check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Liz O'Scanlon

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

SUPERIOR Beach front ocean end unit with A/C. Stunningly remodeled throughout

15 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kihei Condo Rental Photos and Description

Superior 2BR 2BA Condo. Magnificent ocean views from both BRs, LR & Lanai

Apartment 501 is a 2BR/2BA Superior beach front condominium on the 5th floor. Our apartment was remodeled in 2012. It boasts air conditioning and has granite counter tops, bamboo wall treatments and custom bamboo cabinetry in the kitchen and both bathrooms. The two bathrooms have elegant tile work with etched glass shower dividers. Our condo has unobstructed views of the ocean from both bedrooms, the living room and lanai. Apartment 501 is an end unit which means there is no walkway outside the private Studio B bedroom.

The ocean, island and mountain views are magnificent.

We offer complimentary WiFi, two flat screen TVs with Blu-ray and a fully equipped kitchen. The Mana Kai Resort boasts the award winning 5 Palms Restaurant, an outstanding sushi bar, activity desk and ocean equipment rental. Zack’s Deli and gift shop is on the ground floor. There is a meeting room available as well as beautiful grounds with lounges around the pool and lawn areas.

See how far you can walk the beach by going to 'Google Earth'. Then 'fly to' 2960 South Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui. The beach walk is along private homes and estates.

501 is also available as a 1bd/1ba rental with full Kitchen, Living Room and Private Lanai. Please contact Owner for pricing of the 1 BR, 1BA unit.

***

501's second bedroom may be rented as a private nicely equipped Studio. Please refer to VRBO listing number 461673 for separate viewing, pricing and reservations for 501 Studio 'B' unit.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Liz O'Scanlon (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Liz O'Scanlon

John and Betty Champion were original owners in the Mana Kai Maui, and the Champion family has attended every annual owner's meeting since the Resort opened in 1973. This award winning resort is located on one of the most magnificent beaches in the world. The Mana Kai Resort recently underwent a $30 million dollar remodel and for beach walkers, Keawakapu Beach meets the Wailea beaches, and you can walk continuously over a mile south. Directly below our ocean end unit is magnificent snorkeling, with hundreds of varieties of fish and plants, including Hawaii's protected sea turtles. Our lanai faces a channel which is a breeding ground for whales, and during the winter months, you can see them spouting, breaching, and frolicking in the ocean. Expect to say WOW when you see this unit. 'NO KA OI' (there is none better).

Liz O'Scanlon purchased this condo in 1973

Why Liz O'Scanlon chose Maui

There are unobstructed views from every room of Mana Kai 501. The back bedroom has no walkway outside, so the drapes can stay open to enjoy the full beauty of the ocean. The fifth floor is the perfect location in this eight story building, not too low, not too high.

What makes this condo unique

501 has a fully equipped kitchen with specialty items such as a deluxe expreso/cappuccino/coffee maker, blender, and other extras to make your stay more enjoyable. There is a desk in each of the the front and back units, two flat screen TVs, BluRays, complementary WIFI, and even a printer available for your use.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The view from the lanai is breathtaking, and when I am stressed, I imagine myself back there, looking out at whales jumping and sprouting in the gentle ocean off our condo, and enjoying the views of all the islands I can see in the distance.



I could also look down on my children on the beach or in the pool.



This is my idea of a perfect place to be.



I ca
Jan 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

5
based on 15 traveler reviews

SUPERIOR Beach front ocean end unit with A/C. Stunningly remodeled throughout
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
5

Paradise in Paradise

  • 5 of 5

The only thing better than a vacation in paradise is staying in a condo that is a paradise itself. We rented both units and were very pleased with our stay. The units are nicely updated with the main unit having a kitchen with new appliances and all the things you might need such as an upgraded coffee machine, toaster, dishes, utensils, pots, pans, cookie sheets etc. The smaller unit has a microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, dishes, and utensils also. With everything in the 2 units, it was literally like staying in a fully furnished and equipped 2 bedroom apartment.

The bathrooms in both units are also fashionably updated with plenty of counter space & storage for a stay. We did find that the partial glass shower walls caused a bit of water to splash onto the floor, so be warned.

We found the beds in both rooms to be comfortable. We appreciated the hangers, laundry basket and iron that were provided. The bedrooms have ceiling fans and there are A/C units in both units, so we were never uncomfortable.

The unit has a great view of the ocean, beach and pool area of the complex. It was relaxing to sit on the balcony and just enjoy the view. We were able to catch the sunset from just outside the unit front door on the landing. With the edge of the Maui west coast visible from the front landing, it made for beautiful pictures. During earlier parts of the year, you may be able to view it from the balcony itself.

The complex itself is easy to locate and has quick access to roads/highways. It's 5 minutes from an area of restaurants & shops in Kihei and Wailea. There's a well stocked deli onsite with reasonable prices, but it's also within 10 minutes of a Safeway and other stores. There is a full service restaurant onsite as well as one next door. The parking spots are narrow, so you'll want to make sure you center your car, or you may have a tight squeeze getting in or out if the adjacent vehicles park close.

The beach is lovely, lots of space, areas for different activities including snorkeling on one end, some waves for low key boogie boarding and plenty of space for swimming. The complex also has a decent sized grass area and provides loungers for use. It's also a short drive (5 mins) to other beaches that are some of the highest rated on Maui.

It does get windy in the afternoons but with the warm temps, warm waters, it was never a big deal. It's Paradise after all.

Great owners, pleasant and easy to deal with & no issues.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your comments. we appreciate the feedback and are always looking for ways to make staying at Mana Kai 501 a no ka oi experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Folsom CA
5

This was definitely a Superior condo

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at the Mana Kai Maui about 8 times over the last 20+ years, and have watched it evolve and improve over time. This unit had the best location and was the most beautifully remodeled and decorated that we have seen. It had the best equipped kitchen of any, by far. The furnishings were stylish and comfortable in both the A and the B unit. And the A/C worked quickly and efficiently. If there is one criticism, it may be that there were not a lot of beach amenities compared to some units in our prior experience. There were two beach chairs and just two beach towels. Some snorkel equipment was stored in a closet and a small cooler, but that was about it. Other units where we had friends or relatives staying during this visit all were better equipped for the beach (more chairs and towels, beach umbrellas, boogie boards, some sand toys, etc.)

Even so, we would definitely make this unit our first choice for our next trip to Maui.

(A note about the MKM in general: I don't think I can remember one stay where there has not been some kind of construction going on. This time there were about 15 units that were being remodeled during our stay. This meant LOTS of daytime noise----drilling, jack-hammering. There was one afternoon that our water was shut off for several hours.

And the construction crews were constantly in the elevators, making service slow. In addition the trees in the parking lot were being trimmed---all week! About 1/4 of the parking was blocked off at any given time and therefore, no spaces were assigned. Check with the MKM management at the front desk for information if this kind of chaos matters to you).

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo nui loa for your very kind comments about our ocean-end Mana Kai apartment 501. We strive to maintain our condo in the very best condition including the kitchen equipment and amenities. More incredible improvements are coming in the fall of 2016 both for the Mana Kai Resort and in our apartment. Contractor work is typically scheduled in the off peak months and we agree that at times maintenance and remodeling projects may affect the tranquility. The good news is that the Resort and grounds are always well maintained and will continue to improve, providing future guests with a truly outstanding Hawaiian experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and unit!

  • 5 of 5

Loved everything about this place, especially our views from both bedrooms. The Mana Kai is a great resort and right on the beach. This unit has great upgrades and we really appreciated all the kitchen amenities...Liz thought of everything! We'll definitely be coming back!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. We agree completely and of course we also love staying at Mana Kai 501. The end units are special. Watch for more upgrades later this year as we plan to continue making improvements. Mahalo nui loa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Mana Kai 501 Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

The unit is beautifully furnished and maintained. The view is spectacular. The dishes, pans, utensils are also first rate

  • Submitted: May 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much.... We try to improve and add new luxuries to Mana Kai 501 every year. This year, we plan to upgrade appliances, replace the shoji doors and purchase new luxury king mattresses in both bedrooms. Also you can look for improvements in the Mana Kai Resort property with a new exercise room and expanded barbeque area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Location!

  • 5 of 5

Falling asleep to the sound of the waves on the shore below was so relaxing. This unit is at the ocean end of the building so one of the best locations in the whole resort. Great happy hour at the Five Palms, Zack's, the on-site store was good for picking up essentials or walk a little over a mile along the beautiful beach to reach the shops and restaurants of Wailea. The unit was very comfortable and the owners were happy to provide any information we asked for - and we really appreciated the beautiful calendar!

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We could not agree more.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Minnetonka MN USA
5

Excellent!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at the Mana Kai several times previosly. Wonderful location. This condo was updated nicely. Very comfortable and the location at the ocean end of the building is great. The whole process with VRBO and the owners was very easy and handled well. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
16 Miles
Kahului
Nearest Barpub
Downstairs Sushi on this property ground level
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Wailea 3 courses
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Piilani Highway
Nearest Restaurant
Award winning 5 Palms, on property ground level
Car: recommended

Our beach in South Kihei faces West offering magnificent sunsets YEAR AROUND! From our apartment and lanai on the 5th floor, there is an outstanding view of Keawakapu beach with the islands of Kahoolawe, Molokini and Lanai. The Studio bedroom has unobstructed views of the Ocean, North Kehei, Lanai, Molokini and the West Maui Mountains.

You will enjoy spectacular sunrises over Haleakala with brilliant colors extending over the ocean and in the evening, brilliant sunsets over the ocean. During the winter months, Dec through March, whale watching is very popular and green sea turtles are abundant year around.

Mana Kai Resort has an ocean activity center and equipment rental on the ground level. We are located on a reef where coral and sea life abound. Snorkeling is best in the morning hours.

Our lawn and pool areas offer lounge chairs in the sun or under the palms for your pleasure.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kihei Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
2 Bdrm 2016 Low Season
Apr 16 2016 - Dec 14 2016
5 night minimum stay
$345
$2,415
$10,350
 
 
2017 2bd High Season
Dec 15 2016 - Apr 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$465
$3,255
$13,950
 
 
2017 2bd Low Season
Apr 16 2017 - Dec 14 2017
5 night minimum stay
$375
$2,625
$11,250
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$345
$2,415
$10,350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Checkout clean $180
Tax Rate 13.42%

A one time check out cleaning fee will be added to all reservations.
We require a 25% non refundable deposit to confirm and full payment is due 30 days before check-in.
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Mid-stay clean is offered complementary after 7th night.
Please email Liz to confirm availability and receive quote for total charges.
This unit is also available as a 1 bedroom rental. Please contact us for the 1 bedroom rate.


(Hawaii Tax ID W40832032-01

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 5
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 814 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Etched glass shower of turtles swimming to tile waterfall
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , newly renovated: Etched glass shower door-bird of paradise
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - A unit - 1 king , Soji doors slide to separate the master bedroom and LR areas
    Bedroom 2 - B unit - 1 king , 2nd bedroom is the studio B unit with ocean and island view.
    Portable bed for one - 1 twin/ single , This comfortable inflatable bed is available for a 5th guest
  • Our condo may be rented as a one bedroom A unit. B unit is a private studio bedroom with bath and comfortable seating.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 40 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The Mana Kai Resort has an on-site Activity Center and equipment rentals where you may plan and book your favorite activities and also find answers to any questions you may have about things to do and see on Maui, or on visits to other Hawaiian islands. If eating out isn't always what you want to do, the downstairs deli has delicious home made dishes, salads, delicacies, deserts and snacks available. The Deli also offers a fully stocked liquor area and variety of wines from which to choose.

Partner Offers