Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Elegant townhome w/ shared pools, hot tub & gorgeous lake views!

Bedrooms 3
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights


Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Let you and your five guests experience a truly thespian escape at the Hemingway House. Perfect for up to six guests, this three bedroom Tahoe City vacation rental will charm old and young with amenities like plushly stuffed furniture, woodland artwork, wet bar, and elegant decor and grand piano!

Located in the prestigious Rocky Ridge complex, guests will have access to pools (Summer, Christmas and New Years only), tennis courts, hot tubs and a lakefront beach club! Situated amongst the pines this home features truly panoramic lake view from the ridge, an end-to-end look at majestic Lake Tahoe and her mountain range.

The upper floor living area features vaulted ceilings, a wood fireplace, six person dining table, and plush seating and porches on both sides. Cable TV and DVD player are available to entertain. The open concept kitchen allows the cook to be part of the action, while making dinner look easy with full amenities and cooking supplies!

The first bedroom is on the upper level, with a queen bed, cable TV and a full bathroom. Downstairs you'll find the master suite with a queen bed, sofa, cable TV and the crowd pleasing grand piano! The third bedroom is located just down the hall, with great views of the outdoors and a queen bed it can't be beat. A second full bathroom is located in the downstairs portion between the two bedrooms.

In the summer, venture down to the private Rocky Ridge Beach Club to admire the view from this rocky shoreline. And everything Tahoe City has to offer is less than a mile away: dining, shopping, rafting, movie theater, biking, farmer's market, movies and concerts on the beach, and nightlife.

"Never go on trips with anyone you do not love" - Ernest Hemingway

A perfect and peaceful retreat for close friends, family or travelers, this Tahoe home welcomes you all with nostalgic comfort, a panoramic location and artistic undertones.

More Details

Property Manager
Vacasa, CA - Lake Tahoe
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
February 22, 2017

About Vacasa, CA - Lake Tahoe

Thanks for considering a Vacasa home! We provide full-service management for privately owned vacation homes, and like to think that we offer our guests the best of both worlds: the unique experience of staying in a one-of-a-kind vacation home, with the peace of mind that comes from knowing that the home you book for your special vacation is cared for by professional housekeepers and property managers.



Vacasa began in 2009, simply because our founder and CEO Eric wanted to find a better way to share his wife’s family’s summer home in Long Beach, Washington with guests as a vacation rental. Eric and his early team worked to build Vacasa on the premise that local employees can do what they love most (taking care of guests, homeowners, and properties), while the hands-off tasks of vacation rental management—things like marketing, filing taxes, and maintaining a website—could be handled by a specialized central support team.



Our passion is connecting travelers with the unique experience of staying in a vacation home, and we would be honored to be your host. Please contact us with any questions about this home—our team is standing by!


Tahoe City Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Sauna
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • tennis


Very Good! 4/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

Elegant townhome w/ shared pools, hot tub & gorgeous lake views!
average rating of 3.95 based on 20 reviews

Not impressed

  • 3 of 5

We have no Wi-Fi for the entire period of staying. There are only 2 garbage bags and 1 paper towel for 4 days.

  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: Vacasa
Owner's Response: The Property Manager has updated the network and password in the guest information so guests can access WiFi during their stay. We will follow-up with housekeeping regarding properly stocking the home; please keep in mind that we only provide a starting amount of materials provided.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The complex was very nice, but this unit was below average

  • 2 of 5

We really liked the complex. Great views of the Lake and Mountains. The pools were very nice and the larger pool has a great view. We would definitely stay in this complex again.

That said, the unit was well below average. Very outdated. The washer/dryer was from the 1940s, but at least it worked. During breakfast on day 2, I spotted a mouse in the disposal part of the sink. I was able to flush it out and capture him to release him outside, but not the lasting memory of the vacation we were looking for. We came home from the beach on day 3 and there were painters and carpenters working on the outside of the deck/unit. I understand repairs are necessary, but the house wasn't booked the week before or after and there was zero communication to us about it. Just awkward and unnecessary. Several outlets in the kitchen didn't work. It said there was a microwave, but there wasn't. It was broken and sitting in a closet. There were no kitchen towels or tupperware for storage. I had to hook up the cable and DVD player myself, none of it was ready to go. In one bedroom, the TV cord wouldn't even reach an outlet from the built-in it was in. No oscillating fans or ceiling fans in the place. Just one thing after another. In summary, would stay at a different place in this complex, but not this particular one again. Disappointing.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location

  • 5 of 5

Great location

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location... although the property needs some maintenance. Wallpaper bubbling, stained carp...

  • 4 of 5

Great location... although the property needs some maintenance. Wallpaper bubbling, stained carpets, etc. Deck and deck furniture was filthy so we couldn't even sit outside. Location was fantastic, the community seemed wonderful... lots of happy folks everywhere.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Bare bones

  • 3 of 5

We had a great stay in Tahoe. The condo is perched up on a mountain and the views from the grounds are beautiful. The grounds are meticulous. Neighbor's quiet. The condo itself is a bit outdated. The house was clean, but the furniture, flooring and bedding are all old. The layout of the house was nice for our family and there was plenty of room for everyone to do their own thing. There was also a washer and dryer which was very nice. My one major complaint is that there does seem to be a rodent problem. I noticed the Decon rat poisoning sitting between refrigerator and kitchen cabinet when I arrived. The next morning there were rodent droppings (a lot) on top of the kitchen counters. This was very unsettling and as a result we did not cook or eat at the house. This resulted in our family spending a significant amount of money dining out much more than we had planned. If we hadn't experienced the rodent issue I'd say the value for the $$ was about right for Tahoe accommodations. Perhaps a little high.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacasa
Owner's Response: We apologize that this stay was not more pleasant due to rodents; the Property Manager is getting the situation under control.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Outdated, yet fair value for the money

  • 4 of 5

The interior is pretty outdated. No overhead lighting in the rooms, which made it sort of dark during the dinner and table games. However, beds were comfortable, all important things were in place (towels, plates, cooking pans, etc.).

Pool was nice as well with the great lake view.

Probably, next time will try another unit, but , overall, the good value for the money.

Thank you.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability


  • Major Credit Cards Accepted. Taxes and fees are not included. Rates and availability calendars may change until time of booking.
  • .
  • usd
  • .
Enter dates for accurate pricing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties