check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jan

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Designer lodge near the shores of Loch Rannoch (Perthshire)

14 Reviews
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Pitlochry House Rental Photos and Description

Luxury 4 double bedroom (sleeps 9) set in beautiful highlands scenery

This beautifully designed (split level) self-catering lodge offers unparalleled luxury in the heart of the Scottish highlands. Clachan Talladh has it all for whatever type of holiday you are seeking. The active and adventurous can try mountain climbing, mountain biking and hill walking around the magnificent Schiehallion (Fairy Mountain) and the other famous local Munro's. These guard some of the most beautiful waters in Scotland. Loch Tummel seen from Queen's View and the rugged beauty of Loch Rannoch offer canoing, sailing and fishing. Nature lovers do not have to go far because deer, pheasants, grouse, hare, squirrels and other rare birds and animals are regular visitors to the vicinity. Several golf courses are in the nearby towns of Aberfeldy, Pitlochry and St Fillans. For those who want the flexibility, transport, hire, dining and catering are all available in the local Kinloch Rannoch village. Rannoch Station (West Highland line) is only 5 miles.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Jan (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.8
based on 14 traveler reviews

Designer lodge near the shores of Loch Rannoch (Perthshire)
average rating of 4.785714 based on 14 reviews
5

stunning lodge, spacious and homely

  • 5 of 5

I could not have asked for more. The lodge was beautiful and spacious, a real home away from home. I would definitely go back

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate guests like you. So please come back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Very pleased

  • 4 of 5

Stayed with a few friends for a quiet weekend. The property was absolutely beautiful and out of the way without being completely isolated. It was the perfect area to spend a quiet weekend away in. The description was accurate, the facilities everything you would need for your stay. Our stay was extremely comfortable and the house was clean. It is quite out of the way though, so you'd need a car to get anywhere to eat. We didnt bring a car so I recommend if youre not bringing one you over stock for your stay because it is a while away from activites and the like. Which was perfectly fine for us. The location is beautiful, right next to the loch and its a 20 minute walk to a tiny little beach on the loch which is a lovely place to have a picnic or just sit. I found it great that DVDs and games were provided along with a music system and TV.

I've only given it 4 stars because it could be better if maybe the furnishings were touched up a little.

Overall a very comfortable and pleasant experience and I would very much like to go back at some point.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We are attending to updating the furniture.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5

We just got back from a wonderful stay at Loch Rannoch! Our 4 person group found that house to be incredibly spacious, inviting, and clean and we had an amazing stay! The house was exactly as advertised and dealing with Mohan was an absolute pleasure.

Would absolutely stay again!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Of all the holiday lets in all the world, you took the time to come from the US and grace ours - thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

We highly recommend this lodge which is extremely spacious, bright, warm and comfortable. It was very well equipped with everything we could require. We cooked our meals every day in the lodge and I particularly liked the kitchen area. However stock up on food as the local shop is situated about 12 miles away in Kinloch Rannoch. You will find the lodge at the far end of Loch Rannoch opposite the Bridge of Gaur road which means you can approach the lodge from both sides of the loch offering different perspectives.

We stayed in September when the weather wasn’t great however this did not prevent us from having as smashing time and we also found many things to do locally like watching a shepherd and his dog trying to control sheep in a field behind the Dunalistair hotel and travelling to places of interest such as a visit to Blair Athol castle situated not far from Pitlochry (highly recommended). A profitable day out at the charming Perth racecourse and a train ride from Rannoch station, just up the road, to Fort William where one can catch a steam train trip to Mallaig and back again but you need to book ahead for this.

All in all we enjoyed a fantastic break away and look forward to coming again next year.

Thanks Mohan & Janani

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Bob, We will also have to try some of these things because we have not done them yet either. All the best.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking to get away from it all and be in the middle of nowhere in stunning surroundings, then this is the house for you.

The owner is brilliant to deal with, he replies promptly to any questions you have and is very polite and helpful.

We had a beautiful drive up along the A9 and then along a long B road, my nails were dug into the steering wheel a few times on that road, but wonderful all the same as long as you take your time :).

We had a giggle when we first arrived at the house because we completely missed it at first and drove right passed it, we were concentrating on the AA route finder printout too much. :). Just enjoy the relaxing drive up, the loch is hauntingly beautiful.

We felt a bit like contestants from the crystal maze when we had to collect the keys haha you will know what i mean once you get there.

We walked into a lovely cosy big house with lovely bedrooms a massive livingroom and great big kitchen, the silence outside was wonderful, i had a great time just walking outside in my jimjams, there is no one around! maybe the odd cyclist passes by but other than that it is pretty much isolated.

We spent our days driving to Queens view, rannoch station which has a lovely place to walk, you can even walk the 13 or 14 miles to glencoe!, we werent that adventurous though.

On our last day we decided to do one of the trips recommended in the little book at the house. We went to a place called Kenmore which has an Authentic Iron Age house on stilts in the middle of the loch. It was wonderful they tell you about the house and the people in it and show you the different jobs they did. You can try your hand at all the activities and the kids had an absolute brilliant time and the bonus was that they were learning a bit of history too. I would definelty recommend that day out, but its maybe best for the trip on the way back as its probably a 40-50 min drive away.

I would go back in a minute, but ive got my eye on a house in Morroco for next year. Next time i do the highlands i would go back.

Thankyou Mohan. We had a great holiday.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
11 0
Birmingahm
5

breathtaking, words cannot describe the beauty

  • 5 of 5

absolutly amazing with views that wouldnt be out of place on postcards, plenty of space set into the scottish Highlands, i would seriously reccomend this property for anyone who wants to truly get lost in the splendour of this property and its suroundings.

the house itself is huge with enough entertainment to keep the family busy on a rainy day. and for those who like to get out and about plenty of countryside to enjoy.

most definatly be going back in the future

  • Submitted: May 27, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks John - It is high quality guests like you who help keep the property as it is.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 1

Map

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Edinburgh/Glasgow
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Pitlochry/Aberfeldy
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Rannoch Station on West Highland line from Glasgow
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Bridge of Gaur Guesthouse - must book
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
Shores of Loch Rannoch

Located in heart of Loch Rannoch’s beautiful and breath taking scenery, Clachan Talladh is a luxury lodge provides the substantial and flexible accommodation for a get away from it all total relaxation environment. It allows you take advantage of endless array of outdoor pursuits, as well as explore the visitors attractions, in the heart of the Highlands of Scotland.

This large self catering property which can sleep up to 9 people. The accommodation comprises large lounge, kitchen/dining room, four double bedrooms, a bathroom and separate shower room. Outside there is a large landscaped garden with a purpose built patio and private parking for several cars.

Outdoor pursuits include;

• hill walking on the nearby rugged peaks which amongst the tallest munro's in Scotland (including the famous Schiehallion mountain and the Pass of Killiecrankie);

• endless woodland and forest walks;

• hiking across Rannoch moor to Glen Coe and Fort William

• mountain biking;

• water sports.

Other Activities: Highland Safari

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pitlochry House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Autumn Season
Sep 6 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$171
From
$233
Fri,Sat
$840
 
 
Winter Season
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$140
From
$210
Fri,Sat
$700
 
 
Xmas & New Year
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$202
From
$268
Fri,Sat
$1,399
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pitlochry House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house (detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 135 m²
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Filtered Water
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking Off Street
  • Security System
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , En-suite for Master Bedroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • The main bathroom, master bedroom's En-suite and the separate WC all have chrome fittings. The bath is in the main bathroom. The En-suite to the master bedroom has a brushed aluminum shower cubicle as well.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , En-suite & patio doors
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , Metal bunk bed with double mattress and single mattress
  • There are picturesque views from all bedrooms. All bedrooms have furniture like wardrobes and bedside cabinets with lamps.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Wood Deck
  • 12 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • forests
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There is not much missing from the item of this luxury lodge. After a day out, the 42-inch HD TV in the living room with SKY reception and our vast ranges of family DVDs provide a relaxing conclusion to the day. The underfloor central heating will help everyone feel cozy.

Partner Offers