Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 9 nights

Overview

About the property

Beautiful Swedish Cottage on 100' of private shoreline on Little Pequaywan Lake

**From early June through the end of August, we only rent from Saturday through Saturday to ensure solid bookings all summer long. Please contact us if you have any questions about this policy!**

This new construction is wonderfully appointed and a great space for your getaway. The interior is constructed with light bright aspen paneling & red oak flooring. The vaulted great room is terrific for entertaining and warming next to the woodstove. The custom kitchen boasts granite countertops, stainless appliances, a center island for gathering and is fully furnished. The full bath is finished off with black Vermont slate, granite countertops and aspen paneling. The two bedrooms and sleeping loft comfortably sleep 6-8 guests. The large deck overlooking the lake leads to a good sized flat yard perfect for playing catch or other outdoor games. From the yard there is set of stairs to the swimming area & dock. The swimming area has clear water with a solid gravel bottom.

Winter: For snowmobiling fanatics, this property is located w/in one mile of the Pequaywan & Brimson Trails! The lake offers a number of species for ice fishermen. The area also has significant public property available for cross country skiing and snowshoeing! We keep the sauna open all winter to allow as many guests as possible to use the amenity. When there are extremely cold temperatures, the sauna may not heat up to the desired temperature. Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

Summer: Our sauna is a great way to relax at the end of a hard day of vacationing. To add to your relaxing vacation, we also offer a patio with grill/patio furniture, kayaks, and many other amenities for you to enjoy! Little Pequaywan Lake (aka Smith Lake) contains walleye, crappies, pan fish, bass and northern pike for fishing enthusiasts.

More Details

Owner
Roxanne
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

About Roxanne

The cottage on Little Pequaywan is owned by a group of friends from the Duluth area who have maintained their friendship through their shared love of the outdoors. Throughout the last several years, we have completed some wild adventures together, such as: kayaking the Mississippi River, biking around Lake Superior and hiking the Grand Canyon from rim to rim to rim.

Lately, we have decided to spend more time enjoying the area we have all lived in for most of our lives, Northern Minnesota! In order to enjoy the area to the fullest extent, we decided to purchase a cabin on one of the most beautiful lakes in the area, Little Pequaywan Lake.

A little more about us:

Tony: Grew up in Chisholm, Minnesota; graduated from the University of MN-Duluth; is currently employed as an engineer in Duluth.

Chandra: Grew up in Minnesota; graduated from Lake Superior College; currently employed in the physical therapy field in the Duluth area.

Lucas: Grew up in Northern Minnesota; graduated from the University of MN-Twin Cities; currently making paper in Wisconsin.

Roxanne: Grew up in Sturgeon Lake, MN; graduated from the University of MN-Duluth; currently employed in the human resources field in Wisconsin.

Roxanne purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Roxanne chose Minnesota

The first time we drove up to this property we knew it was the one for us (likely the reason why we made an offer to purchase the next day!).

The well built and beautifully furnished cottage is situated 100' from the waters edge with a panoramic view from the living room, dining room and front patio. At the waters edge you will find 100' of lakeshore with a hard gravel bottom and a dock to enjoy everything the lake has to offer.

What makes this cottage unique

The beautifully furnished living/dining area is a great place to relax and converse after a long day on the water or in the many acres of state owned forest just minutes from the cabin.

If the outdoors is your primary reason for visiting, you will really enjoy fishing on Little Pequaywan Lake (very little traffic, no public landing) or snowmobiling on the many miles of local trails (less than a mile from the Brimson and Pequaywan trails).

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just spent our first wedding anniversary here. Enjoyed the peace and quiet and seclusion. Didn't expect the snowy view, would like to enjoy the cabin in nicer weather. Thanks Lucas and Tony for the chance to stay here. We look forward to making more memories here.
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 18

Amenities

Duluth Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Towels are provided for each guest.
  • Towels and toilet paper are provided, shower with Vermont slate surround, Vermont slate flooring, granite countertop!
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Bedroom 1 contains king bed, flat screen TV and dresser.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Bedroom 2 contains a double bed and two night stands.
    Bedroom 3 - 4 twin/ single , The loft contains four twin beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(83 traveler reviews)

Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!
average rating of 4.7710843 based on 101 reviews
5

Really great cabin!

  • 5 of 5

Great cabin that is very well kept! We decided to explore Duluth for our anniversary trip. Unfortunately it was UMD graduation so any decent hotel was over $200 per night. I got on VRBO and found this place. It is approximately 30 miles from Duluth but is a very easy drive. Be prepared for no cell service or wi-fi. Not saying that is a bad thing...just be prepared. We arrived late Friday and left Sunday morning. We spent all day Saturday exploring Duluth so we didn't spend much time at the house. Hopefully we will be back! Thanks for the great cabin!!!

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, we appreciate it and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We had one graduate from college this weekend in Duluth and now how busy it was! Yes, we do not have wi-fi, some cell phone carriers work at our cabin and some do not (we have AT&T and it works fine). We hope you can come back and enjoy our cabin again in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Grand Rapids, MN USA
5

Loved Little Pequaywan cabin!!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I, along with our best friends visiting from the Pacific Northwest, enjoyed our stay so very much. Albeit short, and the weather was on the chilly side, we were able to make our way down to the lake and do some fishing (nothing caught). Our three grandkids from Duluth joined us for the overnight --- we loved the sleeping loft and so did they! We ventured into Two Harbors, ate pizza at Due North, and visited the famous Castle Danger brewery where my daughter is employed! The beautiful sauna and outdoor firepit was a delight on Friday night (our coolest evening). The kitchen is super modern and efficient. The cabin is gorgeous and has a super lay-out! We shall definitely return for more relaxation!!! Thank you for providing it on vrbo!!!!

  • Submitted: May 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you stayed and enjoyed all the amenities that our cabin and surrounding area has to offer! We certainly hope you come back and enjoy our cabin again sometime in the near future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It's was so cozy and wonderfully equipped

  • 5 of 5

We had a bachelorette weekend up in Duluth and had 6 girls at the cabin. We had such a wonderful time Both relaxing and having fun.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed our cabin! Hopefully you can find some time to enjoy our cabin the summer sometime, as it's a beautiful spot!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bloomington
5

Peaceful setting, great location, beautiful cabin - new, modern and clean with great beds.

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed our stay at your cabin and found it to be the perfect location for visits to Duluth and Two Harbors/Gooseberry Falls, which is where we wanted to spend our time. Pequaywan Lake is beautiful. We were graced with a full moon which rose over the lake each night during our stay. Besides this nightly show outside the living-room windows, we enjoyed the sauna, the wood burning stove, watching eagles fly overhead and just hanging out, unplugged. (for those who are wondering, we did have cell reception with AT&T, but no luck with T-Mobile) The beds were great and we all slept like babies. The kitchen had everything I needed for cooking - I even baked bread one night. The cabin is located about 45 min from Duluth, but it never seemed that far - there is hardly any traffic, the scenery beautiful and the roads good. We spent 2 days in Duluth - one of the days spend learning glass blowing at Lake Superior Art Glass. Highly recommend this activity if you are looking for something different and fun to do. Spent the third day hiking Gooseberry Falls (just shy of an hour away) where the spring run-off had the falls roaring. Even though we could only spend 4 days "up north" we came home feeling very relaxed. We're already talking about doing this again. Thanks so much for sharing your cabin and helping our family make such great memories.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our cabin and were able to spend some time visiting local attractions. There are so many wonderful things to do around the area. We sure hope you can come back and visit us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great getaway

  • 5 of 5

Such a lovely spot. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you can come visit our place again in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was the perfect Weekend Getaway for my sister, mom and me! The interior was even more beautiful than the photos, and the view to the lake was tranquil, to say the least. We spent our time chatting and drinking wine around the kitchen island, playing board games in the living room, and relaxing in the sauna. The lack of internet/cell service was refreshing, and the perfect way to fully "escape". The owners were great about providing prompt answers to our questions, and provided us with the perfect weekend away! Can't wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We strive at all times to make sure our guests have a wonderful and relaxing experience. We look forward to your return visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Duluth International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Pequaywan Inn
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Pequaywan Inn
Nearest Ski
35 Miles
Spirit Mountain
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Duluth Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Summer
May 12 2017 - Jun 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$179
$1,199
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
 
Early June
Jun 2 2017 - Jun 9 2017
2 night minimum stay
$199
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
 
June 10 - June 17, 2017
Jun 10 2017 - Jun 16 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,599
Flat fee
 
 
June 24 - July1, 2017
Jun 24 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,599
Flat fee
 
 
July 1 - July 8, 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,799
Flat fee
 
 
July 8 - July 15, 2017
Jul 8 2017 - Jul 14 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,699
Flat fee
 
 
July 15 - July 22, 2017
Jul 15 2017 - Jul 21 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,699
Flat fee
 
 
July 22 - July 29, 2017
Jul 22 2017 - Jul 28 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,699
Flat fee
 
 
July 29 - August 5, 2017
Jul 29 2017 - Aug 4 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,799
Flat fee
 
 
August 5 - August 12, 2017
Aug 5 2017 - Aug 11 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,799
Flat fee
 
 
August 12 - August 19, 2017
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,799
Flat fee
 
 
August 19 - August 26, 2017
Aug 19 2017 - Aug 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,799
Flat fee
 
 
August 26 - September 4, 2017
Aug 26 2017 - Sep 3 2017
9 night minimum stay
$1,999
Flat fee
 
 
Fall Colors!
Sep 4 2017 - Oct 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$159
$1,099
 
 
Winter Break
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 1 2018
2 night minimum stay
$169
$1,099
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$169
Fri,Sat
$999
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $40 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.88%

-Maximum number of guests = 8
-Check-out time 10 am, check-in time 4 pm.
-no Wi-Fi available, cell phone coverage quality depends on the provider, some have no reception, be prepared
-If folks need to contact you at the cabin or you need to make a call, there is a land line available for (218) 848-2601 for urgent or emergency use.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Special HomeAway Offers

You might like these similar properties