check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Barbara Lawrence

Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

Lake Front Cottage Facing Acadia National Park

31 Reviews
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Mount Desert House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7)

Located on the 'quiet side' of Mount Desert Island, this cottage offers proximity to all the other attractions of the island and Acadia National Park. The cottage shares 7.4 acres and 800 plus or minus feet of shore front on Hodgdon Pond with a second cottage. The opposite shore of the lake is owned and protected by the National Park. Wildlife is abundant and guests frequently see osprey, Bald eagles, kingfisher and many other birds as well as deer, beaver, muskrat, and sometimes otter and moose.

The cottage has its own dock, canoe, two kayaks and a rowboat. Swimming is particularly good from the rocks on the opposite shore, and from a swim float in the lake. Cottage has its own grill, picnic table and outdoor furniture as well as a hammock overlooking the lake, Satellite TV and Internet

There are also two small ponds, a sitting area, swing set and sandbox on the property.

Wherever possible, we use 'Green' cleaning products, provide supplies made from recycled paper, low-watt bulbs, and implement other ways to reduce our impact on the environment. The Maine Department of Environmental Protection has certified Hodgdon Pond Farm as an 'Environmental Leader.'

Keywords: Lake Front Cottage

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Barbara Lawrence (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

About Barbara Lawrence

I'm a summer kid who fell in love with Mount Desert Island and lived there year-round for 15 years. After many years and many travels, I still think of it as home. My first novel and sixth book, 'Islands of Time,' is set on Mount Desert Island. Linda Greenlaw, NYT best-selling author said, 'I really like it. It's a love-song to the people and landscape of Maine.' The sequel "Ben's Story" will be available in fall of 2016.

Barbara Lawrence purchased this house in 1982

Why Barbara Lawrence chose Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island

I was attracted to this property, formerly a hunting and fishing camp, because the ad boasted abundant wildlife. When I first saw Hodgdon Pond Farm, I realized proximity to Acadia National Park gave it enduring protection and privacy, and yet it was convenient to everything else on the island.

What makes this house unique

I love reading in the hammock beside the lake, and listening to the sounds of the birds and animals - the trill of tree frogs, keening of loons, and the querulous calls of osprey that always sound as if they are trying to get children off to school. Sometimes I hear a beaver slap the water with its tail, and sometimes ravens loudly scolding an eagle. The bullfrogs, Kingfisher, and warblers add to this ever changing, ever fascinating serenade. I also love sitting in one of the Adirondack chairs near the Little Ponds. The last time I was there I watched a mother duck and four very small duckings paddling to the bridge with the beaver dam. When they got very close a mink lunged out from under the bridge - but missed them all. Another time I was weeding the garden between the ponds when an otter stood up about ten feet from me, clutching a frog in its paws, which it then crunched as it rested in the culvert. These experiences carry me through a long winter!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Rob and I first found out about HPF through friends who invited us to stay one night while we were camping at Seawall Campground, which is part of Acadia National Park. It was a rainy day and when we had the comfort of a roof and warm shower, our camping days were dwindling. The following year the same friends found they couldn't take the cabin. We asked if we could take their place and we haven't missed a year. Our children weren't born yet, but a year or two later (Matt now 22) was born and we'd put him in a backpack carrier and hike throughout the park. Four years later Kelsey was born (now 18) and she took her first canoe ride at 4 months. Matt became an expert frog catcher at the little pond and played on the jungle gym provided. As the years quickly passed, the kids became expert swimmers and would swim to the middle of the pond top the floating dock. Having kayaks provided hours of entertainments as they took nets to catch turtles, frogs, etc. and bring them back fro Rob to photograph and eventually create numerous paintings from these excursions. We have our favorite haunts throughout Mt. Desert and have enjoyed many a lobster on the island, some of which we cooked in the cabin or enjoyed at Thurston's. To be honest we have lost track of how many years we have been at Hodgdon Pond Farm, but all we know is that we have created a lifetime of memories.
Jun 2010
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

5
based on 31 traveler reviews

Lake Front Cottage Facing Acadia National Park
average rating of 4.967742 based on 33 reviews
Pocono Mountains
5

Wouldn't Stay Anywhere Else

  • 5 of 5

We always look for privacy and quiet when we book vacation rentals, and this one certainly fits the bill. Add charming and beautiful, with unobstructed views of a private lake and the woods of Acadia, and we found the perfect place. An easy and scenery-filled ride to Bar Harbor, Southwest Harbor and Northeast Harbor and to all sections of Acadia, we enjoyed every minute of our week long stay. The owner was helpful and quick to respond to any questions we had. Book it now.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We loved having you stay with us and hope you come back soon! Your enthusiasm for Mt. Desert Island, Acadia National Park, and Hodgdon Pond Farm make me really happy because they are the places I love most dearly. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent Private Setting on the Quietside of Mt. Desert Island.

  • 5 of 5

My family of four (including 2 almost 8 year-old boys) loved this home away from home. Very well maintained cottage with everything you need. Great selection of boats on the private dock, and truly a quiet setting with lots of privacy. Often we were the only ones on the pond, with about 10 homes lining one side of the pond. The other side is Acadia park land (no development). You look out to pure nature from the property, and have a great view even from inside the cottage. Our kids delighted in learning how to kayak on easy water, and we loved swimming off the float. We prefer the Quietside of MDI. Less traffic, even during this busy time of year, and you get to feel like a local after a few days of going into Southwest Harbor which is just 20 minutes away. Very short drive to some of the sights and great hikes. We will likely come back again, and have been spoiled by everything this cottage offers. Thank you!!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this wonderful comment. You've touched on everything we love about Hodgdon Pond Farm, and why we love to share it with people who appreciate being there. We hope you come back very soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pittsburgh, PA
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for a wonderful week of beauty and quiet! had a great time in the pond canoeing and kayaking, The girls loved the paddle board! The waterfall across the pond was awesome! We also enjoyed exploring Acadia National Park every day. The cottage was perfect and fit our needs! Thank you.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely cottage by the water

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful cottage on the water. Had a wonderful time with my family. We enjoyed canoeing and kayaking on the pond, loved the nearby hiking and restaurants. Just fabulous! We hope to return.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! It always makes us really happy to hear that families have enjoyed staying at Hodgdon Pond Farm. We hope you come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful week at Hodgdon Pond Farm

  • 5 of 5

What an amazing week! Your beautiful cottage was perfect for our family of 5, and I think we used everything here! Canoe, kayaks, and paddle board were a huge hit - we were out on the pond several times every day - the hammock was delightful, we grilled out and ate on the picnic table, we tried our hardest to catch frogs in the little ponds, we played on the playground and we climbed trees and wandered down to the cemetery to remember those who came before and talk about what life was like long ago. Oh - and the games and books! Those were such a great addition. (Loved the "Growing up in Maine" stories - highly recommended). MDI is gorgeous, the pond is almost ridiculously perfect - it was just a fantastic vacation. Barbara - thank you for sharing your beautiful space!

From Grace (age 11): We saw: an eagle, an otter, many frogs, 3 snakes, 4 turtles in the big pond, and 1 in the small ponds, red, blue, yellow and white dragonflies, tadpoles, a dam but no beaver, osprey and the porcupine. We also saw a porpoise and seal in the ocean.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! It makes me very happy to learn that you enjoyed so many things about Acadia and Hodgdon Pond. Congratulations to a very observant young naturalist for sighting so many birds and animals. I'm glad there are no poisonous snakes in Maine, and envious that you saw a porcupine. I haven't seen one for a few years, but once enjoyed watching a baby porcupine and its mother waddling down the driveway. Please come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Hartford, Connecticut
5

Hodgdon Pond Farm in Seal Cove, Maine.

  • 5 of 5

It was a week in paradise. The weather was beautiful, the privacy undisturbed. The calm waters of the pond were so inviting that I swam a couple of times a day. Beautiful scenery, a lot of places to visit on the Mount Desert Island, the land of Acadia national park. Nice local gift galleries and shops. The cottage itself is cozy and comfortable, has everything you need for your getaway in terms of the household items. We loved the wood stove and the grill outside on the patio. I especially loved the hammock for reading my novel, so perfectly positioned to catch the afternoon sun.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely review. The hammock is one of my favorite spots too and I hope you will come back soon to enjoy it again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

All the attractions of Mount Desert Island & Acadia National Park are available. Guests can canoe, kayak, paddle board, fish, & swim on the property, & there is access to hiking trails & biking.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mount Desert House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late fall
Sep 17 2016 - Oct 29 2016
5 night minimum stay
$1,225
 
 
Early Spring
May 6 2017 - Jun 16 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,250
 
 
Late Spring
Jun 17 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,675
 
 
July
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,250
 
 
August
Aug 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,350
 
 
Early Fall
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,675
 
 
Fall, 2017
Sep 10 2017 - Oct 14 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,250
 
 
Late Fall
Oct 15 2017 - Nov 4 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 9.0%

Contrary to the VRBO policy expressed above, we usually break the rent into three payments. The rent covers 6 people and we charge $200.00 for an additional occupant with a maximum of 7. There is a $100 cleaning fee and a cleaning policy that will accompany the lease. We don't usually take rentals of less than a full week because preparing the house is very expensive and time-consuming. Thanks for your understanding.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Mount Desert House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • First floor bath has shower, washer and dryer. 2nd floor bath has full tub and shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King size beds (1) In Master Bedroom., Twin or Single Beds (4) Two twins in each of the first floor bedrooms. Kit and linens to make set in front bedroom into a King bed., Baby Cribs (1) There is a 'Pack N Play in each cottage., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Double size futon bed in loft of Cottage 2. Twin mattress and springs in loft of Cottage 1.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The cottage has its own dock, and there is a float in the lake for use by renters. Hodgdon Pond Farm is an "Environmental Leader" as certified by the Department of Environmental Protection of Maine. We provide "Green" products for cleaning and paper products such as recycled paper towels for renters when they first take occupancy, but ask that they provide their own products for the balance of their stay.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties