Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Make it a stellar weekend! Stay In 5 star home for the August 21st Solar Eclipse

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom, Resort Home, Sleeps 10 adults and kids or 9 adults

Settle Down is a 4 bedroom 2 bath home is situated on a quiet cul-de-sac in Wyndham Ocean Ridge Resort. Just a short bike ride to the beach. The Plantation Golf Course winds through the neighborhood. You will be amazed at the wildlife you will see relaxing on the rockers across the front porch and 'settling down' on the back screened porch. Catch sun on one of 2 sun decks. Enjoy cooking with friends and family in the well stocked kitchen. Have a low country boil or grill on gas or charcoal under the house while you relax on inviting Adirondack chairs under the fans.

MORE INFORMATION ABOUT THINGS TO DO UNDER REVIEWS, RATES AND CALENDAR OWNER STORY HAS A LOT OF ISLAND INFORMATION.

More Details

Owner
Cynthia
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 24, 2017

About Cynthia

We love Edisto because it is such a lovely tranquil place. Where we have found the ability to unwind, unplug,(Don't worry, we have wifi and cable;)), and enjoy our family.

Cynthia purchased this house in 2012

Why Cynthia chose Charleston Area

We chose this home for it proximity to all things wonderful on the beach. It is close to the Atlantic and not far from the sound side of the island. The marsh and marina are just across the golf course. Being in the resort is the only way to have access to the amenities pass that offers tennis, mini golf, 2 outdoor pools, one indoor (heated), access to the beach cabana on the Atlantic side,and a fitness room. Amenities cards are available upon arrival at Edusto Realty. They have arranged for special pricing with oven Ridge Resort. See my Facebook page for flyer with pricing.

Edisto has public beach accesses at nearly every block. Our favorites are# 19-22 on the Atlantic, and #35 on the Sound side.

What makes this house unique

Plenty of fun beach resort options settled between Charleston and Savannah for lovely day trips. Fabulous History on the island.Even more in Charleston. Also, great local shops. Short drive to Charleston's upscale shops and Outlet Mall in North Charleston.

A few must visits on the island:

Just over the Causeway look for

King's Market(Grab a tomato pie, casserole, desserts or out of this world pimento Cheese!!! Best chocolate cake too.). The Sweet Grass Basket Stand for some local Gulla hand woven art. Finally, stop at Flowers Seafood for some fresh shrimp to take back to the house to boil, or let them fry/boil it for you!

The Serpentarium, Go Crabbing on the dock at Steamboat Landing, Botnay Bay, Pink Bus Tours.

Shop at Monkey Sea Gift shop, Edisto Surf Shop, Island Outfitters.,Edistonian Gift Shop & Gallery/Surf & Turf Beachwear,Sage Studio Gallery, and more.

Favorite places to eat are Sea Cow Eatery for big Breakfasts, great sandwiches.. ok dinner too.. Great Chicken Salad, PoBoy's,and Shrimp n Grits!Awesome pies. Great Seafood at the Water Front.. Owned by the Flowers Family mentioned above, Get a great burger at Mckonkeys' Jungle Shack, and enjoy the fun and funky atmosphere there. Have a guys' night out at Whaley's or the Thirsty Fish. Shoot pool and listen to music at the bar at the Pavillion. Enjoy a more upscale meal at Ella and Ollie's in Ocean Ridge, or the Old Post Office out on HWY 174. You can drive to Charleston, but there is really no need;)

Or dine at the finest table of all... The one under Settlle Down! No need to dress up.. you don't even have to wear shirt or shoes!

Visit and Like our page on Face book titled,'Settle Down' We post all kinds of links to things to see and do on Edisto.

Amenities

Edisto Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - outdoor shower , great for the sandy kids!!
  • TOWELS ARE NOT PROVIDED, bring form home or rent from edisto essentials .com
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • NO SHEETS OR TOWELS PROVIDED CAN BRING OWN, OR RENT FROM EDISTOESSENTIALS dot com Bedroom 3- bunk intended for children. Weight RESTRICTION:100 lbs top bunk. The house will fit 9 adults.. or total of 10 adult/ kid mix, due to no adult on top bunk
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
NO SMOKING NO PETS Must be at least 25 to rent. Copy of Driver's license on arrival. Violation of all the above will result in eviction with out refund, and may cause you to incur additional cleaning or damage charges. CANCELLATION POLICY; Apply to any cancellation, regardless of the reason for cancellation. Please contact Edisto Realty as quickly as possible if it becomes necessary to cancel a reservation. If the property re-rents for the same length of time, and for the same rental amount, a refund will be issued excluding the Reservation Fee and optional Travel Insurance if purchased. If payment is made with a check, a refund check will be issued for the refund. After original has cleared bank. If a credit card was used for payment the refund will be returned to the card. If the property does not re-rent all monies paid are forfeited and become income for the owner. Note: Bed, Kitchen, and bath LINENS ARE NOT PROVIDED. They can be rented from Edisto Essentials

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)

97% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Make it a stellar weekend! Stay In 5 star home for the August 21st Solar Eclipse
average rating of 4.977778 based on 45 reviews
Walterboro, SC
5

Fabulous Stay!

  • 5 of 5

The house is fantastic! Owners have thought of everything. Can't wait to stay again.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Terri, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to having you visit again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very clean, attention to detail, lovely decor

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful vacation at Settle Down. The house was perfect !

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful house and super fun week at the beach.

  • 5 of 5

I met up with family members from various parts of the country. We don't get a chance to be together often so this house and location made for a perfect relaxing week. The beach was nice, the pools in the resort were nice and plenty of good places to eat.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Pauline, We are please that you enjoyed the stay! Settle Down
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Classic beauty!

  • 5 of 5

My family had an absolutely wonderful time at Settle Down. The home is immaculate and the decor is BEAUTIFUL, inviting, comfortable and cozy! The well-appointed kitchen is ideal for preparing delightful home-cooked meals. The home owners were friendly, helpful, thoughtful, and responsive. Our stay at Settle Down was PERFECT.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Tamara. We are pleased that you enjoyed the house. We hope to have you as a guest again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Franklin Ohio
5

beautiful home

  • 5 of 5

This is the second time that my family has stayed in this beautiful home. We opted to stay again as it was such a good fit for our family. So many vacation rentals may have a good number of bedrooms- but the actual number that these bedrooms will sleep is far less This home has a bedroom with twin beds and another with twin beds in addition to the queen bed. We love this home for it's coziness and for the tasteful way that it is decorated. It is a home that has a luxurious feel but is down to earth and family friendly.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Suzanne, Thank you for your kind words. We love our repeat guests.! We are so pleased that our home had all you needed! Thanks for being our 40th 5 star!!! We hope you will return next summer Lara
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great weekend!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful trip. Our group usually takes a couples trip after tax season. The weather was perfect for golf for the guys and beach for the ladies. We enjoyed the home's layout and decor! Although there were eight of us there was plenty of room. The two porches, living area and space under home provided places for us all to find quiet. The Kitchen was well stocked, and the house was immaculate. We enjoyed a great time in this wonderful home!

The home owners were helpful and responsive. I will definitely consider "Settle Down"again!

  • Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was actually a review form a personal guest she emailed to me and I posted. Her name is not Lara:) System picked my name off email system Lara
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
55 Miles
Charleston, SC
Nearest Barpub
0.75 Miles
Whaley's,
Nearest Golf
0.3 Miles
The Plantation Course
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
J.peters
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Edisto Beach 5 min on bike.
Car: necessary

Lovely golf resort home just a short walk or bike ride to the beach. 45 minutes for Charleston's sights, shopping, and dining. No need to leave the island if you crave sun, surf, and shelling.

Our home is in Wyndham Ocean Ridge which has activity programs for adults and kids. All Wyndham amenities and activities are available with an activities card, purchased at activity center near main pool The weekly fee is $200 for the week per family. Call Activity Center for more info and per diem rates.

Play bingo at the Lyons Club on Tuesdays and Thursdays all summer long. Every Wednesday from 9 am to 4 pm vendors set up at the Bay Creek Open Air Market to sell handmade arts and crafts; including items indigenous to the Low country like sweet grass baskets and home made foods and snacks. You will find a bike path that covers most of the island, and plenty of Fresh seafood. See Botnay Bay Plantation Wildlife Preserve or take a tour of several local plantations on the pink tour bus.

Home rents SATURDAY to SATURDAY WEEKS only Memorial Day weekend through Labor Day Weekend. Shorter stays negotiable with a three night minimum September through May. Holidays may be at higher rates than their season. All rentals are subject to 12% tax, a $183.60 cleaning fee, damage waiver fee($70.20 and reservation fee $54

LINENS ARE NOT PROVIDED. Sheets, Towels, Kitchen towels, are available to rent from Edisto Essentials.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Edisto Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 9 2017 - Aug 10 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,795
 
 
Early Fall
Aug 11 2017 - Sep 4 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
$266
$1,595
 
 
Fall
Sep 5 2017 - Jan 10 2018
3 night minimum stay
$182
$1,095
$2,600
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$270
 

Additional information about rental rates

Reservation Fee $54
Damage waiver $70.2
Cleaning Fee $183.6 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Note that GET A QUOTE NOW BUTTON is not consistent with actual rates. ask owner for accurate quote. WE have our own Cancellation Policy. We Use a local agent to care for "Settle Down". They will send contract for you to review and return with your deposit.


NO PETS. NO SMOKING. You will be asked to leave with out refund if found with pet or smoking on property.Additional fees may be incurred if cleaning required.
Note Bed, Bath, Kitchen linen and each towels are NOT provided. They may be rented at edistoessentials.com Or provide your own. Long term rentals agree to biweekly cleaning at the owners expense. Price to be determined at contract time.

Month long rentals will require departure clean. Multiple months will require a monthly clean. Plus an additional utilities deposit will be collected. It will be refunded 30 days after departure if no excessive utility charges accrued.

50% rent due at booking balance of rent and all fees due 30 days prior to arrival. NO Checks. CREDIT CARD PAYMENT ONLY
With monthly rental, tenant will be responsible for 50% of utilities and cable /Wifi service.

HOLIDAY WEEKS WILL HAVE $100 added to rent.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties