check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Sue Ballou

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Spacious comfortable sunny house-private yard, game room-walk to CSU

61 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Prospect/Shields House Rental Photos and Description

3+ bedroom, 3 1/2 bathroom house fully equipped for a night, a week or a month

The Lake Street house is perfect for a couple or 10 people. The house is on a quiet Cul-de-sac within a mile of Colorado State, 3 miles from old town and close to markets, restaurants and bike trails. It has a sunny open floor plan and a private yard. This 3+* bedroom, 3 ½ bath house has a master bedroom with a king memory foam mattress and en suite bath on the main floor with another full bath across the hall. There are two bedrooms downstairs; one with a queen bed and the other with twin beds. There is another full bath downstairs. The office has 2 beds in it. There is a sofa sleeper in the living room and we have an inflatable queen mattress if you need it. And with 3 ½ baths, there’s no waiting.

The kitchen is open and fully outfitted with a gas stove, broiler, side by side refrigerator, oven, dishwasher and microwave. There are good knives, plenty of pots and pans, plates and glassware. We have coffee, spices and basics like oil, sugar and flour to make cooking easy. Eat in the sunny dining room or out on the deck. In the summer, you can pick vegetables from the garden just outside the back door and grill them on the barbeque. Don’t want to cook? We have a menus and recommendations for local restaurants, take out and delivery.

This house is architecturally re-designed to be comfortable for a couple, a family or extended family and friends. We want this to feel like home right away whether you’re staying for a night, a week or a couple of months. The large Living Room with a gas fireplace is open to the Dining Room with floor to ceiling greenhouse windows and plenty of plants. The main floor has an office. There is WiFi throughout the house. There’s a sitting room upstairs and a game room downstairs with air hockey and Foosball tables so there are plenty of places to hang out with others or be by yourself. It’s a great house for reunions, graduation parties, dinner parties and just hanging out. This is a ranch house with an accessible main floor which includes the washer and dryer. We have 5 bikes in the garage you can use to explore.

After a long day working, hiking, rafting or sightseeing, come home to relax and re-charge. We love art and books and have an eclectic collection of both throughout the house for you to enjoy. Have a barbeque on the spacious deck or sit in front of a cozy fire. Read a book or play in the game room. Walk to Moby Gym to see a volleyball or basketball game. And, if you need anything, we’re right next door.

*Office has 2 twin beds but no closet, so it is acts as a 4th bedroom but isn't officially a bedroom.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Sue Ballou (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Sue Ballou

Sue and Whitney moved to Fort Collins 30 years ago and raised their children here. Whitney works at CSU and Sue for the City, so we know a lot of what's going on around town. We chose this location because it was close to everything but gave us a little space and privacy.

Sue Ballou purchased this house in 2010

Why Sue Ballou chose Fort Collins

In 2003, Sue's parents bought this house to live next to us. Sue's father was an architect and he re-designed the house to make a really comfortable and elegant space. When they moved into assisted living, Sue and Whitney bought it. It was so well set up, they thought it would be great to rent it that way.

What makes this house unique

The open floor plan and big windows bring the outdoors in. With the sun streaming across the rooms, it's hard not to think that the world is full of possibilities. This is a lovely place to have a dinner party or a garden party.

Reviews

4.9
based on 61 traveler reviews

Spacious comfortable sunny house-private yard, game room-walk to CSU
average rating of 4.9016395 based on 61 reviews
5

Perfect House for 2 families with kids

  • 5 of 5

We were 4 adults in town on a business trip that choose to stay here instead of 4 hotel rooms. It was perfect! But I'm guessing this house is perfectly suited for 2 families each with 2 kids. There is a game room, a nice kitchen, a huge backyard and Sue stopped by to make sure the heat was working. I'll look to stay here again in in the future when I visit FoCo.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic place for 5 kids under 12 years old with lots of games inside and out and room to play

  • 5 of 5

Our 5 kids loved playing air hockey, foosball, bad mitten, board games, building blocks, plastic spiders, and riding your bikes. They especially loved picking vegetables out of the garden. It's never been easier to get them to eat their vegetables. On the way home they kept asking to go back next week. There was plenty of room for all nine of us plenty of beds and extra bedding and cribs. The backyard was fantastic with games for the kids to play in the shed. They really loved all the bikes they could ride that were provided in the garage. We have told everyone that this is the place to stay in Fort Collins. It was very clean, everything was well labeled and easy to find, some good food was left for us to eat, and the brochure listing restaurants, fun things for kids, and places to see was extremely helpful. Thanks so much.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very clean and spacious. The owners were very kind and helpful.

  • 5 of 5

A great place to stay! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. It was so nice having a large backyard and a great park just over the fence in the backyard. The owners were respectful, polite, and considerate. Couldn't ask for a better VRBO experience.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely home away from home

  • 5 of 5

The property owners are warm and welcoming. When Sue learned that our home in Louisiana had flooded she insisted on returning our recent payment. I was truly overwhelmed by her kindness. The house is well equipped and has plenty of beds and furnishings. It is exactly as pictured. We will be staying here often when we go to CSU to visit our granddaughter!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad we could be a comfortable place for you to start to recover from your tragedy. Being a home away from home is our goal.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantasic home and setup

  • 5 of 5

Sue was great to worth with and the house met all expectations and than some. The home was clean and everything labeled for convenience (which light switches are what, which drawer had towels or sponges, etc) and the location made getting around very easy. Ended up spending more time than expected at the house during our stay and enjoyed all the creature comforts of a real home.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for us!

  • 5 of 5

The home was welcoming and the most prepared and accommodating I have stayed in. Everything was well labeled and clean. While the home is older, it is well kept and the set up is perfect for a large family! Everything you could think of is available at your arrival. I loved that it was in a cul-de-sac and provided bikes and helmets for all ages. They even had a stroller, pack and play and a crib! We loved it and hope to rent again the next time we are Ft. Collins.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
54 Miles
DIA (Denver International Airport)
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
CB Potts
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
City Park 9
Nearest Train
63 Miles
Union Station
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
I-25
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
CB Potts
Nearest Ski
75 Miles
Eldora Ski Resort
Car: recommended

The Lake Street House is within a mile of Colorado State University. Fort Collins is known for it's great micro-breweries. There are also many great restaurants of all kinds close by. The Fort Collins Museum of Discovery recently opened and is the first science and history museum in the world. It's a great place to explore for both adults and children. There's a wonderful bike trail system around the city and beyond, passing through great natural areas. And, of course the mountains are just minutes away with wonderful hiking, skiing, mountain biking and rafting.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Prospect/Shields House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$210
$1,260
$4,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $90
Tax Rate 10.4%

We may be able to accommodate 10 guests for an additional fee. Please contact the owner to learn more.
Monthly rates may be lower off season.
Cancellation Policy: Bookings cancelled at least 30 days before the start of stay will receive 100% refund,
50% refund up until 2 weeks before stay. No refund after that.
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed and contract is signed and received by homeowner.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Prospect/Shields House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , en-suite with Master Bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
  • 3.5
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , en-suite bathroom and walk-in closet
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , office - doesn't have a closet
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 7 bicycles
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Indoor plants, vegetable and flower gardens.

Partner Offers