check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Chelsea

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english

Puako Beach... Big Island, Hawaii!

33 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

Waimea Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 1-2)

License #14367

Our comfortable, Hawaiian-style apartment is across the street from the tide pools and ocean access in the quiet community of Puako. Over the years, we have collected surfboards and other bits of old Hawaii to add charm and privacy to this cozy little place.

The apartment includes a fully stocked kitchen with comfortable seating and everything you need to prepare a lovely dinner for two. The bedroom has queen-size bed and quality linens. The bathroom is large, but incase you feel like more room or a bit of romance, there is also an outside shower enclosed by tropical plants and flowers.

This is very comfortable and affordable for one to two people.

This apartment is garden level. For your information there is an apartment above that is also on vrbo.

Keywords: Apartment

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Chelsea (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english

About Chelsea

After traveling and living in different parts of Hawaii, Colorado and California we found this beautiful place to be the best suited for our quiet lifestyle. My husband and I raised our family on this lovely property.

Why Chelsea chose Kohala Coast

You should chose to stay with us because of the convenient location to the peaceful ocean, bustling options of the nearby resorts, and quiet relaxing seclusion of Puako itself.

What makes this apartment unique

The Puako reef is one of the most sought after diving locations in Hawaii. The features of the South Kolaha coast keep the reefs free of debris and cloudy sand. This means great diving and snorkeling. There are amazing coral structures just past the safety of the tide pools.

If the deeper water expiration isn't your thing, Puako beach is protected by a barrier of smooth lava rocks that create a calm and gentle place to float and relax in the gentle warm water. There are lovely creatures to keep you occupied in finding all day in the nooks and crannies of the rocks.

Guestbook comments from the owner

positive



This was a perfect place for us, with the feeling of being in

a lovely quiet neighbourhood rather than a busy resort, surrounded by birds

and flowering plants and trees. Snorkling as good as anywhere right across

the street, and there is enough snorkling gear here for two people. Friendly

neighbourhood grocery store just down the road, good restaurants just a few

miles away. Beaches are also close and easily accessed....and gorgeous!! Bud

and Peg are wonderful hosts, allowing us privacy, but always happy to

suggest places to go and things to see! And with the world being in such

turmoil at this time, we have attached ourselves to a bit of wisdom offered by

Bud......when things seem bad, just keep surfing!!!!!!

Thanks again.....I am sure we will be back!
Feb 2009
  • 1 of 5

Reviews

5
based on 33 traveler reviews

Puako Beach... Big Island, Hawaii!
average rating of 4.969697 based on 38 reviews
5

Our special paradise.

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely love this place! In 2009 we were lucky enough to rent this little apartment from Bud and Peg. We stayed one week and enjoyed every minute of it. We have been coming every year since then to stay longer and longer. In fact, next year we will be staying 7 weeks. That pretty much says it all. It's clean, comfortable, and has everything you need to make beautiful Hawaiian memories. Bud and Peg are great hosts and have become great friends. We are so thankful to have found this little piece of paradise.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful base to explore the northwest coast of the Big Island

  • 5 of 5

The Puako area is very special, has some of the best resorts because it has some of the best beaches, and you can easily get to them all from this great apartment! There's a small beach across the street, but some of the best resort beaches are a 20 minute walk down a trail along the water. Others are a short drive to get some variety.

Peg and Bud are wonderful hosts, and they have provided plenty of written information and books in the apartment that give the inside information on the best things to see and do in the area. The upstairs apartment is light and sunny, with all that you need in the kitchen, a great screened in reading/sitting area, and spacious living room and bedroom. Outside there's a gas grill that we used every night to barbecue fish from the local markets. We loved the outdoor shower for getting off the salt and sand before going into the apartment. We used the blender to make great drinks from the fruits we got at the farmers' markets. You're in a neighborhood so there's a bit of noise in the morning when the neighbors head off to work, but in general this location is off the beaten path and very quiet.

There's a small general store 5 minutes away, and a large grocery story about 15 minutes away. We hit many of the farmer's markets, particularly up in Waimea which is only about a 20 min. drive. There's a great fish market and trailer serving fresh fish lunches about 10 min. away. There are beach bikes, chairs, boogie boards, towels etc. to use during your stay so all you have to do is show up!

We also loved their cat, whom we fed when Peg and Bud had to leave for a few days.

From here we went on for about a week to see the volcano erupt and checked out the beaches, etc. around Kona and south. But Puako was by far the most restful, fun place to be, and this apartment couldn't have been a better place to stay.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful hidden gem in Puako!

  • 5 of 5

Our two weeks in this 1-bedroom, 1-bath efficiency was fabulous! With all the amenities we look for in all our accommodations in Hawaii, within walking distance to awesome snorkeling, outdoor grilling, relaxing lanai (porch), quiet and comfortable surroundings, near farmers markets, washer and dryer and around $100/night....this rental checked all those boxes and more.

The more was our fabulous hosts, Peg and Bud. A wealth of information, they provided many experiences (from where to snorkel to the best local restaurants) we would not have had, if we hadn't stayed in their rental. Sharing all their water toys, bicycles, outdoor shower, beach gear, chairs, coolers and much more they added so much value to our two weeks, we were ready to cancel our next rental in Kona so we could stay there, but alas, our final day arrived and we, unfortunately, had to leave. We shall be back!

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing Location/People and Best Coral Reef!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here with a friend for almost a week, and at first was not sure where it was that we were driving to in the dark. When we arrived, the air was rich with the scent of flowers, and we opened the door to a week of bliss. Be warned - this is not in the middle of tourist central, and there are no major grocery stores nearby. Instead, there is a small general store that pipes in the hydrophoned calls of whales from the offshore harbour. There is the shallow reef, home to the resident turtles just across the street. And Bud - the penultimate host, and his pooch Sancho. We were sorry to have missed Peg, but I am sure we will go back to stay with them again. The suite is small, but good. There is an outdoor shower that really makes the night time snorkelling amazing :)

All in all this place is one that I will remember for a long time to come!

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Yakima, WA State
5

Best weather in this area

  • 5 of 5

This apartment is a gem in the best area on the Big Island. There is a reason so many mega resorts are located in this area - Kohala. It averages ten inches of rain a year. Of the six thousand rooms available in the mega resorts one can easily pay twenty seven thousand per week! If you check out this neighborhood you may find homes for sale in the ten million dollar range. This apartment is a very good value. The owners, Peg and Bud, are the most helpful, charming people I've had the honor to meet. They can provide you with lots of local information that will keep you busy. The beach is just across the quite little lane where turtles bask in the sun and swimming and snorkeling in the tidepools is refreshing. The outdoor solar shower is excellent! The nearby mega resorts have excellent restaurants and shopping along with outdoor activities. Local farmers markets have fresh caught fish and local produce - try something you've never eaten before.. Enjoy the weather winter or summer and soak up the Aloha Spirit.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A bit of Heaven at Hale Nalu

  • 5 of 5

We have just enjoyed two wonderful weeks in Peg and Bud's sweet studio, very affordable in lovely Puako. It was everything described and more. Just perfect for us, it was super clean, comfortably furnished and well stocked. More important was the friendly Puako neighborhood setting. We found everything we could possibly desire within a 25 mile radius. We often just stayed "home", soaking up the beautiful local atmosphere. Peg and Bud are most gracious and inspiring hosts. We are enriched having met you. Mahalo nui! The stunning sunsets just across the street, daily snorkeling with many turtles, colorful fish and heathy coral are calling us back. But best of all, we experienced ALOHA in our hearts and plans to return to stay @ Hale Nalu again very soon.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
26 Miles
kona International Airport
Car: necessary

Beach access

Photos

Rates & Availability

Waimea Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$125
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $100
Tax Rate 13.25%

1/2 the total reservation fee is due at the time of booking to secure the reservation. The remaining 1/2 is due 30 days prior to arrival. Cleaning fee is due at the time of checkout.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Waimea Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • roomy and simple with a comfortable shower. There is also a magical outdoor shower surrounded by ginger flowers and orchids. We call it the waterfall.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Small Microwave/Convection Oven, Hair dryer, Shampoo and conditioner, beach chairs and towels Outdoor shower Kayaks are available only with Bud

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties