check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

AUGUST WEEKS AVAILABLE! THIRD TIER FROM BEACH. VIEWS OF GULF FROM ALL LEVELS.

4 Reviews
Sleeps13
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

South Walton Cottage Rental Photos and Description

4 BEDROOM, 3 BATH, CLOSE TO BEACH, SOME GULF VIEWS ALL LEVELS, COMMUNITY POOL.

Beachside cottage newly remodeled and furnished. Situated on one of the best lots in the neighborhood and closest to the Gulf. Home features multiple decks on two levels with each bedroom having its own deck, with the exception of the loft bedroom which shares a deck with the living area. Water views from all three levels.

First level has master bedroom with private bath, and second bedroom with hall bath. Second level provides living, dining, updated kitchen, hall bath, and third bedroom. Third level loft room is furnished with bunk beds, wardrobe, and entertainment area for children.

Old Florida Cottages is a charming, well maintained development with a centrally located swimming pool for use by owners and guests. It is a family-friendly neighborhood.

You will be within walking distance to restaurants and Gulf Place such as Goatfeathers, The Local Catch, Cafe' Tango, La Playa, Pizza by the Sea, and several other restaurant and shops.

Public beach access is less than five minutes away. Bath house and covered picnic area are available at this access. And if sitting on the beach is not your cup of tea; have a cup instead on any one of Island Dunes's decks. Enjoy the sounds of the surf as you watch the waves crashing onto the shoreline. Lounge on a chaise, read a book, or soak in the sun. Or take a stroll through the neighborhood. You will often find someone who is eager to visit.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Brenda Dacus (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Brenda Dacus

Fred and I have a real estate company in our hometown of Jonesboro, AR. We have always invested in rental property in Jonesboro, yet always dreamed of one day investing in the 30A area. We now own and manage four properties that are located within a two block area of Santa Rosa Beach.

Brenda Dacus purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Brenda Dacus chose South Walton

Our family has enjoyed vacationing in the 30A area over the past 40 years and always looked forward to return visits. We rented properties all along 30A but especially enjoyed times spent at Santa Rosa Beach.

So when we decided to purchase property in the area, we focused on finding something in the area we enjoyed the most.

What makes this cottage unique

I love the views and the sounds. I love sitting on the spacious decks; at night just listening to the surf. I could sit there for hours. My husband loves watching the sun set and makes a point of getting to the deck in time each day. I also enjoy the water views experienced from many points in the house. And I also love that our community is gated so we don't have to worry when the grandchildren are here. This is a very family oriented location, great neighbors, and very special beach.

Reviews

5
based on 4 traveler reviews

AUGUST WEEKS AVAILABLE! THIRD TIER FROM BEACH. VIEWS OF GULF FROM ALL LEVELS.
average rating of 5.0 based on 4 reviews
Jonesboro, AR
5

2nd stay at Island Dunes, look forward to many more!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second time to stay at Island Dunes. We absolutely love this location because we can walk to the beach, shops and to several restaurants in 5 minutes. The kids love the swimming pool and we met so many nice families while there with lots of young children for our boys to play with. It's very quiet back here and relaxing too. Plenty of room for everyone to have their own space. Looking forward to another stay next year!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you and your family enjoy Dunes. Our goal was for the home to be just as family friendly as the community. And the location is convenient to so many things. Short walks can get you to everything except groceries. This is our third year to own the home and we already have several returning guests. We hope to see you again next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Milton, Florida
5

Garia Sanders

  • 5 of 5

Hi Brenda,

I had good intentions to do this immediately after I returned from our vacation at Island Dunes. Your house was warm, clean, beautiful, and inviting. We loved it! The views were beautiful and the house was very well supplied with kitchen items and other items we needed. The grandchildren loved the loft as their own special area. Thank you for sharing your house. We are already looking forward to vacationing there again next summer. I would highly recommend Island Dunes to any large family group planning to visit Santa Rosa Beach, Florida. I hope you enjoy the rest of your summer.

Sincerely,

Garia Sanders

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Garia, we are pleased you enjoyed your time at Island Dunes and that the home served your family's needs. We understand our guests don't want to spend vacation time shopping for needed supplies so try to have the basics in place so you have more time at the beach. Also happy you found the views from the home appealing and that your children had their own space in the loft. Certainly don't have to worry about them going anywhere without your seeing them leaving! Thank you for taking time to write a review. That is appreciated any time you wish to share your thoughts! We do look forward to your return next year or any other year! Would love for Dunes to become your home away from home!!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Jonesboro, AR
5

Beautiful views

  • 5 of 5

We have been renting from Brenda for several years now and we are never disappointed. We absolutely loved the location of this house, several restaurants are a 5 minute walk away and the beach was so close too. We also spent a few days at the pool with our small children and loved it. The community is very well kept and we met so many families while staying there.

There were several of us in the house, yet it still felt very private. Everyone had plenty of space. All the balconies were amazing and the kids really loved getting on the hammock.

The views from the living room windows were just breath taking. We rarely turned the tv on, just stared out the window.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Amy, thanks so much for the kind words about Island Dunes. We are pleased you enjoyed the home. We have tried to make the property "family friendly" so our guests will enjoy their time at the beach. We, too, love spending time on the decks with the great views of the Gulf. And we are really glad you were able to use your hammock with the hooks that are available. I also appreciate how close the home is to restaurants. It is extremely convenient to walk to several without having to worry about driving to them. Your family can come and go without worrying about transportation. We love the location, glad you apparently did too!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Chicago area
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first trip to Santa Rosa Beach, and we came down for a close friend's wedding. There were only two couples that stayed, though the house had plenty of space for more people. With a third floor loft with two sets of bunks and plenty of space for the extra twin, it'd be a great place for three families to stay (kids can sleep in the loft)!

We saw lots of rentals as many other guests were staying in the area, both in other houses within this subdivision, as well as in condos up the road. I think our place was the best for several reasons: 1) we had a view of the water from the living room and back deck, 2) there were 4 decks - this allowed us to be together when we wanted to, but also to have time apart quite easily, 3) cart, mat, umbrella, 2 chairs, and beach toys (other places provided only chairs and maybe some beach toys).

The community pool was a nice, with a clean bathroom and a shaded area with picnic table to escape the sun. The pool was a bit cold, but it was still Spring. The Gulf was a short walk away (and we learned of a shortcut that cut off about a 1/2 block of the walk) with decent public bathrooms.

The house was clean and well-maintained, and Brenda answered all my questions. She also emailed us with tons of suggestions on places to eat and shop. We exchanged a couple of emails while there, and she was always very quick to respond. I would absolutely go back and stay here again.

The only thing that we didn't realize (and this was true of all houses, not just this one) is that beach towels were not included, nor was there a cooler for taking drinks to the beach. However, there is a Walmart just a few minutes up the road if you need to purchase one (we made do without), and we made a make shift cooler to get us through the day (which the provided cart made easy to bring to the beach!)

  • Submitted: May 14, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Deanna, thank you for the kind remarks regarding Island Dunes. We are happy the home worked for your party and you were able to enjoy the multiple decks and views of the Gulf. Also pleased you discovered the short cut to the beach and found the cart to be helpful in carrying items. I had not thought about providing a cooler for our guests, but that is a great idea that I will work on when at the house next! Since the home is new to the market, we are still working to make our guests' experiences good ones. And we certainly appreciate your taking the time to write a review; our first one!! Hope to see you back in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Dune Allen Beach Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
EARLY FALL
Aug 13 2016 - Sep 2 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,895
 
 
LABOR DAY
Sep 3 2016 - Sep 9 2016
4 night minimum stay
$300
$1,995
 
 
FALL
Sep 10 2016 - Sep 30 2016
4 night minimum stay
$285
$1,895
 
 
FALL BREAK
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 21 2016
4 night minimum stay
$300
$1,995
 
 
LATE FALL
Oct 22 2016 - Nov 18 2016
4 night minimum stay
$240
$1,595
 
 
THANKSGIVING
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 25 2016
4 night minimum stay
$335
$1,695
$2,195
 
 
WINTER
Nov 26 2016 - Dec 23 2016
4 night minimum stay
$225
$1,395
$2,195
 
 
CHRISTMAS & NEW YEAR
Dec 24 2016 - Jan 6 2017
4 night minimum stay
$335
$1,695
$2,195
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $195 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.5%

We do not rent to anyone under 25 unless accompanied by an adult.

50% (rent) deposited within 14 days of booking. Balance of rent, cleaning fee, taxes and damage deposit due 14 days prior to reservation. Personal check or credit card accepted. Rates are subject to change until reservation confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

South Walton Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Private master bath; double vanity, main level.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Off hallway on main level, next to BR#2.
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Off hallway on second level; shared by living and BR#3.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 baby crib , First level of home with view of water and access to deck.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Main level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Second level of home; oposite end of living and dining.
    Bedroom 4 - 2 bunk bed , Loft room with bunk beds, entertainment area for children.
  • First floor: Master BR with king bed; BR with queen bed. Second floor: BR with queen bed; living room with queen sleeper sofa. Third floor: 2 sets of bunk beds. Twin inflatable bed on frame.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Notes:
Queen sleeper sofa located in living room. Linens provided. Additonal twin inflatable/portable bed available for use on any floor. Linens provided.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties