB trip. The cabin was smaller than we expected but it was just the three of us so there was no problem (might be an issue for larger parties). The kitchen was well-stocked with plenty of pots/pans/dishes/etc. The fridge kept the food and beer nice and cold. The hot tub was larger than we expected and was a great way to relax after a full day of MTB. The outside grill was charcoal and a charcoal starter was provided and made cooking easier than expected (I've never cooked on charcoal). We even explored the steep trail behind the cabin. There's no data or cell service, but the cabin does have Wi-Fi so make sure you have some sort of messaging client on your phone that will communicate over Wi-Fi. Normal SMS messaging services will NOT work. All linens, towels, etc., were included which was nice; means less to pack.

The not-so-good -

Many of the lights didn't work, both interior and exterior. Trying to watch a movie was frustrating as the batteries in many remotes were flat. Note that the guestbook states the location of spare light bulbs and batteries (we admittedly didn’t read the guestbook so we were unaware there were spares). However one would expect all light bulbs to work properly upon arrival.

The strange -

After checkout, I received a message from the owners stating that housekeeping reported one of the fitted sheets was missing. We were all puzzled… who steals a fitted sheet? I asked the owner several times about the status of this – all over email – and it would take 3 days to get a reply each time... but the replies said nothing about the sheet. Security deposit refund was received about 1.5 weeks later but once again asked about this mysterious missing sheet and never received an answer.

The bad -

After posting my initial review - very similar to what's above - I received an email from the owners and was accused of being a complainer, a whiner (twice in the same email, actually), and indirectly accused of lying (about many lights not working)... among other things. Still not sure how this review was perceived to be negative, but please note if you choose to not post a 100% positive review about Serenity Falls, you may very well receive a similar email.

To Summarize -

Aside from the lights not working, the cabin itself was fine. Just be aware of what may be in store for you if you don't leave a 5-star, sunshine-and-fluffy-kittens review.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: WE TRIED VERY HARD TO PLEASE THIS GUEST....Even my responses to his review weren't satisfactory. Arghhh..... 16 years of repeat guests and 100's of reviews should say something.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2


  • 5 of 5

We had the most wonderful time at your beautiful cabin............It had everything we needed. The décor was beautiful and although we did not use the hot tub I personally did use the covered front porch over looking the beautiful woods. Serenity is the perfect name as it was a place to chill and relax. Close enough to town to get the things we needed, do some shopping and sightseeing but far out enough to be soooooo peaceful. the trails were nice and the work you did on the outdoor firepit and patio area were worth ALL the work you personally put in. We will definltey think about staying there again...........Thank you so much for sharing it with us

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank-you Kathy!!! We truly appreciate that you noticed all we do. Come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Moses H Cone Memorial Park
"Great hiking spot. We've hiked it our Boston Terrier dog. She was mistified my the occasio..."
Boone Golf Club
"Just golfed Boone Golf Club this past summer. The course was in great shape, good prices, c..."
"The fudge is a must. Great place to stop in Blowing Rock."
Tanger Outlets Blowing Rock
"Wont take long to stop by these outlets, but worth the stop. Kind of a mini-outlet mall."
Kojay's Eatery & Coffeehouse
"Great place for a quick bite to eat. Been there while on a "ladies shopping trip". Good foo..."
Car: necessary

This secluded log cabin offers 10 acres of mountain, a spectacular view, a trickling WATERFALL that flows inches from the back deck, as well as a swift moving CREEK to wade, swim, or fish in.

However, 'secluded mountain cabin' doesn't mean bare necessities. The Serenity Falls vacation rental cabin has all the modern conveniences you've come to expect.

Hiking is just inches away on our PRIVATE TRAILS that traverse the mountain and lead to a swinging vine.

When it's time to relax, nothing beats a dip in the HOT TUB or some marshmallows around the campfire.

Our rental cabin is one of the few that has a rock lined FIRE-PIT that many of our guests have highlighted as a great family experience!

When you're ready to explore, the cabin is just minutes away from the Blue Ridge Parkway, Boone, Blowing Rock, Banner Elk, Wilkesboro and many local North Carolina vacation attractions.

If you're feeling really energetic, horseback riding, fishing, golfing, whitewater rafting, and snow skiing are all close by. And for that back to nature feeling, the North Carolina high country offers unparalleled hiking and biking.

Whether it's a spot along the Blue Ridge Parkway, a trip up Grandfather Mountain, or hiking Linville Falls.

Being located near Boone, NC, this vacation rental cabin features a little of everything for everyone.

We have a guest book filled with TESTIMONIALS from our satisfied guests. Our cabin is warmly decorated, always clean, well maintained, and a lot of thought has been put into making sure it has every thing you need to relax and enjoy your stay.. And it should, it is also our FAMILY RETREAT! You have full access to all the same cabin amenities that we enjoy during our stays.

Seasonal Notes:

The peak FALL FOLIAGE occurs in the Boone / Blowing Rock area in October! But book early as our cabin rental calendar fills up way in advance.

The NC mountain peak CHRISTMAS TREE cutting season begins the 3rd week of November. This is a fabulous time to visit the mountains, spend time with your family, and cut your own tree! A fresh cut tree will easily last through New Years. (This is how we first became hooked on going to the Boone / Appalachian mountains area!)

The NC high country snow SKI/tubing/boarding season is usually mid-November through March on the local ski slopes. And nothing beats coming back to your rental cabin and soaking away the day in the Hot-Tub.

The view from the Hot-tub is spectacular with the cabin spotlights lighting up the water fall and creating an amazing silhouette around the trees that outline the falls.


Rates & Availability

Boone Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Holiday and High Season
May 26 2017 - May 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
Holiday and High Season
Jun 16 2017 - Aug 20 2017
2 night minimum stay
Holiday and High Season
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
2 night minimum stay
Holiday and High Season
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
Holiday and High Season
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
Holiday and HighSeason
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 2 2018
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning/Linen Fee $60
Refundable damage deposit $150
Tax Rate 6.0%

*MINIMUM RENTAL AGE 25. Please be prepared to send a picture of your Driver's License with your booking request.
* ALL info on VRBO supersedes property website.
* $150 REFUNDABLE Security Deposit (returned within 1-2 wks) Sooner if Pay-per View and Land Line long distance not uses
* Winter in the mountains is unpredictable. Refunds will only be given if the NWC issues a "Warning", not a "Watch".
- Regular Season~if cancel prior to 30 days, full refund.
- Holiday/High Season~ prior to 60 days, full refund.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing