check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Linda Carmon

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

Less than 200 Steps to the Gulf...Private Heated Pool

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Ilexhurst House Rental Photos and Description

One-level 3 bedroom home with PRIVATE, heated pool, just steps to the beach

STYLE, EASE, and COMFORT -- This one-level (NO STAIRS) duplex home, was completely redone in 2011, and just "refreshed" in 2016. You'll enjoy the “beachy” theme, an updated, well-equipped kitchen (dishwasher, stainless steel appliances and granite counters), and a washer/dryer so you can pack light. The King Master Bedroom (with en suite bathroom), Queen Guest Room, and Twin Bedroom provide comfortable sleeping for 6 guests.

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION -- With less than a 2 minute walk to the white sand beaches of the Gulf and just a short walk to Publix, drugstores, restaurants, and the Free Trolley stops, you will find everything you might need without ever having to get in a car (which would be parked in one of 3 off-street parking places).

NEED A BEACH BREAK? -- Relax in the fenced-in, private backyard with your own (not shared) heated pool. The waterfall, swim-up seating area, and sun-shelf wading area add to the ambiance of the lushly landscaped backyard, with gas grill and outdoor patio seating.

FOR YOUR ENTERTAINMENT -- You’ll be entertained and connected with flat-screen TVs in the living area and all 3 bedrooms, DVD player, and Wi-Fi. The private garage stores your beach cart, beach umbrella and sand toys, as well as 2 bicycles for your island adventures.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Linda Carmon (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

About Linda Carmon

We’re just two lifelong New Englanders who, after 45 years of owning a family business and raising 4 children, are looking forward to a time when we can fully enjoy the blessings of family, health, and resources that God has given us, and do that in a little piece of His paradise. We love every season on AMI, so we come down as often as possible, but hope to become true “snowbirds” in a few years.

Linda Carmon purchased this house in 2012

Why Linda Carmon chose Holmes Beach

Parents of 4 sons, and grandparents of six beautiful granddaughters, we wanted a place to lure everyone away for lasting family memories. Like most people, we fell in love with Anna Maria Island on our first visit, and by the second, we were looking for our own home. We actually have two homes so we can spread out when we’re all together, and Palms Beach House West is perfect for one of our son's family of five. The total family gatherings are rare, so in the meantime, we enjoy sharing this great vacation retreat with other families and couples visiting AMI.

What makes this house unique

Location, location, location – literally steps (200) from the beautiful Gulf beach and easy walking distance to Publix, drugstores, and restaurants. From the nearby Free Trolley stop, you can cover the entire island, from Bean Point in Anna Maria to Coquina Beach, enjoying the unique character of each section of the island.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)
Less than 200 Steps to the Gulf...Private Heated Pool
average rating of 4.970588 based on 34 reviews
5

Awesome!!

  • 5 of 5

The property is great!! Short walk to the beach. The pool is great and the house is wonderful! Everything you need is in the house!! With an 8 year old and 4year old it was wonderful! Can't wait to stay at this property again!!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Enjoyed our Stay

  • 5 of 5

Very nice 3 bedroom home.

Very close walking distance to the beach.

Clean, with all the things you need for a great vacation.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Another Great Time!!

  • 5 of 5

This was our 2nd year at Holmes Beach! Last year was such a hit that my husband and I had to come back. Linda's vacation rental cannot be beat for the location, such a short distance to the beach, plus the convenience of a backyard pool! Everything to prepare your own meals is in the kitchen (the Publix is just thru a walkway), TVs, comfortable furnishings (loved the updated décor that Linda changed)...I could go on and on about this rental. Love it!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Altamonte Springs, FL
5

Another Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5

This is the fourth time my wife and I have stayed at the property. It has always been clean and comfortable. It is has just been recently redecorated and new living room furniture added. The owner, Linda, is always gracious and easy to work with. We will continue to rent this property in the future without any doubts about the quality of what our experience will be.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome hosts

  • 5 of 5

Linda was an excellent hostess! She was active and interested in our stay. Staying with Linda was such an excellent experience, I may never stay with a business again. Renting from the owner made all the difference! We had a small issue and called Linda, and it was resolved quickly. Working with Linda was a dream.

The house was everything it was advertised to be. It met our needs perfectly. Honestly, except for sleeping we rarely spent time indoors, we even ate outdoors. The kids played in the pool for most of the day every day. The pool was the highlight of their trip. There were mats for floating, a life jackets, beach chairs, umbrellas - basically anything you can think of for the beach or pool. The landscaping was beautiful and we loved the rock waterfall feature.

We spent at least a part of every day on the beach, which was clean and not over-crowded. We didn't see any "dangerous Marine life" (something a mother a young children from far North worries about). The beach was close enough that one of us could run to the beach to watch the sunset and be back in time to help put the kids down.

The island life was slow-paced which was just what we were looking for coming from Orlando. Publix was so close that we walked instead of drove.

I have nothing but positive things to say about this home and this location. (That is a big deal coming from a picky mom)

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Pleasant

  • 4 of 5

We loved the location and comfort of the home. There was one problem we were disappointed with and that was the so called heated pool. I asked the pool man the second week why the water was so cold and he said the heater wasn't turned on. Well, why was that. Perhaps he still did not turn it on because it never was warm enough to use. That was a feature I was attracted to and it looked so inviting. The gulf temperature was 61 and my daughters and granddaughter went into the gulf but never used the pool. After we left Florida to drive home, we stopped at Jekyll Island where we spent a day on the beach at a motel. They had an outdoor pool, heated, and it was 84 and people were enjoying it even tho the air was very chilly. I just am curious if this is the normal for Holmes Beach pools to consider a "colder than the air" temperature a heated pool. We know the timer was wrong because the waterfalls ran at night but not during the day.

Other than that, our stay was enjoyable and no complaints about the house or location.

Would recommend the clean, nice layout of the houuse to anyone. Just the pool was misleading to say "heated".

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sorry for your experience with the pool. When you called about the waterfall running at night, the timer, and speaking to the pool man, I don't believe you mentioned the pool not being heated. The heated pool is, indeed, one of the main features of my home, especially for February and March stays, and the water is supposedly set to be at least 82 degrees. My pool man should have noted any heating problem himself, but if I had known, I would have had him come out immediately to fix it. Again, I am sorry for the pool problem, but happy that you found some positive aspects to my home and your visit to Anna Maria.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Sandbar Restaurant
"A must, if not for dinner, at least for drinks at sunset. On beach, good food, good for fami..."
Publix Super Market - Holmes Beach
"Great food store, on-island next to CVS. Good selection of everything you might need or want..."
Robinson Preserve
"Great for kayaking and hiking"
Beach House Restaurant
"Sister restaurant to Sandbar Restaurant (and Mar-Vista). Also great for sunsets - I actually..."
Rod & Reel Pier
"Famous for breakfasts and seafood. Fishing from pier."
Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub
"Sister restaurant to Sandbar and BeachHouse. A great stop if you're out on a boat, but if yo..."
Skinny's Place Incorporated
"Famous for hamburgs -- just down the street from 3705 Gulf. "Cash only""
Eat Here
"Small venue -- interesting food offerings. Love it!"
Ginny's and Jane E's Cafe and Coastal Store
"Another must see -- enjoy your food among an eclectic mix of antique and handmade items for..."
Two Scoops
"Best ice cream place on island -- just expect lines (friendly service, though, even when its..."
Mr. Bones
"My son's and nephew's favorite place for ribs. Great for take-out too."
City Pier Restaurant
"My grandchildren like walking all the way out on the pier. Decent food and prices."
Blue Marlin Grill
"Small, but great food choices. Best scallops ever!"
Peach's Restaurant
"Best restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Great choices, great service. Make sure you put you..."
Sand Dollar Gift Shop
"A lot of hard to resist items - decor and clothing. My daughter-in-laws never miss it."
Tortilla Bay Southwest Grille
"Go-to place when you can't get in anywhere else, but not because its not good. I think it ju..."
Red Barn Flea Market & Plaza
"HUGE Flea Market"
Bridge St
"Great shopping and restaurants. Great place to visit by trolley."
The Donut Experiment
"Put your favorite frosting and toppings on freshly made cake donuts. Kids love it!"
Island Creperie
"Breakfast/lunch - mostly crepes (wonderful) but other offerings. Wonderful croissants...orde..."
Minnie's Beach Cafe
"Another great place for breakfast/lunch, but on small side and cash only. Super friendly ser..."
Seafood Shack
"Recently reopened by new owners after major renovations and improvements. Great decor and fo..."
Anna Maria Island Free Trolly
"Free travel from one end of island to the other. Kids love it. "
Holy Cow Ice Cream & Other Cool Stuff
"A must see if you have children. Hot dogs are great. Ice cream is delicious. Owners are supe..."
Nearest Airport
65 Miles
Tampa
Nearest Restaurant
Many restaurants on AMI; Beach Bistro=*****Zagat
Nearest Beach
Gulf of Mexico -- Manatee Beach, Coquina Beach
Car: recommended

Holmes Beach, Florida, a laid-back piece of 'Old Flolrida', steps from the lovely Gulf Beaches. Enjoy the heated private pool, beachcombing on the soft white sand, fascinating wildlife (the entire island is a bird sanctuary, sea turtles nest on the beach, and dolphins play in the bay and gulf), unique restaurants (no fast food on-island), bicycling, fishing, fun shopping, island theater, music, and proximity to larger venues in Tampa, Sarasota, and Orlando Theme Parks.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ilexhurst House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Summer
Jul 9 2016 - Sep 2 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,600
 
 
Labor Day Week
Sep 3 2016 - Sep 9 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,700
 
 
Fall
Sep 10 2016 - Nov 18 2016
5 night minimum stay
$1,500
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 25 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,900
 
 
End of Year
Nov 26 2016 - Dec 23 2016
5 night minimum stay
$1,450
 
 
Christmas
Dec 24 2016 - Jan 6 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,100
 
 
January
Jan 7 2017 - Jan 27 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,650
 
 
High Season
Jan 28 2017 - Mar 3 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,200
 
 
Early Spring
Mar 4 2017 - Apr 14 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,275
 
 
Easter Week
Apr 15 2017 - Apr 21 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,400
 
 
Late Spring
Apr 22 2017 - May 26 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,750
 
 
Memorial Day
May 27 2017 - Jun 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,900
 
 
Early Summer
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,820
 
 
4th of July Week
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,100
 
 
Late Summer
Jul 8 2017 - Sep 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,680
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 2 2017 - Sep 8 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,750
 
 
Fall
Sep 9 2017 - Nov 17 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,505
 
 
Thanksgiving Week
Nov 18 2017 - Nov 24 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,000
 
 
Late Fall
Nov 25 2017 - Dec 22 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,435
 
 
Christmas/New Years
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 5 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Housecleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.5%

Number of guests limited to 6
Base rate Between $1435 - $2100 per week depending on season
Holiday weeks extra
Long term stay discounts considered
$150 cleaning fee ($250 for stays over 20 days to cover second cleaning)
11.5% taxes NOT included in weekly rate
Payment by e-check or check.
25% deposit required to book your stay
Remaining balance due 45 days prior to arrival.
$500 fully refundable damage deposit due 2 weeks prior

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ilexhurst House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1227 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Bedroom 1 has en suite bath
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
A little more than an hour to Busch Gardens and just 2 hours to Disney and Universal in Orlando

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties