Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

NEW SS Appliances/Windows/BBQ! PRIVATE Hot Tub! Top Reviews! Grab Holidays NOW!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 840 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

840 sf w/ 3 Bedrooms (2 Queen, open loft w/2 Twins), 1 Bath (Sleeps 6)

***We normally require a 5 day minimum from mid- June through mid-September, but when "gap dates" occur, meaning when 2- 5 day plus stays create a smaller day gap between them, we will gladly rent for a shorter stay. Do inquire if you have any questions.***

***Please note that you will be charged access fees of $8 per person, per day for everyone in your party upon entering the Ranch. These fees will apply regardless of which home you use and are separate from and in addition to the individual charges for each home***

Look no further! You have found a beautifully remodeled home complete with private hot tub, wifi, Netflix and cable TV for your next getaway! Caring and responsive owners included:).

About Trail Cabin 2:

Our home is located in the Golf Home section of the ranch on Glacier Lily, a quiet street off Hawksbeard, one of the main roadways through the Ranch. Our location creates central and easy access to everything Black Butte Ranch has to offer while still having a peaceful and private cabin to return to when you are ready to relax and wish to retreat to your own space.

We are fortunate to have one of the larger and more private lots available to the smaller homes on the ranch complete with a sizable 600+ square foot natural cedar deck that is home to a large gas BBQ and professionally maintained private hot tub. From the expansive deck, you can see out over a large wooded area in which to view the magnificent trees and wildlife aplenty and at night, there is no better venue for star-gazing than taking a front row seat in the hot tub. What looks like thousands of stars in the city, looks like millions at the ranch- beautiful and amazing! Just as perfect is sitting in the hot tub surrounded by snow and watching the flakes fall and disappear into the hot tub with you- almost magical and certainly an experience to be remembered.

It is not unusual to see deer wandering around the cabin and on occasion, they will come right up on the deck if you appear friendly to them. Although we wouldn't necessarily recommend it, we have had guests even report hand-feeding the deer!

If you are looking for the feel of a real mountain cabin experience in Black Butte Ranch style, TC2 just might be your place. We have worked hard over the years to make Trail Cabin 2 a home that maintains a rustic 'cabiny' feel while still offering a touch of class with quality amenities and the cozy comforts of home. When we come to the ranch to escape everyday life, we want to feel a little pampered and it is our goal that our guests will feel a little pampered as well!

Inside you will find 3 bedrooms, two having queen beds, and a loft bedroom with two twin beds sleeping six quite comfortably. All beds have new, coordinated bedding and plenty of extra pillows and blankets. There is one bathroom that has been completely remodeled and stocked with new, fluffy towels. The dining area is home to a large, custom-crafted, glass top table that easily seats six and is perfect for family meals and playing games, but you may prefer to grab a stool at the bar to enjoy your morning coffee or share a chat with the cook. The kitchen is well- stocked with a variety of cookware, dishes, gadgets and small appliances to choose from for your culinary needs. Of course, the ever-so-necessary dishwasher and microwave are there as well! In the living area, you will find two big, comfy full-sized couches allowing plenty of room for everyone to sit back and relax, watch TV or just enjoy the company with the ambiance of a crackling fire- wood and starting supplies included. Everything described sets in a well laid-out 840 square feet of mountain cabin comfort.

If clean is important to you, you may appreciate knowing that we have proudly been dubbed by our housekeeper his pickiest client due to the excellence we expect of both him and ourselves. Perhaps more importantly is that we are his only home that regularly changes out all our bedding and blankets right down to and including the mattress pads.

We take clean very seriously and do all of our own deep cleaning because it is the only way to make sure our level of clean is obtained. We own our own professional grade steam cleaner and clean our carpets as many as 6 times per year and our fabric furniture at least 3. Yes, every throw pillow in the house gets steam cleaned or thrown in the wash as well and every pillow along with both queen mattresses have allergy and bed bug resistant encasements and we remove and wash those, too! Summer can be rough because we are so busy, but even then, we sneak in, change out the bedding and clean carpets whenever possible. We aren't perfect and things can happen especially when access is limited, but one thing is for sure, nobody puts the effort into making sure their home is clean any better than we do and most don't even come close according to our housekeeper. We will take that as a compliment!

We have spent years transforming this place to what it is now and still constantly change things up- adding this and changing that. You will find very little that has not been updated in this cabin and will likely find changes of some type at every visit- sometimes big and other times small. TC2 has served as a creative outlet for us in many ways with Robb being a skilled craftsman and I the type that was doing the HGTV thing long before HGTV existed. We love to share this place with others who enjoy having more than the run-of-the-mill hotel type atmosphere. Again and again we hear that TC2 feels like a real home for which we are so grateful. This is exactly the level of hospitality we wish to give each and every guest on each and every visit. We are here for you!

We have raised our children coming here and have all sorts of memories to last a lifetime. In a life that is riddled with life-type 'stuff', what a blessing it has been to be able to escape to this place through the years and re-connect with friends and family. We look forward to our children bringing theirs one day. Our vision is to create long-term relationships with our guests and have TC2 be the place where you will want to bring your future generations again and again. We welcome the opportunity to have you be part of our BBR family!

About Black Butte Ranch:

Black Butte Ranch is a golf resort community that boasts on-site dining and recreation including golf, horseback riding, year around swimming and sport courts of all kinds to name a few. The Ranch is a paradise for walkers and bicyclers with its 18 miles of paved trails running throughout the picturesque resort.

Yes, Black Butte Ranch has all the amenities that other Central Oregon resorts do, so what makes the Ranch different? Simply, the Ranch has worked hard to maintain the non-commercial atmosphere that we enjoy without sacrificing convenience and desirable offerings. You won't find large clusters of restaurants or other commercial businesses here, but you will find the beautiful Lodge housing a great place to eat not too far from the Ranch entrance off HWY 20 along with other high quality amenities scattered throughout the Ranch.

The Lodge Restaurant is an area favorite for both its fine food and atmosphere and has received high ratings in popular magazines. As a matter a fact, both the Lodge itself and the surrounding landscape are so beautiful, many have chosen the Lodge area as the spot to hold the wedding of their dreams. Now that speaks volumes, doesn't it? If a more casual experience is what you desire, Robert's Pub sits just off the Big Meadow Golf Course, one of two championship courses at the Ranch, and offers standard pub fare in a stylish, but low-key atmosphere at affordable prices.

The multi-million dollar Glaze Meadow Recreation Center houses a spacious sports shop supplying plenty of Ranch memorabilia along side the standard sport shop finds, but that is just the beginning- you will also find both an indoor pool and an outdoor pool with a children’s water park, a steam sauna, hot tub, fitness room, coffee bar, wifi and all sorts of seasonal equipment rentals. There is a children’s play area and numerous sports courts along with horseshoe pits in the area as well. If you are looking for activity, Glaze Meadow Recreation Center is definitely for you.

For the adventurous, you will not be disappointed. Head into the quaint Western-themed town of Sisters, just eight miles away, and there you will find a tourist hotspot with lots of fun shops and restaurants- big enough to keep you interested and small enough you can cover the sights by foot.

In the surrounding area you can find a nature lovers’ oasis with hiking, fishing, site-seeing, and skiing to name a few all within walking distance or mere minutes of driving time. Without a doubt, there is more to do in this area than most could ever find the time (or energy) for!

We also have a seasonal, small country store near the horse stables where you can pick up quick necessities when the need should arise. The most basic, yet quality, amenities are right there for you on the Ranch without crowding out the natural beauty Black Butte Ranch has long been known for. As the Ranch advertises, 'There is a place...' and there surely is a place- a place where you can find all the peace and solitude you'd like and then join in the local activities when and if you choose. You must experience it for yourself. There is no other place like the Black Butte Ranch.

More Details

Owner
Nichole
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 31, 2017

About Nichole

We have lived in the Northwest our entire lives and currently reside in the Portland area. We met in high school and have now been together over 30 years and have two beautiful daughters. We are very active in our daughters' education and other than that, we spend the bulk of our time working on different remodeling projects both at home and here at the cabin.

Nichole purchased this cabin in 2002

Why Nichole chose Black Butte Ranch

We were taken with Black Butte Ranch from the moment we drove onto the Ranch in 1998 to visit a family member who owned property here. Eventually, we pursued ownership and learned that the sweet cabin we had spent time in with our family was for sale. We were able to purchase that cabin and TC2 has been our home away from home ever since.

What makes this cabin unique

This home is a unique blend of quality and personality without sacrificing affordability and sets on an unusually large lot as compared to most similarly sized homes on the Ranch. In addition, the Trail Cabins offer a more private setting than the other cabins available at the ranch. Each has it's own lot and driveway with parking where some others have more of an apartment style parking lot similar to condominiums. We are surrounded by other homes in a spacious, neighborhood style setting.

This home was on the Ranch rental program for many years and was always a favorite among employees due to the character and homey feeling TC2 has. Trail Cabin 2 offers a bubbly, private hot tub right on the deck which the majority of smaller homes do not have.

There are only 7 Trail Cabins at the ranch arranged on the outskirts of a large natural area and currently, we are the only Trail Cabin available by owner and a better value than those offered by rental programs.

All things considered, we offer a great home at a great price for smaller gatherings that is hard to beat.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you Nichole. There were no problems. The hot tub ran perfectly, which is significant! And the kitchen was very well appointed and easy to work in, which we appreciated, including the access to herbs and spices, a very thoughtful touch.....Again, the cabin was very comfortable, and we had a lovely time. Thank you so much for the rental!
Dec 2013
  • 1 of 26

Amenities

Black Butte Ranch Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 840 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25 ...
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Limit of 6 for occupancy and require complete guest list including ages for children. No one allowed on property that was not disclosed beforehand.
  • Last of towels in dryer, first load of sheets in wash, last of dishes loaded and running, all garbage removed from premises to avoid extra charges.
  • The ranch will charge access fees of $8 per person, per day for everyone in your party age 7 and above upon arrival. Fees are separate from our quote.
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , remodeled bath with pedestal sink
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Both main floor bedrooms have a queen bed and large drawer space in the nightstands along with a closet. One bedroom has an additional set of shelves and the other has an additional small dresser. The loft bedroom has 2 twin beds with a large dresser and a bar for hanging clothing.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 4 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(41 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
NEW SS Appliances/Windows/BBQ! PRIVATE Hot Tub! Top Reviews! Grab Holidays NOW!
average rating of 4.804878 based on 67 reviews
Corvallis
5

Perfect Spring Break Getaway

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time visiting the Black Butte Ranch. We were excited to see all that it had to offer despite cooler temperatures. Our 4 children loved swimming in the indoor pool at the Glaze Meadows Rec Center & playing in the parks. We also loved being so close to Sisters & Hoodoo! We enjoyed tubbing on The Autobahn, skiing and just playing in the snow. It was wonderful coming back to the Cabin and soaking in the hot tub. Such a plus! The Cabin was perfectly equipped with everything we could possible need: towels, beach towels, a washer & dryer, board games, puzzles, Wifi, Netflix, extra blankets, dish soap & laundry detergent. It was very clean, comfortable and cozy. Nichole was EXCELLENT to work with and wanted to make this a perfect stay for us. I would highly recommend this cabin. Thanks for a fantastic first trip! We'd love to visit again.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for giving us the honor of being your choice accommodation during your first BBR experience! We are thrilled that you were pleased with what we have to offer at the cabin and hope you will consider TC2 your home away from home if you ever decide to return to the ranch in the future :)
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Nice cabin

  • 4 of 5

Great little getaway cabin, wood stove was awesome. Didn’t enjoy having so much laundry to do (sheets/towels) with such a small washer/drier as it made for a long day before leaving. Overall it was a nice cabin.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh no, Jason! It grieves me to hear that you likely did much more than required. In the house rules presented to each guest before we accept the reservation and in more depth in the check-in letter, I describe the check-out requirements. In regards to laundry, the last load of the towels needs to be in the dryer and the first of a possible 2 loads of sheets needs to be in the washer and that is all. We don't expect any folding, making of beds or anything else- housekeeping handles all that. Yes, if every towel in the house has been used and left until the end, it could take 2 or 3 loads, but we also advise against letting them wait until the end and even offer suggestion on how to make sure it does not become a burden. A guest can easily throw in the towels while they are packing and loading before departure and then simply transfer them to the dryer and put a load of sheets in before they leave. That is all we expect and it is a fairly standard practice with VRBO's at this resort. Housekeeping can't possibly do a good job in the time they have if this doesn't take place. Yes, we do have a smaller W/D set, but it is the largest and highest quality front loading machine that would fit in the space. We agree that it would be easier to have a huge one like we have at home, but it is still very doable in the fashion that I describe. Off season we do our best to give every guest a late check-out and I believe this was the case with you? Hopefully that took the edge off your difficulty with the laundry and I very much hope that this would not stop you from coming again because it was great having you and, as described, the laundry should be easy to accomplish :) I am so sorry if it didn't work that way for you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Place To Stay

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time in Black Butte Ranch. The house was perfect for our group and we would definitely visit this property again.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Excellent, John. Glad to hear the cabin suited your group well and we hope to have you again in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy and Comfortable

  • 5 of 5

We had a nice family week. Everything was great except all the smoke .

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, the smoke was an issue, but was glad it would clear at times! There were similar issues all over the state which was rough for sure;) We are glad that you found the cabin a cozy place and hope to have you return when there is no forest fire in the area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland
5

A very comfortable, well-equipped cabin in a great resort

  • 5 of 5

My son, two grandkids and I loved out time in Black Butte. My grandkids really enjoyed the various swimming pools and we all, being avid ping pong players, spent much time in the rec center playing ping pong. My 8 year old grand daughter and son went horseback riding and we all enjoyed playing pickle ball with an excellent teacher. That child also enjoyed going to the all-day camp one day.

What was best about our vacation, however, was Nichole's house. It seems the appliances were new and in excellent working order. The kitchen was extremely well-equipped, almost as well as at my home.

This was very well appreciated since we did most of our cooking in the house. And the deck is wonderful! A great propane barbecue grill, a large deck with comfortable seating. And my grandkids spent every spare minute in the excellent hot tub.

We definitely recommend this house for rental at Black Butte. It's extremely well cared-for and Nichole gives very complete instructions about how to use the facilities and cleaning up when leaving. The clarity of the instructions was greatly appreciated.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was such a thoughtful and thorough review. Thank you so much for all you complimentary and kind words. We want everyone happy, happy and it sounds like that was accomplished here. Thank you so much for staying with us and please come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, OR
5

Great experience

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time. The property was well-kept and up-to-date. Would be a little crowded for 6, but for 4 or less it's great. Hot-tub and grill in excellent condition. Kitchen had all that we needed. The bikes are perfect for getting around the "ranch". We'd use this property again in the future.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad to hear your positive thoughts about the cabin. We very much hope to have you back again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
32 Miles
Bend, OR
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
HWY 20
Nearest Ski
14 Miles
Hoodoo
Nearest Beach
150 Miles
Newport, OR
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $130 + Tax
Weatherization Fee $50 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 9.8%

3 night minimum for holiday weekends that do not fall within the summer or holiday rate and duration of stay schedule.

Weatherization fee of $50 applies for all stays October through April.

DCCA #1054

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties