Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Newly Renovated 4 Bedroom House in Town

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedroom, 4 Bathroom

Newly Renovated 1890 Historic 4 Bedroom House in Town-

**************

Newly Renovated 4 Bedroom House in Town, Nantucket, MA-

Address: 33 Pleasant St

This house is located on Pleasant Street, just moments from the center of downtown. The main portion of this large flag lot is located in the interior of the block and off the street. Walk through a trellised pathway surrounded by wisteria that opens to courtyards and gardens. Well developed foliage screens views of neighboring properties to provide a secluded and private setting in the heart of town. Stone patios and a gazebo set among the lush garden landscaping on several levels provide an almost magical setting.

The main house has four floors of living space. Four bedrooms each have their own bath and there is additional sleeping accommodations for at least four more. A 35’ long, fully air conditioned, greenhouse is part of main floor living space and contains dining room and family room spaces that open to the outside creating a true sense of indoor/outdoor living. The house can accommodate 12 people comfortably.

Best regards,

Peter,

Rental Manager,

Rosenberg Kolb Architects

More Details

Owner
Owner/Property Manager
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 13, 2017

About Owner/Property Manager

We are architects and love beautifully styled homes. We have conducted business, vacationed and owned homes in Nantucket for years.

Owner/Property Manager purchased this house in 2012

Why Owner/Property Manager chose Nantucket Town

Nantucket Island, with miles of empty beaches, 80% of all land held in conservancy, and an architecturally preserved building stock and townscape, is one of the most naturally beautiful, historical, and sought after resort destinations in America.

Amenities

Nantucket Town House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master - 1 king
    2nd Fl Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    2nd Fl Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Ground Floor - 1 queen , Day bed with private entrance
    Sleeping Loft - 3 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surfing

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

42% Complete
28% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
14% Complete
Newly Renovated 4 Bedroom House in Town
average rating of 3.7142856 based on 7 reviews
5

Absolutely beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

Everything was wonderful! The home is Spacious, well-appointed and Convenient to downtown. The sunroom and gardens are beautiful, beds comfortable and there is plenty of seating for a crowd. We had a fabulous time! We tossed our two pennies overboard and hope to return to the island and this treasure on Pleasant Street!

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kyle, we loved hosting you guys, glad to hear you had a great time. Now you're having me singing "three coins in a fountain"! All the very best, cheers!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Stay Away from this house unless you have no other choice!

  • 1 of 5

We rented this house at the last minute to be near a house our daughter who was renting the same week. We paid an exorbitant amount of money for 6 nights but we were able to get our entire family together for the week. The house itself is a disgrace! Dirty and stained furniture with ripped upholstery, broken screen doors, door handles falling off. Our master bathroom was the only bathroom I have experienced since being in Saudi Arabia in the 1970's with no window and no exhaust fan. Master bedroom also had no window. Outdoor furniture was filthy and as a result we never used. The house is advertised as newly renovated and it probably was, with the poorest workmanship and the cheapest materials throughout. Our daughter's rental a 5 minute walk away was such a stark contrast. Beautifully maintained. Perfect condition, clean and lovingly cared for. There are plenty of wonderful homes to rent on Nantucket!

The final straw was after paying in full for 6 nights, the owners withheld a portion of our deposit!

When contacted they said that there was a broken faucet that we had not reported and that it took them longer than usual to clean the house! When I protested that we had broken nothing and asked them for details they sent a picture of the kitchen faucet broken off at the stem. I told them that this had not happened during our stay! If it had there would have been water all over the house. He said he would check further and after several days he got back to us and said after checking it "was not as clear as he thought" and he would be returning the balance of our deposit.

A terribly maintained house and unethical owners. Not a combination you want any part of!

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We wish to strongly counter this review. We have had many guests happily stay at the property both through VRBO and otherwise and have received many compliments and repeat guests over the years and so maybe it is not us. We received no complaints at all during this guests stay and our caretaker was very attentive, coming immediately at 10pm one Saturday evening to fix the stuck door and handles. To say the ground floor master bedroom, which usually appeals to people of advanced years, has no window is also erroneous since there is a window and a skylight. We have never had to do so much post-stay de-odorizing and stain removal from the smell of urine outside of the bathroom areas. At first we thought the guests had brought pets to the house without prior permission but this seems not be the case. This required many extra hours of cleaning which we held from the security deposit refund. The cleaners were also adamant that they were not the cause of the broken faucet for which we brought in an emergency plumber. We held a few hundred dollars for all these expenses and for the broken faucet repair. In the end we decided to cover it ourselves to keep things amicable rather than insist on the guest paying for the damage they caused. So to be accused of being unethical when we try to treat everyone fairly, hospitably and with dignity, regardless of their manner, particularly stings. We strive to correct genuine complaints but there is so much hooey here we wouldn’t know where to begin. We are mostly just rightly upset by such unfounded nastiness exhibited by someone we had gladly welcomed into one of our properties. It seems you really can't please all of the people although we do really try and most seem to appreciate it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Convenient location

  • 4 of 5

Convenient location. Easy walk to downtown. Good for large groups. House was overall clean and tidy. Exterior/patio could use a little more upkeep. The owner was responsive and friendly.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We loved hosting this party. Lovely people, great communication, would have back to any of our properties anytime. We will follow up on their suggestion on sprucing up the patio and exterior. All the best!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Great location but many maintenance problems

  • 2 of 5

We have very mixed feelings about this stay. On the plus side, the house is in a great location...quite close to town, and also off the main street (hard to find), but the interior location was quite cozy and provided some shelter from high winds and street noise. We had a large group of friends joining us, and the house had ample space and options, with 4 bathrooms and a large kitchen. There is a nice glass covered sitting area and dining area. Great two-tiered patio. It also is pretty well equipped. We wanted to love it. BUT...we had all kinds of minor maintenance issues, and spent time daily either contacting the manager or groundskeeper or waiting for someone to show up to look at the problems. In their defense, the groundskeeper did come to look at a broken toilet and it worked fine while he was there, but then didn't work thereafter and I got no response the rest of the weekend. It is just very disappointing that your guests have to dump water from a lobster pot into their toilet for four days to get it to flush. And there were many other similar problems, including discovering other people's overflowing trash that was probably six months old. Fortunately, that was resolved quickly. But I was very disappointed in the lack of preparation. I made my reservation in the middle of winter, and expected the house to be ready. There was no TV/wifi for several days. We had to do some cleaning (outdoor cushions and door jambs) as it appeared that no one had been there since the previous year. The interior cleaning was disappointing also. At least the major things (kitchen, bathroom, linens) were thoroughly clean but the carpeting going to the attic room was filthy and the furniture was quite stained. It was probably once a gorgeous house, but now that it is on the market, no one is maintaining it properly. So in the end, we loved the location and layout, but were bothered by the lack of preparation. Considering the cost of the rental and how the problems affected our stay for the whole week, it left us feeling quite neglected and disappointed. It is a shame it didn't work out better since we visit Nantucket often. We will look elsewhere next time.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to hear that the minor maintenance problems you encountered ended up so affecting your overall experience. This was our first booking of this property for the year and we thoroughly prepared the house for guests. We had notified the cable company that the TV and internet service was to be returned to full service at the beginning of the month. They had failed to do this and so we had it reinstated and also to the higher level bundle immediately once alerted. Also once alerted we had the garbage removal service come right away to collect the leftover trash from the recent spring cleanings and repair work. We immediately addressed your complaints that one of the showers was not giving out hot water. Everyone was extremely busy with the opening of the new season and we spent many, many hours and calls that day trying to find an available emergency plumber to come address this problem. Luckily we didn’t find one who could come out that day, either from Nantucket itself or from the mainland or even out of state, as you suggested, since, as the groundskeeper found the faucets were simply being turned incorrectly and the problem was fixed once he showed you. The next day there was problem with one of the four toilets, which our caretaker fixed for a while but has since then required the plumber and a whole new specifically ordered valve to be installed. We hope this experience hasn't turned you off from self-catered stays in future and VRBO in general since we believe though we offer you a less catered and concierged trip it is a more truly locally immersive and more of a real home away from home experience than some of the island's biggest hotels and resorts where you have stayed previously provide.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family trip to Nantucket

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 week stay at this great home in Nantucket. The house was lovely, clean, spacious and nicely decorated. The care-taker Anthony was so great with helping us with anything we needed during our stay at the house. The location was great and we could easily walk to town.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pennsylvania
4

Nice Location

  • 4 of 5

Had a great stay at this home which is in a good location within walking distance to town. Property has numerous seating areas inside with attractive gardens and patio. While there were plenty of dishes in the kitchen, some other minor items (like cutting board, etc.) were not available. Window or mini-split A/C units did good job of keeping house cool. Owner/Property manager were very responsive.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wonderful guests! Responsive and easy to get in touch with! We would welcome them back any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Ferry
0.5 Miles
33 Straight Wharf (Ferry Drop-off)
Car: not necessary

This house is located downtown.

The Neighborhood

Windswept beaches, sand dunes, blinking lighthouses and a charming pace of life await on this 50-square mile island. The world's former top whaling port is now designated a National Historic District. Leave the car and take the shuttle or bike around. Seaside cottages, old whaling captains' mansions and historic harbors contain quaint inns, boutique stores, chowder shacks and upscale dining delights. Swim, surf or load up the tackle for Nantucket's excellent striper, bluefish and bonito fishing.

Getting around

Nantucket has car and moped rental services, bike rentals, taxis, and public transportation. Coming to the island without a car is much easier with all of these options. Downtown Nantucket is pedestrian friendly, and it can be faster to get around on foot due to the congestion in the summer. The island has an extensive network of bike paths which make traveling by bike quite efficient. Walking and biking are also a great way to experience the many historic sites and natural beauty on Nantucket.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000
cleaning/ turnover fee $300

Holiday and special weekly rates between September 2nd and June 30th priced separately.
For all inquiries, especially off-season and special holidays, please ask or phone (weekdays) for full rate quote for your stay. We would be happy to help.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties