check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Superbly located 2 bed 2 bath flat at entrance to St Marks Square.

23 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights


San Marco Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Lovely flat with balcony on the Merceria dell' Oralagio sleeps 5

St Mark Residence is a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom comfortable apartment beside the World Famous St Mark's Square.We are on the Merceria dell'Oralagio with a balcony in the heart of Venice.

Recently refurbished, it affords the visitor tranquility in the very centre of this exciting and unique city. Listen to Vivaldi as you sip prosecco on the terrace under the watchful eye of St Mark on the glorious domes of the Basilica and relax at the end of a perfect day of sightseeing and exploring the dazzling array of unique attractions that is magical Venice. Enjoy the orchestras in the St Mark's Piazza at nighttime en route to a romantic stroll along the waterfront and gaze at the Laguna.

The two bathrooms allow two couples to share and a fifth guest can be accommodated behind a screen in the living room. Enjoy the many restaurants and bars in the heart of Venice and if you feel like eating in, the compact kitchen (newly installed in 2012) will allow you serve the lovely local produce found in the local shops and markets. Avail of the balcony and eat outside and watch the gunmetal Moors on the Clock Tower keeping time as they have done for centuries! The Merceria dell'Oralagio, our street is an amazing mixture of designer shops, with eyecatching displays showcasing beautiful Italian crafts like the

locally produce Murano Glass. It is the main entrance to the world renowned St Mark's Square and yet has the advantage of peaceful evenings and the chance to enjoy this World Heritage, Unesco protected site leisurely when all the other tourists have left!

Art classes, Italian classes, cultural tours and sightseeing tours are among the many organised trips you can

avail of in Venice where approximately 20 million visitors come annually to marvel at the magic that is Venice.

You can negotiate La Serenissima yourself using an array of useful guidebooks written by others who have

visited and loved Venice before you. The rail links are very good and you can also explore other beautiful Italian

cities like Verona, Padua, Florence, Rome and many many more from here. Venice however has enough beauty

and wonder to keep the average person exploring them for many years and you will find yourself drawn back to

her again and again.

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Mrs Leonora O'Sullivan
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, french, german
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2016
Call Owner

About Mrs Leonora O'Sullivan

We bought this apartment in 2008 and refurbished it in 2009. Every year since then we have updated or upgraded some aspect of the

apartment. In 2010 we installed a new boiler, in 2012 a new

kitchen and in 2013 WIFI and new airconditioning. We absolutely love spending time here and love the fact that we are

so close to virtually every attraction in Venice. St Mark's Square at nighttime when the main body of tourists have gone home, exhibits a sort of magical surreal quality, its perfect beauty complemented by the various orchestras with musicians from all over the world. I cannot imagine anyone tiring of this unique setting.

Mrs Leonora O'Sullivan purchased this apartment in 2008

Why Mrs Leonora O'Sullivan chose Venice city center

The chance of having an apartment so close to the unique World Heritage, Unesco site of St Mark's Square in Venice was a very

special opportunity for us and very rare (we bought it from an Italian business person who, in turn had received it as a family inheritance). It is also comfortable and pleasant to spend time in.

What makes this apartment unique

Proximity to St Mark's Square and ease of access to all other

Venetian attractions.


based on 23 traveler reviews

Superbly located 2 bed 2 bath flat at entrance to St Marks Square.
average rating of 4.869565 based on 23 reviews

Great Location in Venice

  • 4 of 5

Great location for everything in Venice. We arrived by plane, took the water bus and were met and taken to the appartment. Everything was clean and met our expectations. The patio was an added plus. We had a great stay here.

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Centrally located, responsive host, but definitely had some issues

  • 4 of 5

No question this place is centrally located and quiet. It was also very clean. Note you do have to pay additional for a cleaning fee which does not include taking out your trash. You are expected to take out your own trash and if you are leaving on the weekend, to find some place to deposit it. It seems strange to me that a cleaning service cannot remove a normal amount of trash from the apartment.

Our greeter stayed for about 30 seconds and was in a hurry to go (note you have to pay an additional 100 euro for the greeter). He didn't stay to assist with the wifi or the AC and both turned out to be big issues. We were there in July, which is super hot in Venice and the AC in the main room did not work (it did work in the bedrooms) but one of them made a big buzzing sound ever 30 mins or so, which woke up the kids. Also, the wifi did not work and we were told to "be patient" with it. After waiting a day for it, my husband was able to get it to work but instructions had not been provided. It was very stressful to be in a stifling hot apartment without wifi which I had counted on for running my business while traveling.

The stairs are not a problem if you are reasonably active but note that Venice is very hot in the summer and you will be sweating when you reach the top!

The host was reasonably responsive via email but did not send anyone over to check the AC or wifi. She did refund some of our monies, which we appreciated, but will note that this occurred only after a reminder more than 30 days after we left (in fairness, she stated there had been a family emergency).

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Some of this review is correct and some is not. The rubbish/trash is not difficult - Venice has over 16/20 million visitors/year and in line with European policy, Italy is committed to recycling and our apartment is as stated on the signed contract a self-catering apartment. Both in the apartment and in the building (over 700 hundred years old) everyone is advised of when to recycle the different categories of rubbish each day. We are not an hotel and it is a courtesy to the guests following to respect same. The guests both before and after this reviewer did not have any issue with the WIFI or the airconditioning but I did agree to give a refund in respect of the latter. This complainer knew that my husband was having signt saving surgery during this period and the fact that his recently deceased mother was losing her last struggles with life during the same time meant that I did not respond as quickly as I would normally wish to in refunding a security deposit. However I must mention the fact that this complainer did not honour her committment to pay on time, that only happened just 4 days before her visit following countless emails leaving us and our attentive and well informed agent quite bewildered. I am glad that the reviewer enjoyed Venice and appreciated our central location.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA, USA

Fantastic Location - Great Apartment

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful experience in Venice driven by the convenience and central location of this apartment. Lorena was wonderful to work with and very responsive. While it's a few stairs up, that is so counterbalanced by it accessibility to St. Marks and everything else. Very quiet at night. We would stay here again in a flash. Thank you Lorena!

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ottawa ON

Great location - 50m from St Marks Square

  • 5 of 5

Great apartment for four (two couples or family), Lorena was pleasant, Denis the greeter was efficent. Irene informative. All were very quick to respond to our needs. Had a great stay, walked almost all of Venice for all the sights. Apartment had everything we needed, grocery store was 8 min walk.

  • Submitted: May 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Venice Stay!

  • 5 of 5

The apartment is perfectly located...we could watch the New Years fireworks from the terrace (well above the huge crowd of people we could see on the square below). We did not mind the stairs (exercise was needed after eating at all the great restaurants Leonora suggested). Rooms are well-sized and the bathrooms are modern (plus there are 2 of them!) I highly recommend Leonora's apartment.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent, centrally located holiday apartment.

  • 5 of 5

This flat is spacious and well equiped, with good quality linen , furnture and beds.There is a small but very well equiped kitchen where we prepared breakfast, to eat on the charming roof terrace. Fantastic view of St Marco's roof and clock bell. The flat was spotlessly clean, with super bathrooms. There is no TV, or DVD etc -not necessary, as the flat is so centrally located you will be out exploring beautiful Venice! It is on the fifth floor, with stairs, which we found ok and we are in our 60's. Made us work off all the delicious food we had consumed! Great stay!

  • Submitted: May 27, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: not necessary

Venice, unique City of Water lies in North Eastern Italy. Piazza San Marco a World Heritage Unesco site is less than 30 seconds from our apartment. We are on the Merceria dell'Oralagio We can see the imposing Campanile and the fascinating Torrel del Orologio from our apartment and

enjoy the benign gaze of St Mark on the Byzantium Domes of his Cathedral when we sit on our balcony. We can sometimes hear the orchestras in St Mark's at nighttime and love the fact that we are so central, the beautiful laguna is only the other side of San Marco from us and it is magic to walk there late at night.The

Laguna with all its beauty and mysteries await you and the famous Lido is only a short waterbus (vaporetto) ride away. All the islands of the Laguna are so easily explored and you can get

a vaporetto from within a few minutes of our apartment. We are within walking distance( 5 minutes on foot) of The Rialto famous for its wonderful markets and the majestic Grand Canal.

Other Activities: Guided tours and lectures on Venice and the

surrounding Veneto region. Day trips to Verona, Padua and

and the Brenta Canal. Wine and Language tours and courses. The train station is easily accessible and the train system in Italy is both reasonable and efficient so you can visit a multitude of wonderful cities and sights.


Rates & Availability

San Marco Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Apr 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
Nov 1 2016 - Jan 31 2017
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $217

There is a meet and greet/cleaning charge of 100 euros payable to the agent in Venice. This applies to arrivals up till 20.00, after that a special arrangement and extra charge will apply.Linen and towels are included as well as kitchen equipment and all you need for
dining in.
We accept Paypal

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


San Marco Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 5
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 80 m²
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Both bathrooms are smart modern ones with attractive Italian Mosaic tiling.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • There is one en-suite bedroom with a large double bed and one twin bedded bedroom with a bathroom beside it.The twin bedroom has a full sized pull-out poofletto Both bedrooms have ample storage and access to both bathrooms.
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace
  • 5 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
St Mark residence, a two bedroomed apartment with balcony in the heart of Venice offers you the opportunity to stay in an unbeatable central location adjacent to St Mark's Square.You can enjoy a glass of prosecco on the balcony with St Mark looking down on you from the Basilica The gunmetal men on the Clock Tower will obligingly mark the time for you and at night or early in the morning you can have the Piazza San Marco virtually to yourself. The hustle and bustle of people leaving St Mark's takes place in the busy Mercerie full of designer shops below the apartment yet in the morning all you will hear will be the birds and the chiming of clocks. The warren of streets, canals and vaporetto stops that make up Venice are so easy to navigate when every sign directs you to St Marks, so you will never get lost. Its the perfect place to explore this magical, unique city and we hope that you will enjoy it as much as we do. Smoking on balcony. Children over 9 allowed

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties