check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Manhattan Brownstone B&B Sleeps Up to 12

61 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


East Harlem Townhome Rental Photos and Description

R&R For Your Whole Family In The City That Never Sleeps

First, there is a large Studio apartment with a kitchenette (lead pictures) that is part of a bed and breakfast in a Manhattan brownstone that rents for $175 per night. Secondly, there is is a Suite with queen tempur-pedic sofa bed, bath, 3D TV with surround sound system, terrace (and hammock) plus library with aquarium that can be rented together with the Studio or separately for an additional $175 per night. Lastly, there is a Kids' Room which can sleep up to five but has no en-suite bath (which is $100 per night but never rented solo). Breakfast, New York magazines, wifi and cable are included. There is also a heated, year-round indoor pool/jacuzzi and a private garden and fountain (with tree house!)

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Judith Mason
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 21, 2016
Call Owner

About Judith Mason

I am a retired chaplain. I'm very interested in hearing about life in other countries. I love to read - especially fiction that conveys a sense of the experience and interior lives of characters in different cultures.

Judith Mason purchased this townhome in 1969

Why Judith Mason chose Manhattan

I grew up in the South and missed the natural world when I married a man from New York City and moved here with him. This brownstone with its front, back and terrace gardens enabled me to have a little touch of green serenity in all the hustle and bustle of the Big Apple.

What makes this townhome unique

I guess I'm a romantic at heart and prefer a home with the graciousness of the nineteenth century over the hard lines of the 21st. We have lived here so long we have something special for everybody of every age to enjoy.


based on 61 traveler reviews

Manhattan Brownstone B&B Sleeps Up to 12
average rating of 4.803279 based on 61 reviews


  • 5 of 5

Great experience! Judith make us feel in home and treated us like family members. She also provided us fresh fruits when we arrived and prepared a complete and delicious breakfast each and every day! Her son, Ben, was also an excellent host and assisted us with everything we needed. Strongly recommended. 👌🏾

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Felt like a true New Yorker!

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I brought a small graduating class from a Christian school in North Carolina. Judith was wonderful from the communication phase prior to our arrival all the way until we left. We loved the location and there were great little restaurants nearby. Judith was such a joy at breakfast! I loved the breakfasts each day! The kids got a real taste of New York living with hike staying at the B and B. My only complaint was the parking! That was a nightmare. But, we learned a lesson, the next time we will fly! I plan to return with my daughter for her 16th birthday next summer! Thanks for everything Judith!

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank YOU, Sheri! I'm afraid true New Yorkers - at least those in Manhattan - do not own a car. (We ended up selling ours our first year here.) I hope you and your daughter do make it here next summer. That would be wonderful!! Judith
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Very good breakfast. Easy going to all sights of New York. Judith Masson is a heartful and helpful host.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, Katrin. I very much enjoyed our breakfast-time conversations - and the chance to learn so much, Judith
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Large Families Must Stay Here

  • 4 of 5

If you have a large family and desire to know what living in the Big Apple is like, 2 blocks from Central Park with the Best Breakfast in NYC; this is it. We had an awesome stay with Ms. Judith's Bed and Breakfast. We have a family of 6 and we never, regardless of the accommodations have a separate bed for everyone; here that was not a problem. A great night sleep; there was even a private indoor swimming pool. Breakfast in the morning with Ms. Judith was the real treat however, Strawberry Scones made from scratch with omelets chunked with delicious meats, another morning we had Southern Pancakes. It was great and we did not hunger till late afternoon. They had a 3-d movie room for the kids stocked with 3-d movies. You will not find this combination of location location location, service, accommodations, and breakfast anywhere near this price in New York City. Great Value, Great Fun, Memorable experience. You're awesome Ms. Judith.

FYI: Dont drive in New York, Subway or Cab is the way to go.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I think you all are awesome, too - whether on four wheels or not, Judith
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place for families.

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at Judith's place. Lovely hosts, yummy breakfast and swimming pool was a great break from the fast pace of New York. Really set up well for families, you will get a true taste of New York.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, Vicki. t was a joy to have you and your husband and your six bright, personable young children.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

Let me say at the outset that Judith is a very lovely and friendly hostess, whose knowledge and stories of the area are unbounded. We were greeted by her son Ben, who although certainly not your standard trained host, did his best to make us all feel welcome in their home. The disappointment for us ( a family of 6 including two grandparents, two parents and. 17 mo old and 2 1/2 yr old) was the unsafe accommodation provided for this young family. I had made it very clear to Judith in my correspondence before booking that the children were quite young and we wanted to make sure it would work for us. Other than telling me there were one or two flights of stairs, she indicated no safety hazards at all. On arrival it was clear to us the photos and descriptions provided were not as they actually are. Entry is up one flight of dubious entry stairs. Then inside an extremely narrow entry and even narrower dubious two more flights up to our accommodation. There was no safety gate provided for the top flight. Not mention the stair carpet was so filthy we are sure it had not been vacuumed in years. My daughter was beside herself with fear the toddlers would take a big tumble. Their room was worse. They were given the family room, which once you add a crib and a blow up bed for the 2 1/2 old and pulled out the sofa bed there was nowhere to walk. A definite fire hazard, with also wires everywhere and the blow up bed was placed directly under a large heavy bookcase that the little one could easily pull down over him at any time. There was no place for our family to gather except in our bedroom. The children's playroom we were led to believe was on our same floor, but in reality was one flight down so our daughter did not feel comfortable with the children playing there and certainly unsupervised. As Judith was asleep on our arrival at 6pm we were greeted by Ben. Once we realized this was unsuitable for us we notified him immediately and I also emailed Judith. We had booked to stay for 6 nights and asked for a refund for five nights in light of the fact that we felt the photos and response did not show the inappropriateness of the accommodation for young children. Judith's remark to me on at breakfast was that she would enjoy her 5 day holiday!

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Grace, HomeAway ruled against you when you submitted these allegations to them, since we did not mislead you nor were your safety concerns justified. You initiated the mediation process, saying you hoped for an “amicable” solution to our differences. We sent HomeAway in response the record of our email conversations and photos of the units. You said that if they decided not to give you the extra funds you were seeking, you would post a negative review as you wanted that money no matter what. It is our stated policy not to return a deposit after 30 days before an arrival date, although we had refunded the remaining monies from your stay out of our own good will as soon as you left. I suggest anyone reading your review and wishing to evaluate your words check out all the other reviews by families like yours with young children, which are uniformly overwhelmingly positive.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.02 Miles
The Lexington Social Wine Bar
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
Water Taxi: Randall's Island
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Nearest Train
0.02 Miles
Lexington Avenue Subway, 103rd Street
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
East River Drive
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
Pro Thai
Nearest Ski
60 Miles
Bear Mountain
Nearest Beach
12 Miles
City Island
Car: not necessary

This brownstone is one of many on a quiet, tree-lined block with free street-parking available. Half a block away is the neighborhood's 'Restaurant Row' which lines Lexington Avenue from 99th to 102nd Street. Mt. Sinai Hospital is a block away 'as the crow flies' and many museums throng Fifth Avenue, which - together with Central Park - is two blocks away. It is 1 block to a bus or 2 and 1/2 Blocks to a subway train, which in less than 10 minutes puts you in the heart of midtown and all that New York City has to offer.


Rates & Availability

East Harlem Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

The Kids' Room is available for accompanied minors at $85 per night and has a bunk bed that sleeps two plus a youth bed. A Pack n' Play and air beds can also be added.
No one should swim alone and there is ABSOLUTELY no diving. You swim at your own risk.

Each of these bedrooms except the children's is $125 per night (the children's is $75).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


East Harlem Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Included in Price
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , A tranquil, skylit retreat.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Lighted magnifying mirror, onyx floor & sea-glass wall tiles
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , A suite with bath, 3D TV, library and terrace with hammock.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 baby crib , 1 bunk bed , A toy-filled children's playroom that can sleep three.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Breakfast en-suite, with breakfast foods stocked.
  • The bedrooms are all very large (over 300 square feet each) and we have many add-on sleeping options, including: a youth bed, a Pack'n Play and both single and queen-size air mattresses.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 24 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
New York papers and magazines are included for guests.

Partner Offers