check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Magda Schinkel

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, german, dutch

Self catering unit bordering golf course with majastic mountains above

16 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Cape Town Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Self-contained appartment for 1-2 guests with own entrance and security system

The self contained apartment, with its own security system linked to a 24hr armed response, is part of the main house and has a private entrance and safe parking.

The large bedroom has a comfortable king size bed or two single beds and lots of cupboard space.

It has a spacious bathroom with a walk in shower, washbasin and toilet.

The open plan lounge has television, a dining room table and a well fitted kitchenette.

The wind protected patio invites you to relax with a glass of wine at the end of the day, enjoy the peace of the mountains above and watch the golfers.

The apartment is provided with some basics like sugar, salt, tea and coffee.

It has satellite TV and broadband (ADSL) connection.

The apartment is serviced twice a week with change of the provided linen and towels.

Guests are welcomed with a free bottle of wine and fresh fruits of the season.

A beach bag and beach towels are available and for hikers a picnic ruck sack for two.

No smoking indoors please.

Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Magda Schinkel (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, german, dutch

Reviews

4.8
based on 16 traveler reviews

Self catering unit bordering golf course with majastic mountains above
average rating of 4.8125 based on 16 reviews
4

Great value!!!

  • 4 of 5

This is a great place for one or two people. Magda is an exceptional host. The bed or beds - they are two pushed together but you wouldn't know it - are SO comfortable. This is a really functional unit and extremely good value for money. If you are visiting South Africa for the first time, you need to understand that dogs - and their barking!!! - are an advertisement of security!!! We will have no hesitation in staying with Magda and her dogs, Bella and Max, on our next trip and hope that this review will not mean that we find her fully booked!!! It has been a real "find"!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry about barking dogs but it is indeed a deterent for unwanted visitors! Their task is to guard the premisses.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A home from home in wonderful surroundings

  • 5 of 5

A home from home. Everything you require for a comfortable, relaxing home away. Magda is a wonderful host and provides the care and attention without intrusion. Forty minutes drive from Cape Town but none of the noise, hustle and bustle of the city. Very good shopping nearby with everything you need. Excellent choice of restaurants with all the fresh seafood you could wish for. A visit I long to repeat.

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Marseille, France
5

Excellent stay

  • 5 of 5

Magda is very attentive, friendly, always ready to give informations, to do a service. I appreciate the fresh flowers in the bathroom and the kitchen, the wine and the fruits for the guests. Eveything was all right. If I have the opportunity it is with pleasure that I shall return to it.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: As I am a retired tour guide it is only my pleasure to tell my guests where to go for the "hot spots" of this beautiful area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5

Thanks Magda, for the pleasant time at your holiday apartment. We´ve enjoyed our stay and we are still overwhelmed about the very good service and your hospitality.

Kind regards,

Martin & Sarah

  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Relaxing and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Magda's place is very clean, well equipped, and comfortable. It is located in a pleasant, quiet neighbourhood that is a five minute walk to a grocery store and laundromat, and the beach is a five minute drive away. The kitchen was well-equipped, there was no shortage of hot water, and the bed was super comfortable. The house has a beautiful garden, a lovely atmosphere, and a couple of very loveable dogs. Magda is a great hostess, so kind and thoughtful. She is very knowledgable about attractions and activities in the area, as well as where to eat! We ate at Carla's in Muizenberg- excellent prawns. Across the road from Carla's is a great little cafe, with good service. We also went to the Toad on the Road a few times (a two minute walk from the unit), a good neighbourhood pub. Krek Wak Wou is a great place to stay. Everything was perfect!

  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

very pleasant place to stay

  • 4 of 5

pictures and descriptions on the net did not promise too much. i felt very comfortable and safe at magdas place. she was a very helpful host, who took all the effort to keep me happy. helped me with different kind of problems and had a lot of good ideas for places to visit away from tourist hot spots. everything was always clean and ver well looked after. i can recommend the place easily to anyone.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Kilometres
Cape Town international Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Kilometres
West Lake pub
Nearest Golf
1 Kilometres
West Lake golf club
Nearest Train
3 Kilometres
Lake side station
Nearest Motorway
1 Kilometres
M3 freeway
Nearest Restaurant
2 Kilometres
Green Bean
Nearest Beach
10 Kilometres
Muizenberg beach
Car: recommended

Krek Wak Wou is situated in Lakeside, a tranquil southern suburb of Cape Town. We border West Lake golf course and have glorious, uninterrupted views towards Steenberg Mountain which is part of the Table Mountain Group. The popular and highly rated West Lake golf course is easy accessible (5 min) and welcomes guests players! We are close to the False Bay beaches and the Table Mountain National Park as well as shopping centres and public transport. The close by M3 freeway takes you within 30 min. to Cape Town city centre, the Table Mountain cableway and Victoria & Alfred Water Front with the Marine Aquarium and Cape Town International Conference centre.The beautiful route along the False Bay coastline towards Cape Point (30 km) passes through surfers ' paradise of Muizenberg, quaint STJames(tidal pool), Kalk Bay(working fishing harbour and fascinating little shops), Fish Hoek (swimmers beach) and Simons Town the heart of the South African Navy and penguin colony at Boulders Beach.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cape Town Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
ZAR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
low season
May 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$26
 
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $26 per night, per additional guest
 
high season
Oct 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$29
 
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $29 per night, per additional guest
 
low season
May 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$29
 
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $29 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$29
 
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $29 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

To confirm a booking a 50% deposit is required with the balance settled on arrival.
No credit card facilities available.
A R75 single supplement is charged

Please note that the current rate is per person/ night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Cape Town Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (detached)
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 40 m²
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Backpack
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Security System
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • walk-in shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single
  • One can choose between a king-size bed or two single beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Terrace
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers