check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Baby Gem - Breathtaking Beachfront And Private

29 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 nights


Southampton Apartment Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedroom / 1 Bathroom Beachfront apartment (Sleeps 4)

Baby Gem is located on the same property as our listing 396719 with VRBO. This two bedroom lower apartment accommodates 4 guests. The queen size sofa allows our maximum guest count to be 6 persons. With French doors off the kitchen and another opening onto its own large covered private patio. As you gaze out to sea, this unobstructed view of the south shore leaves you in “awe”. If you yearn for peace, tranquility and space you have come to the end of your search. This reverse air conditioned unit has a full bathroom along with laundry facility which will make your vacation perfect. This resort area has the finest restaurants and a major bus route for convenience at the top of “de hill” all within walking distance. Yes, your own private beach to enjoy – Crossbay Beach only steps away.

  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed

Lorna Wilson
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 24, 2016
Call Owner

About Lorna Wilson

Married 28 years with an adult daughter and a teenage son. Our family loves boating and cooking. We enjoy traveling and meeting people from all over the world. We have been in the hospitality business for over 40 years. We are confident you would enjoy your vacation with us. Most of our guest says 'we are lucky to have found you'. It is our pleasure to be of service to you and your family.

Why Lorna Wilson chose Bermuda

Location, location, location. We are located in the best resort area in Bermuda.

What makes this apartment unique

Totally private and hidden.


based on 29 traveler reviews

Baby Gem - Breathtaking Beachfront And Private
average rating of 4.862069 based on 29 reviews


  • 5 of 5

This house was great. I had a great experience and Lorna was extremely helpful and a joy to work with. Having a private beach was incredible.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Adam. Your group of friends were in and out so quick, like a blink. I know you were wishing you stayed longer. You guys can come back anytime. I love the way you left the unit. Thank you for your business and consideration. Lorna and Greg
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Feel the Bermuda

  • 3 of 5

If it wasn't for some of the flying bugs (not mosquitos, nor typical roaches) right outside the front door (they come at night when there is light on), the rating would be at least a 4 star. It wasn't a log of bugs, but about 2 would get in if you didn't close the door fast enough.

I think the couch should be more cleaner, looks a little old also.

The bedrooms are big and we loved the bedroom by the patio where you can also use just the screen instead of the French door to hear the ocean waves. The bedsheet and beds are very good, clean and comfortable, except for the sofa bed which is spring. Once you start hearing the ocean breeze, you would forget that you are on a sofa bed.

By the kitchen and living room (they are combined), if you open the windows at night (it has screens), you can hear the constant ocean waves crashing into the rocks but you will also hear crickets as well.

We were only able to get strong wifis in the bedroom by the patio. The other bedroom, for some reason, we were not able to get as strong wifi. The house is very conveniently located near the main bus (#7) and to a good restaurant (Henry the VIII).

The day we went to the Cross Path Bay beach (the private beach), it was dirty in the ocean, but it still has those beautiful blue colors. Lorna told me it was due to the hurricane building up from the Atlantic. The next day, I noticed the beach looks clean again. She already has lawn chairs on the beach already.

Lorna and her family are wonderful host.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We do our best to make your home away from home experience in Baby Gem as comfortable and clean as possible. Our cleaning and professional laundry teams are amongst the best Bermuda has to offer. We acknowledge your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Stunning view and wonderful hosts!

  • 5 of 5

We cannot say enough wonderful things about Baby Gem and about Lorna and Greg as hosts! The apartment was clean, spacious, comfortable, and well-equipped. Lorna saw to it that we had everything we needed. This was our first trip to Bermuda (with our kids, ages 10 and 8), and we feel incredibly lucky to have found this idyllic property from which to experience all that Bermuda has to offer. The photos do not do justice to the views -- 270 degrees of pale blue ocean from atop a hill. I simply cannot imagine a better view. The proximity to the beach was fantastic -- just a short walk down the hill. And what a beach! Crystal clear water, fine pink-white sand, and fantastic snorkeling! More often than not, we had the beach all to ourselves! We visited quite a few of Bermuda's beaches, and all four of us agreed that Cross Bay Beach was our absolute favorite. Wherever we went on our daily travels around the beautiful island, we would feel Cross Bay Beach calling us back! On our last night, we had planned to go out for dinner in Hamilton, but we simply could not pull ourselves off Cross Bay Beach. So we stayed on the beach until it started to get dark, ordered take-out from Henry VIII (just up "Da Hill"), and ate dinner on the Gemstones patio overlooking the ocean. We needed to take in that stunning view one last time! It made our last night all the more special when Lorna joined us on the patio (you MUST have Lorna make you a Rum Swizzle -- it's the best!). Lorna is a wonderful person whose warmth and kindness were evident from the moment we arrived (when she greeted us with hugs) to the moment we left (more hugs!). If you want to experience the beauty of Bermuda and it's people, look no further -- book Baby Gem! Thank you, Lorna and Greg, for an unforgettable stay!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your excellent review. Our visiting families and friends are extremely important to us. And to be a shining example of how vacation rental properties should operate makes the effort worth it. Our aim is to make you feel safe, comfortable and happy everyday while enjoying the BEST OF BERMUDA. I love living on an awesome little island in the middle of the Atlantic ocean. Crossbay is the #1 private beach. Our pleasure to share it with you Carolyn and Clifford and your lovely family.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome stay at baby gem

  • 5 of 5

Baby gem is a gem indeed! My husband and two young sons stayed here for a week. Greg and Lorna were gracious hosts. We walked down the hill to the beach everyday. The sand was so soft and the ocean was relatively calm. We enjoyed coffee on the lanai outside of the br every morning enjoying the view and constant breeze. We were amazed that in the evenings we saw no flying bugs or mosquitos; could the constant breeze be the reason? King Henry's restaurant was just up the hill and we frequented their "pantry" which sold wine, beer, soda and a limited assortment of snacks. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. It is funny you mentioned about he softness of the sand. I was surprised when I went to swim and all the flip flops and beach shoes were in a pile in the parking lot. I thought they took their shoes off like they were entering their home. Now how decent is that. (smile) I can honestly say our guest respect our beach. Thank you. About the insects, trust me we have them but because no trees and close we do not have a problem and then that sound you hear at night are the tree frogs and crickets. It can be annoying at times but you quickly adapt and will not notice them after awhile. Your boys were the most energetic you men we have ever had on the property. Thank God they had the space to run. Reminded me of the energy our son had....twenty years ago. Hope to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Philadelphia/New York, United States


  • 5 of 5

My husband and I recently got married in Bermuda and my friends and their husbands stayed in Baby Gem. Everything is just as pictured and even more beautiful!! Lorna and Greg were wonderful hosts and went out of their way to make everyone feel comfortable and happy. The views from the house are amazing! And, the private beach is easily accessible and was very quiet and clean. Perfect for relaxing! Lorna was great at communicating back and forth quickly before the trip and answering any last minute questions. We all can't wait to come back and rent from Lorna and Greg again!! If you are reading this, definitely go for it! You will be so happy you did!

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh and all of your friends married and unmarried were awesome. It was our pleasure to be of service to you and your entire family. Amazing! I so admire your organization skills and how your put things in place so nicely yet kept it simple. I never thought anyone can manage that house with over 70 guest like me but you so did it. My hats off to you and your friends. Ladies wonderful job since I mostly saw the guys running up and down the risky path to the beach. You are welcome anytime. Thanks for the wedding umbrellas. Thank God we haven't had any reason to use them, yet.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time staying at baby gem, can't wait to go back, thanks so much for your hospitality

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
13 Miles
L.F. Wade International
Nearest Barpub
0.01 Miles
Henry Viii Pub & Restaurant
Nearest Ferry
0.07 Miles
Waterlot Inn
Nearest Golf
0.01 Miles
Fairmont Southampton
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
Henry Viii Pub & Restaurant
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
Crossbay Beach
Car: not necessary

You will be in the best resort area Bermuda has to offer. We are situated between the two best resorts in Bermuda - The Reefs and Fairmont Southampton. Only 2 min walk from the Gibb's Hill Lighthouse and 5 min drive to the Heron Bay Market Place. This property is ideal, clean and safe. Also view our listing 396719 should you require larger accommodations.


Rates & Availability

Southampton Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $0
Propertyy Service Fee $175
Cleaning Fee $125

One Cleaning Fee $125
Service Fee $25 daily
(Electricity, cable, WiFi, phone and water service
Maximum number of guest is limited to 4 person. An additional charge of $30.00 per person per night for guest in addition to 4 will be assessed. Standard short term rental agreement will require your signature.

50% of total rate immediately
Payment in full inclusive of fees due 30 days of the Check-in Date.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Southampton Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1 baby crib , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Walk in Closet - Maximum sleeping capacity 6 person
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Gibb's Hill Lighthouse, #1 Beach public in Bermuda - Horseshoe Bay Beach. 5 Star restaurants. Deep sea fishing with the best, boating and yachting, driving golf range directly in front of property.

Partner Offers