Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded and Quiet Cabin Near Ricketts Glen State Park

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type cabin


About the property

Family Friendly - 3 Bedroom Cabin - Sleeps 8

Come enjoy our wonderful secluded cabin on an acre of land that is within 5 minutes of Ricketts Glen State Park.

This cabin is located 2.5 miles from the trail head of Ricketts Glen State Park - home to 22 gorgeous waterfalls. The cabin is also in close proximity to Lake Jean - where you can rent a kayak/canoe, go to the sandy beach of the lake, swim, or fish!

The possibilities are endless!!!

Come and enjoy the peace of country living or go mountain biking, cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snowmobiling, trail running, or hunting.

The cabin has been completely renovated this year and is a very quiet location. Location is rustic yet has many modern amenities - fully stocked kitchen (utensils, place settings, glasses, cooking utensils, pots/pans), and outdoor fire pit and grill.

This cabin has a large and open living space with a loft and 3 bedrooms.

Come make yourself at home and enjoy!

Linens and Towels provided for an additional fee - upon request.

Check-in: 4 pm

Check-out: 1pm

More Details

Member since: 2015
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2018


Benton Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , Newly renovated bathroom
  • Hairdryer provided
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , Upstairs bedroom - sleeps 4
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Downstairs bedroom - sleeps 2
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Downstairs bedroom - sleeps 2
  • Linens provided for an additional fee. Pack and play available for use.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • hunting


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
21% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Secluded and Quiet Cabin Near Ricketts Glen State Park
average rating of 4.631579 based on 19 reviews

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful, clean place in the endless mountains. Perfect for a peaceful getaway.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

quiet woodsy location; charming setting

  • 4 of 5

the cabin is located only minutes from Ricket's Glen State Park. lots of space inside to spread out. very comfortable rooms. the lighting is rather dim for reading, but gives a cozy feeling. just bring your linens, towels, and kitchen towels! nice fire pit for campfires. would come here again.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Red Fox Hollow - a little slice of heaven

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful cabin that is more of a home away from home than a mere cabin. Nicely appointed and very comfortable.

Please disregard the ridiculous review posted a few days prior to this one that stated there were flies in the cabin, the towels were thin and rough and the bed linens were at the foot of the bed.

This reviewer should have stayed at a four star hotel, and probably would have still found something to gripe about if they did. There were no flies in the cabin during our stay, the towels were soft and ample and we appreciated the bed linens being placed at the foot of the bed so we knew they were clean.

We threw a couple of curve balls at the owner due to some last minute changes and she was very gracious and accommodating.

The Red Rock Corner Store and Mountain Steak are both great little places with very friendly people, and just down the street. Unfortunately, the Red Rock Scoop ice cream shop was closed for the season. Maybe next time.

We had a great time and very much enjoyed the secluded and peaceful comfort Red Fox Hollow afforded us during our stay.

We'll definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the wonderful review! We are so glad you had a great time . You are welcome back any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Comfortable and Clean!!!

  • 5 of 5

We had an excellent stay! The place is clean and has everything you'll need for a stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good location but could have been a better expereince

  • 2 of 5

Location to Ricketts Glen State Park is excellent. The cabin had all we needed for a two couples for a weekend. We really enjoyed the outdoor fire pit. Issues - we were expected to bring our own bedding or pay extra for it to be supplied-this was the first time I encountered this through a VRBO/Homeway rental. Bedding was just sitting on the bed and we had to make up the beds. Also, towels were thin and did not smell clean. Overall cleanliness could have been better. Also, house was infested with hundreds of flies clinging to the vaulted ceiling.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is the first time we have had any cleanliness issues reported. I am curious why none of these issues were reported in the moment so the concerns could be remedied immediately. We would have welcomed a chance to make your stay better. As for the linens, the linen rental is made available for convenience. Most properties that rent in the area do not include linens or the option to rent them. The sheets are placed at the cabin clean and folded so renters can ensure the linens are clean and can choose which bed in which they would like to sleep. We noticed some flies when we stopped by after checkout and spent some time cleaning them up. My guess is doors and windows were left open for them to come inside. Again - first time this was an issue and if it was reported in the moment we could have fixed it right away.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Clean, spacious cabin in quiet woods

  • 4 of 5

I spent several weeks looking for a cabin that was cozy, wasn't in a gated community, was close to hiking and outdoor activities, and had enough space for us. Red Fox Hollow was perfect! It was quiet, easy access to Ricketts Glen State Park (we did the Falls Trail hike, definitely recommended), cozy interior, and a firepit! Jessica was very responsive to my questions and made sure we had everything we needed to make the weekend work. There was plenty of space to put down air mattresses (for those who didn't want to share a bed). It didn't take long to see a lot of work had been put into making the cabin comfortable and up to date, without sacrificing that cabin atmosphere. There was a TV there, with a large selection of DVDs, but no TV antenna or cable subscription (thankfully!). Those of us with AT&T had service, but some in our group had a different carrier and didn't have service. All in all, it was an amazing weekend, thanks to a great place to stay and hang out.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Wilkes Barre/Scranton - AVP
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Ricketts Glen Hotel
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Mill Race Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Ricketts Glen Hotel
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Lake Jean - Ricketts Glen State Park
Car: necessary

Ricketts Glen State Park


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $150

If number of guests exceeds occupancy of 8 - $10/day per person will be charged.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties