Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Last minute specials in Updated Kona Isle Direct Oceanfront Unit

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)

Special reduced rates for last minute June cancellation and remaining May nights. A great time to visit as it's not crowded and the weather is normally better than later in the summer. If your dates work, you can be oceanfront at a very reasonable price.

This unit provides a panoramic view of the ocean framed by palm trees from the living/dining and kitchen areas through twelve foot sliding glass doors. Relax on the expanded private lanai overlooking the surf, marine life and unsurpassed Kona sunsets. This second floor end unit in the desirable beachfront "E" building is quiet, secure and private. Full remodel completed in 2014 provides a bright and contemporary feel that is open to the view and ocean breezes. The updated kitchen features a dishwasher and eating bar. The ceramic tile bathroom has a walk-in shower. The bedroom includes a wall of windows that can be opened to the trade winds and the sound of near-by waves.

To help you enjoy your visit, there is beach gear, binoculars to watch passing whales (in season), guidebooks and a reserved stall in an adjacent lighted parking area. We have assembled an on-island team that takes pride in insuring that everything is extra clean and in good repair, as well as a concierge if you need assistance in making any special arrangements for your visit.

Kona Isle delivers the old Hawaii that visitors dream about. It is a small, intimate resort of low rise buildings nestled in lush, pristine landscaped grounds. A heated fresh water swimming pool next to a private beach area affords plenty of space to soak up the sun or relax with a book from the Kona Isle library. There is also an adjacent ocean-side surf fed pool. Gas bar-be-ques are maintained for your use in a lighted ocean front picnic area, a favorite gathering spot for sunset viewing. Kona Isle is a Wi-Fi enabled, non-smoking facility.

Kona Isle is situated in the heart of the Kona coast on the ocean side of Ali'i Drive about 1 1/2 miles from Kailua-Kona restaurants, shops and nightlife. Both a convenience store and farmers market are within a 1 block walk. The Alii Drive shuttle bus also stops near-by. Some of the island's best snorkeling and surfing spots are less then a ten minute drive.

The laid back, serene ambiance within the complex coupled with the convenient location accounts for the many repeat visitors. This unit puts you out front, right on the ocean -- no roads to cross, no buildings restricting your view, no vehicles parked in sight. How close is the ocean? Click on video button above for a panoramic video taken from the lanai of some winter waves.

More Details

Owner
Jim & Penny, owners
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 29, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

This was a great unit and it had spectacular views of the water, sunsets, whales, etc. We would definitely stay there again!
Feb 2014
  • 1 of 7

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , walk-in ceramic tile shower; ADA raised seat toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , New extra firm mattress w/memory foam topper 2015
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(56 traveler reviews)

Last minute specials in Updated Kona Isle Direct Oceanfront Unit
average rating of 4.857143 based on 63 reviews
4

NICE!!!!

  • 4 of 5

Ocean Front updated one bedroom Condo, very nice. We would stay here again, great view, nice interior decent price, and relaxing!

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback. You were great guests. You're welcome back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Moses Lake, WA
5

A Kona Island in the sun

  • 5 of 5

This unit is truly ocean front. Beautiful grounds immaculately maintained. The pictures are very accurate in showing the upgrades to E-24. Everything you need is there. More than adequate closet space & amenities, and the most comfortable bed you've ever been in. The upgraded shower is fabulous. Jim & Penny have added plenty of extras so you won't need to buy anything but food, beverages, and good times. The wifi signals are a bit weak except in bedroom but that's a resort problem. The saltwater pool can be noisy late into the night when the surf is up but that's due to rude & inconsiderate people. The lanai faces the ocean, so expect gorgeous sunsets & breathtaking views. Frequently seen is a large dolphin pod often leaping & spinning as they pass by. Jim & Penny stay here themselves at least once a year to keep the unit in tiptop condition as they are hands on owners rather than leaving matters to a manager that might not be as concerned about keeping things in good shape. We look forward to staying here again someday.

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to provide such a comprehensive review. We arrived following your stay and, as usual, stopped at Home Depot on our first trip to Hapuna Beach. Besides the normal maintenance, we're doing some upgrades which hopefully will make things even better for your next visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Ferndale, Wa
5

Very pleasant stay in a great location

  • 5 of 5

This probably is one of the most outstanding overall values. The condo has everything you need. If you like to swim snorkel or bodyboard, it's there. If you want to take a lunch to the beach, the umbrella, the cooler, it's all there. Spinner dolphins breaching right out in front daily. If you are looking for something really fancy lavishing in luxury, this is not the place for you. But if you want a clean comfortable place to stay with a breathtaking view, look no further. Will not disappoint.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to provide more than a visitor expects to find for the price. We love to hear that we've met or exceeded expectations because it means we helped shape a successful vacation for a guest whose parting wish we hope will be to return.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Exactly what we were looking for!

  • 5 of 5

This unit was exactly what we were looking for. This was our first stay on the Big Island but we have been to the islands many times and have learned what works for us. . Kona Isle Condos is a beautiful, very well kept property. Jim and Penny's unit is great! Spectacular oceanfront views, we loved watching the sunset from the lanai. We also love the sound of the surf in the evening and it helps us drift off into sleep. The location is great too. It's just minutes from lots of shopping and dining. Excellent remodeling job with all new tile and cabinets, very clean. Would definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Given the large number of repeat visitors at Kona Isle each winter, it seems for many it's a good fit. The location, setting and ambiance of the place has always seemed perfect to us. We're pleased you found in our condo exactly what you sought for your first Big Island vacation and hope you can return often.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great stay.

  • 5 of 5

Thanks Jim and Penny for sharing your fine Condo with my husband and I. We had a great time. You have a terrific amount of supplies for the beach and so much more. We needed closed toe shoes for zip lining and sure enough there were water shoes in the closet. I forgot my snorkel and fins at home and found two sets in your condo. There is an ample supply of towels and dishes. Thanks for replacing the hairdryer someone packed home with them and for replacing the broken coffee maker you didn't know about. You are awesome to work with. Aloha and thanks again for the beautiful view as well. The Condo is all that you advertised it to be and more. I would stay there again.

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're happy to hear you had a great time and appreciate the compliments but others deserve much of the credit. While we try to make certain things like beach towels, coolers and chairs are available, the smaller personal items are often left by guests for others who follow to use. As owner/managers, we depend on the team we have put together on island to quickly respond whenever something is broken or missing. They do a great job as you found out. Our goal is for our guests to be able to devote their time to having a relaxing and fun vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

This is REALLY Getting Away!

  • 4 of 5

The only thing I heard for two weeks was the sound of the waves. And if you like to stare out at the ocean, you will love the view. As you walk up the hall in the morning, it looks you are on a cruise ship on the water. The unit is pretty plain, but it has everything that you need, the bathroom shower is great, and it was spotless throughout. Thank you Jim and Penny for sharing your lovely little condo!

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very interesting observations. Except for the fact that we couldn't afford a stateroom as spacious and have never felt even a hint of sea sickness, it is a bit like awaking on a cruise ship. Feel free to come back and sail with us anytime. Mahalo.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring Special
May 19 2017 - May 25 2017
5 night minimum stay
$100
 
 
Summer Special
Jun 8 2017 - Jun 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
$105
$730
 
 
Prime 2017/18
Dec 16 2017 - Apr 15 2018
5 night minimum stay
$132
$910
$3,550
 
 
Prime 2018/19
Dec 15 2018 - Apr 14 2019
5 night minimum stay
$135
$925
$3,650
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$115
$795
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Departure Cleaning $105 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Initial payment of 25% to be made along with completion of rental agreement at time of booking. Up until 60 days prior to arrival, 10% of base rent is retained in event of cancellation. After balance is paid (60 days or less prior to arrival) cancellation refunds are as outlined in the rental agreement. Damage deposit is included in price quoted and fully refundable within a week of departure as per terms of rental agreement. Kona Isle does not levy any additional fees. 2% cash rebate on base rent will be paid with return of damage deposit to those electing to pay by check.

A charge of $10.00/night for each person over two will be added during Ironman week (unit maximum of four still applies)

HI Tax ID TA-008-553-6768-01

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

Car: recommended

Photos

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties