Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Nancy Boodhoo

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Spacious Luxury Villa on the Exclusive Sandy Lane Estate

32 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 5 - 14 nights

Overview

St. James Villa Rental Photos and Description

Dene Court has all the flexibility you would expect from a 5 bedroom Villa.

Sandy Lane Estate , St. James , Barbados.

Dene Court is an imposing, spacious Villa located in the heart of this world famous estate and just a stone’s throw from the Sandy Lane Golf and Country Club and less than a five minute drive from the Sandy Lane Property Owners Private Beach Facility.

This is a peaceful private retreat for families or groups of friends with enough space in the lush tropical gardens to find a quiet area to read even when the Villa is fully occupied. Most of the activity however centres around the large outside terrace off the main living room where there is plenty of space for alfresco dining as you overlook the large attractive swimming pool.

Inside, the minstrel's gallery is a main feature, off which are four of the bedrooms all with private facilities. The Master bedroom has the additional luxury of a private balcony and dressing room. There is a further fifth double bedroom on the ground floor with an en suite bathroom and it's own private patio.

Set in over an acre of manicured grounds Dene Court is ideal for weddings and entertaining/receptions on a large scale. The large pool situated off the main outdoor terrace provides a very attractive backdrop for photographs and top quality catering

can be provided for any type of event.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Nancy Boodhoo (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.8
based on 32 traveler reviews

Spacious Luxury Villa on the Exclusive Sandy Lane Estate
average rating of 4.84375 based on 32 reviews
5

A very special holiday at beautiful Dene Court

  • 5 of 5

I stayed as a guest at Dene Court

The villa was beautiful and very comfortable

It was always kept clean and the linen was clean and regularly changed

The staff were helpful and always there to help

An added bonus was the laundry was always done and returned to you and was included in the cost of the rental

The gardens were well kept and were very pleasant to sit in

It was really good to have the private beach facility at the Sandy Lane Property Owners Beach

The beach attendants were  very helpful and it was good to have the loungers and umbrellas to use

Altogether a very special holiday and I will definitely be returning

  • Submitted: May 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not that impressed

  • 2 of 5

We stayed at Dene Court in April 2015 and were not that impressed. The house is nice, not spectacular. We were asked not to use the air conditioning during the day - which wasn't a huge deal other than at naptime, at which point we just turned it on. Note that there is NO air conditioning in the main rooms of the house, only the bedrooms. Thus, at dinnertime we sweated through our clothing - not so pleasant, especially when eating a hot meal. Had we known this before we went, I wouldn't have packed a maxi dress or pants, so be forewarned. The pool was great, very clean and a nice size. We spent practically all day in the pool. There were a fair amount of towels but not enough for everyone to have one in the morning and one after lunch - so my suggestion is to get a few more towels. The access to Sandy Lane beaches was a nice perk - a very short drive away and the beach was almost always deserted - it felt like a private beach! There was even a small bar there, open sporadically, where you could get cocktails (delicious!). The water was gorgeous and crystal clear. I wouldn't suggest walking to the beach - there is no shoulder on the road, it's blind in a lot of places, and the people drive fast! We definitely weren't going to attempt it with children.

Staff:

Janelle and her deputy (Becky?) were awesome, and our laundry came back clean and beautifully folded and ironed. The rooms were always clean, and they worked around our children's nap schedules. We were not impressed by Richard. His food was average, although there were a few stand-out dishes; unfortunately one of those was not the raw-in-the-center pancakes. We felt as if he was resistant to being asked to do the shopping, which other reviewers had mentioned he would do. He gave us attitude. Our first day there, we worked for 2 hours trying to determine a menu - when I feel like, had Richard just sat down with us and opened a dialog, we could have had something decided much easier. However, the sour note was that one day he left at lunchtime without telling us that he wouldn't be there to serve supper. (Note: if you want dinner after 6:30pm, be prepared to heat it up yourselves). He just disappeared, and although left dinner to be heated, did not leave instructions with anyone. To make matters worse, when we contacted the agent, he lied to them and said that he had told us he would be leaving. We did not appreciate this behavior. Also, the staff gets one day off, so again, heads up.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write the review We are always grateful for feedback so we can address problems guests have encountered and make every effort to address them It is a pity you were not able to tell us Sooner so that we could have understood your problems as it is now 10 months later The design of the villa downstairs is such that it does not allow us to have air conditioning as the sitting areas open to the terrace and onto the pool and gardens We have made sure however that the are a number of fans for use We note your comments regarding towels and additional ones will be provided In Regard to Richard We will take your comments regarding the quality of his food preparation and his attendance and make sure it is addressed Once again I thank you for bringing these points to our attention as it will allow us to improve the quality of service we offer
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing experience

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic villa and experience. The staff are incredibly helpful and make for a really relaxing break. The villa is wonderful and use of the private facilities at Sandy Lane is great. Probably my favourite holiday destination. We will certainly be back (as soon as we can)!

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review I am so pleased you enjoyed the villa We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Dene Court
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A little piece of heaven

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at Dene Court as part of my vacation and a business trip

I found it an oasis to return home to after being out all day

The staff were very helpful and helped to make everything very comfortable for us

The villa was very well-appointed and the various parts of the villa available for reading, relaxing, listening to music and just savouring a long drink made staying in this villa very appealing

The gardens are very well kept and make an excellent alternative space to use

The pool is kept clean and is always welcoming for a swim

Richard is an excellent chef and we were constantly given excellent beautifully presented meals . His butternut squash soup was quite simply the best soup that I have ever tasted!

He was also happy to make us canapés and made us an excellent picnic to take with us on our tour of the island

The supermarket is close by and Richard was happy to discuss our menus with us and assist with the shopping

Janelle kept the house clean and was always happy to help us if we needed it

There were excellent restaurants locally to choose from if you wanted to go out to eat

Winston was the night watchman and was there to help us with any questions we had

I would certainly consider returning to this villa after a most enjoyable stay

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments We look forward to welcoming you again hopefully this time on vacation kind regards Nancy Boodhoo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful House, Wonderful Staff, Wonderful Vacati

  • 5 of 5

A thoroughly enjoyable vacation! Dene Court was the perfect home for our family of 11 ( 7 adults and 4 grandkids) to help us celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. The staff goes above and beyond to make it so enjoyable! Richard, the Chef, could not have been better. Janelle and Stacey were wonderful as housekeeper and laundress? Winston, night security, and Junior, the gardener, added to our enjoyment. Everyone enjoyed visiting with Winston each evening at 6PM and with Junior each morning. You have put together an excellent & professional staff that make enjoying your home easy no matter the ages of the guests. We ate out one night at Sandy Lane Hotel. If we had it to do over, every meal would be at Dene Court with Richard as our chef.

My only surprise was when Betty, who manages the outside area for you, indicated she was not happy with Junior, the gardener. I thought Junior was doing an excellent job. Junior did a good job of keeping the entire property in first class condition.

We all enjoyed your lovely pool, and the private beach. Our three children, their spouses & our 16 yr old grandson enjoyed the Scuba Dives, the surfing and the paddle boarding that Vern Best set up for us. Vern is a very efficient person with whom I enjoyed working. Suzie was also very helpful. Our three younger grandkids (6, 5 & 4 yrs) thoroughly enjoyed Dene Court's pool and your private

beach. Your staff made each grandchild feel very special.

We have been fortunate to have had many excellent family vacations in different parts of the world. This one ranks as one the best. Everyone hated to leave.

Thank you for allowing us to enjoy Dene Court. It is a special place with special people as your staff who meet and exceed one's expectations! As you can tell, it was a special time for us. We plan to return to Dene Court and recommend it to others!

Regards,

Pam and John Grantham

Chapel Hill, NC, USA

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the staff were able to make you comfortable and give you a pleasant holiday We look forward to welcoming you again Enjoy the rest of your summer
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing holiday

  • 5 of 5

We spent ten wonderful days at this villa where we were thoroughly spoilt.

The staff were excellent. Richard is an excellent cook. He has a variety of dishes, beautifully presented and is happy to discuss the menus with you and will cater to your budget.

We had delicious packed lunches made for us to take to the beach and lovely afternoon tea.

We particularly enjoyed having cocktails on the terrace at sunset and Richard made delicious canapes to accompany.

One of our party had a special diet and Richard catered for him without any problem.

Our clothes were washed and the villa cleaned each day by Janelle.

The gardens are beautifully kept and there are several areas where you can sit quietly to read or enjoy the lovely breezes.

The nearby restaurants are of a very high standard and easy to reach. The Sandy Lane beach facilities are excellent but the lovely pool at the villa meant we did not always leave to go to the beach.

This is our second stay at Dene Court and we would certainly go again. I would highly recommend this villa for a thoroughly relaxing holiday.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

Dene Court is located on the West Coast of Barbados in the heart of the prestigious Sandy Lane Estate and is a three minute drive away from the exclusive Sandy Lane Property Owners Private Beach Facility where guests have direct access to the golden sands of Sandy Lane Bay. The private Beach Club has recently been up-graded with showers, toilet and changing facilities. The friendly Beach Club Attendents will attend to all your needs and provide loungers, mattresses and umbrellas to make your day more comfortable.

Sunset Crest which houses a variety of small shops, a bank and a duty free store is less than five mininuts drive away with Holetown just a few minutes further north. Here, the local Supermarket is located in a mall which contains a variety of non food outlets including some duty free retails and in the town there is a wide variety of restaurants which cater for all tastes. The latest Holetown development is the Limegrove Lifestyle Centre which houses some of the world's most famous designer boutiques as well as two luxurious cinemas and a number of speciality cafes. Further up the coast is the old Barbadian town of Speightstown with its beach front cafes and restaurants.

All the beaches on the West Coast face the calm Caribbean Sea so are ideal for swimming, snorkling, sailing and other water sports. Tennis and golf are both within minutes of Dene Court with guests able to take advantage of both at special rates.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sandy Lane Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
summer 2016 - * 4 Bed
Apr 14 2016 - Dec 14 2016
5 night minimum stay
$800
$5,600
 
 
Christmas & New Year - 5 Bed
Dec 15 2016 - Jan 11 2017
14 night minimum stay
$2,500
 
 
winter- 4 Bed*
Jan 12 2017 - Apr 13 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,150
$8,050
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Stay tax 7.5% per night. This amount will be due to the owner upon arrival.

Please note that there will be an additional 7.5% tax per price quoted.
Nightly rates for additional bedrooms

Summer April 14th- December 14th 2016
3 Bedrooms max 6 Guests US$ 700
4 Bedrooms max 8 Guests US$ 800
5 Bedrooms max 10 Guests US $ 900

Christmas & New Year December 15th - January 11th
5 Bedroom max 10 Guests US$ 2500

Winter January 12th - April 13th 2017
3 Bedrooms max 6 Guests US$ 900
4 Bedrooms max 8 Guests US$ 1150
5 Bedrooms max 10 Guests US$ 1400

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

St. James Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa (detached)
Accommodation Type:
  • Guest House
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Luxury
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Safe
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 2 double
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Towels
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Housekeeper
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Dene Court prides itself on the quality of its staff. There is a full time cook maid and laundress that takes care of all your day to day needs during your stay as well as household matters. She is supported by a full time gardener who keeps the grounds in immaculate condition and a night watchman that ensures total security when guests are on the property in the evening and throughout the night.

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Request to Book

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote