check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Richard Standke

Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: german

Large Oceanfront. Quiet, Lush, 3 Bdr/8 guests on 1/2 acre

24 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Hawaiian Paradise Park House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom, 2 Bath, Sleeps 8, Ocean as backyard

Complete oceanfront property. Private 3 bedroom, 2 bath with fold out couch on private lot. Quiet street in residential Paradise Park. Area along the water has a vacation feel to it. Unobstructed views of ocean. Eight miles to small town of Keaau and only 14 miles to Hilo central with Walmart, airport and nice restaurants as well as botanical gardens, museums, snorkeling at Richardson's Beach Park.

Very close to Volcano National Park as well as the lava flows along the coast.

KITCHEN: Granite tile covers modern kitchen. Views out over deck and to the ocean.

* Fresh nonstick pans and ample cookware.

* Coffee maker, grinder, filters and generally coffee and suger

* Toaster, blender and hand mixer

* Microwave oven

* Rice cooker

* Full size refridgerator

* Combination range, stove top

* Ample silverware, serving dishes

* Dishwasher

* Popcorn popper

* Condiments (oil, katchup, salt/pepper etc.)

* Paper towels, hand towels

* Garbage bags.

DINING ROOM:

* Place mats

* Generous quantity of plates

* Breakfast room surrounded by windows

* View out to deck and ocean

MASTER BEDROOM:

* Very large room on upper floor with unobstructed ocean views.

*High quality king bed.

* Connected master bath. These are the only rooms upstairs for total privacy.

* Futon for additional sleeping options for large parties or young children.

* Playpen available for your children.

SECOND BEDROOM:

* Queen bed

* On main level near main bathroom

THIRD BEDROOM:

* Very large, with queen size bed.

* Queen size fold out sofa couch.

* Additionsl twin size fold out sofa couch.

OTHER AMENITIES:

* Beach wear including masks, snorkels, rubber shoes, fins, beach towels and cooler.

* Deck with tables and chairs. Move chairs and table to edge of rocks for a memorable evening or sunrise.

* Plenty of parking and privacy. House is separated from guest house by an unused garage.

* High speed Time Warner cable WIFI

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Richard Standke (Owner)
Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: german

About Richard Standke

Owner of 4 homes directly across from Richardson's Beach Park and 3 ocean front homes in Paradise Park. I manage these homes personally with my cell number available to all guests. Payments are handled through the security of the Homeaway/VRBO site. Guests also receive information on restaurants, shopping and my favorite places to visit.

Other Hilo homes at Richardson's Beach Park include VRBO Listing #27642, VRBO Listing #/3948511ha, VRBO Listing #3948514ha and VRBO Listing #4035464ha. On the same property, but separated by an unused garage, I have a one bedroom guest house. The listing for that rental is VRBO Listing #397903. Lastly, about a mile away I have a similar house as this. It is at VRBO Listing #453343.

I always keep the calendars updated.

Richard Standke purchased this house in 2012

Why Richard Standke chose Hawaii

There are many low priced properties in Hilo. This house is larger than most with plenty of room so spread out. It house is spotlessly clean and in great condition. Paradise Park is South of Hilo enough to enjoy a real Hawaiian neighborhood but close enough to be at a Hilo restaurant in 25 mintutes. Enjoy a sunrise unlike you have ever had. Cook a great breakfast and enjoy it on the patio or my moving the furniture near the ocean cliffs.

What makes this house unique

House is just 25 minutes from Downtown Hilo.

Not well known, Hilo has more tourist destinations than any Hawaiian destination. These include:

*Historic Downtown with shops and restaurants on the Bay.

* Waterfalls right in town. Rainbow Falls and Boiling Pots.

* Akaka Falls just 25 minutes North of Hilo

* Volcano National Park, just 35 minutes above Hilo

* Hawaiian Botanical Gardens.One of the nicest gardens you will find.

* Hilo Farmers Market. Everyday but largest on Wednesday and Saturday.

* Liliuckalani Gardens at Hilo Bay including Coconut Island.

* Lyland museum for historic information and geologic rocks.

* Tsunami museum housed in a historic bank

* Wine tasting at the Volcano Winery

* Beer tasting right in town at Hawaii Nui Brewery

* Coffee tasting at Hilo Coffee Mill on your way to the Volcano

* Hilo Zoo. Free and very pretty.

* Mauna Loa Nut company self guided "look through window" tour and gift shop. Free and nice shop for lunch and ice cream.

* Historic Palace Theatre downtown. Check internet for show dates.

* Nearby to Pahoa town, near active lava flows.

*Continue on to Ahalanui Park's warm pond and then snorkle at Champagne Ponds (tidepools) in Kapoho.

* Venture South beyond Volcano National Park to Punaluu County Park for lots of black sand and full time lounging turtles.

* Continue South for Punaluu Bake shop and South Point Road. Incredable vistas from the most Southern point in the U.S.

* Go North along the beautiful Hamakua coast and go horseback riding in Waipi'o Valley.

Reviews

4.7
based on 24 traveler reviews

Large Oceanfront. Quiet, Lush, 3 Bdr/8 guests on 1/2 acre
average rating of 4.7083335 based on 24 reviews
Austin, TX
4

quiet, relaxing place and the view can't be beat!

  • 4 of 5

I stayed at this property with my husband and parents for two nights in Augus. Two nights wasn't enough time! The view is gorgeous, and I wish we had more time on the big island to enjoy it. It had been raining more than usual for several days when we arrived and the downstairs bedroom was a little bit musty smelling, but not bad. After opening the windows up, the smell dissipated and it was fine within an hour. I slept there and had no complaints. The rest of the house was clean and nice. The kitchen was stocked with a few essentials and we were able to cook in it easily. The location isn't super close to any grocery stores, so it would be good to arrive early enough to take stock of what is there and make a grocery list.

The location is close to volcano sightseeing, whether you want to go to Volcano National Park or take a boat ride to see lava pouring into the ocean. We did both and loved the experiences! If you're going out for meals, I can highly recommend breakfast at Pele's Kitchen in Pahoa and dinner at Tina's Garden Gourmet Cafe in Hilo -- the food was fantastic at both of these places!

I would stay here again, ideally for more than two nights to be able to explore more of the island.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. It sounds like you had a great time and the house worked out well for you. I strive for consistent 5 star experiences and I don't see a reason for "only" 4 stars. This side of the Island is always a struggle with humidity when the weather is unusually wet.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Ahmaziiing!!!

  • 5 of 5

Richard was the perfect host:) the house is beautiful and felt like our own home. It has everything you could possibly need and the view and location is spectacular. Our whole family had the best stay yet here since arriving in Hawaii! Thank you Rixhard for making us feel at home and for being the perfect host:):) we will definitely be back!!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad the house worked out. I try very hard to earn a 5 star review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Renter Beware- Beautiful View but problem in bedrooms and unclean bathroom.

  • 1 of 5

The view from this property is lovely. The kitchen and living rooms were fine. The information packet was very informative and helpful. However, here are the problems we faced- complaint filed with VRBO the first night but no resolution:

The bottom floor bedroom is extremely musty. We tried to open the windows to let it air out, however, that did not help at all- owner said a humidifier should have been on but it wasn't put on by the housekeeper. It was so musty none of us could stand the smell. Again the owner was previously aware of the problem. Also the lower floor bedroom had no working overhead lights.,

Main floor bedroom- a screen missing on one window not allowing it to be opened not allowing for cross ventilation. The bedroom was so hot it was not usable. The housekeeper knew the screen was missing. Directions to make sure all screens were secure due to "bug" problems was in our welcome packet.

Main floor bathroom- a lot of hair sticking out from under the rug and sand in the tub. Obviously had not been cleaned properly after prior guests.

All of us had to stay in the upstairs bedroom. The bedding on the futon was either very discolored due to age or it was dirty.

One upstairs windows has a broken lock which the owner was aware of prior to our occupancy.

I requested a partial refund since 2 bedrooms were unusable. Musty and too hot due to negligence of the owner/housekeeper. A formal complaint was submitted to VRBO the first night- we received no response from the owner or VRBO after the complaint was filed. The owner agreed to a $200 refund I asked for $300 but to lack of cleaning and unusable bedrooms. The owner now refused any refund at all. This states something about the honor and word of the owner. If you have problems- be prepared to have a "tough luck" response. This was a graduation trip for a family member that we saved for- for a long time. Very disapointed.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is simply "review blackmail" to receive a refund for a stay. They never contacted me during the stay. The first I heard about any issues was from VRBO after they lodged a complaint. My phone number is everywhere. The house wasn't musty (the dehumidifier is for winter when it is rainier), the lights didn't go on because of a breaker that was switched off (I suspect this was done by these guests), the missing screen is to a small window, and isn't relevant (the handyman had it ready to reinstall), the window upstairs without a latch is to be always left open to keep the house ventilated. Our homes are kept spotless, which is why our cleaning fee is on the high side. I have never had a dirty house complaint in my 5 years of renting 7 rentals. This was a made up list used to negotiate a free stay. There is no other reason she wouldn't have contacted me upon arrival, but instead filed with VRBO on her last day there. This is completely unfair to me.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What an amazing view!

  • 5 of 5

The house is very comfortable in a really quiet neighborhood. It's quite unassuming, but when you walk out back and see the view from the black lava rock cliff, it is amazing!! We spent our evenings out back gazing at the ocean and having happy hour and our mornings watching the sunrise. The house is located near the hot springs and champagne pool. It's an easy drive to the Volcano National Park. We bought fresh fish in Hilo and grilled one evening. We ate breakfast at a local spot, Pele's Kitchen in Pahoa, which was delicious. All in all, we would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful get away

  • 5 of 5

The stay was great, the scenery was absolutely beautiful and with all the comforts of home in a paradise setting, will definitely recommend to all and will keep there number in my phone for future stays and quick reference for others, nothing was any farther away than 20-30 minutes shopping,restaurants and anything else a person would want and Richard was always just a phone call away, the cleaning service does a wonderful job.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peacefull setting

  • 5 of 5

If you want quiet, peaceful vacation house this is the place for you. Falling asleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks is the best. The house it as pictured, clean, and had plenty of room for the four of us. The kitchen is well equipped. Enough towels and beach toys. Everything was clean, the cable and Internet worked fine. We did however had a bit of a problem with our cell phone providers with poor signal. I would recommend this home and would stay again.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hawaiian Paradise Park House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Holiday
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 2 2017
5 night minimum stay
$350
$2,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter 2017
Jan 3 2017 - Apr 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$235
$1,600
$4,400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
merrie monarch
Apr 15 2017 - Apr 23 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,100
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$185
$1,200
$3,600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 13.4%

Off Season Special: Sept. 1 to Dec. 15:
Rates from 3 to 6 nights and weekly are as follows:
Guests - Daily:
1 to 2 - $165 Weekly - $1,000
3 to 4 - $200 Weekly - $1,200
5 or 6 - $235 Weekly - $1,400
7 or 8 - $270 Weekly - $1,600

Dec. 16 to Aug. 30:
1 to 2 - $185 Weekly - $1,200
3 to 4 - $235 Weekly - $1,600
5 or 6 - $285 Weekly - $1,900
7 or 8 - $325 Weekly - $2,200

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hawaiian Paradise Park House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Downstairs off the living room
  • Master has a king bed with a sitting area that also has a futon that could hold two kids. The futon is not included in the total that can sleep in the house (so this little kids here the house could hold 10)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties