Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Great space for less, 1/4 mile to the 'downtown' area of silver lake.

Bedrooms 2
Space 501 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property



This cottage can sleep up to 6, { SEE OWNER} lakefront is only a few steps, as shown in the photos. Jump off the dock and you are in 2'-3' of sandy bottom water, and it stays shallow for a long way out. { be careful of course, no life guard} Smooth Sailing is only a minute or two from the downtown area with three go cart tracks, video arcade, bumber boat, and mini golf mountain. also shops and restaurants.

Cottage comes with a propane grill and picnic table, there is a swing st on the lakefront. Free Wi Fi and cable TV.

Bring your own linens, please.

More Details

Property Manager
Robert O
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2018


Mears Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 501 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Not suitable for children ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • please register all cars, trucks and trailers as we want to be sure we have the roo. Pets must be approved or there is a $500 fee. no Cats.
  • We do not allow for unregistered visitors, if you want friends over please let us know FIRST.
  • quiet time is 10pm you can stay up all night if you like..that many of our guests have children and infants loud party, you will be asked to leave
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , DOUBLE TWIN BUNK
  • we alow p to 6 if you want to sleep on the couch there are beds for 4 people.
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


3.3/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

33% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
Great space for less, 1/4 mile to the 'downtown' area of silver lake.
average rating of 3.3333333 based on 3 reviews
Kendallville, IN

Love Silver Lake!

  • 4 of 5

Fantastic location! Spacious, clean cottage.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very good experience

  • 5 of 5

The property owner Robert was very nice to deal with , he made sure we were taken care of in every way and made sure we had a good fun relaxing weekend. Also he told us other things to do in town where to shop and eat.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We loved having you!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Not good at all

  • 1 of 5

It was dirty and smelled like mold. My daughter and husband were having a problem with breathing due to that. When we turned on lights in the kitchen, bugs flocked to it. No curtains or blinds on the windows, so anyone could look in. There was also no beach nearby that you could use. Very disappointed!

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Interesting, dang....I call/txt and leave messages several times during the week, with all my guest asking if all is ok , if there are any issues...not a peep from you and i know my lead maid checked on you. Perhaps you opted to not complain while here, because I did say ok to setting up a tent {even tho it kills our grass} and ok to allow 6 people in the cottage for the price of 4, or just $15 a night per head. where can you stay for that? Yes! with the door and windows open and going in and out all day..bugs get in the house, just like at your house, the bedroom windows are at shoulder level, but curtains in all windows.. The lake is right out front..not sure what you wanted to do on the frontage or why you couldn't use it. its super easy to simply say the cottage was dirty.but i inspect every unit prior to guest arrival..and go over a detail punch list.. we all pride our self in being dutch clean. the cottage was completely gutted and all redone inside..we take great pride in our properties. next time please simply pick up the phone while you're here, and we will see to it you it that all your needs are met and that you have great stay... I am sorry and I am sad to hear that you didn't enjoy enjoy your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Car: necessary

Sand dunes, take you're four wheeler into the dunes and al the way to lake Michigan. or rent a jeep a ATV, a sand rail. Rent a pontoon from us,.

Nice Golf courses..Pentwater a little harbor town..s only minutes away to the north.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

if left a mess $200 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties