check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Rich

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Cottage By The Bay, Broadkill Beach, Delaware

22 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Broadkill Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedroom, 2 Bath, sleeps 6

Lovely 2 bedroom, 2 bath cottage, sunroom with water views, large living room, cable and high-speed internet, new kitchen appliances, central AC, oil heat, ceiling fans, two TVs, master bath, fully furnished. Off-street parking and a nice yard with a grill for outdoor cooking. And it's just 60 steps from the beach!

Broadkilll Beach is a hidden gem on the Delaware Bay. Drive through the PrimeHook Wildlife Refuge (check this out!) to a small strip of beach that is The Broadkill. It goes approximately 2 miles in both directions from the main cross street. This is a great place to get your run in. There is only one commercial property that the locals call 'The Mall', where you can get most everything that you might need to enhance your stay. You might feel, at times, that you have the beach to yourself! The people of the area are terrific, friendly and make you feel welcome.

When you need to be near the hustle and bustle of the popular shore points, it's only a short drive away. Wander over rte 16 to the little town of Milton or make your way south on rte 1 towards the beaches of Lewes, Cape Henlopen, Rehoboth, Dewey, and Bethany. Take a 90 minute ferry boat ride on the Cape May/Lewes Ferry out of Cape Henlopen. Spend the day in victorian Cape May, New Jersey. Take your car, bicycle or just walk aboard. There is a trolly on the other side that can take you to town. Get some fresh, right off the boat, scallops at the dockside restaurant at The Lobster House. Check out Morrows Nut House on the boardwalk for some dessert. Of course you have to play some skeeball or you could wait until you get back to Rehoboth to try your hand at that. The SeaShell shop miniature golf always looks fun, back on Rte 1 in Delaware, or maybe you want to check out all of the outlets. Save the outlets for a rainy day as well as the movie theater that is close by too.

For me, a fun day at the beach is always great; Maybe have your morning coffee on the bench overlooking the bay;start in the morning with a walk to look for seashells; ride the waves; rent a paddleboard or soak up some Vitamin D; then a cookout - I can smell the charcoal-maybe some juicy cheeseburgers tonight? and don't forget the smores. On a clear night, look up and see the billions of stars that you won't ever see at home! It's amazing! Open all the windows at night so you can hear the waves while you have the best night's sleep ever! HAVE FUN!!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Rich (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

About Rich

We have been vacationing at the Delaware beaches for over 30 years and never knew about the hidden gem on the bay that is Broadkill Beach. We visited the area with friends and instantly felt at home. We think you'll love it, too!

Rich purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Rich chose Delaware

We love the beach and fell in love with this cottage the moment we saw it. We have vacationed at Broadkill Beach with friends and love the relaxed atmosphere there. The quiet neighborhood is perfect for a family retreat and just three houses off the beach!

What makes this cottage unique

Getting to the cottage is an easy drive since the route takes you away from the shore traffic. The best of both worlds, Broadkill Beach is a quiet and secluded place to relax in the sun, and it's also close to the nightlife, restaurants and shopping of the shore points. Also close by are Cape Henlopen State Park, and the Cape May/Lewes Ferry.

Reviews

5
based on 22 traveler reviews

Cottage By The Bay, Broadkill Beach, Delaware
average rating of 4.9545455 based on 22 reviews
5

Perfect relaxing vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5

This cute beach cottage was the perfect location for our family vacation. We enjoyed the clean and quiet beach just steps from the front door. Our grandchildren could play in the calmer bay waters without the crowds that the ocean beaches often have. The home was clean and family friendly. The outdoor seating area and grill was a nice touch. The owners/visitors to the other houses on the street were friendly. Loved the morning walk down to the Broadkill Beach Store for doughnuts and cinnamon rolls. We did venture into Rehoboth Beach for restaurants and shopping. Highly recommend Chesapeake and Maine the new Dog Fish Brewery restaurant for a fantastic meal- ask for server Becky for a great experience! Also drove to the nearby Lewes Ferry and took the day trip to Cape May, NJ. This was a fun trip and a break from the beach one day. The owners went out of their way to ensure we had a great week and were easy to communicate with.

I would recommend this rental to anyone seeking a quiet relaxing vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Sunny and open

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed our visit. We enjoyed long walks on the beach and visiting nearby attractions: Lewes, Henlopen and the Du Pont visitor center.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This place just keeps getting better!

  • 5 of 5

A truly enjoyable second year for my family. Cottage has everything (location, location, location) and beach is absolutely beautiful! Only left to buy groceries and to visit the farmer's markets at the 16 Mile Brewery and the Dogfish Brewery. Forced to sample a pint or two ;-) while there. My teenagers, daughter and son, 19 & 16, asked to come back already. My wife and I enjoyed the peace and quiet strolling down the shore, folllowing the crabs at night with a flashlight was also fun for all.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pittsburgh
5

Get away and relax!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at this small cottage. It had plenty of space for my husband and I as well as our two teenagers. The sand starts just steps away. It's an easy walk over the dune and onto the beach. The beach was very clean and we had it to ourselves most of the week.We grocery shopped in Milton which was 10 minutes away. The local store is only three blocks away. We went to Rehoboth twice and it was an easy drive, about 20 minutes. My husband fished from the shore and caught several small sharks but that's about it.

The Cottage by the Bay really is a quaint little cottage. The owner is in the process of updating so there are some things that are older while the main living area is obviously new. The older parts of the cottage did not detract from the charm at all.Just be aware that it is a seaside cottage, not a luxury rental.

The atmosphere is beautifully quiet. Neighboring houses are close but everyone was nice and we never heard anyone else. It was perfect for us to relax. We spent the week walking the beach, playing board games, reading, and then more beach walking. The teens weren't bored because the cottage has cable and wifi. But the beach was nice enough and close enough that they actually unplugged for most of the time we were there.

The owners were nice and I got my deposit back in full and quickly.

The only thing negative was that we couldn't hear the ocean from the house.

I would definitely recommend Cottage by the Bay if you are looking for a quiet, laid-back please to relax. We plan to go back for sure!

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

beach gem

  • 5 of 5

Perfect place to stay for a quiet relaxing beach experience.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Winchester, VA
5

Most quiet, relaxing vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5

This house is 1/2 a block from the NEW beach! You virtually have the beach to yourself. My husband and I along with our daughter, son-in-law and our first grandchild (3 months) spent a week relaxing and enjoying the peace and quiet. We also brought our 26' sailboat and docked it at the Lewes Public Dock in Lewes, DE -- just 20 minutes away. If you are looking for night life, Rehoboth Beach is just a shor distance away. The house was perfect for our needs and we would highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
Irish Eyes, Milton, DE
Nearest Ferry
14.8 Miles
Cape May Lewes Ferry
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
The Rookery South
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Rt. 1
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Po Boys; The Backyard, Milton, DE
Nearest Beach
10 Metres
Broadkill Beach Just 60 paces from the front door!
Car: recommended

The cottage is located in a quiet neighborhood just a few steps to the beach and minutes from dining and shopping in Milton, Lewes, Dewey Beach and the boardwalk in Rehoboth. The Cape May Lewes Ferry is close by as well for a day trip to New Jersery shore points.

The Rookery Golf course is just 2.5 miles from the cottage and boasts an excellent Sunday Brunch! Also, we are approximately 50 min from Dover.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Broadkill Beach Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
autumn
Sep 6 2016 - Nov 4 2016
2 night minimum stay
$195
$1,150
 
 
late autumn/early winter
Nov 5 2016 - Jan 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$175
Fri,Sat
$995
$1,100
 
 
Late Winter
Jan 3 2017 - Apr 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$175
Fri,Sat
$995
$1,200
 
 
Spring 2017
Apr 16 2017 - Jun 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$180
Fri,Sat
$1,150
$1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,350
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $100
security deposit $500

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Return of security deposit contingent upon condition of dwelling and contents as described in the lease.
You provide paper products-toilet paper, paper towels, napkins.

Security deposit will hold your reservation. This is due when signing the lodging agreement and returning it. We can suggest a payment schedule. All money must be paid 30 days prior to check in. 3 % fee for credit cards via paypal; no fee for personal checks. Security deposit will be returned, if all is well, within 2 weeks of check out. Cleaning fee additional.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Broadkill Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1330 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Second bath is a full bath with stall shower.
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Second BR w/ one queen bed, one twin bed and large closet.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master bedroom with full bath, TV and large closet.
  • Daybed(twin) in sun room (shades for all windows); new bed pillows for all beds
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Food Lion grocery store, Milton Liquors, Walgreens (RedBox movie rental outside this store) and laundromat in Milton, Rte 16, is just 6 miles or 12 mins from the cottage. Food Lion in Lewes, right off Rte1, is 10 miles away.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties