check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

NEWLY UPDATED Fish or Kayak out your back door.

55 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
7 nights


Marathon Shores House Rental Photos and Description

Detached Single Family Home; 3 Bedrooms , 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)

New pictures soon to come. 60 feet of deep water dockage. Amazing views of the Atlantic and beyond. This carefree classic 'Keys' home is located in a very quite established neighborhood. There are no mobile homes, vacant lots, or trash of any kind anywhere near the home. Conveniently and centrally located to Walgreens, Burger King, and the really good local fishery restaurant.

The Lobster House is a three Bedroom and sleeps 6 with sleeper sofa in den. The kitchen is completely furnished with all the pots and pans you will need to cook your catch!

There is a large covered patio overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, with a barbeque, and plenty of seating for a crowd. The hot tub is just ten feet away from the ocean.

Dock up a 40 ft boat out your back door!

Boat rentals available just 3 mins away.

Fishermen We have it all! Bait freezer, cleaning table, and a new grill to cook your catch!

If you have any questions just hit the email manager button, enter your dates that you are looking for and it will be sent directly to me.

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
Mike or Patti Rhine
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 15, 2016
Call Manager

About Mike or Patti Rhine

My husband and I fell in love with the Keys while visiting from Decatur Texas, in 2010. We looked for the perfect vacation home for our family for nearly a year. Marathon is a great community, with wonderful friendly people. We love the fishing! or should I say 'catching' We are now proud to say that we are full time residents of Marathon, and are here to help you with any of your needs.

Mike or Patti Rhine purchased this house in 2012

Why Mike or Patti Rhine chose Marathon

We just purchased this delightful home in August of 2012. We looked for nearly a year for the perfect ocean front home. Simple yet very comfortable, The Lobster House is one you will be sure to return to. Tucked away in a very quiet safe Marathon neighborhood, you can walk or ride your bike to he local fish market or Walgreens. The beautiful and famous Sombrero Beach is just minutes away. We love the home for the perfect ocean view, never late afternoon sun in our windows, yet a beautiful sunset off to the right. Located just south of the Vaca Cut, you can be in the Gulf of Mexico in just minutes. The perfect location, and the perfect house for the Rhine family!

What makes this house unique

Easy access to the Gulf of Mexico, in just minutes.

Beautiful view of Key Colony and the open ocean

Great central location in Marathon


based on 55 traveler reviews

NEWLY UPDATED Fish or Kayak out your back door.
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 55 reviews

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 could not have asked for more. Everything was as described. The house was clean and spacious for all of us to spread out. We cooked most of our evening meals. The kitchen was well equipped. The house is perfectly located in Marathon for all our needs. My son loved fishing right off the dock and we enjoyed the fish for dinner one night. My wife loved the summer breeze right off of the ocean water, along with the wonderful view!

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you had a great time. Since your departure, we spent the entire month of September purchasing new furniture, fixtures, appliances and fresh coat of paint. We hope you come back next year! Mike & Patti
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Summer 2016 at the Lobster house was amazing

  • 5 of 5

Loved staying at the house. The location is amazing .The AC was cold. The Dock and patio area was huge and we were able to relax the whole time like we were in our own paradise .Looking forward to returning.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy you had a nice time, When you come back next year you will be happy to see that we have updated the home with new furniture, fixtures, paint and appliances. You are always welcome back! you left our home very tidy and clean. We appreciate guests who respect our property and love it as much as we do. Thanks Mike and Patti
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Barking Dogs

  • 3 of 5

Place needs updating but if you don't mind the dogs barking constantly next door it may work for you.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Ken, I am so sorry the barking dogs were bothersome to you. Had we known we would of knocked on the neighbors door for you. The dogs were just visiting that week to help the family move. The family has moved, and the dogs are gone. Actually the home was sold to new owners that will only be ther a few months a year. Because we live right there in Marathon, we are able to always help our guests with any problems that may arise during their stay. The home was off the rental market for the entire month of September, and it is fully refreshed and updated with new furniture, fixtures, appliances and paint. We want all of our guests to come back. Patti & Mike Rhine
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean, beautiful, awesome view

  • 5 of 5

Mike and Patti's home is clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. There is a wonderful, direct view of the ocean. The location felt safe, and was very convenient to groceries, restaurants, and dive shops. Some reviews we read complained about the dogs next door; while we were there, barking was neither incessant nor particularly loud, and the the neighbor clearly appeared to be working to minimize noise. We could not hear them inside the house. Other reviews complained about the A/C units; if you are used to central A/C, yes, they are noisy, like an ongoing white noise machine. However, they work really well, and the temperature of the house was always comfortable. We turned off the the one in the living room when we watched a movie and played a game in there. The unit in the room with 2 single beds blows directly on one of the beds; the person sleeping in that bed put his head at the other end so it would not be blowing in his face, and that worked fine for him. Suggestions: two of the bedrooms share a bathroom (located between the two rooms), so the rooms sleep 4, but there is only 1 towel rack and 1 hook in the bathroom. More places to hang towels would be excellent. Also, the fan in that bathroom is not working - the switch to turn it on is in one of the bedrooms, which is kind of odd, too. Not all of the lights are working, either, which may just be due to burned out bulbs. Outside, the handle that operates the shower & faucet for the hose has broken off and had to be operated with pliers. We loved having the fish cleaning station, enjoyed the hot tub, and appreciated the space for boat docking. Overall, a wonderful place to stay in a fabulous location.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for pointing out the few minor issues. Because of the great location and view, the home stays very busy, and it is easy to miss those things during the cleaning on Saturdays. You will be pleased to know that we took the entire month of September and gave the home a makeover! All new furniture, fixtures, paint and appliances. We fixed the minor issues, and bought new ceiling fans. Thank you for respecting our property, we can see you love it as much as we do. You are always welcome back! Mike & Patti
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great vacation home for our family!

  • 5 of 5

House was described well in listing. On a quiet street. Very clean and lots of kitchen things available.

Beds were very comfortable. (my son thought twins beds were very squeaking though every time he moved)

Loved the dock for fishing and seeing many sea creatures, including lobster, eels, crabs, one lone dolphin.

We had a good time at Bahia Honda Park snorkeling in the shallow clear water!

Went to Sombrero Reef for snorkeling trip with Captain Pip. Enjoyed fishing off 7 mile bridge & our trip to Pigeon Key.

Enjoyed many restaurants including Sunset Grill on our last evening - bring your suits!

We would definately stay again.

Thank you!!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

very tidy and great location

  • 4 of 5

we really loved the dock and the house except for the broken outside fan and we had a few ants on kitchen counters which we took care of with spray under sink. we kayaked and fished and really had a great stay

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Key West
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Island Tiki
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Overseas Hwy
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
King Fisheries
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Sombrero Beach
Car: recommended

Dolphin Research Center, Turtle Hospital are both within minutes of this very centrally located home. Grocery and Walgreens are just minutes away.


Rates & Availability

Marathon Shores House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Special season
Aug 28 2016 - Nov 19 2016
7 night minimum stay
Christmas Holiday
Dec 24 2016 - Jan 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $150 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 12.5%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Marathon Shores House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , Master bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Walk in easy access shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Split floor plan master bedroom and private bath on one home
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , Pull out sofa in den
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 8 garden chairs
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Some of the best salt water and flats fishing in the US. Year round. Lobster season and stone crab season.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties