Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

OWLS ROOST-5 BR, 3.5 Bath Private Log Home in Gated Preserve-Sleeps 14

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

Bedrooms 5, Bathrooms 3.5, Sleeps 14

Owls Roost, If you are looking for a PET FRIENDLY, unique mountain getaway experience, you have found it! This is the place where family quality time, fun and memories will be made. This is a 3 level, custom log home that will meet your expectations for a mountain vacation.

The home is located in Catawba Falls Preserve, a gated mountain community preserve with paved roads located just 8 miles (15 minutes) from the town of Black Mountain and 23 miles (30 minutes) from Asheville. The community backs up to the Pisgah National Forest and is the home for an abundance of wildlife including black bear, deer, turkey, birds and many other animals. There are many hiking trails in the community.

This home is set up nicely for 2 families or multiple couples to vacation together. There is a master queen bed/bath on the main level. Bedroom 2 and 3 are on the top floor. Both bedrooms are identical and have a king bed. There is one full bathroom on the third floor. Bedroom 4 on the lower level has 2 queen beds. Bedroom 5 on the lower level has a queen bed and a bunkbed. There is one full bath on the lower level. The home can accommodate 14 comfortably in beds.

The property is very quiet, peaceful and private and sits on 2 acres. The deck wraps around and is a nice place to relax. There is a BBQ grill on the back deck. This is the place for relaxing and enjoying the wooded mountain views and listening to the sounds of nature. For nature lovers, there is hiking, waterfalls and abundant wildlife in the Preserve.

The home and kitchen are well stocked with all your basic supplies needed for your vacation week. The beds are all made up prior to your arrival and we provide towels and linens.

We keep our availability calendar up to date. Please check our calendar before inquiring about availability. We respond to all email inquiries within a few hours. If you inquire by phone and there is no answer, please leave a message with the dates requested and any other details and we will get back to you as soon as possible. We have a 3 night minimum requirement in the off season (Sept, Nov-May excluding holidays and spring break) and a 7 night minimum in season (Memorial Day through Labor Day and October) and all holidays and spring break. Please do not inquire for less than 3 nights.

***If this property is booked, please inquire about my other similar affiliated properties. We manage several properties close by.

This house truly is a peaceful mountain experience. We make it very easy for our guests so they can enjoy their vacation. Thank you for considering our log home for your mountain vacation.

Enjoy a really unique getaway. You will feel away from it all yet you will be only 15 minutes (8 miles) to Black Mountain and 30 minutes (23 miles) to Asheville, NC.

The Unique Benefits at this Lodge: Bordering a vast forest preserve, Catawba Falls presents gated acreage homesites with stunning views of the Pisgah National Forest. You'll feel a thousand miles away in your mountainside dream vacation home, yet you'll be minutes from the culture and conveniences of Asheville and Black Mountain. There are numerous hiking trails, streams and rivers, and waterfalls nearby. Wildlife is abundant in the Preserve. The most common animals that you may encounter are deer, wild turkey, rabbits, birds, fox, and black bears. Of course, there is absolutely no hunting in the Preserve.


If this property is unavailable, we may have others available. Please visit our website:

More Details

Property Manager
Michael Masterman or Jason Diamond, Prop Mgr, Master Diamond Properties, Inc.
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2018


Black Mountain Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • festivals
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
OWLS ROOST-5 BR, 3.5 Bath Private Log Home in Gated Preserve-Sleeps 14
average rating of 4.75 based on 8 reviews
Chapel Hill NC

Privacy & comfort in a beautiful mountain setting

  • 5 of 5

- Modern log cabin home in a quiet, secluded gated community surrounded by forest.

- Our extended family, including seven adults and five children under five years of age, lived comfortably for three nights/ four days. We saw just one other person out walking during our entire stay. We had great weather, dry and sunny, our entire visit.

- Spacious interior; five bedrooms dispersed on three levels with good sound insulation.

- Large, well-built, enclosed outside deck on main floor became our go-to gathering spot during day time for parents, kids and two dogs. Very stable, accessible and safe platform.

- Well equipped appliance set, including washer and dryer plus two gas grills. All equipment functioned properly. Kitchen cookware and plates were well stocked. Most basic consumables—dish washer soap, cleaning supplies, paper, etc—were supplied.

- House was clean and functional upon arrival. Property managers (Michael and Jason) responded immediately to several questions/ comments I sent prior to or after our vacation.

- Home is 6 miles over winding Hwy 9 Road from bustling, fun town of Black Mountain—restaurants, shops, bakeries, etc—we liked dessert at the German restaurant in town and my wife appreciated the high-end yarn / knitting store. A large Ingles super market at junction of I-40 and Hwy 9–we used Ingles multiple times and were pleased with wide selection and reasonable prices. Asheville is another 15 miles further over Interstate Roads. We bought a small print from one artist in the eclectic new River Arts District, and thoroughly enjoyed the casual White Duck Taco Restaurant —worth the wait in line. Our adult children opted to go hiking with their families to the Falls instead—they had a wonderful 3 hour adventure despite crowded trail route.

- I’d recommend this property highly. Ideal for large families or groups of 6-10 people who prefer privacy, natural beauty, and modern conveniences, with an occasional trip to Asheville or the Black Mountain areas.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We really appreciate it and are happy you had such a nice stay at Owls Roost Cabin. Hope you come back again. All the best, Michael and Jason, Master Diamond Properties
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Beautiful house, quiet location,plenty of room for our group of 7 adults and 2 children. Extra parking for our two guests that came for dinner one night. Place was very clean. Close to Black mountain and Asheville.

Large kitchen with several small appliances - crock pot, blender, toaster, two coffee makers - traditional and keurig type, can opener. Glass top stove and oven worked well dishwasher worked well too. Also plates, cups, glasses utensils. All four TVs provided worked. Had working washer and dryer. Dining area for eight indoor and also on covered deck. Plenty of chair outside provided. Basement was great for those staying up later with pool table and air hockey table.

We enjoyed our stay and would come again.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

House was very nice!

  • 4 of 5

The house was beautiful! The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed for our meals. One complaint would be that the house says it is for 14 people, however you can only seat 7 comfortably in the living room. I was suggest more comfortable seating on the main floor. The other concern I had was having to strip all of the beds on the last day, throw in a load of towels from the bathrooms, and gather all of the trash and take it to another location to throw it away! I'm wondering why we paid a $200 cleaning fee? It was surprising because I've never we've never been asked to do that in other properties we've rented. Other than that we really enjoyed the house!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a nice time and enjoyed the house. Sorry you were concerned about taking a few minutes on check out to help us out. This is a very large home and in order to get the house ready for the next guests in time and assist our hard working cleaning crew, we simply ask to put all dirty linens in the laundry room and start a load of towels in order to get the laundry going. All other past guests were happy to cooperate. Thanks again for staying. All the best.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Mountain Summer Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Great property for a family summer vacation. Spacious, clean, private and well maintained.

Nestled in Black Mountain with hiking trails nearby.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Peaceful and very lovely house!

  • 5 of 5

We had a large family vacation in your home comprised of 4 siblings and their families and we never felt cramped in your house. There was ample room for everyone to enjoy their own spaces and the common areas allowed us plenty of space to be together. The two porches off of the main room are very relaxing. The town of Black Mountain was adorable and unfortunately we did not really get to enjoy it until the time! : ) We are especially happy that we took the trail to Catawba Falls...this was strenuous/treacherous at some points, but SO worth it! Oh and for folks like us who don't know any better..."no turnaround" means "NO TURNAROUND"...LOL, watch for those signs and pay attention. Things worth asking about, WiFi (connectivity) and Garbage take-out. Thank you for sharing your home with us...we really enjoyed it!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review of Owl's Roost. Glad you had such a good time. Sounds like you have reason to come back soon! All the best, Michael and Jason, Master Diamond Properties
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful, spacious log home in mountains

  • 4 of 5

Great time with large family and 2 golden retrievers. House was perfect to spread out and was nicely equipped.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0