Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Quintessential Chilmark Retreat With Water Views In Martha's Vineyard

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Everything you think of when you dream of Chilmark... pastoral rolling 2+ acres with water views and stone walls. Ideal location less than 1.25 miles to all Chilmark beaches... St Lucy Vincent, Squibnocket and Menemsha. Half a mile to the Chilmark General store. Main house plus option to rent charming vintage cottage (available separately. Perfect for weddings and for multiple or extended family use.

Tall cathedral ceilings with post and beam detailing. French doors lead to expansive deck offers stunning view of Menemsha pond. Spacious kitchen is perfect for those that love to cook with updated appliances. Screened in porch with dining table is perfect for late night chats. Stone fireplace is ideal for chilly early summer or fall evenings.

The master bedroom is very romantic with a french country decor. The second bedroom has a set of bunk beds plus a queen bed. Perfect for children. The third bedroom closes off with rustic barn doors from the main living area (semi-private).

Would also note there is a lovely sitting room off the screened in porch that also converts to a sleeping area.

More Details

Owner
Danielle James
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 11, 2017

What makes this house unique

close to all up island beaches, amazing sunsets!

The house is open for weddings

Amenities

Chilmark House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Not suitable for children
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - set of bunk beds plus a queen bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen , A barn door closes the bedroom from the loft living area
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Notes:
There are 2 separate sleeping areas for spillover. For families with babies, a crib, changing table and strollers are available. Very large deck offers water views and a BBQ. Property has rolling hills with gorgeous trees and landscaping. Both homes have hammocks perfect for a long afternoon nap. Outdoor Shower

Reviews

4.6/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Quintessential Chilmark Retreat With Water Views In Martha's Vineyard
average rating of 4.6 based on 5 reviews
3

Cute and quiet, responsive owners

  • 3 of 5

Overall, we truly enjoyed our stay at the Chilmark house. We do have some suggestions to better welcome your guests. Please consider providing dishwashing detergent, dish soap, paper towels, napkins, clearer welcome instructions (how to lock the French doors and use the outdoor grill for example). We also found when we arrived some dirty pans in the oven, dirty freezer, damp towels in the dryer and a broken coffee maker. There was advertised a microwave, but no microwave in the kitchen. Our daughter and her husband stayed in the upstairs bedroom — so cute but the mattress needs to be replaced. The leather chairs in the living room also need new pads. WIth all that said, Richard was very communicative and helpful with suggestions for things to do and solutions to some of our concerns. We truly enjoyed our time on the Vineyard.`

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Catherine... I wish you had brought up these concerns during our many correspondences when you were on island. The microwave is on premise but in the basement as many renters object to one these days for health reasons. Coffee makers do brake, but my caretaker brought you a new one within 24 hours as well as filters when you expressed displeasure in having to purchase them yourselves. I think you will be hard pressed to find a home rental that supplies paper towels etc but good luck finding one. Hotels may be another option. PS- For the record, you do not replace springs in vintage french club chairs.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Shabby chic beautiful home!!

  • 5 of 5

This was an amazing house. I loved the location! Being able to visit Chilmark beaches was a highlight of the trip. The home itself was delightful. I adored the owner's taste. The shabby chic feel was warm and inviting. All the beds were soft and comfortable. The coffee table books and scented candles made staying in a pleasure. There were many evenings we were content to curl up and read and listen to music! Happy there was a Sonos box! I enjoyed and appreciated every detail of this house. We were all sad to leave!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful. Just as advertised

  • 5 of 5

Out second time at Danielle's house. Perfect for a peaceful vacation

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gorgeous Home, Well Appointed, Uniquely Decorated, Beautiful Setting!

  • 5 of 5

This was our fifth summer in Martha's Vineyard. After several years of staying in Edgartown, we decided to venture "up island" and stay in Chilmark. The landscape near this rental is truly breathtaking. Everywhere you look are green hills surrounded by water. I couldn't keep my eyes off the scenery!

The home itself is just perfect.

The Chilmark General Store is just a half mile down and is fully stocked. Next door is the Chilmark Tavern - a BYOB spot with a sophisticated menu.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Baltimore, MD
5

A lovely time in a classic Chilmark summer home

  • 5 of 5

We stayed with our in-laws for nearly two weeks, and though we were a smaller group than expected (our adult daughters could not join us at the last minute), it was obvious the home easily could have comfortable managed capacity occupancy. Well stocked, spacious property, clear directions to renters on what to do, and beautifully located for a healthy long walk to Menemsha, a perfect summer stay. The beds were comfortable, and all amenities as promised. Having owned on the Vineyard for many years, and this being our first stay NOT at our one home, this home made the transition to "renters" easy and welcome. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Ideal location less than 1.25 miles to all Chilmark beachs... St Lucy Vincent, Squibnocket and Menemsha. Many dirt roads and trails to explore. Half a mile to the Chilmark General store.

Activities and Attractions:

Peace and quiet, Farmers Markets, Water sports, Great food, Beach

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning fee $250
Refundable damage deposit $500

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties