check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner/Property Manager

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

Views, Charm, and History - The Tolman House

11 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Berkeley Hills Apartment Rental Photos and Description

1Bedroom, 2 Bathroom -Sleeps 4

One bedroom apartment in a historic 1924 home situated in the beautiful Berkeley hills. This flat is newly renovated and includes a full kitchen, completely equipped with granite counter tops, microwave, stove, refrigerator and dishwasher. The bedroom has Bay views, with a double bed and built-in dresser and closet. The living room/dining room has stunning views of the bay, a large deck, television and gas fireplace. Includes washer/dryer. A sofa bed in the living room accommodates additional guests. It is also possible to open up an additional bedroom for occasional visitors. Cable, WiFi and all utilities included. One bathroom is adjacent to the kitchen and for the exclusive use of the guests. The second bathroom is easily accessed from the apartment and is occasionally used by the owners as it is adjacent to the laundry room.

Apartment is a 15 minute walk to Berkeley's gourmet ghetto (home to Chez Panisse, The Cheese Board and excellent shopping), 5 blocks from University of California and the Theological Seminary and a 25 minute walk from Downtown Berkeley. 2 blocks from bus to downtown BART. Additional amenities include a beautiful garden, easy on-street parking and access to an adjacent 2nd bedroom as needed.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Owner/Property Manager (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

About Owner/Property Manager

We have lived in Berkeley for twenty four years. Greg works for a social service agency in San Francisco and Susie works in the arts in Berkeley. Greg's mom recently moved out here to live with us and our son and college friend live with us in the house as well. So while the rental unit is very private, it is surrounded by a very friendly, three generation family. There is always someone around who can provide advice about things to see and do, directions to destinations, or thoughts about favorite restaurants and theaters.

Owner/Property Manager purchased this apartment in 2011

Why Owner/Property Manager chose Berkeley

We love this part of Berkeley. It is close to coffee shops, great food and all the amenities of the City. San Francisco, wine country, the Sierras and the Coast are all within easy reach. We are near all the cultural amenities that make the Bay Area such a treat and yet the house is a quiet, retreat with its own garden, redwood grove and magnificent views of Golden Gate Bridge, the Bay Bridge, Cal Berkeley and San Francisco.

What makes this apartment unique

The apartment is located in one of the most distinguished historic districts in Berkeley. The house, designed by UC Architect Warren Charles Perry, was built for Prof. Edward Tolman in 1924. It is surrounded by homes designed by revered California architect, Bernard Maybeck, and within minutes of the many walkways and paths that make strolling through the Berkeley hills so special. A twenty minute walk uphill will land you in Tilden Regional Park while a ten minute walk downhill will take you to the Berkeley Rose Garden. Another five minutes down and you are in the heart of one of Berkeley's shopping districts with excellent carry-out food as well as world renowned restaurants.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just to say thank you for the lovely stay. Your apartment is great –
May 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 11 traveler reviews

Views, Charm, and History - The Tolman House
average rating of 4.909091 based on 12 reviews
5

Lovely stay in the Berkeley Hills

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was small but charming. Susan (the owner) lives upstairs and was very accommodating. The location was great for day trips into San Francisco, Napa and Sonoma Valley.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great view in the Berkeley hills

  • 4 of 5

My husband, 5-yr-old son, and I stayed here for a week in January. We love the Berkeley hills, and this historic house was just what we were looking for. The owner Susan was very friendly and easy to work with. The bedroom and main room have a great view of the bay. We spent a lot of time playing games at the main table with window seat that looks out on the bay. Also, the private deck surrounded by Redwood trees seemed like it would be lovely for evening meals when the weather is nice. We had cool, rainy weather though, and loved having the gas fireplace which really warmed up the main room. A couple drawbacks to be aware of are the on-street parking, which has a 2-hour limit, and noise from footsteps in the main house, which is directly above this unit. Susan told us that the parking limit isn't enforced often, and indeed we parked our car there all week with no problem. The footstep creaks are part and parcel of an older home and weren't a problem for us. For activities, we enjoyed walking up hill to the Lawrence Hall of Science, playing awhile and then taking the bus back down and also walking to Cordonices Park via the Tamalpais Path. All in all, a great stay, and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Illinois, USA
5

Great location, unbeatable view

  • 5 of 5

This is a small apartment and seems to be one of several within the same private home. We stayed for a week, over Thanksgiving, and managed to cook a thanksgiving meal in the small but functional kitchen. The apartment has a proper separate bedroom (small) and living room. Both have beautiful views on the Bay, where you can watch the sunsets. There is also a terrace but we didn't use it as it was too cold when we stayed there. The living room was very cozy with a gas fireplace and when that wasn't on, there is central heating which works very efficiently in the winter. The location is perfect if visiting the University as it is only a few blocks walk.

  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great location and lovely owners!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for 3 nights while dropping our freshman off at Berkeley. Great location. Walking distance to campus, restaurants (the Cheese Board!!), groceries, and coffee houses. The apartment is well-equipped and very comfortable. Phenomenal view and porch. Owners are very helpful with tips for what to do in area and welcomed us with some breakfast treats and snacks. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Northridge, CA
5

Great find in Berkeley Hills

  • 5 of 5

This was my first experience with a VRBO and it was a good one. Everything was exactly as described. The owners couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful while leaving me to enjoy all the privacy I wanted. The apartment is very comfy with stylish decor. I loved the fireplace and the view. It was a great place to work or relax. The location is also excellent. Highly recommend. There are some steep stairs if that is a consideration.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Berkeley Vacation Fun

  • 5 of 5

We completely enjoyed the home on La Loma Avenue and the hospitality of Susan and her family. The location in the Berkeley Hills is great as is the spectacular view of the Bay and San Francisco. While we hit a cool spell and were not able to utilize the back deck - it is a bonus and would be a great place for a bite or drink. The gardens are terrific as well. The house itself is small but efficient, well decorated and up to date. As with other comments, the small bathroom would be a limitation if you are expecting a home with a hot tub or water jets. For us, it was not a problem. The come is wifi and tech ready. The shared washer and dryer were a plus. It was a real plus to be able to walk the nearby hills and see so many flowers and dramatic homes.

We considered staying at an upscale hotel in the downtown. We are SO GLAD we choose this home and much appreciate our very friendly hosts! We would come back here without any doubt.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

The flat is located within an easy walk to the beautiful University of California campus, but it is also a 1/2 hour drive to San Francisco, 1 hour to wine country or the Marin Headlands. SF has many wonderful amenities, but Berkeley is home to excellent cultural institutions, including Berkeley Repertory Theater, Aurora Theater, Freight and Salvage (for traditional music), Cal Performances and the Berkeley Art Museum, as well as a thriving artisanal craft culture.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Berkeley Hills Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$185
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$1,050
$3,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59

Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Berkeley Hills Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , new bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • double bed built in shelving view of the bay
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties