Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Fall in love with 'The Barn' and everything Northern Arizona!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,080 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Contemporary Rustic With Mountain Views; You Won't Want To Leave The Property.

The Barn is a wonderfully contemporary rustic barn-style home. It is on a cul-de-sac, a very private 2.5 acres, and is a perfect place for golfers, balloonists, birders, bikers, hikers, tourists, and more.

Enjoy a combined rustic and urban experience in pristine air --town population 10,000. Swimming pool, garden area, firepit, circle driveway, convenience (maybe 5 minutes to local markets and shops).

Minutes from five different wineries as well as Sedona, Jerome, Dead Horse Park, Tuzigoot Ruins, Sycamore Canyon, Oak Creek, Verde River, Montezuma’s Castle, Camp Verde, The Clarkdale-Perkinsville train run, and the Cliff Castle Casino. Three hours from the Grand Canyon as well as Sky Harbor Airport.

The Barn is one mile from the charming Old Town district, but you won't have to leave the property in order to relax and watch the wildlife such as javelina, quail, coyote, roadrunners, and hear and see horses and peacocks. Swim in the pool in the warmer seasons. Sit by the firepit outside (gas grill on front patio) with veranda dining or sit by the cozy wood stove inside. All modern amenities with stainless steel appliances and butcher block counter tops.

See fantastic views of Mingus Mountain, the distant Mogollon, (and on a crystal clear day, majestic buttes and mesas are visible for miles.) Inside the double storied Barn, you’ll find a Hi Def TV hooked up to cable, free WiFi, a full kitchen and laundry, air and heat, and a wood burning stove, games, maps, brochures--everything but food!

The two bedrooms plus a loft sleeps seven comfortably-eight possible, and a blow up mattress is available for more. The master bedroom can double as family room with portable screen dividers for privacy. The bedrooms have closets and drawer space, and the loft has king bed with storage and wardrobe clothing valet.

On 2.5 view acres. Gigantic private patios both front and back. Back yard is shady and securely fenced, (so is the pool) so that kids and dogs and in-laws are safe and contained.

More Details

Owner
Mary Crawford
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 21, 2017

About Mary Crawford

Local school administrator for 40 years. Have made The Barn a home away from home and love it as a member of our family. You will, too. So much to do and see! See

Full Legally Binding cancellation policy here:

RENTAL AGREEMENT

Please note that the cancellation policy in the renter’s agreement and house rules supersedes VRBO’s forced-choice policy or any policies of HomeAway or its affiliates as they might appear on VRBO's automated notices. CANCELLATIONS - There is no refund for cancellations of shorter-than-a-week bookings after 30 days prior to arrival date. Cancellations before 30 days prior to arrival for shorter-than-a-week bookings are charged a $200 cancellation fee.

WEEKLY RESERVATION CANCELLATIONS must cancel 60 days prior to arrival or forfeit first payment. Weekly renters who make a change that results in a shortened stay must notify owner at least sixty (60) days prior to check-in or forfeit first payment. Cancellations before 60 days prior to arrival date are charged a $200 cancellation fee.

MONTHLY RESERVATION CANCELLATIONS – Monthly renters must cancel one hundred twenty (120) days prior to check-in or forfeit first payment. Monthly renters who make a change that results in a shortened stay must notify owner at least ninety (120) days prior to check-in or forfeit first payment. Cancellations before 120 days prior to arrival date are charged a $200 cancellation fee. Winter monthly guests (November, December January, February, March, April) will pay any utilities in excess of $100 but not to exceed the damage deposit fee that has been submitted. That amount will be deducted from their refund and will be corroborated with a copy of the utility (APS) statement.

A worst case scenario for us is a neighbor's complaint--noise, cars, parking, poorly controlled fire in fire pit, anything that would lodge a complaint is not our way of business. We are very respectful of our neighbors and

Mary Crawford purchased this house in 1990

Why Mary Crawford chose Arizona

Close to everything you want to do in Arizona with a 'come home' feeling when your day is done. Great for entertaining with awesome family room and gorgeous views. Warm and comfortable bedrooms. Porch sitting and bird-watching a must. Out door fire pit great for parties.

What makes this house unique

Quiet , calm, rustic, natural . . . perfect location for Verde Valley events and attractions.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you Mary! :) You have an awesome house!!
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Cottonwood House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2080 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • See rental agreement. It is important to print and take the rental agreement with you to the barn.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , New remodel w/creatively designed fixtures. Heat lamps.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Gorgeous remodel downstairs. Subway tile shower.
  • Two new remodels with exquisitely designed fixtures.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Wonderful four poster and sweet privacy.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Smallest bedroom, but still plenty of space.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 double , The loft bedroom is the largest space and a delightful sleep
  • All bedrooms are upstairs. The loft bedroom is the largest space and a delightful sleep. Wake up to panoramic views or close wall to wall draperies. Other bedrooms are also spacious with large closets and shelf/drawer storage. A queen automatic inflatable air mattress is available for additional guests. A reasonable additional charge is added for number of guests over 7 due to comfortable bed space, additional cleaning crew needed by housekeeping for larger groups and potential impact on our neighbors.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
A private chef is available. If you would like him to prepare an evening meal for your group, let him know the date, the number of people, and dietary restrictions for any of the diners. Tell him also what kind of food you’d like to eat. Meals will be prepared on the premises and served buffet-style. Each meal will include an appetizer, entree, two sides and dessert. The chef will depart once the food is served. Diners are responsible for clean-up of the dinner dishes; the chef will take responsibility for clean-up of any dishes, pans, etc. that he brings with him. The chef will do all the shopping and arrive at The Barn with everything needed to prepare the meal. Cost is $350 for a 2-person meal, plus $25 per additional person, plus the actual cost of the food. This includes shopping, meal planning, round-trip driving time ken_furtado@earthlink.net

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

Fall in love with 'The Barn' and everything Northern Arizona!
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 35 reviews
Federal Way, WA
5

Charming and unique living experience. Great ambiance.

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Barn. A unique living experience reminiscent of a mountain cabin retreat.

Our stay was long term so it became our home away from home.

Very quiet, close to town and all amenities with lots of elbow room ... inside and out!

The owner is superb and wonderful to work with. We cherish her acquaintance and look forward to working with her again.

We feel like The Barn is our home away from home when we are in Cottonwood.

Five Stars is not enough to describe this property!

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a delightful guest at The Barn. Immaculate care given. Welcome anytime, you two.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Amazing Time

  • 4 of 5

"The Barn" was a quaint quiet atmosphere. Location worked for us to see Canyon and Sedona. We loved it. On the downside carpets should be cleaned upstairs. More dinnerware would be nice 4 plates maybe 4more but we managed. Doing laundry when you have to leave by 7am was tricky and ment a very early morning. On a better note it's charming. We even had Javalinas greet us at the front door. Would definitely recommend this place. Mary everything from the start worked very smooth. Thank you for a great vacation. Loved Arizona.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for such a sweet review, the heads up , and the stars. Professional carpet cleaning was done. I counted 7 dinner plates in the cupboard--not quite sure why you said there were only four. Plenty of plates, saucers, cups, glassware, bowls, etc. It is indeed a lovely spot and great location as you said and Maria keeps it tip-top. Thanks again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The location is ideal and we found this barn home to be comfortable and adequate for our needs.

  • 4 of 5

Hi Mary, while waiting at Sky Harbor for my return flight back to California, I wrote a nice review of our stay and also sent you a separate email. I was wondering, however, what the status was regarding the refund of our security deposit?

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Guest's response: Yes I did receive the credit, thank you very much. I tried responding to your email right away but the website would not allow me to send my response for when I clicked "send" it just kept spinning and then I would get an error message. I'm in the process of getting refund checks out to my cousins. Thank you again for allowing us to use your home. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Owner response: Your refund has posted on VRBO and shows in my bank debits. Have you not seen it on your card yet? Let me know if you haven't and I will send you the screen shots of both. Let me know either way. I will need a text # or email to send screen shots.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, amazing, and relaxing.

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I had a lovely stay at "The Barn". The place was clean and wonderful with a full list of amenities on site. The host was very thorough about the home rentals rules and provided great recommendations for local foods and activities. The pool looked great, though we did not have the opportunity to enjoy it due to the cold weather during our stay. The home did allow us to enjoy each other's company and the fire pit out front. The home is much nicer than the pictures led on. The host was very accommodating on the additional cost of laundry services as we had to depart early from the home and catch a early flight in the morning. Overall, it was a great place to stay and we would be open to staying again in the future.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful house

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic stay at The Barn. The interior is beautiful and perfect for cooking and relaxing together; we enjoyed the pool and took a day trip towards Sedona. We had a great time!

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great spot, a hidden gem close enough to everything

  • 4 of 5

We loved staying at the barn and will absolutely return when we come back through the region. Nicer than the pictures really convey. Pool was perfect for the hot afternoons, and amenities are plenty right in Cottonwood, with Sedona a quick drive away.

Only real drawback was having to get up early on our last day to wash, dry, and fold our linens to avoid an additional cleaning fee, plan wisely.

Overall a terrific spot.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Sky Harbor PHX /(Cottonwood&Sedona airports)
Nearest Golf
2.6 Miles
Pine Shadows
Nearest Motorway
14 Miles
Highway 17
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Mai Thai on Main
Nearest Ski
45 Miles
Snow Bowl Flagstaff
Nearest Beach
300 Miles
San Diego, CA
Car: necessary

This owner welcomes phone calls about special options, this charming, beloved home and your opportunity to enjoy Northern Arizona.

Perfect for golfers, balloonists, birders, bikers, hikers, tourists, and more.

Enjoy a combined rustic and urban experience, town population 10,000. Swimming pool, garden area, firepit, circle driveway, convenience ( 5 minutes to local markets and shops).

Minutes from five different wineries as well as Sedona, Jerome, Dead Horse Park, Tuzigoot Ruins, Sycamore Canyon, Oak Creek, Verde River, Montezuma’s Castle, Camp Verde, The Clarkdale-Perkinsville train run, and the White Horse Casino. Three hours from the Grand Canyon and two hours from Sky Harbor Airport.

You won't have to leave the property in order to relax and watch the wildlife such as javelina,, quail, coyote, roadrunners, and hear and see horses and peacocks. Swim in the pool in the warmer seasons. Sit by the firepit outside (gas grill on front patio) with veranda dining or sit by the cozy wood stove inside. All modern amenities with stainless steel appliances and butcher block counter tops.

Fantastic views await.

The owner's cancellation policy as described in the rental agreement and house rules supersedes all other statements . It is NOT the forced-choice default VRBO cancellation policy that may appear on automatic payment request notices or other automated notices you may get from VRBO and/or HomeAway or its affiliates. See Rental Agreement for details.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cottonwood House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$165
$985
$2,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 7 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $160
management $30
Transaction $15
Refundable damage deposit $350
Pet Fee $50

Please note that the cancellation policy in the renter’s agreement and house rules supersedes VRBO’s forced-choice policy or any policies of HomeAway or its affiliates as they might appear on VRBO's automated notices. A guest contracts with the owner and not VRBO, so the rental agreement is the binding contractual agreement. The owner's cancellation policy as described in the rental agreement and house rules supersedes all other statements . It is NOT the forced-choice default VRBO cancellation policy that may appear on automatic payment request notices or other automated notices you may get from VRBO and/or HomeAway or its affiliates. Below is the binding property owner's policy:
LESS THAN SEVEN DAY RESERVATIONS There is no refund for cancellations of shorter-than-a-week bookings after 30 days prior to arrival date. Cancellations 30 or more days prior to arrival for shorter-than-a-week bookings are charged a $200 cancellation fee.
WEEKLY RESERVATION CANCELLATIONS must cancel 60 days prior to arrival or forfeit payment. Weekly renters who make a change that results in a shortened stay must notify owner at least sixty (60) days prior to check-in or forfeit payment.
MONTHLY RESERVATION CANCELLATIONS – Monthly renters must cancel one hundred twenty (120) days prior to check-in or forfeit payment. Monthly renters who make a change that results in a shortened stay must notify owner at least ninety (90) days prior to check-in or forfeit payment. MAXIMUM OCCUPANCY – The maximum number of guests is 7 persons. An additional charge or $50.00 per person per night for guests in addition to seven (7) will be assessed. The owner requires the $350 refundable deposit instead of the non-refundable "damage protection insurance." The deposit is returned after the departure inspection and any comminuques the guest provides about property status, damage, and/or repairs needed. Monthly winter renters will have deducted from their refund utility charges beyond $100/month up

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Ask a Question Ask a Question
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties