Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Amsterdam Canal Apartments: Comfortable and central stay in the canal area

Bedrooms 1
Space 484 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Two stylish and comfortable canal side apartments in the historic city centre.

Amsterdam Canal Apartments offer two stylish and comfortable canal side apartments in the historic city centre of Amsterdam with everything of interest within walking distance: 1. The Canal View apartment : spacious studio layout with large kitchen and a fantastic view. 2. The Delft Blue apartment: one bedroom spacious apartment ( canal side but no canal view) Both are suitable for a couple or two singles each. Be sure when booking, which one is yours. The first 11 pictures are the Canal View the rest is Delft Blue.

These two private canal side apartments are situated in the heart of Amsterdam and the Unesco protected Canal Area.You will be staying in the oldest part of the town close to Dam square, Rembrandt museum, Hermitage museum, Central Station and Opera building. Because of its super central (but quiet) location everything of interest is within walking distance.The metro entrance is just behind the apartment, making transfers to the central station and the rest of Holland very easy.The apartment is fully equipped for a comfortable and relaxed stay in the heart of Amsterdam, including Hi speed WiFi, HDTV, stereo with MP3/iPod connection, a complete kitchen (microwave, oven, dishwasher, washer, dryer, coffee and tea maker), a bathroom and a king size bed.( Extra spare bed and a baby cot). You will even find a small library of travel guides, books and DVDs in the apartment.The apartment features many original details like 17th century beams, original Delft Blue tiles and an antique 17th century store box.The owner Bastiaan will happily share his knowledge about the city and point out the nice, small museums in the area, the local restaurants, cafes, specialty shops and other unique features of the city so that you can make the most out of your stay in Amsterdam.The apartment are situated on the ground floor (three steps up or down from street level) of the merchant house built in 1614.The rent does include a free taxi pickup from the airport for a hassle free arrival!

More Details

Property Manager
Bas Oele
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, dutch, Bahasa Indonesia
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 7, 2018

About Bas Oele

Apart from being the host of Amsterdam Canal Apartments, I am a medical doctor practicing in Amsterdam. Caring for people in another way.”

I have travelled all over the world and always did prefer to stay in small privately owned places with a personal touch instead of large impersonal hotels. So when I had the opportunity, I decided to offer personal care to guests visiting Amsterdam myself

Bas Oele purchased this apartment in 1980

Why Bas Oele chose Grachtengordel

The canal view apartment was the first one to open on Raamgracht 23 back in 1993. I created the one bedroom apartment in 2005 after extensive restoration and renovation of the 17th century canal house.

The original 17th century merchant canal house has a traditional architectural structure with a front- and back part of the house. (like Anne Franks House).

The apartments are in the most original part of the house. Unlike them, the floors where I live have been changed in the 19th century.

The canal view apartment on the ground floor was the most public space of this merchant house. In the early 20th century there was a coal shop on this floor and the boats in the canal, loaded with charcoal, did belong to the owner of the house.

In the 17th century the kitchen was located In the one bedroom apartment, where the maids prepared dinner for the owner, who lived on the floors where I live now!

All the ceilings and beams in the apartments are still original, dating back from the 17th century. The front windows and doors of the two Canal Apartments have been carefully restored in 2005 according to 17th century paintings as they had been lost in the second world war. (The house is in the middle of the old Jewish quarter of Amsterdam and the ghetto in World War Two

What makes this apartment unique

Be in the centre of it all! Walk everywhere! In the middle of it all but still quiet!


Grachtengordel Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 484 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • swimming


4.2/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
0% Complete
40% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Amsterdam Canal Apartments: Comfortable and central stay in the canal area
average rating of 4.2 based on 5 reviews

Convenient location, well appointed apartment, rude owner

  • 3 of 5

Very convenient location. The apartment is clean. Bathroom in a bit awkward location to use if the person(s) in the bedroom are sleeping or getting ready as the shower and toilet are exposed in that area. I have an email where I told the owner I would arrive between 3 and 4. We arrived at 3:20 in extremely cold weather and no one was there. When I called the owner, instead of just owning up to a possibly legitimate reason why no one was there yet, he very rudely said it was because I was early. I was quite irritated with that answer as I was standing freezing on the street. A week ahead of time I also e mailed the owner to let him know we were not yet sure of our plans on arrival day and received a very curt email telling me it was not a hotel and I needed to give a time. I of course knew it was not a hotel since i rented through VRBO. I was just trying to be polite and let him know we did not as of yet know travel plans. Apparently, the man does not recognize politeness. The home caretaker, Wilson, was very kind and accommodating when he arrived and was very concerned with all of our needs. He certainly did make up for the rudeness of his boss and could not have been nicer. I would not stay there again as there are many other properties near this location at a similar price point and I have no tolerance for rudeness when I am paying for something. It is regrettable as this otherwise was a decent place to stay.

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your positive review of our apartments and of Wilson. Once again i do apologize about the less lucky checkin. At least we did manage to get you in within one hour. Also happy that Wilson did make up for this inconvenience. Hope you still keep good memories Bastiaan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Our unit had all we needed for a nice stay

  • 5 of 5

The unit is located just outside of the red Light District, yet far enough away to avoid all of the foot traffic.

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us! Hope you keep good memories indeed! Bastiaan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very happy stay

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful appartment very central location the owner was very helpful and welcoming. Appartment was very harm and cosy home from home

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying with us and hope to see you again! Bastiaan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Overall it was ok

  • 3 of 5

The location is good. 10 minutes walking from dam sq. 20 minutes from leidsplein sq. We didn't get the apartment we were told (the canal view) we'll get. It was suffocated because it was a basement. The door is locked on the outside so be aware that the owner will be very angry if you forget the key. The bad was very comfortable. Overall, the place was ok.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Galya Thanks for staying with us and that your stay was ok. I am sorry bout the confusion which apartment you got. I will communicate this more clear with future guests. I noticed you did keep all windows totally closed all the time during your stay, also while showering, which may have added to your term * suffocated* I never got a review like that before. I do find your expressions quit rude as was the case during your stay. Then about loosing the keys It is true that after loosing your keys for the third time in three days I was not very friendly, waking up at 1 am from a deep sleep. So also from my part your stay was not a total succes. I am glad you did enjoy your stay. Best wishes Bas
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fabulous location and beautiful apartment

  • 5 of 5

Perfect place to stay, on a small canal, central but quiet. The bed was very comfortable and the apartment beautifully furnished. The kitchen was well set up with everything we needed to cook, including sharp knives. And there was a whole box full of local information with Lonely Planet Guide, maps etc, which came in very handy. The host communicated well and was very helpful. We were very fortunate to have found this place and would love to come back!

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you do much to stay with us. It was a pleasure to host you. Bas and Wilson.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Nearest Airport
4 Kilometres
Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
De Doelen
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Nearest Train
500 Metres
Amsterdam Central Station
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Nearest Beach
20 Kilometres
Car: not necessary

In the centre of it all! Close to Hermitage museum and Dam.




Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.