Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Large Luxurious Country House Retreat minutes from Southwold Suffolk

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Space 5,489 sq. ft.
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Luxurious 8 bedroom Country house with indoor pool to rent for 3 days or more

Elms Farmhouse is a stunning 8 bedroom traditional farm house dating back to the 15th Century. The house sits on a lovely plot of 3 acres with ponds to both the front and rear. The property benefits from a large country style kitchen, big lounge with flat screen TV and soft seating for 18, useful breakfast room / 2nd lounge (ideal for smaller members of your party) and a large dining room, perfect for the whole household to gather around for dinner. There are 4 bath/shower rooms (1 ensuite) and, with the 2 reception rooms, this is the ideal home for the whole family to relax and entertain in. A heated indoor swimming pool is in the grounds and the house benefits from a newly refurbished Games room, with full size pool table, dart board and table football.

Each bedroom boasts new luxury mattresses and linen. The Kitchen is fully equipped to allow you to prepare fantastic meals to enjoy.

The gardens are perfect for your children to play in or for you to relax in.

Elms Farmhouse is located on a quiet country lane just a few minutes from the lovely village of Wangford which boasts two lively local traditional English pubs and a busy, well-stocked local shop. The house is only 3 miles outside of the radiant and very attractive sea-side town of Southwold, famous for it's pier and the Adnams brewery. Southwold, known as 'little chelsea on sea', has all the facilities that your group would wish for, catering for all levels from local caught fish and chips right up to award-wining fine dining. The local landowner also hosts the hughly popular 'Latitude Music Festival', where 30,000 music lovers gather for a weekend of music from leading pop and rock artists from around the world. Think Gastonbury for the east coast. Don't worry, you can't hear the music from the farm house.

This region is part of the Suffolk Heritage coast and is also only a short drive from Beccles, the Suffolk access to the Norfolk Broads (that's right, they stretch quite a way into Suffolk).

Also within a short drive are many excellent tourist attractions including (but not limited to):

Lovely Walberswick, with excellent coastal walks and two fantastic pubs;

The ancient buried town of Dunwich (now a very quaint village and nature reserve);

Jimmys Farm (owed by the TV presenter and friend of Jamie Oliver);

Pleasurewood Hills Theme Park, Lowestoft, for white knuckle rides;

Lavenham, one of the 20 wealthiest towns in England in medieval times, which has retained an almost perfect medieval market square and an Anglo Saxon Mead Hall - this is one of my favourite villages in the UK;

Long Melford - a village who's wealth was derived from the wool trade. Many of its 15th century dwellings survive today. Additionally Long Melford boasts the longest High Street in the UK, which is full of antique shops and small café’s, as well as the stunning Kentwell Hall;

Framlingham and it's ancient castle and beautiful town centre;

Suffolk’s idyllic landscape inspired Constable and Gainsborough to capture the fleeting light of English countryside and sky in paint. Constables name will be linked forever with Flatford Mill and Dedham Vale, both just over the border in north Essex - the area is known as Constable Country;

Sutton Hoo at Woodbridge is one of Britain's most important and atmospheric archaeological sites, famous as the site of the burial of an ancient Anglo-saxon king and his ship.

Aldeburgh, with it's art galleries, shops and restaurants, also famous for the Aldeburgh Music Festival;

Beautiful Clare and surrounding countryside walks;

Orford, a wonderful small town, famous for the brilliant local pubs and as access point to Orford Ness wildlife reserve, as well as the unique polygonal towerkeep of Orford Castle, which stands beside the pretty town and former port which Henry II developed in the 1160s;

Bury St Edumds, a charming city with the Abbey ruins and quaint lanes filled with shops, cafes and resturants;

Colne Valley Railway at Castle Hedingham, a fully preserved steam powered railway line;

Numerous bird sanctuaries set up by the RSPB

More Details

Property Manager
Clair Huggins
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 13, 2017

Amenities

Wangford Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house (detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5489 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 18 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master bathroom - toilet , tub , twin sinks - door to dressing area and master bedroom
    East end bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Accessible by the whole group/family
    Family ensuite - toilet , combination tub/shower , Ensuite to Family bedroom
    Group shower-room - toilet , shower , family access & door to bedroom 5
    Downstairs toilet - toilet , Convenient downstairs toilet located in boot room
  • All bathrooms are modern and recently refurbished to a luxury and high standard. One bathroom is a full ensuite to the family bedroom. All other bathrooms / shower-rooms are accessible by all the guests from the landing. The master bathroom is also a Jack and Jill to the master bedroom. Each bathroom contains luxury toiletries but bath and hand towels are not provided so guests are reminded to bring their own.
Bedrooms:
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Triple - 3 twin/ single , Triple
    Family ensuite - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , Family ensuite
    Master bedroom - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , Master with Jack and Jill access to bathroom
    Green rear double - 1 double , Green rear double
    Front twin bedroom - 2 twin/ single , Front twin
    Mid rear double - 1 queen , Mid rear double
    Downstairs double bedroom - 1 queen , Downstairs double
    Attic bedroom - 1 double , Attic bedroom
  • Each bedroom has full wardrobe hanging space and luxury mattresses, linen, duvets and pillows. 'Family bedroom' is arranged as a family room, having a large double and two single beds, with it's own private ensuite bath/shower-room. 'Master bedroom' has a door access to the master family bathroom. The green rear double bedroom has hanging space allocated to it in the master bathroom dressing room area. Bedroom 7 is downstairs. Bedroom 8 is a quaint attic room with no traditional window but shared light from the landing and the attic and is arranged as a double bed. Our bedsets, quilts and linen are of the highest quality. The linen is 500 'TOC', whereas the average good quality linen is 180 - 200 TOC. This higher thread count results in a more luxurious & softer feel.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • 18 garden chairs
  • 10 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Indoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There is a lovely large swimming pool in the grounds which is housed for all year round swimming. The Games room contains a pool table, table football & darts board. Wheelchair access is not perfect. The house is very old, and built in several stages. There are therefore slight steps to accommodate different ground floor levels. This is normal for houses of this age and standard. However, these small variances in floor levels makes wheelchair access awkward, but not impossible. Doors are wide enough to allow access. Please note that the broadband in the house is provided by a third party supplier. We cannot be help responsible if the service dips or stops working for any reason outside of our control. Of course, we will endeavour to remedy the situation as promptly as we can, but as you will appreciate, we are reliant on the third party.

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Large Luxurious Country House Retreat minutes from Southwold Suffolk
average rating of 3.857143 based on 7 reviews
5

Utterly brilliant!!!

  • 5 of 5

Booked the property for our 40th Birthday celebrations with 16 friends. The house was absolutely perfect, great location, fantastic facilities, clean, tidy and plenty of space. I would THOROUGHLY recommend the property to anyone thinking of staying there!

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous holiday & perfect house!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Elms Farmhouse in February with a group of friends and had a wonderful time. I must admit that I was a bit nervous booking after reading the first two reviews, but thought that there are always two sides to every story and made my enquiries. I ended up airing my concern with the owner of the property who in turn wrote a very detailed email putting my mind completely at rest. Anyway, l was right to ignore the negative reviews. The house is stunning set in the most beautiful Suffolk countryside close to Walberswick, Southwold & Adleburgh. We enjoyed local walks along the beach, spend hours in pubs eating and drinking and managed to get some shopping in. Everyone had a great time and the house was a big factor in all of that. We hope to return next year!

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

First-class weekend with the family

  • 5 of 5

Booked following a recommendation from a friend and had a fantastic weekend at Elms Farm House with a group of 18. Enjoyed the surroundings enormously, specifically Walberswick a few minutes drive away. We decided to do our own catering as supposed to going out and the kitchen and dining areas were very well equipped. Our age group varied from 2 to 60'ish and 2 birthdays were celebrated. The heated indoor swimming pool was a bonus plus we could take our dogs. Thank you for a first-class weekend.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect stay for me & the dogs

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Elms Farmhouse with a group of friends & 3 dogs and loved everything about our stay. The property has a great location being close to several beaches and beautiful market towns like Southwold & Aldeburgh. The house is stunning and found out during our stay that the actor Ralph Fiennes spent his first few years as a child at Elms Farm. How special is that!

There are plenty of areas in the house you can socialise and have fun in including a games room and spacious living room. Me & the dogs specifically loved the spacious garden.

Will be returning to Elms Farmhouse next year! Thank you for a perfect stay, Clair.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming old Farmhouse in Beautiful Setting

  • 5 of 5

We were a party of 18, aged from 13 to 71, the house is a mixture of Georgian and Queen Anne, having two staircases that the younger ones found great. The kitchen was better equipped than my own and had two dishwashers which was handy for a big party. I loved the huge table in the dining room that we all sat round , it had plenty of room to lay out serving dishes and all china and cutlery, this was a bonus as often you have to squeeze things together, The windows have lovely old original shutters and the house has lots of beams in the old part, and high ceilings in the Georgian part., The swimming pool was great, only draw back it was in the garden so neede to dash in the cold but made up for it when we all went in, the level was good as it suited non swimmers, The grounds are lovely and all the rooms are different with lovely linen and plenty of storage and great space. The location was great as we wanted country but near the coast and this hit the spot being a short distance from Southwold and its quaint shops and pubs. the games room was a big hit with us all. I am planning to go again with another group of family friends I can well recommend this lovely old Farmhouse for large groups who want a bit of luxury with lots of space and swimming pool and games room. Well done Clair for helping uus with local shopping information. l

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Awful - Over priced and shocking customer service

  • 1 of 5

When we arrived the cottage was freezing with no heating at all so all were in coats and scarfs until it warmed up.

Pool is down the other end of the garden and we had to pay extra to have it heated which it wasn't worth it. It wasn't that good, the bottom of the pool was slippy and dangerous and the heating box was full of mice droppings and was very dirty.

I left my chromecast there by accident and the lady wanted £35 to return to me! this only cost £25 to purchase anyway in the first place but I explained it had sentimental value to it, she then changed to wanting £15 + postage + petrol to get to the post office! the post office was less than 1/2 mile away from the cottage so these costs were ridiculous. The item is so small it would have cost less than £1 to post.

When I said the costs were so over priced I never even got a reply!!

You would have thought for how much we paid that they would have posted the item which would have cost less than £1 to post.

When we checked in the arrival book they said each damaged item would cost £35 each to replace even glasses, felt like we weren't allowed to touch anything!! Accidents happen and the amount we paid for the house this shouldn't be so expensive and so much of an issue.

Nice house but would NEVER stay again and would NEVER recommend to anyone!! Much nicer places to stay at better prices with better customer service

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This client was part of a group booking in which the lead party member gave us written feedback (on another website) that the whole group had a wonderful time and that the property was amazing. The lead party member never once mentioned any of the issues highlighted in this review and the first time we were made aware of any issues, genuine or otherwise, was upon reading this review. What we are aware of is that soon after departing the house at the end of their stay, the writer of this review discovered she had left behind a gadget of hers. She requested we post it back to her. We explained that there is an admin fee of £15 plus the postage costs for us to be able to do so. We explained that cost is necessary as we do not live near this property. We have independent contractors look after the property and the cleaning company responsible for this property charge us £15 + postage for their own operators time (time to drive to the property, retrieve the item, package it up and then drive to the nearest post office to send it registered post - the cleaning company is not based in the village of the property). £15 represents fair value for that company's time. However, this client failed to appreciate the cost of the request to post the item back to them. The client then emailed to say she had a lovely time at the house and was going to recommend the house to others but had now decided that she would instead leave negative feedback on websites because of the admin charge. We refused to be intimidated in this manner. What is interesting about this client is the fact that they were wholly responsible for leaving their item at the property but they were wholly unwilling to cover any cost associated in our having to help correct their mistake. Moreover, they join an increasing number of people who then use the threat of negative feedback to try to get their own way.
Did you find this review helpful?
10 2

Map

Nearest Airport
88 Miles
Stansted, Essex
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
Angel Inn or Plough Inn, Wangford
Nearest Ferry
67 Miles
Harwich, Essex
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Southwold Golf Club
Nearest Train
8 Miles
Beccles, Suffolk
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
A12
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Numerous within
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Southwold, Suffolk
Car: necessary

Wangford is an ancient and traditional Suffolk village located an 8 minute drive away from Southwold and the beautiful Suffolk heritage coast.

The area boasts numerous attractions and lots to do for all the family. There are stunning walks and award-winning pubs, bars and restaurants aplenty.

This area of the Suffolk Coast is famous for the very pretty villages and towns that were once the back-bone of the local fishing & wool trades. They remain largely unspoilt and now offer excellent bases of tourists looking for action as well as those wanting a bolt-hole away from it all. There are literally hundreds of walks, numerous nature reserves and bird sanctuaries.

The Suffolk Coastal region remains one of the UK's foremost tourist destinations, appealing to families, groups of friends and individuals alike. This area is ideal for larger groups, with lots on offer to keep everyone happy.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Wangford Chateau / Country House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring 2017
Apr 17 2017 - Apr 27 2017
3 night minimum stay
$565
From
$860
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,228
 
 
May Day W/End 2017
Apr 28 2017 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$739
From
$1,127
Fri,Sat,Sun
$4,225
 
 
Early Summer 2017
May 1 2017 - May 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$588
From
$894
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,362
 
 
May Bank Holiday 2017
May 26 2017 - Jun 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$862
From
$1,277
Fri,Sat,Sun
$4,922
 
 
2017 Early Summer + 1
Jun 5 2017 - Jun 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$648
From
$987
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,703
 
 
2017 Early Summer 2017
Jun 23 2017 - Jun 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$721
From
$1,097
Fri,Sat,Sun
$4,116
 
 
Early Summer 2017 + 3
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 13 2017
3 night minimum stay
$782
From
$1,087
Fri,Sat,Sun
$4,470
 
 
2017 Summer Hols Wk 1
Jul 14 2017 - Jul 20 2017
7 night minimum stay
$5,877
 
 
Summer Hols Wk 2
Jul 21 2017 - Jul 27 2017
7 night minimum stay
$5,944
 
 
2017 Summer Hols Wks 3+4
Jul 28 2017 - Aug 10 2017
7 night minimum stay
$5,721
 
 
2017 Summer Hols Wk 5
Aug 11 2017 - Aug 17 2017
7 night minimum stay
$5,365
 
 
2017 Summer Hols Wk 6
Aug 18 2017 - Aug 24 2017
7 night minimum stay
$5,337
 
 
2017 Summer Low
Aug 25 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$868
From
$1,319
Fri,Sat,Sun
$4,960
 
 
2017 Late Summer
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$655
From
$991
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,739
 
 
2017 Early Autumn
Sep 15 2017 - Oct 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$514
From
$784
Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,936
 
 
2017 Autumn Half term
Oct 20 2017 - Oct 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$693
From
$1,056
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,959
 
 
2017 Autumn Half term Week 2
Oct 30 2017 - Nov 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$610
From
$929
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,483
 
 
2017 Early Winter
Nov 6 2017 - Dec 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
$454
From
$690
Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,589
 
 
2017 Christmas
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 28 2017
7 night minimum stay
$6,004
 
 
2017/2018 New Year
Dec 29 2017 - Jan 4 2018
7 night minimum stay
$5,621
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

A heating surcharge of £150 is payable for each booking. This amount is payable all year round and covers the cost of the swimming pool heating costs. It is payable per booking rather than per week or similar pro-rata style.

30% of the rental rate is payable upon booking. This is non-refundable. The balance of 70% of the booking rental rate is payable 3 months before the booking start date. The security deposit and the heating surcharge is payable 2 weeks prior to the booking start date. The security deposit is £500 without dogs, or £700 with.

We recommend our clients take out their own holiday insurance as we cannot offer refunds if you are unable to use your holiday home booking for any reason.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties