check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Thomas Mitchell

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

Island Adventure Vacation

5 Reviews
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

New Shoreham House Rental Photos and Description

6+ BR / 5 BA / Sleeps 12+

Birds chirping, slow sunrise, coffee on the deck, picnic lunch for the beach, bare feet, sun, sandcastles, salty ocean, sea glass, long walks, overdue talks, shopping, hiking or biking, cool drinks, outdoor shower, nurture, nourish, nap, read, easy chairs and ottomans, just be, sweet shade in the afternoon, soft smells, tea time, quiet moments, lots of laughter, fabulous fun, cocktails on the deck, grill preheating, scrumptious restaurants, delicious desserts, dancing to the music, island breezes, sweeping sunsets, starlit skies, sweet dreams.. and for tomorrow...more of the same.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Thomas Mitchell (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

About Thomas Mitchell

Hello.

We are Tom and Kathleen and we would love to share our home with you. We have 5 fantastic children, one fantastic son in law, two incredible daughter in laws, and 4 gregarious grandsons!

Thomas Mitchell purchased this house in 1980

Why Thomas Mitchell chose Rhode Island

We are sure that you will have everything that you need so you can relax and enjoy your vacation from the very moment you arrive. We enjoy large family gatherings here often, and it is always a great home to stretch out in or to all congregate in one place. The outside offers beautiful views and an expansive yard. You will feel at home in our home! We have always enjoyed being away from the hustle and bustle of town, but being within 2 miles to everything. We are happy to email you additional photos and floor plan to help you plan your stay with us, here on the island.

What makes this house unique

For your stay we have included fresh linens already on the beds (dinner on the table... just kidding), towels, already out, ready for the beach, paper goods to start your stay, and your garbage will be taken away. If you have any special requests please let us know. Thanks.

Reviews

3.8
based on 5 traveler reviews

Island Adventure Vacation
average rating of 3.8 based on 5 reviews
Connecticut
5

Family Vacation 2015

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a fantastic time this year at this house on Block Island. The house itself is absolutely lovely, spacious and in great condition, with virtually every amenity we could have hoped for. Plenty of room in kitchen, dining and living area for everyone to cook together or just hang out, large enough for our family gatherings (8 adults, 2 young adults, 2 children under 5).

The house is set up so the bedrooms and bathrooms have privacy. The house sits on a hill and the Island breezes keep it comfortable inside and out. All of us enjoyed sitting on the large expansive decks both front and back with plenty of adirondack chairs for sitting and family gatherings. If you just wanted to spend the day at the house, the huge front yard overlooks Fresh Pond which is swimmable and ideal for the little ones as well as the adults. The shaded back yard has plenty of room for outdoor cooking and activities. The location was just right not to far from the beaches and town. If you bring a vehicle which I would recommend you will need to book your car reservation for the ferry in advance.

Tom and Kathleen were available whenever we had questions, and very accommodating. We highly would recommend this property to everyone and plan on returning to this wonderful family friendly home again.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review! We are so happy that you were able to enjoy your "Island Adventure" here. We look forward to your staying with us in the future! Warmly, Tom & Kathleen
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Pennsylvania
4

Lovely home, beautiful place

  • 4 of 5

I recently had the pleasure of visiting Block Island for the first time, and we (5 couples) stayed at Island Adventure. The house was lovely, beautiful views from every angle. We cooked every night in the well stocked kitchen, and enjoyed both the front porch and back for reading, happy hours and relaxing. We had a fabulous view of the lunar eclipse, sitting on the front porch, tucked under blankets in the great Adirondack chairs. The house was cozy and comfortable, and was close to town and some of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. Unfortunately, the weather forced us to cut short our stay by two days. The owner was great with keeping us informed about the ferry schedule. We made it off safe and sound and Tom called to make sure all went well. We had no trouble with the internet, or any thing else for that matter. I would suggest the owners put a microwave in the otherwise well appointed kitchen, and perhaps a second TV in the den.

Loved the house, loved the island.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Liz, Thank you for your kind review. It is nice to know that you were able to enjoy your stay in the way that we hoped you would. It was certainly unfortunate that you and your party had to leave early due to an approaching hurricane! I am sure this was disappointing. I know the feeling as Tom and I were married out here in our front lawn and it was the day after a hurricane and none of our guests were able to come from out of town as the boats had stopped running. Mother Nature always plays a big part here on Block Island. As far as your two suggestions, we appreciate your comments. We are adding a small microwave for our renter’s convenience and are considering a second smaller television for future stays. Thank you again for your review and for your suggestions. You are always welcome back! Warmly, Tom and Kathleen
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
3

Quiet? Yes!

  • 3 of 5

I don’t believe that the owner has misrepresented this property, but I do feel that one reviewer has conveyed an inaccurate impression.

First of all, I disagree that this house should be a recommended location for tourists without cars. On the contrary, some form of transportation to and from this spot is essential if you wish to enjoy the beaches, sights, and restaurants that dot the island. On a lark one day, a few of us decided to walk into town. When we finally arrived at the ferry landing, we all agreed that there was no way we were walking back home. Enough was enough! (And, I can assure you, we are all avid walkers.) Biking wouldn’t have been a much better option. The island is very hilly and the narrow roads are crowded with cars most of the day. There is no way someone burdened with beach gear would want to walk or bike to the beach from there. Calling a cab would seem to me a must for evenings out.

Which brings me to disagreement number two: Fresh Pond offers a very pretty view and it may be “delightfully swimable” but it is not readily accessible. No trespassing signs and heavy vegetation surround it. The only access we could find was a good distance from the house down a heavily wooded path. With deer tick warning signs posted everywhere on Block Island, one is hesitant to lug his gear down too many heavily wooded paths!

The reviewer does acknowledge that internet access can be sketchy on an island and I understand that. This is not an issue that affects my life. It did however cause serious problems for those of our party who hold jobs that require them to be accessible to their work places at all times. In truth, the internet wasn’t sketchy, it was nonexistent.

I agree that the house is laid out well for a large extended family --- though a few more bedroom doors would have been welcome. And, the kitchen is large and well appointed --- though not all of the amenities functioned. (A working ice maker or multiple bags of ice would have been nice --- constantly filling little ice trays and maneuvering them into the bottom of a freezer unit is very tricky.)

On the plus side, the quiet location far from the bustle of town makes for a restful getaway.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Bruce N. Thank you for your review. I agree that there are many times in which you would want a vehicle, especially when transporting gear. Otherwise, as the previous reviewer wrote below, both town and the beaches are very walkable, or bikable, as they are only just miles away (1.9 and 2.2 miles, respectively). Many people that come to Block Island are here to escape the hustle and bustle of daily life and want to unwind with a walk. I am sorry this was not the case for you. Also, I am sorry you did not find the “hidden to tourists” path for Fresh Pond directly across the street. I wish I would have known. And yes, it seems that we all need to be concerned about Lyme Disease as it is now being reported in every state in the country, and especially in high numbers in all of New England. You are correct about the internet on Block Island as it can be rather spotty as we warn people. As you may know we are building windmills off the coast that eventually will eliminate this issue. Unfortunately, the thunderstorm that happened while you were visiting, knocked out internet service for many homes and we are sorry that Verizon Wireless was not able to fix it sooner than they did. Thank goodness for hot spots for those emergencies if you must work while on vacation. Thank you for your note on the ice maker. We appreciate it and have connected an ice maker for added convenience, in addition to the ice that we always leave in the freezer. Unfortunately, a refrigerator ice-maker can’t always keep up with summer time fun! In addition, I know that you rented at the same time as Chris H, who commented in the review above, and also had concerns. We apologize that we were not the perfect stay for your holiday. Warmly, Tom and Kathleen Mitchell, Owners of Island Adventure
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
2

Missed the Mark

  • 2 of 5

Block Island is a beautiful spot and I've enjoyed my many trips there. Unfortunately, I can not recommend "Island Adventure" to fellow renters. The house was large, but outdated. We had numerous issues with it and the owner was less than pleasant when confronted with them. He had appliances that did not work properly, plumbing issues that caused flooding, electrical issues that caused fire alarms to go off and a huge bug problem. He accused my family of creating the problems. His WiFi did not work the entire week and I allocated a portion of one day to working with a service provide to fix it, as he couldn't handle it. My brother in law, who was working on an important medical grant, had to go to another hotel to use their wifi. About a week after coming home, I got a strange letter from the owner with around $175 of my security deposit withheld stating that the towels were "extra greasy" and required cleaning as well as a random list of kitchenware that went missing. He also complained about the fact that my 12 year old set up a tent on his lawn, which was full of brown grass and weeds. The numerous issues with the house coupled with the petty nature of the owner puts me in a position where I can not recommend this house to others. I again note that Block a Island is a great place and wish I could recommend this house to others. It is just past its prime and my sense is the owner is trying to wring whatever he can out of whomever rents it.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Chris H, We would like to respond to your review, however, it seems that you did not enjoy your vacation here and we are sorry to hear that. I know that Tom did come up on numerous occasions, as well as tried to work things out by phone, to be of service. Unfortunately, as I commented below to your fellow renter Bruce N, we are not able to control internet service on Block Island and we do apologize for your rather large inconvenience. I myself struggle with poor internet service and my computer work as well, as a year round resident here on Block Island. I know the fire alarm going off was upsetting but as you know, it was caused by the toilet that overflowed and leaked into the fire detector and short circuited the wire. We wish this did not occur and upset your stay. Unfortunately, we do have to ask people to not put up tents and kiddie pools on the lawn as it does kill the grass. This was an unusually dry summer for the grass we were even more concerned. We pride ourselves on not using any chemical fertilizers on our lawn as we love well water. Lastly, I wish that we did not need to deduct any amount from your security deposit, but on rare occasion we need to account for extra time spent putting the house back in perfect order for the next arriving guests. We always allow an initial amount to be overlooked, as things happen, but because there was so many issues with towels and with bedding and kitchen that required additional work, we had to account for our cleaning crews time. Again, we are sorry that you and Bruce N were not able to enjoy your stay here. Best, Tom and Kathleen P.S. Hope your son enjoyed many games with his favorite bat that Tom found and shipped back!!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 5
5

relaxing adventure

  • 5 of 5

we needed a place large enough for our extended family (2 grandparents, 4 parents, 3 young adults, 3 teens, a 9 yr. old, and a newborn!) and had heard that block island was a nice place to visit. the house is spacious and quaint, was handed over very clean and in great condition, with virtually every amenity we could have hoped for, even a frisbee to throw around on the giant front lawn over looking Fresh Pond, which is delightfully swimmable. the location was far enough from the waterfront/center of town to not feel touristy, but everywhere on the island was comfortably accessible by bike or even on foot for youhardy hikers out there. we all enjoyed hanging out in the large and well-appointed kitchen and back deck, grilling and cooking and relaxing. even when it warmed up outside the cool Atlantic breezes kept the house comfortable. block island's beaches are world-class, and besides the ones close to the ferry, quiet and uncrowded. the vibe on the island is very chill, and the great housing choice, varied activities, and general atmosphere made for a really nice vacation. the mitchell's were sweet and helpful and dealt promptly with one or two minor issues which cropped up (block island internet access is a bit sketchy, for those of you who are lost without 24/7 high-speed connectivity). just to illustrate, we forgot something in the house, and when tom noticed it, he called, jumped in his car, and drove down to the dock to hand it back to us as we were loading onto the ferry. above and beyond the call of duty, and very appreciated. i would definitely recommend this property to friends looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear David G, We are so happy that your vacation was everything that you needed, and more. We work very hard to create the perfect vacation destination for you. We loved having your family here. You are always welcome back anytime. Best, Tom and Kathleen
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0

Map

Nearest Airport
0.9 Miles
Block Island State Airport, Block Island RI
Nearest Barpub
2.1 Miles
Yellow Kittens, Block Island RI
Nearest Ferry
2.3 Miles
Interstate Navigation, Old Harbor, Block Island RI
Nearest Golf
26 Miles
Rose Hill Golf Club, South Kingstown RI
Nearest Train
45 Miles
Amtrak, Westerly RI
Nearest Motorway
37.4 Miles
Route 95, Richmond RI
Nearest Restaurant
2.1 Miles
Eli's, Block Island RI
Nearest Ski
32.3 Miles
Yawgoo Ski and Sports, Exeter RI
Nearest Beach
2.2 Miles
Block Island State Beach, Block Island RI
Car: recommended

If you are looking for fun in the sun, swimming, sailing shopping, or leisurely walks on the beach, hiking in the Greenway trails or biking around the island, there is something for everyone. Combine that with mouth watering restaurants, cocktails, sunsets and starlit skies. If that's not enough then there is dancing and moonlit nights.

Photos

Rates & Availability

New Shoreham House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off season pricing
Sep 5 2016 - Oct 11 2016
3 night minimum stay
$1,000
$6,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$7,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Housekeeping Fee $450
Tax Rate 8.0%

Our rate of $7800 is for 12 people. The rate of $8000 is for over 12 people. Max of 14 people + state & local taxes. A deposit of 50% is required at the time of booking. The final payment of 50% + state & local taxes is due 45 days prior to arrival, along with a $1000.00 Refundable Property Damage deposit and a $450 House Keeping fee. Please call or email us with any questions that you may, regarding payment. Thank You. Tom & Kathleen

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

New Shoreham House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3380 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Shared with Master Bedroom #1 and bedrooms #2 & #3.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Full bathroom on the first floor level, off the kitchen.
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Private bathroom for Bedroom #4.
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Private bathroom for Bedroom #5.
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Private bathroom for Bedroom #6.
  • All bathrooms have beautiful inlayed tiling and tile floors. (Please see floor plan to accommodate your needs.)
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , Sitting room off of bedroom has a trundle bed (2 twins)
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , Sitting room off of bedroom has a trundle bed (2 twins)
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • Bedroom #4 Has private entrance, and private bath with sink, toilet and corner shower. Bedroom #5 & #6 Have sitting room with trundle bed and small deck off of it. Each also has a private bath with a sink, toilet, shower and jacuzzi tub. (Please see floor plan to accommodate your needs.)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
If you wish to borrow a high chair or a Pack n Play crib, please let us know. We have 2 of each. Let us help you plan your stay!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties