Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Expansive Ocean Views in Secluded Neighborhood with Pool, Short Walk to Village

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Space 4,736 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

6 Bedrooms With 2 Master Suites With Ocean Views; 4700 Sq. Ft.

Welcome to St. Simons Island and its iconic Round House at 91 Gould Street! This true beachfront home features unobstructed 180 degree ocean views throughout, a beachfront pool and direct beach access at all tides (except for the occasional extreme full moon high tide). Tucked away at the end of a private cul-de-sac in the island's most beautiful neighborhood, this home offers serene

privacy in the ideal location - just steps from the ocean and less than a ten minute walk on the beach or down the quiet moss draped street to the historic Village. You will love the great restaurants, shops, pier, 1872 still functioning lighthouse and oceanfront Neptune Park with its spectacular swimming

pool, water park, play areas and miniature golf. Check out the video at: http://youtu.be/gKgDI0wjNk4

You may, however, have a difficult time bringing yourself to leave this breathtaking property, especially the large deck

which is the perfect outdoor spot for enjoying, day or night, the spectacular ocean views with Jekyll Island on the horizon. A new swimming pool has just been added this year to make your stay even more enjoyable.

Ideal for large family gatherings, the dual master suites, one with a fireplace, and over 4700 square feet of living space ensure ample room for spreading out in luxurious comfort. Exotic cypress hardwood floors, heart pine stairs, hand made wood coffered ceilings, custom tiling and windows, oversized plantation shutters, commercial steel elevator, large skylight over stairwell and gourmet kitchen with high end appliances including a Sub-zero refrigerator provide the refined interior to complement the endless ocean views through the wall of windows in every room. Newly redecorated, the home offers four additional bedrooms for a total of six, a large dining room, a large great room with TV right on the ocean, a large game room with fireplace, also with ocean views, and separate big screen TV room with HBO and Showtime, DVR and DVD allowing space for both group gatherings and private relaxation. Directly to the west of the property sits the exclusive Sea Island Club and Golf Course - perfect for picturesque walks along the beach or kayaking and paddleboard excursions in the ocean.

Managed by the owners personally, we'll do everything to ensure your stay in our home is unforgettable. This will be the vacation your family will talk about for years!

Although our home is ideal for entertaining, groups larger than 16 are not allowed. No weddings, parties or student groups. Minimum age of 25 except children accompanied by their parents. Smoking is not allowed in the house or on the deck.

More Details

Owner
David Blum
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2017

About David Blum

A father and son who enjoy spending time together playing golf and hanging out on the deck and by the pool taking in the beautiful ocean views.

David Blum purchased this house in 2012

Why David Blum chose St. Simons Island

Of all of the beach communities we know of in the southeast, St. Simons Island is by far the most charming and beautiful. The secluded location of this home provides the privacy for the entire family to enjoy this lovely oceanfront setting yet it is a short walk to so much to do in the Village.

What makes this house unique

We were attracted to this property by it's elegant interiors and spectacular ocean views from every room.

We love walking to the village to eat and just hang out at the pier and park.

Amenities

King City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4736 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Master Bedroom One - 1 king
    Master Bedroom Two - 1 king
    Bedroom Three - 1 queen
    Bedroom Four - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom Five - 4 bunk bed
    Bedroom Six - 2 bunk bed
  • Two master bedrooms and four additional bedrooms. Queen sleeper sofa in rec room.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(49 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Expansive Ocean Views in Secluded Neighborhood with Pool, Short Walk to Village
average rating of 4.9183674 based on 49 reviews
5

family stay

  • 5 of 5

fantastic stay on the beach and within walking distance of the pier and village. The home and location is the best and has all of the amenities one could want for comfort, relaxation and fantastic views of the ocean (low and high tides) and the big ships making their way through the harbor. Great place for our families to get together. The owners are extremely pleasant and committed to making your stay "a home away from home" for a memorable vacation. This is a very unique property, and loved our stay here.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nellysford, Virginia
5

Wonderful Home

  • 5 of 5

Eight of us, grandparents, parents, and four children, 10 to 16, had a wonderful "Beach Week" at this lovely home. First of all, the views from every room are stunning---the pictures can't do them justice. Second, the location is great, being right on the ocean and within a short walk down a lovely street to the village. There are three separate living areas in the home, allowing plenty of space for individual activities. The home is beautifully furnished with comfortable contemporary furniture. My wife loved the artwork throughout and the many delightful reading spots. The grownups thoroughly enjoyed gathering on the deck for morning coffee and evening cocktails. We can't wait to come back.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful house and great location

  • 4 of 5

We had our annual family vacation at this lovely house on St. Simons Island and it was wonderful for our family of 13. The ocean views and the easy walk into the lovely town of St. Simon made it a perfect location. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars is because there are a few items that need to be upgraded to make it a 5 star experience. The grill on the deck is old, dirty and small and should be replaced as should the dishwasher or at least the bottom rack since it is very difficult to move in and out. The pool area and the pool toys need some attention and there should be more beach towels for the number of bedrooms. These did not detract from our enjoyment of the house and having fun because it really is lovely and we had a great week.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the positive review. So glad you liked the house and enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you calling these issues to our attention. We have contacted our management company and instructed them to replace the grill with a new one. The dishwasher rack is on order. I have instructed them to always make sure the pool area is clean. We initially stocked 24 beach towels and have replaced the ones that have disappeared.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Spacious and beautiful

  • 4 of 5

This was a beautiful place for our family of 12. The swimming pool was a huge hit during high tide. We were really disappointed with the beach access, as at the bottom of the steps we had to climb down very large unsteady rocks. For the amount of money we spent on this rental we assumed the bottom of the steps would reach the beach. Also, the elevator and the master bath toilet were not in working order. And we were surprised by a very large cockroach and spider! All in all we loved it and dealt with the inconveniences.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you loved, as you described it, our beautiful place. The steps to the ocean occasionally get swept away by the high tides. We have no way of knowing when this happens until someone staying there tells us. Had you done so, we would have sent our maintenance man to immediate repair them as we did when we were told about them by our next guests. As to the elevator and toilet, we had both promptly repaired when you reported them. We have the house exterminated every month but it is the beach and sometimes a bug will still get in. If you thought this was a problem and had told us, we would have had him make an interim visit. The point is, let us know about any problems and we always take care of them promptly. Glad you enjoyed your stay but sorry the steps to the beach were an inconvenience and you did not let us know.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great large family home!

  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay for a large family- kids area in the bsmt for teens was perfect. Great fishing area off the shore and pool is perfect with the stairs for toddlers. Needs a little M/R on a few things but considerng it's a vacation home very nice - We will be back😎?

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cochran, GA
5

Wonderful house and views.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay but had a few issues. When we arrived, found a leak from ceiling on lower floor. It was immediately addressed, but rug was soaked. I asked that another rug be provided but it never was. Several lights did not work and I assume it was lightbulbs needing replacement. The doors to master bath were inadvertently locked and there was no master key available to unlock them. Finally, my son-in-law managed to unlock them, with some sort of tool he had. Even so, we loved staying there.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Oceanfront in the island's best neighborhood. Short walk to the Village.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $250
Damage Deposit $500

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties