check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Carol-anne Turner

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Beautiful, Large Apartment, Close To Attractions, Helpful Owner

29 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Camden & Covent Garden Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Space For Up To 4 People, Literally All Mod Cons. A Sunny Delight!

This unique apartment boasts a fully fitted kitchen, free WiFi, full sized bath, and shower in the ceiling with twinkling lights, truly amazing! A practical as well as beautiful place, with revolving doors that separate the bedroom from living room/sofa bed, for privacy at night, but still able to keep an eye on kids if need be. An outside balcony with seating for breakfast in the summer. Very close to transport, the local tube; Belsize Park is a 2 minute stroll from the front door. I live on site and am very happy to help, please see reviews for the other apartment I have in the same building - VRBO Listing #373926.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Carol-anne Turner (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

About Carol-anne Turner

Hi! I have lived in this lovely house for over 20 years and started The Black and White House holiday rentals over a year ago on the penthouse floor, this has been such a success, I have so enjoyed my year or so and have had such lovely visitors, that I have added the Middle Floor Suite, you can check out my reviews on VRBO # 373926, which also give more info. I have lived in this area all my life and am a real Londoner, I offer my wealth of knowledge to my visitors to help them get the most out of their vacation or business trip, I have even had both floors taken over by a wedding party, I helped oragnize the hair, make up, nails and drivers and all the things that help make a wedding special, including Champagne! I used to work in films, but now I run this business, I have a son who lives in Barcelona Spain and from next year, we will be expanding over there for those who would like to do a 2 center trip.

Carol-anne Turner purchased this apartment in 1950

Why Carol-anne Turner chose Camden & Covent Garden

I really love this house, it was my grandfathers and I spent my childhood running over here for treats and pocket money, my grandpa always said one day it would be mine, and to my delight, he kept his word. Of course, over the years I have extensively modernized it. I brought up my son here, ran my make up business from here and now I live on the ground floor and travel a lot, but I am here to welcome my lovely guests.

What makes this apartment unique

Having been here so long and lavished loving care and attention on this lovely house, it is my pleasure to open it for guests on holiday, business or a simple break.

Welcome to The Black and White House!

Carol-anne

Reviews

4.9
based on 29 traveler reviews

Beautiful, Large Apartment, Close To Attractions, Helpful Owner
average rating of 4.8965516 based on 29 reviews
5

perfect stay

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for 4 days and nights and it was great. Lovely quiet neighborhood with markets, wine shop, coffee shops and a few delicious and reasonable restaurants nearby. The flat was very spacious, clean, modern and comfortable. Loved the little deck outside in the courtyard. And free fast Wi-Fi. Our host Carol_Anne is delightful, informative, and available if you need anything. The Tube was a 5 minute walk and the line is so easy to go to various places in London. Would definitely stay again!

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you and hope to see you in the future! carol-anne..
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Goose Creek
4

Excellent Location

  • 4 of 5

This apartment is in the perfect location for exploring London, by tube. The tube station is super close, just down the street. There are plenty of restaurants, pubs and stores near the apartment to make it a good place to relax at the end of the day of London madness.

The flat is much larger than it appears. The bed was comfortable and the area was quiet at night. The kitchen was quite large and the whole place had a great comfort feel.

My only issue was with the bath/shower. The in-ceiling shower was not working, due to a leak in the floor. Thus, we only had the choice of the tub and that ended up overflowing as well. I understand this couldn't be fixed prior to our arrival, but it did put a damper on the stay. If this had worked fine, it would have been a 5 Star Rating easily. Carol Anne was very kind.

  • Submitted: May 12, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Judi, Shower is now fixed and working perfectly! I would like to apologise for the shower problem in the Middle Floor Suite of The Black & White House. The shower works fine, however the water is leaking into the room below, this is why we had to restrict usage. Fixing the problem entails ripping up the floor, tanking underneath and relaying the floor. It's a job that will take 8 days and we didn't want to cancel guest stays at short notice to deal with this problem. So I made the decision to accept guests in the hope that this inconvenience would not be too much trouble. I see from the reviews that it is a nuisance, for that I'm really sorry. I strive for very high standards here and I have fallen short. The shower issue happened suddenly and is now in the hands of our insurers and will be fixed as soon as possible. Again, apologies and I hope you will see how lovely everything else is when you read our reviews. Carol-anne.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

incredible Belsize Park

  • 5 of 5

Our family of four began our first leg of a European vacation at the lovely black and white house in Belsize Park. The apartment was lovely with some unique features and provided wonderful accommodation for us (two adults and two teenagers). The best part were the small touches the owner included such as tea, milk and an espresso machine. She even surprised our teenagers with Easter Sunday chocolate. The location was just a short walk from Hampstead and the lively market in Camden Town. The tube stop also made it very easy to get to other areas of London. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was lovely to meet you all! Such a lovely family...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Michigan
5

Wonderful Stay - Perfect Location.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for one week in early March 2016. The location is absolutely perfect....just a quick walk into town and the tube station. I loved the neighborhood and the relative peace after spending all day in busy Central London. The flat has everything you need for a lovely stay. We had a problem with the shower while we were there but it will be fixed soon and that really takes my review from a 5 to a 4.5 stars. The flat is clean, well appointed and a great price for London. Belsize Park is a wonderful village and you are a short walk or short tube ride to Hampstead. Carole Ann and Mia were very responsive and kind to us before and during our stay. Highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review. Hope to welcome you back in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for a week over New Years 2016. We are a family of 4 and we found the flat perfect for us- very spacious, spotlessly clean and well equipped. Location is superb with tube at end of road with local shops and restaurants. Would definitely recommend staying here and will return myself next time we visit London.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nice to hear that, you are right about it being so handy for London, a local neighbourhood feel, yet close to everything. Come back soon! Carol-anne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte, NC USA
5

Flat was excellent

  • 5 of 5

Carol Anne's flat was even better than the pictures. We had absolutely no issues. Location could not have been better. Belize Park Metro was right down the street giving us excellent access to London. Budgen's grocery store was just around the corner and Gail's delicious bakery as well. Being able to cook in and having a washer/dryer is a great asset. Easy walking to The Coffee Cup and to Hampstead Heath in the mornings was enjoyable.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Marcus, for a great review. Best, Carol-anne.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
13 Miles
Heathrow Airport
Nearest Barpub
100
Nearest Train
Belsize Park
Nearest Restaurant
50
Car: not necessary

Belsize Park, a hidden gem in Camden, known to locals, tourist free, but 20 mins to centre of attractions. Our lovely area boasts a stately home, Kenwood House, which has a lovely cafe for breakasts and lunch followed by a bracing walk on Hampstead Heath, the largest green space in London.

A ten minute walk, or one stop on the tube, takes you to Hampsead, with fabulous boutiques and eating houses. We have friendly pubs with blazing log fires in winter and sunny gardens in summer.

Primrose Hill is around the corner, an amazing view from the top of the hill of Vistas of London, home of celebrities which has attracted some lovely trendy cafes and restaurants to the area, eating out to attract all budgets, plus some cute indie boutiques and a walk in yoga centre; Tri Yoga.

Our local theatre; Hampstead Theatre, features some of the U.Ks foremost actors with innovative and exciting plays, ask for info from me, I can book tickets in advance of visits, as they are often sold out. We also have Keats House, where the famous poet used to live, you can tour the tiny treasure house and look at his bedroom and personal belongings. For a complete change, The Roundhouse is an amazing performance space with an eclectic mix of shows from top musicians to circus to performance art and kids shows. The area is so rich and varied, I am on hand to help. Please also see listing; 373926, for the other apartment in the house, in case you require both spaces for large families, weddings, etc. or for availability..

Photos

Rates & Availability

Camden Town Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$197
$1,182
$4,464
 

Additional information about rental rates

Extra Linens Per Set $13
Final Cleaning $66

no deposit required. payments by bank transfer 10 days prior or cash at arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Camden & Covent Garden Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
  • One large bedroom, plus living room with sofa bed for 2, also cosy window seat cushions suitable for teenagers or children (1).
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Notes:
Stays of more one week and more, get additional housekeeper clean and change of linens and towels. Fridge can be stocked if requested. Car service provided, with named driver for arrival and departures at all London airports, ask for a quote. Welcome pack provided to all guests.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties