check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Phyllis Johnson

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

Edgewater Retreat Premier Scenic Lakefront Home

55 Reviews
Sleeps17
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kentucky House Rental Photos and Description

5 Bedrooms/4.5 Bathrooms - Sleeps 15

Enjoy the stunning beauty of Kentucky's Land Between the Lake year around from the Edgewater Retreat. Our exquisite vacation home is located on 1.9 acres in a quiet woods setting on the waters edge.

As you drive down the private driveway, one of the first comfort amenities you'll notice is the privacy, followed by the two car attached garage and the abundance of parking accommodations for guests, and boats.

The main level has been set up with entertainment in mind. Its open floor concept (combining the kitchen, dining room and living room), allows for more family/guest interaction. From the new kitchen appliances to the stand kitchen-aid mixer, this fully equipped kitchen allows you to cook as much, or as little as you desire. The dining room seats 8, but because of the floor-design, guests can easily converse with the guests seated at the kitchen table and island bar.

When you aren't taking in the impressive view of lake Barkley through the living rooms large French doors, you might wish to view the 60 inch flat screen TV. It is located in the spacious living room, directly over the gas log fireplace.

The laundry room is on the main level. It features a high efficiency washer and dryer along with an iron and ironing board.

Also, located on the main level are:

King suite (bedroom #1 with his and her bathrooms), king size bed and flat screen TV.

Bedroom #2, queen size bed.

Bedroom #3, queen size bed.

Full and a half-bath.

The entertainment continues on the lower level with a fully-furnished game room. For your enjoyment, there is a TV/DVD viewing area, pool table, ping-pong table, electronic dart board, board games, popcorn machine and wet bar. Everything you'll need to make fun-family memories.

Completing the lower level inside:

Bedroom #4 queen size bed, sofa bed and TV.

Bedroom #5 full-size bunk beds.

Full bathroom.

With several boat ramps close to Edgewater retreat, launching your boat and starting your vacation on the water has never been easier. We have a private boat slip available for you at our community dock. For your hauling convenience, we've even provided a golf cart.

We invite you and your family to experience our spectacular vacation home and nature at it's finest, available all four seasons! Beautiful sunsets, fabulous lake views, tranquility...Edgewater Retreat.

If this property is booked at the time you need check out our other home vrbo # 654002

They are in the same area.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Phyllis Johnson (Property Manager)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

Why Phyllis Johnson chose Kentucky

We chose this vacation property because it offered quiet solitude as well as faster paced outdoor activities. The views are picturesque! We look forward to sharing the beauty of the Kentucky seasons, with you.

What makes this house unique

This open floor plan makes it great for large family gatherings.

You can get up in the mornings and enjoy sitting on the swing out back with a great view. Watch the wild life its every where .

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us. We had a wonderful week-end and will always remember what a great time we had.
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 55 traveler reviews

Edgewater Retreat Premier Scenic Lakefront Home
average rating of 4.909091 based on 56 reviews
5

wonderful

  • 5 of 5

Property is very nice and the house is fabulous! We had our family of 17 and all was very comfortable with enough bedrooms for a newborn to 8 years old and young adults that need there own bathroom space! the only thing is the back yard is a little steep and the boat dock being a distance away. The golf cart was very dependable and the front yard worked great for our grandkids slip and slide! We enjoyed the fishing, kayaking, wake boarding and tubing! The pool at the Barkley state park was a nice change for the kids to swim in. They were very friendly. Loved the cove we were on our son said it was the best wake boarding lake he has ever been on! Phyllis was very helpful in every way and would recommend renting from her anytime!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Exceptional lodging and personal attention-

  • 5 of 5

Pack lightly because Phyllis has every item you might need in this lovely home! Our family (ages 11 months-65 years) enjoyed all of the amenities, and still had enough privacy when needed/wanted. Our extended family rented another of Phyllis's homes and we were able to have enough room for large family gatherings. We highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tammy Glad You and your family enjoyed your stay. Happy you found everything you need to make your stay perfect. Thanks Phyllis
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great property and location

  • 5 of 5

House was very secluded. House was clean . the week we were there was 95+ every day but house was always comfortable. Kitchen was well appointed. Had small appliances we have seen in previous properties. For 13, 9 adults 5 children it worked. Cadiz was fairly close for shopping. Definitely would visit again.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you guys enjoyed your stay Look forward to having you back Thanks Phyllis
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

perfect place for anniversary celebration

  • 5 of 5

Edgewater was the perfect place for our 50th wedding anniversary celebration. There were 17 of us ages 3 to 77. The heat & humidity was awful so a lot of time was spent in the game room. The house has excellent air conditioning.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Carole Glad you guys enjoyed your stay even with the heat. Hope to have you back again and maybe the weather will be better on your next stay. Thanks Phyllis
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Property was nice, perfect for out needs with ten kids.

  • 4 of 5

There was everything one need for a great week away from the city...access to the water, fishing dock, game room, tons of space, and everything I needed in the kitchen! The one complaint I have is the wifi is not free as indicated in the description. We were informed (at check in) that after a certain amount of data was used there would be charges for each additional amount used. Well, 12 people, ten being kids, used up the initial "free" data the first night! They did NOT download movies or videos, simply played games and searched etc. It ended up costing me an additional $45 for wifi. Bummer. Otherwise the kids had a great time.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jennifer I really enjoyed meeting you and your family and your fur baby! Glad you enjoyed your stay at Edgewater I just want to say sorry for the Internet . There is no internet service in the area. Att is caped off. I have been on waiting list for 3 years. I had posted on my site limited internet for that reason. I wanted to give my guest access to wifi because I know a lot of my guest need for work So that's why I choose to use hot spot box. That way you have Internet. But I am limited To the amount of data with hot spot boxes As soon as it is available I will have unlimited wifi . Look forward to your return. Thank you Phyllis
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Edgewater was the perfect choice

  • 5 of 5

This property was the perfect choice for our college reunion. Phyllis was a wonderful host and was more than helpful in terms of organizing everything before, during, and after our stay. Everything was as described. We even saw a few deer throughout our stay on the property! I don't know who was more surprised, me or the city puppy we brought who had never seen one before. The location was perfect as well. Close enough to Eddy Grove Winery (a must if you stay), and ice cream at The Fishin Hole was a perfect end on our last night in Cadiz. Would definitely stay again if we are ever looking to return!

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Luke Glad Edgewater was everything you had hoped it would be. I bet that city puppy was more surprised than the deer lol. Hope to have you guys back again. Thanks Phyllis
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Nearest Golf
16 Miles
Lake Barkley State Park
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Nearest Beach
16 Miles
Lake Barkley State Park

BOAT AND WATER TOY RENTAL:

Prizer Point Marina

GAMBLING:

Harrah's Metropolis Casino

GOLF:

Arrowhead Golf Course,

Boots Randolph Golf Course

GOLF (miniature):

Maggie's Jungle Golf

HORSE RIDING:

Kentucky Dam Riding Stables,

Wranglers Stables, Lake Barkley State Resort Park

SHOPPING:

Twin Lakes Antique Mall

SIGHTSEEING:

Land Between the Lakes State Park

RESTAURANTS:

Patti's 1880's Settlement

WATERPARKS AND FAMILY FUN CENTERS:

Kentucky Shores Family Fun Center,

Venture River Water Park

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lake Barkley House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off-Season (See Notes Below)
Nov 1 2016 - Feb 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,600
 
 
Peak Season
Jun 1 2017 - Jul 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$335
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$2,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
House Cleaning $150
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 10.0%

* Holiday Rates...$350.00 per night,
(Christmas, Thanksgiving,New Years will be 2 night minimum) All other holidays will have what ever the minimum is for that season.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kentucky House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3834 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • King Suite Bathroom (Main Level) - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 (Main Level) - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 (Lower Level) - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 (Main Level) - toilet
    King Suite Bathroom (main level) - toilet , shower , with seat in it
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 17
  • King Suite (Main Level) - 1 king , Suite features flat screen and his and her bathrooms.
    Bedroom 2 (Main Level) - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 (main Level) - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 (Lower Level) - 1 bunk bed , Full Size Bunk Bed Can be un bunked for adults
    Bedroom 4 (Lower Level) - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Full size and twin size roll-aways and 3 queen size air mattress available and all the bedding
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 20 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • racquetball
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Up to 10 of our guest will have a pass to Lake Barkley Resort Fitness Center. This features Wellness pool .Full line of Nautilus and Free Weights, Sauna,Steam-Room,Whirlpool,2 Treadmills, Recumbent Bikes,Racquetball-Walleyball Court,Aerobics Room,Lighted Basketball and Tennis Courts. Also a vailable at no fee Tennis ,Racquetball,Basketball,Horseshoe,andShufflebaord equipment. They also offer Watercise ,Strech and Tone,Lap Swim on certain days at certain times.

Partner Offers