About the property
- Half Baths1
- Minimum Stay3 - 7 nights
Bedrooms 5, Bathrooms 3.5, Sleeps 14
Owls Roost, If you are looking for a PET FRIENDLY, unique mountain getaway experience, you have found it! This is the place where family quality time, fun and memories will be made. This is a 3 level, custom log home that will meet your expectations for a mountain vacation.
The home is located in Catawba Falls Preserve, a gated mountain community preserve with paved roads located just 8 miles (15 minutes) from the town of Black Mountain and 23 miles (30 minutes) from Asheville. The community backs up to the Pisgah National Forest and is the home for an abundance of wildlife including black bear, deer, turkey, birds and many other animals. There are many hiking trails in the community.
This home is set up nicely for 2 families or multiple couples to vacation together. There is a master queen bed/bath on the main level. Bedroom 2 and 3 are on the top floor. Both bedrooms are identical and have a king bed. There is one full bathroom on the third floor. Bedroom 4 on the lower level has 2 queen beds. Bedroom 5 on the lower level has a queen bed and a bunkbed. There is one full bath on the lower level. The home can accommodate 14 comfortably in beds.
The property is very quiet, peaceful and private and sits on 2 acres. The deck wraps around and is a nice place to relax. There is a BBQ grill on the back deck. This is the place for relaxing and enjoying the wooded mountain views and listening to the sounds of nature. For nature lovers, there is hiking, waterfalls and abundant wildlife in the Preserve.
The home and kitchen are well stocked with all your basic supplies needed for your vacation week. The beds are all made up prior to your arrival and we provide towels and linens.
We keep our availability calendar up to date. Please check our calendar before inquiring about availability. We respond to all email inquiries within a few hours. If you inquire by phone and there is no answer, please leave a message with the dates requested and any other details and we will get back to you as soon as possible. We have a 3 night minimum requirement in the off season (Sept, Nov-May excluding holidays and spring break) and a 7 night minimum in season (Memorial Day through Labor Day and October) and all holidays and spring break. Please do not inquire for less than 3 nights.
***If this property is booked, please inquire about my other similar affiliated properties. We manage several properties close by.
This house truly is a peaceful mountain experience. We make it very easy for our guests so they can enjoy their vacation. Thank you for considering our log home for your mountain vacation.
Enjoy a really unique getaway. You will feel away from it all yet you will be only 15 minutes (8 miles) to Black Mountain and 30 minutes (23 miles) to Asheville, NC.
The Unique Benefits at this Lodge: Bordering a vast forest preserve, Catawba Falls presents gated acreage homesites with stunning views of the Pisgah National Forest. You'll feel a thousand miles away in your mountainside dream vacation home, yet you'll be minutes from the culture and conveniences of Asheville and Black Mountain. There are numerous hiking trails, streams and rivers, and waterfalls nearby. Wildlife is abundant in the Preserve. The most common animals that you may encounter are deer, wild turkey, rabbits, birds, fox, and black bears. Of course, there is absolutely no hunting in the Preserve.
PRIMARY RENTER MUST BE AT LEAST 25 YEARS OLD. There is a 4 night minimum Labor Day and Memorial Day weekends. Please note that the house has a satellite wifi connection as there is no DSL/cable on the mountain. It is sufficient for surfing, emails, etc. but may be slow for downloading.
If this property is unavailable, we may have others available. Please visit our website: www.masterdiamondnc.com
Michael Masterman or Jason Diamond, Prop Mgr, Master Diamond Properties, Inc.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within one hour
- Calendar last updated:
- May 21, 2018
Sports & Adventure Activities
Privacy & comfort in a beautiful mountain setting
- Modern log cabin home in a quiet, secluded gated community surrounded by forest.
- Our extended family, including seven adults and five children under five years of age, lived comfortably for three nights/ four days. We saw just one other person out walking during our entire stay. We had great weather, dry and sunny, our entire visit.
- Spacious interior; five bedrooms dispersed on three levels with good sound insulation.
- Large, well-built, enclosed outside deck on main floor became our go-to gathering spot during day time for parents, kids and two dogs. Very stable, accessible and safe platform.
- Well equipped appliance set, including washer and dryer plus two gas grills. All equipment functioned properly. Kitchen cookware and plates were well stocked. Most basic consumables—dish washer soap, cleaning supplies, paper, etc—were supplied.
- House was clean and functional upon arrival. Property managers (Michael and Jason) responded immediately to several questions/ comments I sent prior to or after our vacation.
- Home is 6 miles over winding Hwy 9 Road from bustling, fun town of Black Mountain—restaurants, shops, bakeries, etc—we liked dessert at the German restaurant in town and my wife appreciated the high-end yarn / knitting store. A large Ingles super market at junction of I-40 and Hwy 9–we used Ingles multiple times and were pleased with wide selection and reasonable prices. Asheville is another 15 miles further over Interstate Roads. We bought a small print from one artist in the eclectic new River Arts District, and thoroughly enjoyed the casual White Duck Taco Restaurant —worth the wait in line. Our adult children opted to go hiking with their families to the Falls instead—they had a wonderful 3 hour adventure despite crowded trail route.
- I’d recommend this property highly. Ideal for large families or groups of 6-10 people who prefer privacy, natural beauty, and modern conveniences, with an occasional trip to Asheville or the Black Mountain areas.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We really appreciate it and are happy you had such a nice stay at Owls Roost Cabin. Hope you come back again.
All the best,
Michael and Jason, Master Diamond Properties
Overall the stay was very good. A couple of things were a concern. First the water pressure was terrible. If someone was using a sink or flushing a toilet water came out in a trickle elseware. For a house with 5 bedrooms and 3 1/2 baths that sleeps 14 this was a challenge. Also it sleeps 14 but only 8 seats at the table. All in all I would recommend this property to a friend.
Glad you had a nice stay and enjoyed the home. Thank you for letting us know about the water pressure. This has been addressed and is now working properly. The water filter to the house got clogged and has been replaced.
All the best,
Michael and Jason, Master Diamond Properties
Beautiful house, quiet location,plenty of room for our group of 7 adults and 2 children. Extra parking for our two guests that came for dinner one night. Place was very clean. Close to Black mountain and Asheville.
Large kitchen with several small appliances - crock pot, blender, toaster, two coffee makers - traditional and keurig type, can opener. Glass top stove and oven worked well dishwasher worked well too. Also plates, cups, glasses utensils. All four TVs provided worked. Had working washer and dryer. Dining area for eight indoor and also on covered deck. Plenty of chair outside provided. Basement was great for those staying up later with pool table and air hockey table.
We enjoyed our stay and would come again.
House was very nice!
The house was beautiful! The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed for our meals. One complaint would be that the house says it is for 14 people, however you can only seat 7 comfortably in the living room. I was suggest more comfortable seating on the main floor. The other concern I had was having to strip all of the beds on the last day, throw in a load of towels from the bathrooms, and gather all of the trash and take it to another location to throw it away! I'm wondering why we paid a $200 cleaning fee? It was surprising because I've never we've never been asked to do that in other properties we've rented. Other than that we really enjoyed the house!
Glad you had a nice time and enjoyed the house. Sorry you were concerned about taking a few minutes on check out to help us out. This is a very large home and in order to get the house ready for the next guests in time and assist our hard working cleaning crew, we simply ask to put all dirty linens in the laundry room and start a load of towels in order to get the laundry going. All other past guests were happy to cooperate.
Thanks again for staying. All the best.
Mountain Summer Vacation
Great property for a family summer vacation. Spacious, clean, private and well maintained.
Nestled in Black Mountain with hiking trails nearby.
Peaceful and very lovely house!
We had a large family vacation in your home comprised of 4 siblings and their families and we never felt cramped in your house. There was ample room for everyone to enjoy their own spaces and the common areas allowed us plenty of space to be together. The two porches off of the main room are very relaxing. The town of Black Mountain was adorable and unfortunately we did not really get to enjoy it until the end...next time! : ) We are especially happy that we took the trail to Catawba Falls...this was strenuous/treacherous at some points, but SO worth it! Oh and for folks like us who don't know any better..."no turnaround" means "NO TURNAROUND"...LOL, watch for those signs and pay attention. Things worth asking about, WiFi (connectivity) and Garbage take-out. Thank you for sharing your home with us...we really enjoyed it!
Thank you for your nice review of Owl's Roost. Glad you had such a good time. Sounds like you have reason to come back soon!
All the best, Michael and Jason, Master Diamond Properties