check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Spectacular Beach Front Location [December Deals] - Maxwell Beach Apartments

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
Sleeps
3
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
5 nights

Description

Saint Lawrence Gap Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Prime Location Apartments only 15 metres from the sea

Our recently refurbished ( June 2016 ) apartments are set in a spectacular location. The property comprises of four self contained apartments. Three are budget priced studio apartments with en suite shower room and each with their own separate adjoining kitchenette, and the fourth is our flag ship spacious two bedroom en suite apartment with a large kitchen and living room leading to a sea view balcony. All the apartments have air conditioning in the bedrooms. The two ground floor studios have recently been refurbished ( June 2016 ) and new A/C units and mattress's have been installed.

Within walking distance are shops, pharmacy, bank and restaurants, and also the famous fishing village of 'Oistins' renowned for it's week-end Fish Fry

All the apartments have fast wireless internet connection.

The property is ideally suited for weddings (the ceremony can take place in front of the beach) , wedding blessings or an anniversary party, whereby all the apartments can be rented accommodating up to 15 people. Stay and play golf deals can be arranged.

The studio apartments are also ideal for single guests.

More Details

Details for Maxwell Beach Apartments 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3, 1 Bathroom

These three 1 bedroom studio apatments are located on the right hand side of the property when viewed from the sea.

Each apartment has a king-size bed (or twin) with en-suite shower room and toilet, and each unit has a small, but well equipped adjoining kitchenette. There are two ground floor apartments each with a small patio, and one first floor apartment with balcony.

A laundry service (excluding ironing) can be provided for $10 US per load.

A fold-away bed or cot can also be provided at an additional £15 per night.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Peter Musgrave
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish, danish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
December 5, 2016
Call Manager

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(48 traveler reviews)

Maxwell Beach Apartments
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 48 reviews
Winnipeg,Manitoba,Canada
5

A vacation that I will never forget

  • 5 of 5

Maxwell Beach Apartments in Barbados is a perfect destination for sun, relaxation, water sports, friendly people, great food and for the night life. Maxwell Beach Apartments was everything I dreamed it was.

I stayed at Maxwell Beach Apartments for 1 month and I could not ask for more hospitable people as in Peter and Shenna. They made my stay in Barbados safe, fun and exciting. They took great care of me. The apartments are right on the beach, which Peter keeps manicure on a regular basis. Shenna, keeps the apartments very clean and well equipped with the basic amenities and will take care of all your needs and wants. The destination is perfect for walking to Oistins and the

St. Lawrence Gap. Buses run on a regular basis therefore getting to Bridgetown or beaches is very easy to do. Maxwell Beach Apartments is the place to experience going to sleep and waking up to the sound of the waves. What A Dream !

Thank you, Peter and Sheena

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were pleased to be able to accommodate a single lady traveller so that they felt safe and comfortable at our apartments. We have placed great emphasis on safety and security and are pleased this was appreciated. We very much look forward to her return in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
59 0
5

Perfect location, right on the beach

  • 5 of 5

Had another great time at Maxwell Beach Apartments. The units are perfect for a beach holiday and the new a/c units and mattresses make a huge difference. Peter really does go out of his way to make your stay comfortable, he's a great host. We'll definitely be back !

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

French Canadian wannabe surfer

  • 4 of 5

I stayed in a studio for 26 days and I had my friend stay with me for two weeks during that stay.

Peter was quite helpful in getting me accurate information about the place and the environnement to help me make an informed decision if this unit was going to be a proper choice for me.

He also made sure that I had a driver waiting for me at the airport and that I felt safe coming in at night after a long day of travel.

The studio itself is a large bedroom with ample space to store my belongings. The kitchen area is small but efficient, I cooked everyday and even baked muffins and cookies. :)

Peter was also helpful in directing me to a trusted employee in a nearby hotel to book a tour of the attractions I wanted to see. The studio is 10 Minutes walk from a grocery and a small cafe with live music. The public transport runs at the door very efficiently. I felt quite safe during my whole stay.

The only thing that I would have added to the room is a cozy chair to read at night but that would've been a tight fit in the space.

I would definitely return!

Note that our upstairs neighbors had been there at least 5 times over the years. The location and value are hard to beat. :)

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location!!!!!

  • 4 of 5

Awesome stay we were there for two weeks and when we arrived I noticed the coffee pot was a one cup at a time machine well being from canada and LOVING are coffee I'm thinking oh man brewing in the morning 5-6 cups nightmare sooooo asked peter if he had a bigger one. Couple hours later there it was. We asked for more beach towels and they were left at are door for us well we were out. Anything you need peter will do for you. He's a great host. Beautiful beach at your door step, beach loungers out front you can put on the beach if you want. Peter was out chatting with everyone during the day asking how everything was going. Any info you needed he was there to help. Plus he has a new puppy so that was a lot of fun watching him learn to swim

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks Shannon for your kind words. We are delighted you had an enjoyable time on the island with us. Our main objective is you get the most of your holiday and as I say to all or guests upon arrival and during the stay, " Please just ask if you need anything". We hope to see you again soon. As a note to our future guests the two ground floor studios have been refurbished including new A/C units and mattress's.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Five star island, shabby accommodations...

  • 2 of 5

Okay, first off, Barbados is far and away the best of the seven Caribbean countries we've visited. It's a visually stunning island, with a safe, well-developed society, while still retaining the charm of the Caribbean. Barbados is rich in history, with a vibrant tourism economy. Most importantly, the Bajan people are kind, and helpful. They really understand hospitality, for which we're most grateful. The island was brilliant!

That said, Maxwell Beach Apartments is rather like a seedy motel: It's clean enough, but the kitchenettes are very poorly outfitted - scant and mismatched cutlery, glasses, etc., like hand-me-downs, and absent ordinary requirements like a beer bottle opener! We asked for a blender a week prior to arrival. It never happened, despite repeated promises. One of our two patio chairs broke while simply sitting on it. No issue - seaside things rust over time, but it took three days to get another. The beds are ridiculously uncomfortable - felt like a lumpy 4" camp mattress on top of plywood. The aircon worked sufficiently but sounded like a freight train. They claim a barbecue is included, but then try to charge $5 US per use, and removed it off property for three days, for staff use. Toilet paper was an ongoing joke: They told one couple it was included, and others it was not. What a ridiculous thing to not provide. The wifi was down for four days running, and it's a crucial tool when on island - for maps & directions, restaurants reservations, phone calls (voip) etc. They didn't seem at all concerned. The staff was simply unavailable most of the time, when things came up, and when they did answer, they were not friendly at all, acting as if it was a bother. One, in particular, was downright unfriendly. In contrast, Jenna, the maid, was wonderful, warm, just plain sweet.

Commenting on the latest foolish deficiencies became a daily laugh amongst all the renters. We met eight couples during our two weeks, and each was disappointed and displeased with a similar array of things, and all had the same frustrating experience trying to deal with the staff.

We met several other Canadian couples just down the beach, and discovered there are far nicer and better rental values to be had, on the beach. All in all, we made the best of it. The location is perfect. The place itself could be acceptable with some simple care and attention (and a hospitality course). As it stands, it's just plain shabby.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We try to do our best to help you have a wonderful holiday in Barbados. The kitchenettes are fully stocked with fridge/ freezer, gas oven and hob, microwave, kettle, coffee machine, toaster, pots and pans, crockery, glassware and utensils. There should have been a bottle opener, alternatively there is one on the can opener. There should be everything you need, if not please just ask. The crockery is a little mismatched due to breakages but certainly not hand me downs. We are in the process of changing all the crockery and glassware so it is more pleasing to the eye. Regarding the blender, I had asked it to be placed in your kitchenette prior to arrival. Apologies for you not getting it. The ground floor studios have been refurbished ( June 2016 ) including repainting, new A/C units and new mattress's. As stated on homeaway and our own website we ask for $5 to cover the gas and wear and tear. As I recall I gave you the use of the BBQ for free prior to your arrival as a gesture of goodwill as you were unhappy about the fee. I do believe you damaged the BBQ while using it. It was taken off site for a friends 40th, this was an error on our part. We are self-catering apartments. As mentioned in the pre arrival email I send and when we greet you on arrival, items such as toilet paper, shampoo, washing up liquid etc are provided for your arrival but once gone it is up to you. Of course we would never leave you short of toilet paper. I ask all future guests to please read the pre arrival email thoroughly as it is full of useful information and avoids confusion. The WIFI should be on 24/7 it does sometimes need to be rebooted. Please just inform us if it is down. I am actually waiting for fibre ( 25 megs ) to be installed. We try to provide a professional service and great value for money. We ask that guests let us know if there are things they need. Please do not leave it to the last day when we cannot rectify the situation. We will always try to rectify problems asap. We do not tolerate abusive or threatening behavior towards staff or other guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 3
2

Great location, below average accommodations

  • 2 of 5

Cant beat your own beach steps away from where you sleep. Location 10 mins to grocery shopping and fish market/restaurant. When coming from airport take a taxi, easy to get and only $15 US and is 2 doors east of Butterfly Beach hotel.

Pictures are misleading, the upper beach has grown in and is not maintained. Not enough beach chairs at full capacity. No hammock chairs as described, removed due to getting dirty we were told.

Wifi was down for half our stay, therefore we couldn't get in contact with Shenna as wifi is used for phone calls, as well to call taxis, make reservations, look at maps, and keep in contact with our young children back home, huge inconvenience.

The apartment was clean, towels and bedding get musty due to humidity after 4 days and should be offered to be changed sooner than the fifth day. Bedding is horrible to sleep on, very hard and the pillows are filthy and uncomfortable.

Slow coffee machine, limited cooking supplies but you can work with what you got.

BBQ on grounds for guest use as listed in amenities and was removed off property for personal use. Unacceptable when it is provided for guests. Therefore we were unable to BBQ any fish.

Aircon leaked and was not efficient, let Che know and he was aware.

We couldnt access our safe and when Shenna finally got home in the evening she was not plesant and it seemed I was a bother to her, instead of greeting a new guest that arrived.

The ocean has some big rocks, etc. Not as sandy as some other reviews listed. Cant control mother nature though.

This place could be a gem if people cared do the location. But it is getting run down and needs some upgrades in the rooms such as bedding, aircon.

I got the feeling that once they get your money then that is it. The few issues we had, and the attitude of Shenna is a direct reflection of that feeling.

If you are on a budget then this place would be acceptable if you really dont care.. If you are wanting to relax and get sleep dont count on a good sleep do to the hard beds and horrible pillows.

Think of it as a motel, more than an apartment rental. 2 out of 5 stars, and those are because of the beach front location and the price, but I would gladly pay more to have something better than this. There are options up the beach for a few dollars more way nicer.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry your expectations were not met during your stay with us. Helping you have the best holiday possible is our goal. We have refurbished the ground floor studios ( June 2016 ) upgraded the A/C units and have new mattress's. Our gardeners come by once a week, I am sorry you felt the garden is not maintained. We restock our linen yearly which is much more frequently than most places and our room cleans are every four days. The pillows have also been changed. As you mentioned the hammock chairs were being cleaned but should have been replaced in a much more timely fashion. As with the BBQ. It was used for a friends 40th ( which was an error on our part ) and should have been returned the next day and not 2 days later. As a side note the BBQ was damaged by a guest but not mentioned. We ask that any damages are relayed to us so we can take the appropriate measures to rectify things. I do urge guests to let us know if they need anything at all. We are here to help you make the most of your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 2

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
Barbados International
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Hotel next door
Nearest Ferry
10 Kilometres
Bridgetown
Nearest Golf
3 Kilometres
Barbados Golf Course
Nearest Beach
15 Metres
The grounds of the property lead to the beach
Car: not necessary

Centrally located on the Maxwell Main Road, 15 minutes from the Airport and 15 minutes to the capital Bridgetown. Within walking distance to the fishing village of Oistins which is well known for the week-end 'Street Party' and 5 minute bus ride to St Lawrence Gap which is the social centre of the south coast, crammed with bars, restaurants and clubs. There is also a Bank, Shopping Centre, Pharmacy and Petrol Station all within easy walking distance.

Set in it's own private grounds the property has a fabulous beach side location, literally 15 metres from the sea.

Other Activities: Golf deals available, International Cricket

Photos

Rates & Availability

Saint Lawrence Gap Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
low
Aug 9 2016 - Dec 15 2016
5 night minimum stay
$80
$538
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $17 per night, per additional guest
 
christmas/new year
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 6 2017
5 night minimum stay
$126
$853
 
 
High
Jan 7 2017 - Apr 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$109
$727
 
 
Low
Apr 16 2017 - Jul 24 2017
5 night minimum stay
$80
$538
 
 
crop over
Jul 25 2017 - Aug 8 2017
5 night minimum stay
$109
$716
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Tax Rate 10.0%

Please note the above prices are subject to 10% local tax.
A 20% deposit is required to confirm booking which is non-refundable. The balance must be paid at least 42 days prior to departure. Cancellation up to 28 days of departure 50% of the balance will be refunded, there will be no refund for cancellation of less than 28 days. Payment by credit card can be accepted through PayPal, but please note there is a 3% surcharge to share the transaction charges. Payment can also be made by online banking or by cheque to my home address.
Check in time is from 3pm and check out time is no later than 12am

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Saint Lawrence Gap Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 350 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 child bed
  • The king size double bed can be made into twin beds if required. A fold away bed can be provided for a third person or a child, or a cot for a baby.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Towels
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Although these apartments are on the right hand side of the property, the sea can still be seen from the balcony and part of the patio area and is only 15 metres from it.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties