check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!

62 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 9 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 9 nights


Duluth Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Beautiful Swedish Cottage on 100' of private shoreline on Little Pequaywan Lake

**From early June through the end of August, we only rent from Saturday through Saturday to ensure solid bookings all summer long. Please contact us if you have any questions about this policy!**

This new construction is wonderfully appointed and a great space for your getaway. The interior is constructed with light bright aspen paneling & red oak flooring. The vaulted great room is terrific for entertaining and warming next to the woodstove. The custom kitchen boasts granite countertops, stainless appliances, a center island for gathering and is fully furnished. The full bath is finished off with black Vermont slate, granite countertops and aspen paneling. The two bedrooms and sleeping loft comfortably sleep 6-8 guests. The large deck overlooking the lake leads to a good sized flat yard perfect for playing catch or other outdoor games. From the yard there is set of stairs to the swimming area & dock. The swimming area has clear water with a solid gravel bottom.

Winter: For snowmobiling fanatics, this property is located w/in one mile of the Pequaywan & Brimson Trails! The lake offers a number of species for ice fishermen. The area also has significant public property available for cross country skiing and snowshoeing!

Summer: Our sauna is a great way to relax at the end of a hard day of vacationing. To add to your relaxing vacation, we also offer a patio with grill/patio furniture, kayaks, and many other amenities for you to enjoy! Little Pequaywan Lake (aka Smith Lake) contains walleye, crappies, pan fish, bass and northern pike for fishing enthusiasts.

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 25, 2016
Call Owner

About Roxanne

The cottage on Little Pequaywan is owned by a group of friends from the Duluth area who have maintained their friendship through their shared love of the outdoors. Throughout the last several years, we have completed some wild adventures together, such as: kayaking the Mississippi River, biking around Lake Superior and hiking the Grand Canyon from rim to rim to rim.

Lately, we have decided to spend more time enjoying the area we have all lived in for most of our lives, Northern Minnesota! In order to enjoy the area to the fullest extent, we decided to purchase a cabin on one of the most beautiful lakes in the area, Little Pequaywan Lake.

A little more about us:

Tony: Grew up in Chisholm, Minnesota; graduated from the University of MN-Duluth; is currently employed as an engineer in Duluth.

Chandra: Grew up in Minnesota; graduated from Lake Superior College; currently employed in the physical therapy field in the Duluth area.

Lucas: Grew up in Northern Minnesota; graduated from the University of MN-Twin Cities; currently making paper in Wisconsin.

Roxanne: Grew up in Sturgeon Lake, MN; graduated from the University of MN-Duluth; currently employed in the human resources field in Wisconsin.

Roxanne purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Roxanne chose Minnesota

The first time we drove up to this property we knew it was the one for us (likely the reason why we made an offer to purchase the next day!).

The well built and beautifully furnished cottage is situated 100' from the waters edge with a panoramic view from the living room, dining room and front patio. At the waters edge you will find 100' of lakeshore with a hard gravel bottom and a dock to enjoy everything the lake has to offer.

What makes this cottage unique

The beautifully furnished living/dining area is a great place to relax and converse after a long day on the water or in the many acres of state owned forest just minutes from the cabin.

If the outdoors is your primary reason for visiting, you will really enjoy fishing on Little Pequaywan Lake (very little traffic, no public landing) or snowmobiling on the many miles of local trails (less than a mile from the Brimson and Pequaywan trails).

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just spent our first wedding anniversary here. Enjoyed the peace and quiet and seclusion. Didn't expect the snowy view, would like to enjoy the cabin in nicer weather. Thanks Lucas and Tony for the chance to stay here. We look forward to making more memories here.
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 18


based on 62 traveler reviews

Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!
average rating of 4.7419353 based on 80 reviews

Peaceful retreat

  • 5 of 5

Lovely cabin on a beautiful lake. Our only regret is we didn't spend enough time just enjoying this place. Thank you

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, it is very peaceful and relaxing!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

It was absolutely amazing. Close to the water, my kid learned and mastered fishing the week we were there. Woke up to a view every morning. Our cell phones didn't work so it was nice to disconnect from the world and just enjoy our surroundings and family!

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Slice of heaven!

  • 4 of 5

This was our second visit to this lovely cabin. It's absolutely perfect for our family of five with three active teenagers, as well as our two dogs. The lake is pristine, the neighbors are friendly, and the cabin is beautiful. We were close enough to Duluth, that we were able to make a short drive to town for other activities if we chose. The sauna on the premises is an added bonus! We looked forward to unwinding each night in the sauna. A nice big lawn is also available for lawn games, etc. My only constructive criticisms are: New bedding in master bedroom is needed. the sheets are stretched and a point that they fell off the bed each night as we slept. The quilts are far too heavy for summer sleeping without air conditioning. Perhaps a few fans would be benificial.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review and feedback, it is well noted! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back for a 3rd visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Des Moines, IA USA

Nice Cabin

  • 4 of 5

The cabin is very nice and true to the photos on the site. Kitchen is very well equipped and a nice gas grill provided. Beds were comfortable.

We used both the kayaks and the canoe as it is a nice lake to go out early morning.

Would recommend bringing fans if weather is forecast to be hot during your stay as there is not A/C.

When cabin lost power (due to storms earlier that week) the owners were responsive on letting us know updates from the power company and when to expect power to return. Would note for reference when power goes out, so does the water (no electricity to run the well pump). Duluth, Ely, and Grand Marais are doable for day trips from here.

Was a nice week there.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy the lake, it's a beauty!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A magical retreat.

  • 5 of 5

This is a charming cabin, immaculate and inviting. Over a week we had as few as two and as many as 11 people visiting (two in a tent). I especially appreciated the convenient and well appointed kitchen with a large side by side refrigerator/ freezer. Every bed was comfortable and there were plenty of pillows, blankets and spare comforters. The washer and dryer were just right for us to be able to keep up with the essentials. In my opinion the road to the cabin is a very comfortable distance away with a nice stand of trees shielding the view of the cabin from the road.

The kids were excited to catch fish from the dock, and the kayaks provided great fun. There is also a canoe, but we didn't get to it this trip.

Pequayan is a really pretty lake, surrounded by pine and birch, with loons calling and ducks and ducklings gliding by. ( I had forgotten how good s'mores are when eaten around a campfire.) Our six and eight year old grandchildren had a fine time splashing in the water and finding rocks. The water off the end of the dock is deeper, but I was pleased to see that the kids could still enjoy the water beside the dock.

There is no air conditioning but we had generally good weather and only had a few hours when we were a bit warm by late afternoon. I forgot to bring fans, but I would recommend bringing one or two so that the upstairs can be cooled quickly in the evening. This cabin has large windows on all four sides and the cross breezes were lovely. The sauna worked well and in the cooler months I imagine it would be quite a treat.

On several occasions we took day trips to Duluth, Gooseberry Falls and Split Rock Lighthouse. There is much to do in the area, and yet it was great to drive to such a peaceful and secluded retreat after a few hours of checking out the local attractions.

One night during our stay we had heavy rain. The next morning Tony called to be sure that we didn't have any damage. It was really nice to know that backup would be there right away if we ran into problems. Thanks, Tony!

addendum: In the 50 years since we left Minnesota, the mosquitoes have fared very well. Bring bug is still worth the effort.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. It is our mission that each and every one of our guests enjoy their stay at our cabin as well as enjoys the beauty of the area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very nice spot, but not for everyone

  • 3 of 5

On the plus side, this is a very clean, comfortable, modern cabin in a very pretty location. The sauna is a good one and a real asset.

On the minus side, even though the cabin is far from conveniences like groceries, it’s not isolated in terms of traffic or other people. The lake is full of cabins and houses with close neighbors, the road is relatively well-traveled most times of day, and the cabin is very close to this road. That could be a concern for families with small children and/or pets. The bedrooms face the road, so there is some noise well into the night.

The dock is very nice, but down a fairly steep hill with quite a few steps, which could be a problem for some people. Due to the steepness, the dock is not visible from the cabin or its deck, which again could concern parents of younger children.

One final note: bring plenty of mosquito repellant!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Duluth International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Pequaywan Inn
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Pequaywan Inn
Nearest Ski
35 Miles
Spirit Mountain
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Duluth Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Winter Break
Dec 16 2016 - Dec 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
Early Summer
May 12 2017 - Jun 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
June 10 - June 17, 2017
Jun 10 2017 - Jun 16 2017
7 night minimum stay
Flat fee
June 17 - June 24, 2017
Jun 17 2017 - Jun 23 2017
7 night minimum stay
Flat fee
June 24 - July1, 2017
Jun 24 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
Flat fee
July 1 - July 8, 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
Flat fee
July 8 - July 15, 2017
Jul 8 2017 - Jul 14 2017
7 night minimum stay
Flat fee
July 15 - July 22, 2017
Jul 15 2017 - Jul 21 2017
7 night minimum stay
Flat fee
July 22 - July 29, 2017
Jul 22 2017 - Jul 28 2017
7 night minimum stay
Flat fee
July 29 - August 5, 2017
Jul 29 2017 - Aug 4 2017
7 night minimum stay
Flat fee
August 5 - August 12, 2017
Aug 5 2017 - Aug 11 2017
7 night minimum stay
Flat fee
August 12 - August 19, 2017
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
Flat fee
August 19 - August 26, 2017
Aug 19 2017 - Aug 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
Flat fee
August 26 - September 4, 2017
Aug 26 2017 - Sep 3 2017
9 night minimum stay
Flat fee
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $40 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.88%

-Maximum number of guests = 8
-Check-out time 10 am, check-in time 4 pm.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Duluth Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Towels are provided for each guest.
  • Towels and toilet paper are provided, shower with Vermont slate surround, Vermont slate flooring, granite countertop!
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Bedroom 1 contains king bed, flat screen TV and dresser.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Bedroom 2 contains a double bed and two night stands.
    Bedroom 3 - 4 twin/ single , The loft contains four twin beds.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties