check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Deb Rogers

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Located In The Heart Of Acadia National Park

7 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Bar Harbor Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5 to 6, 2 Baths, Large Deck/Porch, Mountain View

The Red House is a restored old Maine cottage located in the heart of Acadia National Park and less than 3 miles from the quaint village of Bar Harbor.

Our family purchased this property while vacationing at Acadia National Park. We fell in love with the area, the location of this property and the home itself. It is near two different park loop entrances, where you can hike, climb mountains, enjoy the Sand Beach, visit Jordan Pond or sit on the rocky outcroppings, enjoy the crashing surf, and ponder. We also love going to Bar Harbor and browsing through all the quaint little shops (there is something for everyone) as well as eating at the varied restaurants. The cottage is roomy, but cozy at the same time, and the back deck/porch have an amazing view of Gorham Mountain. We can't decide if the sunrise behind the mountain or the illuminated mountain face at sunset is more amazing. Did we mention the dazzling array of stars to be seen while sitting on the back deck at night? We invite you to enjoy our home and the area!

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Deb Rogers (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Deb Rogers

We are a family of four and our vacations are precious to us! A time to bond and get things back into perspective. We feel Acadia is a fantastic place to do this. The natural beauty here is breathtaking! We hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

Deb Rogers purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Deb Rogers chose Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island

We chose this area because Acadia National Park is truly magnificent. We picked this particular property because of its great location and its charm. We wanted privacy and convenience at the same time. Access to Acadia National Park is just down the road and Bar Harbor is just 3 miles from the house. What more could we want?

What makes this cottage unique

We love the cozy yet open feel of the house. There is a large deck off the back of the house and about half of it is covered so you can sit and enjoy the mountain view, wildlife and/or stars rain or shine. This may seem like an odd thing to add but the washer and dryer are a BIG plus. We have stayed at other rental homes without these and spend considerable amounts of time (and money) at laundromats.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our week in Acadia was perfect! The house is quaint and very comfortable and in a prime location, within minutes we could be hiking in Acadia or shopping in town. We enjoyed the company of deer in the backyard. It has been a peaceful and enjoyable week.
Jul 2009
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

5
based on 7 traveler reviews

Located In The Heart Of Acadia National Park
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
Sayville, NY, USA
5

Great location and charming cottage vibe

  • 5 of 5

We have been vacationing in the area for over a decade and tried the Red House this year due to its proximity to the park and Bar Harbor. We were not disappointed. The house's location allowed us to hike, stop back home and eat, and then get easily back into the park or town. Everything was clean and all the appliances worked without a hitch. Having two bathrooms was a huge plus for our family. My sons enjoyed running around the backyard and I enjoyed the lovely back deck. Our landlords were responsive every step of the way. I appreciated the welcome letter, blueberry jam, as well the informational binder about the house. Not all landlords take such care. We hope to return next year!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kris for taking the time to leave a review! We feel very strongly that every vacation should be special and we are very happy that we helped make that happen for you and your family!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Indiana
5

Great base for a Acadia vacation

  • 5 of 5

We had a great vacation while staying at the Red House. It made for a very comfortable base as we explored Acadia and Bar Harbor. We were there over a holiday and really enjoyed not staying right in town. Red House was a perfect distance out of town for us personally. Easy access to park and town but nice and quiet. The house was very nicely equipped. There wasn't anything we needed that was not supplied--unusual in a vacation rental. Owners were very timely in responses etc. I would stay there again if we go back in the future. If you like to hike--Acadia is wonderful!! We had been hiking in the West and this was a nice change.

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We feel strongly that vacations should be special and we try very hard on our end to provide you with that experience. We are delighted that you had a great vacation!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Peapack, NJ
5

Wonderful!!!

  • 5 of 5

Great place! We have been renting this house for several years and always love it! The owners are very nice, house always clean and well equipped. This house is close to all the fun activities in Bar Harbor and Acadia National park. We come with 2 adults and 2 children. My family highly recommends staying at the Red House!

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We really appreciate that you took the time to leave a review - thank you! We are also glad you enjoy the Red House and the area enough to come back every year for your family vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Palos Hills, IL, USA
5

Great Stay!!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our time at Red House! We definitely recommend you stay here. We came with 4 adults and 1 child. The house is located right at the edge of Acadia, the main reason for our visit. (The picture of the mountain from the back porch isn't actually visible anymore, as the trees are too tall and very leafy, which was a bummer, but we spent a lot of time in the actual park.) Honestly though, the pictures are great but don't do the property or house justice! :)

The house is very well equipped, including toys which our 1 year old thoroughly enjoyed. We cooked at home nearly every day and made great use of the gas grill on the back porch. Hannaford's grocery store was a great shopping resource in town.

Bob and Deb were very friendly and accommodating! They left lots of great resources for us to leaf through to help us plan the events of our visit. Bar Harbor itself is very charming, and we spent a few days walking the shops and strolling along the bridge to Bar Island.

Thanks for a pleasant stay! We will definitely consider staying here again, or checking out their other two properties on the island!

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed the Red House and Acadia! We also appreciate that you took the time to leave a review! We hadn't noticed the trees were starting to obstruct the back mountain view and will address this in the near future. Hopefully you still enjoyed the other mountain view out the side windows.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sheffield, PA
5

Perfect location to visit Acadia NP!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 stayed at The Red House a few weeks ago. We had a great experience and would definitely recommend staying there. You have easy access to the park loop road and Bar Harbor without being right in town. The house has everything you need so you can move right in. I would definitely stay again. The owners were great to work with.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you had a wonderful vacation and found the house and it's location ideal. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Peapack, NJ
5

Great place!!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at The Red House this summer for the second time. It was wonderful! This is a great place, well maintained, clean. The owners take good care of it! We are a family of four and the size is perfect for us! It is so close to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. So much to do and such a great place for a retreat! We will definitely be Staying at The Red House again!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
16.5 Miles
Bar Harbor Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
In Bar Harbor
Nearest Ferry
4.3 Miles
Bar Harbor
Nearest Golf
4.8 Miles
Kebo Valley Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
In Bar Harbor
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Acadia National Park - Sand Beach
Car: recommended

In the quaint village of Bar Harbor - shopping, eating, movie theater, boat tours, golf, etc. In Acadia National Park - swimming, hiking, mountain climbing, bicycling, kayaking, canoeing, horseback riding, carriage riding, popover eating, exploring, and relaxing. In Otter Creek - lobster picnic at local market. You can also fish and check out the many villages and harbors that Mount Desert Island (MDI) has to offer.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bar Harbor Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
September & October
Aug 27 2016 - Oct 31 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,398
 
 
May & June
May 6 2017 - Jun 23 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,398
 
 
July & August
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 1 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,698
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,398
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 9.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bar Harbor Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Located upstairs
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Located downstairs, skylight
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Located upstairs
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Located upstairs
  • There is a futon in the living room that could accommodate a sixth person.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Partner Offers